Our staff

Staff at research away day

Explore our research in the York Research Database

This page is a list of staff in the teaching section of the Department. Each member of staff has a personal email and most have a direct phone line.

You will also find the Contact us page useful if you are unsure who to get in touch with about particular issues and for general enquiries.

See also: staff lists for the Centre for Housing Policy (CHP) and Social Policy Research Unit (SPRU).

Academic staff

 StaffRoleInterests

Tracy Almond
A/C/107
+44 (0)7739 580548
tracy.almond@york.ac.uk

Associate Lecturer
Think Ahead Programme

  • Adult sexual offending / Harmful sexual behaviour in children and young people
  • Risk assessment and management in social work

Dr Laura Bainbridge
A/C/106
+44 (0)1904 32 1268
laura.bainbridge@york.ac.uk

Associate Lecturer and Research Associate
  • Policy transfer
  • The policy process
  • Violence reduction (including ‘mandatory alcohol abstinence’)
Dr Helen Baldwin

Helen Baldwin
A/B/109                      
+44 (0)1904 32 1991
helen.baldwin@york.ac.uk

Research Fellow
  • Child health and welfare
  • Criminal justice
  • Substance misuse

Venera Bekteshi
A/B/209a
+44 (0)1904 32 1209
venera.b@york.ac.uk

 Senior Lecturer
  • Cancer and immigrant women
  • Culture and immigration
  • Stress and immigration

Professor Nina Biehal
A/B/101
+44 (0)1904 32 1284
nina.biehal@york.ac.uk 

Professor of Social Work Research

  • Family support
  • Adoption; Foster care
  • Family reunification
Professor Jonathan Bradshaw Professor Jonathan Bradshaw
A/B/134
+44 (0)1904 32 1239
jonathan.bradshaw@york.ac.uk
Professor of Social Policy 
  • Poverty and social exclusion
  • Comparative research
  • Child well-being
Kate Brown Dr Kate Brown
A/C/111
+44 (0)1904 32 1241
kate.brown@york.ac.uk
Lecturer
Chair of the Board of Studies (Criminology)

  • Vulnerable young people
  • The concept of 'vulnerability'
  • The sex industry

David Bulmer
A/C/107
+44 (0)1904 32 1240
david.bulmer@york.ac.uk

Associate Lecturer in Social Work (Think Ahead)
  • Mental health
  • Learning disability
Kevin Caraher

Dr Kevin Caraher 
A/C/115
+44 (0)1904 32 1271
kevin.caraher@york.ac.uk  

Lecturer
Chair of the Board of Examiners
Exams Officer (Social Policy and Applied Social Science)
Programme Director (Online MA Social and Public Policy)

  • Comparative social policy
  • Pensions policy in East and Southeast Asia
  • Political economy of welfare states
Dr Sabrina Chai Dr Sabrina Chai
A/C/227
+44 (0)1904 32 1204
sabrina.chai@york.ac.uk  

Teaching Fellow

  • Public policy
  • Comparative social policy
  • Governance
Jo Chaplin
A/C/018
+44 (0)1904 32 1981
jo.chaplin@york.ac.uk

Lecturer Practitioner in Social Work

  • Children and Families Social Work
  • Children’s Disability and Short Breaks
Nicki Cole Dr Nicki Lisa Cole
A/B/029
+44 (0)1904 32 1259
nicki.cole@york.ac.uk 

Research Support Officer in Social Policy
  • Global political economy
  • Consumer culture and behaviour
  • Ethical and sustainable production and consumption
Jo Dixon staff list Jo Dixon
A/B/104
+44 (0)1904 32 1275
jo.dixon@york.ac.uk

Research Fellow

  • Outcomes for children and adolescents in and on the edges of care
  • Leaving care
  • Innovative approaches to working with vulnerable young people
Professor Peter Dwyer
A/C/110
+44 (0)1904 32 1229
peter.dwyer@york.ac.uk 
Professor of Social Policy 
  • Social citizenship
  • Social inclusion/exclusion
  • International migration and welfare 

Professor Nick Ellison
A/C/226
+44 (0)1904 32 1265
nick.ellison@york.ac.uk 

Professor of Social Policy
  • Contemporary UK social policy
  • The nature and impact of 'globalisation' and the changing politics of welfare in developed welfare regimes
  • Citizenship in theory and practice
null Dr Kevin Farnsworth
A/C/204
+44 (0)1904 32 1207
kevin.farnsworth@york.ac.uk
Reader in Social Policy
  • Political economy of welfare state
  • The power and influence of business on social and public policy.
  • Corporate welfare
Dr Naomi Finch Dr Naomi Finch
A/C/215
+44 (0)1904 32 1208
naomi.finch@york.ac.uk
Lecturer
  • Comparative social policy
  • Gender and the welfare state
  • Family policy
  • The Gender division of labour
Ross Gillard Ross Gillard
A/B/122
+44 (0)1904 32 1272 
ross.gillard@york.ac.uk

 Research Associate
  • Fuel poverty
  • Climate change and energy policy
  • Environmental justice
Sharon Grace Sharon Grace
A/C/113
+44 (0)1904 32 1225
sharon.grace@york.ac.uk 
Lecturer
Programme Leader: BA Applied Social Science - Crime and Criminal Justice
  • Victimisation
  • Illicit drug use
  • Administration of justice
Katie-Graham

Dr Katherine Graham
A/C/016
+44 (0)1904 32 1205
katie.graham@york.ac.uk

Lecturer
Admissions Tutor (MSocW Social Work)
  • Adult safeguarding
  • Personalisation
  • Social care workforce
Mark Hardy Dr Mark Hardy
A/C/112
+44 (0)1904 32 1227
mark.hardy@york.ac.uk  
Lecturer 
 
  • Youth and adult offending
  • Social work and criminal justice
  • Risk assessment and management 
Dr Chris Holden Dr Chris Holden
A/C/218
+44 (0)1904 32 1254
chris.holden@york.ac.uk  

Reader

  • International social policy
  • Global health policy and corporate influence
  • Globalisation and trade 
Dr Dan Horsfall
A/C/217
+44 (0)1904 32 1206
daniel.horsfall@york.ac.uk  
Lecturer
PGWT Co-ordinator 
  • Comparative social policy
  • Political economy of welfare
  • The policy process 

Nicola Howard

nicola.howard@york.ac.uk

 

Associate Lecturer 

  • Children looked after
  • Care planning
  • Fostering, special guardianship & adoption
  • Child protection
  • Safeguarding
  • Court work
Dr John Hudson Professor John Hudson
A/C/007
+44 (0)1904 32 1245
john.hudson@york.ac.uk  
Head of Department
Professor of Social Policy
 
  • Comparative social policy analysis
  • The policy making process
  • Political economy of welfare 
Dr Zoe Irving Dr Zoe Irving
A/C/013
+44 (0)1904 32 1247
zoe.irving@york.ac.uk

Senior Lecturer
Programme Leader: BA Social Policy and BA Applied Social Science
Erasmus Coordinator

  • Social policy in small states and small island states
  • Economic crisis and social policy
  • Gender, employment and social policy
Dr Hannah Jobling
A/C/012
+44 (0)1904 32 1255
hannah.jobling@york.ac.uk

Lecturer in Social Work

  • Mental health law, policy and practice
  • Social work with young people
  • The policy-practice relationship
Dr Antonia Keung Dr Antonia Keung 
A/C/207
+44 (0)1904 32 1259
antonia.keung@york.ac.uk
Teaching Fellow 
  • Child well-being
  • Social exclusion
  • Use of evidence in social policy 
Gernot-Klantschnig

Dr Gernot Klantschnig
A/C/120
+44 (0)1904 32 1252
gernot.klantschnig@york.ac.uk

 Senior Lecturer

  • International crime and drug control
  • Policing
  • West Africa and China

Charlie Lloyd
A/C/211
+44 (0)1904 32 1912

Acting Director of the Graduate School

  • Criminal Justice responses to drug use: prisons, probation and police
  • Drug policy
  • Stigmatisation and recovery of people who use drugs
Jane Lund Jane Lund
A/C/121
+44(0)1904 32 1269
jane.lund@york.ac.uk  
Tutor and Elearning Manager (Online MA) 
  • Online learning communities
  • Information age and policy
Dr Neil Lunt Professor Neil Lunt
A/C/206
+44(0)1904 32 1235
neil.lunt@york.ac.uk

Professor of Social Policy
Programme Leader (MPA CASPPER
Chair of the Board of Studies

  • Health and social services management and delivery
  • Welfare policy
  • Medical tourism
  Dr Mathilde Maitrot
A/C /214
+44 (0)1904 32 1279
mathilde.maitrot@york.ac.uk

Director of Programmes for MPA in International Development
Lecturer in International Development and Global Social Policy

  • Governance and policy-making processes
  • Political economy of international development
  • Relational and political dimensions of poverty and inequalities
Jennifer Mcnally Jennifer McNally
A/C/107
+44 (0)1904 32 1264
Jennifer.mcnally@york.ac.uk
Associate Lecturer
Think Ahead Programme
  • Mental health social work practice
  • Practice education in social work
Nicola Moran

Dr Nicola Moran
A/C/220
+44 (0)1904 32 1246
nicola.moran@york.ac.uk

Lecturer
Think Ahead Programme

Senior Researcher

  • Youth mental health
  • Policing and mental health
  • Budgets – outcomes for service users and informal carers
  • International long-term care policies
Rachel Morris

Dr Rachel Morris
A/C/108
+44 (0)1904 32 1226
rachel.morris@york.ac.uk

Lecturer
Admissions Tutor (BA Social Policy / Applied Social Science)
Careers and Employability Co-ordinator

  • Youth Justice
  • Risk and Professional Decision Making
  • Probation and Youth Offending Team Practices
  • Gender and Crime (specifically girls and crime)
Dr Lisa O'Malley Dr Lisa O'Malley
A/C/216
+44 (0)1904 32 1242
lisa.omalley@york.ac.uk

Senior Lecturer in Social Policy and Crime
Deputy Head of Department

  • Urban renewal
  • Crime prevention and community safety
  • Voluntary sector

Dr Kayonda Hubert Ngamaba
A/B/030
+44 (0)1904 32 1282
kayonda.ngamaba@york.ac.uk

Research Associate
  • Long-term mental health conditions 
  • Social interventions in the community and prisons 
  • Quantitative and Qualitative research
Gwyther Rees

Gwyther Rees
gwyther.rees@york.ac.uk

Associate Research Fellow
 

  • Child well-being
  • Child maltreatment
  • Looked-after children
‌‌‌

Dr Enrico Reuter
A/C/115
+44 (0) 7876626870
enrico.reuter@york.ac.uk

Lecturer
Programme Director (Online MA Public Policy and Management)

  • Politics of social policy
  • Public service reform
  • Social exclusion and vulnerability
Ellen Roberts Professor Ellen Roberts
A/C/225
+44 (0)1904 32 1250
ellen.roberts@york.ac.uk  

Professor (Teaching and Scholarship)
Director of Online Programmes
Programme Director (Online MPA)
Chair, University Distance Learning Forum

  • Public management
  • Management of change
  • Organisational learning
  • Project management
Ed Robson

Edward Robson
A/C/011
+44 (0)1904 32 1243
edward.robson@york.ac.uk

Lecturer
Academic Lead - SUPA Group

  • Young Carers
  • Teenage Parents
  • Family and Systems Theory
  • Housing and Homelessness
Dr Antonios Roumpakis  Dr Antonios Roumpakis
A/C/224
+44 (0)1904 32 1298
antonios.roumpakis@york.ac.uk 
Lecturer 
Programme Leader: MRes and Social Policy Masters Programmes
  • Comparative and International social policy
  • Social research methods
  • Employment, pensions and family
Roy Sainsbury Professor Roy Sainsbury
A/C/213
+44 (0)1904 32 1975
roy.sainsbury@york.ac.uk  
Professor of Social Policy
  • Welfare to work
  • Social security and the labour market
  • Qualitative methods
  • Administration and delivery of benefits
Dr Christine Skinner Professor Christine Skinner
A/C/109
+44 (0)1904 32 1251
christine.skinner@york.ac.uk  

Professor of Social Policy

  • Comparative child support policy
  • Family policy
  • Non-resident fathers
Dr Carolyn Snell Dr Carolyn Snell
A/C/211
+44 (0)1904 32 1249
carolyn.snell@york.ac.uk  

Senior lecturer 
Programme Leader: All Postgraduate Research Programmes

  • Sustainable development
  • Social inequality
  • Environmental policy
Polly Sykes

Polly Sykes
A/C/104
+44 (0)1904 32 1267
polly.sykes@york.ac.uk

Teaching Fellow
  • Health and disability
  • Practice education

Jenny Threlfall

Jenny Threlfall
A/C/015
+44 (0)1904 32 1253
jenny.threlfall@york.ac.uk

Lecturer in Social Work
Admissions Tutor (MA Social Work)

  • Parenting
  • Academic Achievement
  • Racial and economic inequality
Sara Ward

Sara Ward
A/C/104
+44 (0)1904 32 1267
sara.ward@york.ac.uk

Associate Lecturer
Placement Co-ordinator

  • Mental health social work
  • AMHP role and training
  • Practice education
  • Sexual assault of women

Professor Martin Webber

Professor Martin Webber
A/C/004
+44 (0)1904 32 1203
martin.webber@york.ac.uk

Professor of Social Work
Making Research Count Academic Lead
Director of the International Centre for Mental Health Social Research

  • Mental health social work 
  • Development and evaluation of social interventions
  • Social capital and social inclusion
Aniela Wenham Dr Aniela Wenham
A/C/105
+44 (0)1904 32 1236
aniela.wenham@york.ac.uk
Lecturer
Programme Leader:
BA Applied Social Science - Children and Young People
  • Youth and social policy
  • Teenage pregnancy and parenthood
  • Qualitative research methods

Support staff

Jane Barrand Jane Barrand
Departmental Manager
A/C/005
+44 (0)1904 32 1232
jane.barrand@york.ac.uk
Debbie Banerjee Debbie Banerjee
Student Support Administrator - Student records, Online and Postgraduate Research
A/C/009
+44 (0)1904 32 1277
debbie.banerjee@york.ac.uk
Natasha Barradell Unwin Natasha Barradell Unwin 
Student Support Administrator - Online Student Records and Exceptional Circumstances 
A/C/009
+44 (0)1904 32 1257
natasha.barradellunwin@york.ac.uk
David Beveridge
Learning Technology Assistant
+44 (0)1904 32 1271
david.beveridge@york.ac.uk
Janis Bright Janis Bright
Impact Officer - Welfare Conditionality
A/C/208
+44 (0)1904 32 1224
janis.bright@york.ac.uk
Helen Chan photo Helen Chan
Programme Manager
A/C/017
+44 (0)1904 32 1273
helen.chan@york.ac.uk
Angela Chapman Angela Chapman
Student Support Administrator - Assessment
A/C/009
+44 (0)1904 32 1276
angela.chapman@york.ac.uk
Dom Ennis Dominic Ennis 
Web and VLE Coordinator
A/C/023
+44 (0)1904 32 1274
dominic.ennis@york.ac.uk
Jessica Fleming
Student Support Assistant
A/C/008
+44 (0)1904 32 1234
jessica.fleming@york.ac.uk
Julie Harriss Julie Harriss
Student Support Administrator - Placements and Practice Education
A/C/010
+44 (0)1904 32 1238 
julie.harriss@york.ac.uk 
Fleur Hughes Fleur Hughes
Project Manager - Welfare Conditionality
A/C/208
+44 (0)1904 32 1299
fleur.hughes@york.ac.uk
Stephanie Lacey Stephanie Lacey
Reginal CoordinatorMaking Research Count
A/B/125
+44 (0)1904 32 1237
s.lacey@york.ac.uk
Samantha McDermott Samantha McDermott
Think Ahead Coordinator
A/C/107
+44 (0)1904 32 1233
samantha.mcdermott@york.ac.uk  
hayley rowan Hayley Rowan
PA to Head of Department
A/C/008
+44 (0)1904 32 1258
hayley.rowan@york.ac.uk
Helen Story Helen Story
Student Support Administrator - Admissions
A/C/010
+44 (0)1904 32 1228
helen.story@york.ac.uk  
Lisa Thurlow
MRC Administrator
A/B/125
+44 (0)1904 32 1237
lisa.thurlow@york.ac.uk
jade ward staff list Jade Ward
Research and Participation Assistant
A/B/135
+44 (0)1904 32 1270 
jade.ward@york.ac.uk