Accessibility statement

People

Staff at research away day

Explore our research in the York Research Database

The Department's Academic staff are listed below, along with the Professional services staff.

You will also find the Contact us page useful if you are unsure who to get in touch with about particular issues and for general enquiries.

Academic

 StaffRoleInterests

Tracy Almond
A/C/216
+44 (0)7384 239 015
tracy.almond@york.ac.uk

Associate Lecturer
Think Ahead Programme

  • Adult sexual offending / Harmful sexual behaviour in children and young people
  • Risk assessment and management in social work
Kate Baxter

Dr Kate Baxter
A/B/009
+44 (0)1904 32 1966
kate.baxter@york.ac.uk

Senior Research Fellow

  • People who fund their own social care
    (self-funders)
  • Personal budgets
    and choice in adult social care
  • Social care markets
Bryony Beresford

Professor Bryony Beresford
A/B/110
+44 (0)1904 32 1960
bryony.beresford@york.ac.uk

Co-Director of SPRU

  • Disabled or chronically ill children and adolescents and their families
  • Service provision and multi-agency working
  • Developing methodologies for research with children
  • Children's experiences of illness and disability
Profile picture Professor Yvonne Birks
A/B/001a
+44 (0)1904 32 1328
yvonne.birks@york.ac.uk

Associate Dean (Research) Faculty of Social Sciences
Co-Director of SPRU

  • Adult social care
  • Funding of Adult social care
  • Dementia
Jo Bretherton Dr Joanne Bretherton
A/B/114
+44 (0)1904 32 1478
joanne.bretherton@york.ac.uk
Research Fellow
  • Homelessness and housing exclusion
  • Social enterprise service models
  • Service evaluation
Dr Kate Brown
A/C/111
+44 (0)1904 32 1241
kate.brown@york.ac.uk
Senior Lecturer
Chair of the Board of Studies (Criminology)

  • Vulnerable young people
  • The concept of 'vulnerability'
  • The sex industry
Kevin Caraher

Dr Kevin Caraher 
A/B/126
+44 (0)1904 32 1296
kevin.caraher@york.ac.uk  

Lecturer
Programme Director (Online MA Social and Public Policy)
Disability Support Officer for Social Policy

  • Labour markets, self-emplyment and welfare reform
  • Comparative social policy
  • Political economy of welfare states

Dr Beth Casey
A/C/115
+44 (0)1904 32 1264
beth.casey@york.ac.uk

Research Associate

  • Social work and child neglect
  • Gender and child neglect
  • Evaluation of social intervention
Sabrina Chai Dr Sabrina Chai
A/C/227
+44 (0)1904 32 1204
sabrina.chai@york.ac.uk  

Teaching Fellow International Liaison PGT Social Policy Admissions

  • Public policy
  • Comparative social policy
  • Governance
Jo Chaplin
A/C/018
+44 (0)1904 32 1981
jo.chaplin@york.ac.uk

Lecturer Practitioner in Social Work

  • Children and Families Social Work
  • Children’s Disability and Short Breaks

Dr Kelly Devenney
A/C/112
+44 (0)1904 32 1260
kelly.devenney@york.ac.uk

Lecturer in Social Work
Programme Lead in Social Work (including MSocW, MASW, MRes and CISW)

  • Unaccompanied asylum seeking children and young people
  • Refugee and Migrant youth
  • Care leavers
Jo Dixon staff list Jo Dixon
A/B/104
+44 (0)1904 32 1275
jo.dixon@york.ac.uk

Research Fellow

  • Outcomes for children and adolescents in and on the edges of care
  • Leaving care
  • Innovative approaches to working with vulnerable young people
Professor Peter Dwyer
A/C/110
+44 (0)1904 32 1229
peter.dwyer@york.ac.uk 

Professor of Social Policy
Knowledge Exchange and Impact Lead

  • Social citizenship
  • Social inclusion/exclusion
  • International migration and welfare 

Professor Nick Ellison
A/C/226
+44 (0)1904 32 1265
nick.ellison@york.ac.uk 

Professor of Social Policy
  • Contemporary UK social policy
  • The nature and impact of 'globalisation' and the changing politics of welfare in developed welfare regimes
  • Citizenship in theory and practice
Dr Kevin Farnsworth
A/C/204
+44 (0)1904 32 1207
kevin.farnsworth@york.ac.uk
Reader in Social Policy
Director of The School of Social and Political Sciences
  • Political economy of welfare state
  • The power and influence of business on social and public policy.
  • Corporate welfare
Naomi Finch Nov 2019 Dr Naomi Finch
A/C/215
+44 (0)1904 32 1208
naomi.finch@york.ac.uk
Lecturer
  • Comparative social policy
  • Gender and the welfare state
  • Family policy
  • The Gender division of labour
Sharon Grace Sharon Grace
A/B/030a
+44 (0)1904 32 1225
sharon.grace@york.ac.uk 

Deputy Head of Department
Senior Lecturer

  • Victimisation
  • Illicit drug use
  • Administration of justice
Katie-Graham

Dr Katherine Graham
A/C/016
+44 (0)1904 32 1205
katie.graham@york.ac.uk

Lecturer in Social Work

  • Adult safeguarding
  • Personalisation
  • Social care workforce
Kate Gridley

Kate Gridley
A/B/103
+44 (0)1904 32 1988
kate.gridley@york.ac.uk

Research Fellow
  • Life story work in dementia care
  • Personalisation in adult social care
  • Integrated services for people with long-term neurological conditions
  • Experiences of disablement
Julia Hackett

Dr Julia Hackett
A/B/107
+44 (0)1904 32 1977
julia.hackett@york.ac.uk

Research Fellow
  • Bereavement support for families who have lost a child
  • Supporting families of children and young people with life-shortening conditions
  • Illness trajectories and service transitions
Mark Hardy Dr Mark Hardy
A/C/008
+44 (0)1904 32 1227
mark.hardy@york.ac.uk  
Lecturer 
 
  • Youth and adult offending
  • Social work and criminal justice
  • Risk assessment and management 

Dr Cheyann Heap
A/C/115
+44 (0)1904 32 1975
cheyann.heap@york.ac.uk

Research Associate
  • Clinical psychology and mental health
  • Dementia (personhood and positive approaches)
  • Charity, international development and volunteering
Chris Holden Dr Chris Holden
A/C/218
+44 (0)1904 32 1254
chris.holden@york.ac.uk  

Reader

  • International social policy
  • Global health policy and corporate influence
  • Globalisation and trade 
Dr Dan Horsfall
A/C/217
+44 (0)1904 32 1206
daniel.horsfall@york.ac.uk  
Lecturer
  • Comparative social policy
  • Political economy of welfare
  • The policy process 

Nicola Howard
A/C/216
+44 (0)7384 239 016
nicola.howard@york.ac.uk


Associate Lecturer 

  • Children looked after
  • Care planning
  • Fostering, special guardianship & adoption
  • Child protection
Dr John Hudson Professor John Hudson
A/B/008
+44 (0)1904 32 1245
john.hudson@york.ac.uk  
Head of Department
Professor of Social Policy
 
  • Comparative social policy analysis
  • The policy making process
  • Political economy of welfare 
Dr Annie Irvine
V/C/117a
+44 (0)1904 32 8957

Associate Lecturer (Think Ahead)
Research Associate

  • Mental health and mental wellbeing
  • Workplace health
  • Qualitative research methods
  • Welfare and social security
Zoe Irving Dr Zoe Irving
A/C/013
+44 (0)1904 32 1247
zoe.irving@york.ac.uk

Reader, Chair of Departmental Teaching Committee
Programme Leader: BA Social Policy and BA Applied Social Science
Erasmus Coordinator

  • Social policy in small states and small island states
  • Economic crisis and social policy
  • Gender, employment and social policy
Rowan Jasper Rowan Jasper
A/B/010
+44 (0)1904 32 1978
rowan.jasper@york.ac.uk

Research Associate

  • Adult social care
  • Mental health
  • Older people, dementia, long-term conditions, self-funders
Dr Hannah Jobling
A/C/012
+44 (0)1904 32 1255
hannah.jobling@york.ac.uk

Lecturer in Social Work

  • Mental health law, policy and practice
  • Social work with young people
  • The policy-practice relationship
Dr Antonia Keung Dr Antonia Keung 
A/C/207
+44 (0)1904 32 1259
antonia.keung@york.ac.uk
Teaching Fellow 
  • Child well-being
  • Social exclusion
  • Use of evidence in social policy 

Dr Eppie Leishman
A/C/106
+44 (0)1904 32 1268  
+44 (0)7384 239 012
eppie.leishman@york.ac.uk

Associate Lecturer GTA co-ordinator

  • LGBT+ Health Inequalities
  • The concept of ‘resilience’
  • Gender and Sexuality
  • Online Qualitative Research Methods
Lyndsay Lindley

Dr Lyndsay M Lindley
A/B/026
+44 (0)1904 32 1286
lyndsay.lindley@york.ac.uk

 Research Associate
  • Research involving older people with cognitive impairment
  • Conversation Analysis
  • Ethnography

Professor Charlie Lloyd
A/C/211
+44 (0)1904 32 1912

Professor of Social Policy and Criminal Justice
Director of the Graduate School

  • Criminal Justice responses to drug use: prisons, probation and police
  • Drug policy
  • Stigmatisation and recovery of people who use drugs
Jane Lund Jane Lund
A/C/121
+44(0)1904 32 1269
jane.lund@york.ac.uk  
Tutor and Elearning Manager (Online MA) 
  • Online learning communities
  • Information age and policy
Neil Lunt Nov 2019 Professor Neil Lunt
A/C/206
+44(0)1904 32 1235
neil.lunt@york.ac.uk

Professor of Social Policy 
Chair of Departmental Research Committee

  • Health and social services management and delivery
  • Welfare policy
  • Medical tourism

Dr Sophie Mackinder
A/B/122
+44 (0) 1904 32 1272
sophie.mackinder@york.ac.uk

Lecturer in Global Social Policy and International Development

  • Social protection 
  • Social policy in fragile states
  • Global governance of social policy
Jane Maddison

Jane Maddison
A/B/105
+44 (0)1904 32 1989
jane.maddison@york.ac.uk

Research Associate

  • Using people's experiences of adult social care to guide service improvements 
  • Innovation in adult social care
  • Qualitative research methods
Jennifer Mcnally Jennifer McNally
A/C/213
+44 (0)1904 32 1233
jennifer.mcnally@york.ac.uk

Lecturer in Social Work            Admissions Tutor (MSocW Social Work)

  • Mental health social work practice
  • Practice education in social work
Nicola Moran

Dr Nicola Moran
A/C/220
+44 (0)1904 32 1246
+44 (0)7384 239017
nicola.moran@york.ac.uk

Lecturer
Think Ahead Programme
Senior Researcher

  • Youth mental health
  • Policing and mental health
  • Budgets – outcomes for service users and informal carers
  • International long-term care policies
Suzanne Mukherjee

Dr Suzanne Mukherjee
A/B/137
+44 (0)1904 32 1972
suzanne.mukherjee@york.ac.uk

Research Associate

  • Psychosocial interventions to support people living with a chronic illness
    or disability
  • Prevention of stress and burnout in health service staff
  • Service provision for adults with autism
  • Methods for involving hard-to-reach groups
    in research
Louise Newbould

Dr Louise Newbould
A/B/026
+44 (0)1904 32 1962
louise.newbould@york.ac.uk

Research Associate

  • Long-term conditions
  • Older adults
  • Mental health

Dr Kayonda Hubert Ngamaba
A/C/115
+44 (0)1904 32 1282
kayonda.ngamaba@york.ac.uk

Research Associate

  • Long-term mental health conditions 
  • Social interventions in the community and prisons 
  • Quantitative and Qualitative research
Dr Lisa O'Malley Dr Lisa O'Malley
A/B/118
+44 (0)1904 32 1242
lisa.omalley@york.ac.uk

Senior Lecturer in Social Policy and Crime

  • Veterans and military welfare
  • Scoping study methods
  • Crime
    prevention and community safety
Geoff Page Dr Geoff Page
A/C/017
+44 (0)1904 32 1670
geoff.page@york.ac.uk

Research Associate

  • Prisons
  • Policing
  • Third sector agencies in the CJS
Gillian Parker Professor Gillian Parker
A/B/108
+44 (0)1904 32 1957
gillian.parker@york.ac.uk

Professor of Social Policy Research

  • Boundaries in the health and social care system
  • Models of health care 'closer to home'
  • Research and policy-making

Dr Ruth Patrick
A/C/114
+44 (0)1904 32 1256
ruth.patrick@york.ac.uk

Lecturer in Social Policy and Social Work
  • Poverty, social security and welfare reform
  • Welfare conditionality, sanctions and welfare-to-work
  • Participatory approaches

Professor Nicholas Pleace
A/B/130
+44 (0)1904 32 1479
nicholas.pleace@york.ac.uk

Professor of Social Policy
Research Champion for Justice and Equality
Director of Centre for Housing Policy
  • Interdisciplinary research
  • Comparative research
  • Housing and social justice
Deborah Quilgars

Deborah Quilgars
A/B/117
+44 (0)1904 32 1482
deborah.quilgars@york.ac.uk

Senior Research Fellow
  • Housing, risk and safety nets, homelessness and support services
  • Young people
  • European perspectives
Gwyther Rees

Gwyther Rees
gwyther.rees@york.ac.uk

Associate Research Fellow
 

  • Child well-being
  • Child maltreatment
  • Looked-after children
‌‌‌

Dr Enrico Reuter
A/C/120
+44 (0)1904 32 1252
enrico.reuter@york.ac.uk

Lecturer in Public and Social Policy
Programme Director (Online MA Public Policy and Management)
Programme Leader (Online MA programmes in Public Policy, Administration and Management)

  • Labour markets and employment policies, in particular self-employment
  • Politics of social policy and democratic theory
  • Public management and public service reform
Ellen Roberts Professor Ellen Roberts
A/C/225
+44 (0)1904 32 1250
ellen.roberts@york.ac.uk  

Professor (Teaching and Scholarship)
Director of Online Programmes
Programme Director (Online MPA)
Chair, University Distance Learning Forum

  • Public management
  • The management of change
  • Organisational learning
  • Project management
  • Governance
Ed Robson

Edward Robson
A/C/011
+44 (0)1904 32 1243
edward.robson@york.ac.uk

Lecturer in Social Work            Admissions Tutor 
Academic Lead - SUPA Group

  • Young Carers
  • Teenage Parents
  • Family and Systems Theory
  • Housing and Homelessness
Dr Antonios Roumpakis  Dr Antonios Roumpakis
A/C/224
+44 (0)1904 32 1298
antonios.roumpakis@york.ac.uk 

Senior Lecturer
Chair of Board of Studies
PGT Social Policy
Admissions
Programme Leader: MRes and Social Policy Masters Programmes

  • Comparative and International social policy
  • Social research methods
  • Employment, pensions and family
Profile image Dr Julie Rugg
A/B/113
+44 (0)1904 32 1484
julie.rugg@york.ac.uk
Senior Research Fellow
  • Private renting
  • Housing benefit
  • The contribution of the voluntary sector to the alleviation of homelessness
  • Cemeteries research
Dr Christine Skinner Professor Christine Skinner
A/C/109
+44 (0)1904 32 1251
christine.skinner@york.ac.uk  

Professor of Social Policy       
Senior Admissions Tutor (including PGR admissions)

  • Comparative child support policy
  • Family policy
  • Non-resident fathers
Dr Carolyn Snell Dr Carolyn Snell
A/C/212
+44 (0)1904 32 1249
carolyn.snell@york.ac.uk  

Senior lecturer     
Chair of the Board of Examiners
Programme Leader: All Postgraduate Research Programmes

  • Sustainable development
  • Social inequality
  • Environmental policy
Lucy Stuttard Lucy Stuttard
A/B/106
+44 (0)1904 32 1965
lucy.stuttard@york.ac.uk

Research Fellow

  • Supporting families of children with disabilities
  • Providing support services for carers
  • Encouraging change in health behaviours
  • Workforce development in the NHS
Polly Sykes

Polly Sykes
A/C/106
+44 (0)1904 32 1267
polly.sykes@york.ac.uk

Lecturer in Social Work
  • Practice education
  • Learning disabilities including transitions
  • Palliative care

Jenny Threlfall

Dr Jenny Threlfall
A/C/015
+44 (0)1904 32 1253
jenny.threlfall@york.ac.uk

Lecturer in Social Work

  • Parenting
  • Academic Achievement
  • Racial and economic inequality

Dr Slobodan Tomic
A/B/119
+44 (0) 1904 32 1485
slobodan.tomic@york.ac.uk

Lecturer in Public Management
Programme Director (Masters of Public Administration MPA online)

  • Public Policy and Administration
  • Regulation
  • Integrity Policies
  • Burecratic Acountability
Rachel Morris

Dr Rachel Vipond
A/C/108
+44 (0)1904 32 1226
rachel.vipond@york.ac.uk

Lecturer
Admissions Tutor (BA Social Policy / Applied Social Science)

  • Youth Justice
  • Risk and Professional Decision Making
  • Probation and Youth Offending Team Practices
  • Gender and Crime (specifically girls and crime)
Alison Wallace

Dr Alison Wallace
A/B/123
+44 (0)1904 32 1487
alison.wallace@york.ac.uk

Research Fellow

  • Sustainable homeownership
  • Low cost homeownership
  • Housing market
Sara Ward

Sara Ward
A/C/104
+44 (0)1904 32 1267
+44 (0)7384 239 013
sara.ward@york.ac.uk

Associate Lecturer
Placement Coordinator

  • Mental health social work
  • AMHP role and training
  • Practice education
  • Sexual assault of women

Professor Martin Webber

Professor Martin Webber
A/C/004
+44 (0)1904 32 1203
+44 (0)7384 239 018
martin.webber@york.ac.uk

Professor of Social Work
Making Research Count Academic Lead
Director of the International Centre for Mental Health Social Research

  • Mental health social work 
  • Development and evaluation of social interventions
  • Social capital and social inclusion
Aniela Wenham

Dr Aniela Wenham
A/C/105
+44 (0)1904 32 1236
aniela.wenham@york.ac.uk

Lecturer
  • Youth and social policy
  • Teenage pregnancy and parenthood
  • Qualitative research methods
Mark Wilberforce 

Dr Mark Wilberforce
A/B/029
+44 (0)1904 32 1297
mark.wilberforce@york.ac.uk

Senior Research Fellow
  • Social care in later life
  • Social work and mental health
  • Measurement and psychometrics

Professional services

Jane Barrand 2019 Jane Barrand
Department Manager (on secondment until May 2021)
A/B/006
+44 (0)1904 32 1232
jane.barrand@york.ac.uk
Jonathan Stokoe Jonathan Stokoe
Department Manager (until May 2021)
A/C/005
+44 (0)1904 32 1273 
jonathan.stokoe@york.ac.uk
Debbie Banerjee Debbie Banerjee  
Co-ordinator for Social and Political Sciences 
A/C/008a
+44 (0)1904 32 1477
debbie.banerjee@york.ac.uk
Natasha Barradell Unwin Natasha Barradell Unwin 
Student Support Administrator - Assessments 
A/C/007
+44 (0)1904 32 1257
natasha.barradellunwin@york.ac.uk
David Beveridge
Learning Technology Assistant
A/B/004
+44 (0)1904 32 1271
david.beveridge@york.ac.uk
Angela Chapman

Angela Chapman
Think Ahead Coordinator
A/C/009
+44 (0)1904 32 1276
angela.chapman@york.ac.uk

 Alex Davison Alex Davison
Administrator
A/C/024
+44 (0)1904 32 8807
alex.davison@york.ac.uk
Dom Ennis July 2019 Dominic Ennis 
Web and VLE Coordinator
A/B/004
+44 (0)1904 32 1274
dominic.ennis@york.ac.uk
Teresa Frank Teresa Frank
Research Support Administrator
A/B/001
+44 (0)1904 32 1289
teresa.frank@york.ac.uk
Julie Harriss Julie Harriss
Student Support Administrator - Placements, Practice Education & PGR
A/C/010
+44 (0)1904 32 1238 
julie.harriss@york.ac.uk 
Nicola Moody

Nicola Moody
Research Facilitator
A/B/003
+44 (0)1904 32 1476
nicola.moody@york.ac.uk

Sarah Moore

Sarah Moore
Administrator - Student Records (providing temporary cover)
A/B/001
+44 (0)1904 32 1480
s.moore@york.ac.uk

Rachel Parker

Rachel Parker 
Student Support Administrator - Online Programmes, ECC and Tier 4
A/C/007
+44 (0)1904 32 1234
rachel.parker@york.ac.uk

Sally Pulleyn

Sally Pulleyn
Research Support Manager
A/B/031
+44 (0)1904 32 1951
sally.pulleyn@york.ac.uk

hayley rowan Hayley Rowan
PA to Head of Department
A/B/007
+44 (0)1904 32 1258
hayley.rowan@york.ac.uk
Dawn Rowley-White Dawn Rowley-White
Research Support Administrator
A/B/001
+44 (0)1904 32 1280
dawn.rowley-white@york.ac.uk
Helen Story Helen Story
Student Support Administrator - Admissions
A/C/010
+44 (0)1904 32 1228
helen.story@york.ac.uk  
Lisa Thurlow
MRC Administrator
A/B/001
+44 (0)1904 32 1237
lisa.thurlow@york.ac.uk
Jade Ward Jade Ward
Research and Participation Assistant
A/B/135
+44 (0)1904 32 1270 
jade.ward@york.ac.uk