Academic staff


 
StaffRoleInterests 
Dr Kate Andersen

Dr Kate Anderson

A/C/107
+44 (0) 1904 32 1984
kate.andersen@york.ac.uk

Research Associate

  • Welfare reform
  • Welfare conditionality and sanctions
  • Gender citizenship
Dr Kate Baxter

Dr Kate Baxter

C/L/A/143
+44 (0) 1904 32 1966
kate.baxter@york.ac.uk 

Senior Research Fellow

NIHR SSCR Senior Fellow

  • People who pay for their social care (self-funders)
  • Social care in later life
  • Service improvement and innovation
Professor Bryony Beresford

Professor Bryony Beresford

CL/A/106
+44 (0) 1904 32 1960
bryony.beresford@york.ac.uk

Co-Director of Social Policy Research Unit (SPRU)
  • Disabled or chronically ill children and adolescents and their families
  • Service provision and multi-agency working
  • Developing methodologies for research with children
Professor Yvonne Birks

Professor Yvonne Birks

CL/A/144
+44 (0) 1904 32 1328
yvonne.birks@york.ac.uk

Associate Dean Research, Faculty of Social Sciences

Deputy Director NIHR School for Social Care Research

Co-Director of Social Policy Research Unit (SPRU)

  • Adult social care
  • Funding for adult social care
  • Dementia
Dr Jo Bretherton

Dr Joanne Bretherton

A/C/215
+44 (0) 1904 32 1478
joanne.bretherton@york.ac.uk

Research Fellow
  • Homelessness and housing exclusion
  • Social enterprise service models
  • Service evaluation
Dr Kate Brown

Dr Kate Brown

CL/A/119G
+44 (0) 1904 32 1241
kate.brown@york.ac.uk

Senior Lecturer in Social Policy and Criminology
  • Vulnerable young people
  • The concept of 'vulnerability'
  • The sex industry
Dr Kevin Caraher

Dr Kevin Caraher

CL/A/120D
+44 (0) 1904 32 1296
kevin.caraher@york.ac.uk

 Lecturer in Social Policy  
  • Labour markets, self-employment and welfare reform
  • Comparative social policy
  • Political economy of welfare states
Dr Beth Casey

Dr Beth Casey

CL/A/067
+44 (0) 1904 32 1264
beth.casey@york.ac.uk

 Research Associate  
  • Social work and child neglect
  • Gender and child neglect
  • Evaluation of social intervention
Sabrina Chai 

Dr Sabrina Chai

A/C/227
+44 (0) 1904 32 1204
sabrina.chai@york.ac.uk

 Teaching Fellow  
  • Public policy
  • Comparative social policy
  • Governance
Dr Kelly Devenney 

Dr Kelly Devenney

A/C/112
+44 (0) 1904 32 1260
kelly.devenney@york.ac.uk

 Lecturer in Social Work  
  • Unaccompanied asylum-seeking children and young people
  • Refugee and migrant youth
  • Care leavers
Jo Dixon Jo Dixon

C/L/142
+44 (0) 1904 32 1275
jo.dixon@york.ac.uk

 Research Fellow  
  • Outcomes for children and adolescents in and on the edges of care
  • Leaving care
  • Innovative approaches to working with vulnerable young people
Dr Abigail Dunn Dr Abigail Dunn

CL/A/142
+44 (0) 1904 32 1987
abigail.dunn@york.ac.uk

 Research Associate  
  • Measurement development
  • Implementation science
  • Assessment of measurement properties
Professor Nick Ellison

Professor Nick Ellison

CL/A/147
+44 (0) 1904 32 1265
nick.ellison@york.ac.uk

Professor of Social Policy
  • Contemporary UK social policy
  • The nature and impact of 'globalisation' and the changing politics of welfare in developed welfare regimes
  • Citizenship in theory and practice
Dr Kevin Farnsworth

Dr Kevin Farnsworth

CL/A/116H
+44 (0) 1904 32 1207
kevin.farnsworth@york.ac.uk

Reader in Social Policy

Programme Director of the School of Social and Political Sciences

  • Political economy of welfare state
  • The power and influence of business on social and public policy
  • Corporate welfare
Dr Naomi Finch

Dr Naomi Finch

CL/A/119F
+44 (0) 1904 32 1208
naomi.finch@york.ac.uk

Lecturer in Social Policy 
  • Comparative social policy
  • Gender and the welfare state
  • Family policy 
 
Sharon Grace 

Sharon Grace

CL/A/015
+44 (0) 1904 32 1225
sharon.grace@york.ac.uk

Deputy Head of Department

Senior Lecturer

 
  • Victimisation
  • Illicit drug use
  • Administration of justice 
 
Dr Katherine Graham

Dr Katherine Graham

A/C/207
+44 (0) 1904 32 1205
katie.graham@york.ac.uk

Lecturer in Social Work  
  • Adult safeguarding
  • Personalisation
  • Social care workforce 
 
Kate Gridley 

Kate Gridley

CL/A/142
+44 (0) 1904 32 1988
kate.gridley@york.ac.uk

Research Fellow 
  • People with dementia and their carers
  • Research methods involving people with dementia
  • Social care self-funders
 
Dr Mark Hardy

Dr Mark Hardy

A/C/209A
+44 (0) 1904 32 1227
mark.hardy@york.ac.uk

Senior Lecturer in Social Work 
  • Youth and adult offending
  • Social work and criminal justice
  • Risk assessment and management
Dr Cheyann Heap

Dr Cheyann Heap

CL/A067
+44 (0) 1904 32 1975
cheyann.heap@york.ac.uk

Research Associate 
  • Clinical psychology and mental health
  • Dementia (personhood and positive approaches)
  • Charity, international development and volunteering
Dr Chris Holden

Dr Chris Holden

A/C/218
+44 (0) 1904 32 1254
chris.holden@york.ac.uk

Reader in International Social Policy 
  • International and global social policy
  • Global health policy
  • Corporate influence on health and social policy
Dr Dan Horsfall

Dr Dan Horsfall

A/C/217
+44 (0) 1904 32 1206
daniel.horsfall@york.ac.uk

Senior Lecturer in Comparative Social Policy 
  • Comparative social policy
  • Political economy of welfare
  • The policy process
Dr John Hudson 

Professor John Hudson

CL/A/010
+44 (0) 1904 32 1245
john.hudson@york.ac.uk 

Head of Department

Professor of Social Policy

 
  • Comparative social policy analysis
  • The policy making process
  • Political economy of welfare
Dr Zoe Irving

Dr Zoë Irving

CL/A/123B
+44 (0) 1904 32 1247
zoe.irving@york.ac.uk 

Reader

Director of Teaching

Chair of the Department Teaching Committee

  • International, global and comparative social policy
  • Austerity and welfare state change
  • Gender, work and social policy
Rowan Jasper 

Rowan Jasper

CL/A/142
+44 (0) 1904 32 1978
rowan.jasper@york.ac.uk 

Research Associate 
  • Adult social care
  • Mental health
  • Older people, dementia, long-term conditions, self-funders
Dr Hannah Jobling

Dr Hannah Jobling

CL/A/116J
+44 (0) 1904 32 1255
hannah.jobling@york.ac.uk 

Lecturer in Social Work
  • Mental health law, policy and practice
  • Social Work with young people
  • The policy-practice relationship 
 

Dr Jim Kaufman

A/C/107
jim.kaufman@york.ac.uk

Research Associate 
  • Social in/security and conditionality
  • Active labour market policy
  • Street-level bureaucracy and bureaucrats
  • Social practice and lived experience 
Dr Antonia Keung 

Dr Antonia Keung

CL/A/147
+44 (0) 1904 32 1259
antonia.keung@york.ac.uk

Teaching Fellow
  • Child well-being
  • Social exclusion
  • Use of evidence in social policy
Dr Eppie Leishman

Dr Eppie Leishman

A/C/208
+44 (0) 1904 32 1473
eppie.leishman@york.ac.uk

Research Associate 
  • Health inequalities
  • Housing and home
  • Online research methods
Dr Lyndsay Lindley

Dr Lyndsay Lindley

CL/A/142
+44 (0) 1904 32 1286
lyndsay.lindley@york.ac.uk 

Research Associate 
  • Research involving older people with cognitive impairment
  • Conversation Analysis
  • Ethnography
Professor Charlie Lloyd

Professor Charlie Lloyd

A/C/211
+44 (0) 1904 32 1912
charlie.lloyd@york.ac.uk 

Professor of Social Policy and Criminal Justice 
  • Criminal justice responses to drug use: prisons, probation and police
  • Drug policy
  • Stigmatisation and recovery of people who use drugs
Dr Neil Lunt 

Professor Neil Lunt

A/C/206
+44 (0) 1904 32 1235
neil.lunt@york.ac.uk  

Professor of Social Policy 
  • Health and social services management and delivery
  • Welfare policy
  • Medical tourism
Dr Sophie Mackinder 

Dr Sophie Mackinder

A/C/104
+44 (0) 1904 32 1272
sophie.mackinder@york.ac.uk 

Lecturer in Global Social Policy and International Development 
  • Social protection
  • Social policy in fragile states
  • Global governance of social policy
Jane Maddison 

Jane Maddison

CL/A/142
+44 (0) 1904 32 1989
jane.maddison@york.ac.uk

Research Associate 
  • Using people's experiences of adult social care to guide service improvements
  • Innovation in adult social care
  • Qualitative research methods
Jennifer Mcnally 

Jennifer McNally

CL/A/121F
+44 (0) 1904 32 1233
jennifer.mcnally@york.ac.uk

Lecturer in Social Work

  • Mental health social work practice
  • Practice education in social work
Nicola Moran 

Dr Nicola Moran

CL/A/067
+44 (0) 1904 32 1246
nicola.moran@york.ac.uk 

Lecturer

Research Fellow

 
  • Youth mental health
  • Policing and mental health
  • Budgets - outcomes for service users and informal carers
Dr Suzanne Mukherjee 

Dr Suzanne Mukherjee

CL/A/107
+44 (0) 1904 32 1972
suzanne.mukherjee@york.ac.uk

Research Associate

  • Psychosocial interventions to support people living with a chronic illness or disability
  • Prevention of stress and burnout in health service staff
  • Service provision for adults with autism
Dr Ruth Naughton-Doe

Dr Ruth Naughton-Doe

CL/A/067
+44 (0) 1904 32 1991
ruth.naughton-doe@york.ac.uk

 Research Associate
  • Carers, mental health carers and young carers
  • Loneliness and isolation
  • Co-production of research and social care services 
Louise Newbould 

Dr Louise Newbould

CL/A/142
+44 (0) 1904 32 1962
louise.newbould@york.ac.uk

Research Associate 
  • Long-term conditions
  • Older adults
  • Mental health 
Dr Kayonda Ngamaba

Dr Kayonda Hubert Ngamaba

CL/A/067
+44 (0) 1904 32 1282
kayonda.ngamaba@york.ac.uk

Research Associate
  • Long-term mental health conditions
  • Social interventions in the community and prisons
  • Quantitative and qualitative research 
Dr Lisa O'Malley

Dr Lisa O'Malley

CL/A/117E
+44 (0) 1904 32 1242
lisa.omalley@york.ac.uk 

Senior Lecturer in Social Policy and Crime 
  • Veterans and military welfare
  • Scoping study methods
  • Crime prevention and community safety
 
Dr Gareth ORourke

Dr Gareth O'Rourke

CL/A/107
+44 (0) 1904 32 1985
gareth.orourke@york.ac.uk

Home Instead Research Fellow 
  • Older people's experience of using health and and social care services
  • Personalisation in policy and practice
  • Supporting older carers
Dr Geoff Page

Dr Geoff Page

A/C/214
+44 (0) 1904 32 1670
geoff.page@york.ac.uk 

Research Associate 
  • Prisons
  • Policing
  • Third sector agencies in the CJS
Dr Ruth Patrick

Dr Ruth Patrick

A/C/114
+44 (0) 1904 32 1256
ruth.patrick@york.ac.uk  

Lecturer in Social Policy 
  • Poverty, social security and welfare reform
  • Welfare conditionality, sanctions and welfare-to-work
  • Participatory approaches
Nicholas  Blw portrait thumbnail 

Professor Nicholas Pleace

A/C/216
+44 (0) 1904 32 1479
nicholas.pleace@york.ac.uk   

Director of Centre for Housing Policy

Professor of Social Policy

 
  • Interdisciplinary research
  • Comparative research
  • Housing and social justice
Deborah Quilgars   

Deborah Quilgars

A/C/208
+44 (0) 1904 32 1482
deborah.quilgars@york.ac.uk 

Senior Research Fellow 
  • Housing, risk and safety nets, homelessness and support services
  • Young people
  • European perspectives
 

Dr Gwyther Rees

gwyther.rees@york.ac.uk

Associate Research Fellow 
  • Child well-being
  • Child maltreatment
  • Looked-after children
Dr Enrico Reuter 

Dr Enrico Reuter

CL/A/117A
+44 (0) 1904 32 1252
enrico.reuter@york.ac.uk  

Lecturer in Public and Social Policy 
  • Labour markets and employment policies, in particular self-employment
  • Politics of social policy and democratic theory
  • Public management and public service reform
 

Dr Natalie Richardson

CL/A/107
+44 (0) 1904 32 1992
natalie.richardson@york.ac.uk 

Research Associate 
  • Qualitative and ethnographic research methods
  • Palliative care work
  • Relationships at the end of life
 Professor Ellen Roberts 

Professor Ellen Roberts

A/C/225
+44 (0) 1904 32 1250
ellen.roberts@york.ac.uk     

Professor of Teaching and Scholarship 
  • Public management
  • The management of change
  • Organisational learning
Ed Robson  

Edward Robson

A/C/110
+44 (0) 1904 32 1243
edward.robson@york.ac.uk 

Lecturer in Social Work 
  • Young carers
  • Teenage parents
  • Family and systems theory
Dr Antonios Roumpakis 

Dr Antonios Roumpakis

A/C/224
+44 (0) 1904 32 1298
antonios.roumpakis@york.ac.uk 

Senior Lecturer in Comparative Social Policy 
  • Comparative and international social policy
  • Social research methods
  • Employment, pensions and family
Julie Rugg  

Dr Julie Rugg

A/C/213
+44 (0) 1904 32 1484
julie.rugg@york.ac.uk

Senior Research Fellow 
  • The private rented sector
  • Housing assistance and the welfare system
  • Landlord and tenant housing behaviours 
Dr Carolyn Snell  

Dr Carolyn Snell

CL/A/013
+44 (0) 1904 32 1249
carolyn.snell@york.ac.uk 

Reader in Social Policy 
  • Sustainable development
  • Social inequality
  • Environmental policy
Lucy Stuttard  

Lucy Stuttard

CL/A/107
+44 (0) 1904 32 1965
lucy.stuttard@york.ac.uk 

Research Fellow 
  • Supporting families of children with disabilities
  • Providing support services for carers
  • Encouraging change in health behaviours
Polly Sykes  

Polly Sykes

A/C/106
+44 (0) 1904 32 1267
polly.sykes@york.ac.uk 

Lecturer in Social Work 
  • Practice education
  • Learning disabilities, including transitions
  • Palliative care
Dr Jenny Threlfall  

Dr Jenny Threlfall

CL/A120F
+44 (0) 1904 32 1253
jenny.threlfall@york.ac.uk  

Lecturer in Social Work 
  • Parenting
  • Academic achievement
  • Racial and economic inequality
  

Dr Slobodan Tomic

CL/A/118I
+44 (0) 1904 32 1485
slobodan.tomic@york.ac.uk

Lecturer in Public Management 
  • Public policy and administration
  • Regulation
  • Integrity policies
Dr Rachel Vipond  

Dr Rachel Vipond

A/C/108
+44 (0) 1904 32 1226
rachel.vipond@york.ac.uk 

Lecturer 
  • Youth justice
  • Risk and professional decision making
  • Probation and youth offending team practices
Alison Wallace  

Dr Alison Wallace

A/C/220
+44 (0) 1904 32 1487
alison.wallace@york.ac.uk 

Research Fellow 
  • Sustainable homeownership
  • Low cost homeownership
  • Housing markets

Rosalie Warnock

rosalie.warnock@york.ac.uk

Research Associate
  • Encountering and navigating austere welfare bureaucracies
  • SEND policy
  • Emotional geographies
Dr Martin Webber  

Professor Martin Webber

CL/A/068
+44 (0) 1904 32 1203
martin.webber@york.ac.uk 

Professor of Social Work

Director of the International Centre for Mental Health Social Research

  • Mental health social work
  • Development and evaluation of social interventions
  • Social capital and social inclusion
Dr Aniela Wenham  

Dr Aniela Wenham

CL/A/117C
+44 (0) 1904 32 1236
aniela.wenham@york.ac.uk 

Lecturer 
  • Youth and social policy
  • Teenage pregnancy and parenthood
  • Qualitative research methods 
Dr Mark Wilberforce  

Dr Mark Wilberforce

CL/A/143
+44 (0) 1904 32 1297
mark.wilberforce@york.ac.uk 

Senior Research Fellow 
  • Social care in later life
  • Social work and mental health
  • Measurement and psychometrics

Contact us

Department of Social Policy and Social Work
spsw@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 321231
University of York, Church Lane Building, York Science Park Heslington, York, YO10 5ZF
spsw