Our Staff

Academic  ¦  Technical  ¦ Administrative  ¦  Research and related staff

 

Academic staff

Professor David Barnett
Professor of Theatre
email: david.barnett@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325455 rm: TFTV/222

Political theatre, particularly Bertolt Brecht, the Berliner Ensemble, Heiner Müller, dialectics on stage, and post-Brechtian performance; Rainer Werner Fassbinder and his work in the theatre; postdramatic theatre; modern German theatre; documentary theatre; theatre documentation.

Mr Simon van der Borgh
Lecturer in Screenwriting

email: simon.vanderborgh@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325269 rm: TFTV/221

Screenwriting, including adaptation, genre films & hi-concept movies; short films; the function of character in the creation of compelling screen stories and story structure; the form & function of scenes in scene-writing; Theatre, especially playwriting; the Australian film & TV industry.

Mr Ed Braman
Lecturer in Film and Tv Production

email: ed.braman@york.ac.uk 
tel: +44 (0)1904 325281 rm: TFTV/204

Multi-camera techniques, documentary production, studio drama, TV as a cultural industry and screen storytelling.

Ms Anna Bramwell-Dicks
Associate Lecturer in Interactive Media

email: anna.bramwell-dicks@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325289 rm: TFTV/122

Human-computer interaction, interaction design, user-centred design and evaluation methodologies. Web and app design and development. Multi-modal interaction, particularly auditory interaction including non-speech audio and music. Affective interaction. Quantitative and qualitative research methodologies. Accessibility, including sensory substitution devices. Teaching-led research.

Dr Tom Cantrell
Senior Lecturer in Theatre

email: tom.cantrell@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325236 rm: TFTV/203

Modern British drama, political theatre, documentary and verbatim theatre, acting technique and training, voice and the actor, screen performance.

Dr Richard Carter
Associate Lecturer in Digital Culture and Society

email: richard.carter@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325244 rm:TFTV/108b

 

Professor Michael Cordner
Ken Dixon Professor of Drama

email: michael.cordner@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325228 rm: TFTV/229

English drama 1580-1740; theatre, film and television comedy; post-1945 British theatre; analysis and history of acting and performance traditions; from script to performance. 

Dr Kristyn Gorton
Reader in Film & Television

email: kristyn.gorton@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325222 rm: TFTV/208

Television Criticism; Feminist Film/TV Theory; Theorising the Concept of Desire; Emotion/Affect Theory; Melancholia/Hysteria in Contemporary Film; Films/Writings by Marguerite Duras.

Dr David Hickman
Senior Lecturer in Film and Television Production

email: david.hickman@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325232 rm: TFTV/213

Film and television production; TV and independent documentary; the art and technique of cinematography; writing and directing for television.

Professor Andrew Higson
Head of Department

email: andrew.higson@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325234 rm: TFTV/215

British cinema history, especially the silent period, and the 1990s/2000s; Film Europe in the 1920s; cinema and the past; national/transnational cinema; Anglia Television and the history of ITV.

Dr Jonathan Hook
Lecturer in Interactive Media

email: jonathan.hook@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325238 rm: TFTV/226

Human-computer interaction and interaction design, with a focus on the human-centred design of new interactive technologies for creative settings and practices; the design and development of new interaction techniques, including those for tabletop, multi-touch, tangible, tactile and reconfigurable user interfaces.

Dr Ollie Jones
Lecturer in Theatre

email: oliver.jones@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325242 rm: TFTV/227

Medieval and early modern British drama, in particular the repertory of and performance by Elizabethan companies on tour; original practices and performance-as-research; the archaeology of medieval and post-medieval buildings; early theatre architectures.

Dr Ben Kirman
Lecturer in Interactive Media (Web Interaction)

email: ben.kirman@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325221 rm: TFTV/225

Interaction design for games and playful experiences; critical and speculative design; mobile and social play; animal-computer interaction.

Dr Louise LePage
Lecturer in Theatre

email: louise.lepage@york.ac.uk
tel:+44 (0)1904 325454  rm: TFTV/108c         

Theatre and the posthuman; performing robots; twenty-first century drama; dramatic character; science-fiction theatre; technologies and film in theatre.

Dr Mariana Lopez
Lecturer in Sound Production and Post Production

email: mariana.lopez@york.ac.uk 
tel: +44 (0) 1904 325248 rm: TFTV/103

Sound Design for Theatre, Film and TV; Accessibility in audiovisual arts; Virtual Acoustics; York Mystery Plays; Digital  Heritage.

Honorary Professor Mary Luckhurst

email: mary.luckhurst@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325220

Modern British, European and American theatre; dramaturgy; modern acting and directing techniques; the representation of war, terror, and 9/11 on stage; documentary and verbatim theatre.

Mr John Mateer
Senior Lecturer in Film and Television Production

email: john.mateer@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325230 rm: TFTV/212

Film and TV production and postproduction; visual effects and compositing; story and script development; single camera directing; cinematic virtual reality; advanced production technologies.

Dr Debbie Maxwell
Lecturer in Interactive Media (Ux Design)

email: debbie.maxwell@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325256 rm: TFTV/224

Interactive media; user experience; traditional storytelling; knowledge exchange; codesign; ethnography; design methods; community engagement.

Dr Jenna Ng
Anniversary Research Lecturer

email: jenna.ng@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325277 rm: TFTV/231

Digital cinema; digital visual culture; interactive media; digital humanities; augmented realities; machinima; philosophy of film; cinephilia; East Asian cinema (Chinese, Singaporean); cross-culturality; comparative film studies.

Dr Sandra Pauletto
Senior Lecturer in Sound Design

email: sandra.pauletto@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325223 rm: TFTV/214

Sound design; Sonic Interaction Design; Auditory Displays; sound synthesis and processing; interactive audio; sound design for Cinema and Television; cinematic and synthetic voice.

Dr Alison Peirse
Lecturer in Writing for Stage and Screen

email: alison.peirse@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325233 rm: TFTV/209

Horror film, screenwriting, storytelling, script development, British film and television, documentary.

Dr Lisa Peschel
Lecturer in Theatre

email: lisa.peschel@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325247 rm: TFTV/207
Theatrical performance in the World War II Jewish ghetto at Terezín/Theresienstadt, modern Czech theatre, theories of affect, identity and subjectivity, playwriting, translation and adaptation for the stage.

Professor Duncan Petrie
Professor in Film & Television

email: duncan.petrie@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325226 rm: TFTV/223

British, Scottish and New Zealand Cinema History; Cinematography; Scottish Culture; Moving Image Policy and Institutions.

Dr Benjamin Poore
Lecturer in Theatre

email: benjamin.poore@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325231 rm: TFTV/205

Contemporary playwriting; literary adaptation; the Victorians on stage and screen.

Dr Karen Quigley
Lecturer in Theatre

email: karen.quigley@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325229 rm: TFTV/210

Critical approaches to staging and unstageability; European theatre histories; contemporary performance practice in the UK and Ireland; autoethnographic approaches to writing about performance; pedagogies of theatre and performance in higher education.

Dr Guy Schofield
Lecturer in Image Processing

email: guy.schofield@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325275 rm: TFTV/228

Postproduction, 3D computer graphics and animation, media art, game design and production, participatory film-making, human-computer interaction, creative practice in technology.

Mr Patrick Titley
Senior Lecturer in Multi - Camera Television Production

email: patrick.titley@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325235 rm: TFTV/211

Multicamera techniques for studio and Outside Broadcast; producing and directing children's,  entertainment and science programmes.

Dr Nathan Townsend
Associate Lecturer in Film and TV Studies

email: nathan.townsend@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325251  rm:TFTV/108a

 

Emeritus Professor Andrew Tudor

email: andy.tudor@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325220

Sociology of film; cinema history; popular film genres (especially the horror movie); football on television; cultural studies.

Professor Marian Ursu
Professor of Interactive Media

email: marian.ursu@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325276 rm: TFTV/206

Interactive Media: interactive narratives and digital storytelling (especially video driven); context-adaptable video communication systems; context-aware media; interactive digital art.

 

Technical staff

Mr Erik Olafsen
Technical Facilities Manager

email: erik.olafsen@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325282 rm: TFTV/110

Management of the technical facilities and leadership of the technical team.  Planning of maintenance and upgrades. Health and safety strategy.

Mrs Isabelle Nölle
Industry Liaison & Events Coordinator

email: isabelle.nolle@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325254 rm: TFTV/003

Advice and support on commercial activities and events organised by the Department or in the TFTV building.

Mr Andy Fravigar
Theatre Production Officer

email: andrew.fravigar@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0) 1904 325225 rm: TFTV/110

As Production Officer: Instruction and teaching of technical aspects of lighting design and operation, sound, set construction and Stage management. Production Managing departmental events.

As Departmental Safety Officer: Training and implementation of health and safety related matters. Liaising with and supporting external and commercial activities.

Mr Roberto del Pino
Theatre Production Officer

email: rob.delpino@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0) 1904 325239 rm: TFTV/110

Technical support and technical instruction in lighting design and operation, sound and set construction. Stage management, training and implementation of health and safety matters.

Mr Paul Ryan
Production and Postproduction Officer

email: paul.ryan@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0) 1904 325240 rm: TFTV/110
Visual effects and compositing; production technology implementation and integration; film, video and audio production and postproduction; music technology, creative audio processing.

Mr Matt Brannan
Production Support Officer

email: matt.brannan@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0) 1904 325243 rm: TFTV/110

Film and television production teaching and support for single camera location and multi-camera studio work. Offering advice on production methods, skills, techniques and technologies; specialising in cameras, lighting and grip equipment related to feature film, drama, documentary, music promos/commercials, multi-camera studio production and outside broadcast.

Mr Pieter Smit
Production Officer

email: pieter.smit@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0) 1904 325290 rm: TFTV/110

Upkeep of IT infrastructure, software and hardware.  Maintenance of the Departments SAN and archiving facilities.  Build and maintenance of PCs, MACs, servers and Departmental Computing Officer.

Mr Richard Sykes
Technical Officer

email: richard.sykes@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325249 rm: TFTV/110

To provide comprehensive technical support and advice for all aspects of Theatre, Film and Television. To assist theatre production and film and television production officers with technical tasks.

Mr Andrew Hunter
Technical Officer

email: andrew.hunter@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0) 1904 325457 rm: TFTV/110

To provide comprehensive technical support and advice for all aspects of Theatre, Film and Television. To assist theatre production and film and television production officers with technical tasks.

 

Administrative staff

Mrs Andrea Linfoot-Potts
Department Manager

email: andrea.linfoot-potts@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325224 rm: TFTV/004
General management and administration of the department and business activities, management and leadership of the administrative team, managing all matters relating to teaching and assessment, timetabling, human resources and staff recruitment, marketing and publicity. Member of the Departmental Management Team and Departmental Equality & Diversity Committee.

Mrs Anna Jones
Student Services Team Leader

email: anna.jones@york.ac.uk 
tel: +44 (0)1904 325279 rm: TFTV/003

Coordinating Undergraduate & Postgraduate Programme Administration.

Ms Annita Hirons
Undergraduate Administrator

email: annita.hirons@york.ac.uk 
tel: +44 (0)1904 325283 rm: TFTV/003

Undergraduate Administration.

Mrs Cathryn Evans
Postgraduate Administrator (Wed 10.00-13.45hrs, Thurs & Fri 09:00 - 17:00hrs)

email: cathryn.evans@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325286 rm: TFTV/003

Postgraduate Administration.

Mrs Caroline Moore
Administrative Assistant (Mon-Tues 09.00 - 17.00hrs, Wed 09.00 - 13.30hrs)

Assisting with student administration.

Mr Ian Smith
Administrative Assistant (Wednesday-Friday)

email: i.d.smith@york.ac.uk 
tel: +44 (0)1904 325291 rm: TFTV/003

Assisting with student administration.

Ms Rebecca Turgoose
Postgraduate Adminstrator (Mon-Tues 09.00 - 17.00hrs, Wed 09.00-13.00hrs)

email: rebecca.turgoose@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325280 rm: TFTV/003

Postgraduate Administration.

Ms Rebecca Turgoose
Administrative Assistant (Wed 13.00-17.00pm pm-Thurs 09.00-17.00hrs)

email: rebecca.turgoose@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325293 rm: TFTV/003

Assisting with student administration.

Mrs Helen Whalley
Finance & Research Manager

email: helen.whalley@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325237 rm: TFTV/005

Financial administration and research support.

Mr Steve Plews
PA to Head of Department

email: steve.plews@york.ac.uk 
tel: +44 (0)1904 325241 rm: TFTV/005

Provides administrative support to the Head of Department. 

Miss Helena Mullineaux
Embedded Content Producer (Physically in TFTV Monday pm)

email: helena.mullineaux@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325286 (4891)
rm: TFTV/003

 

Mrs Sally Wadsworth
Embedded Space Administrator (Physically in TFTV on Wednesday pm and Thursday)

email: timetabling@york.ac.uk 
tel: +44 (0)1904 325286 (3665)
rm: TFTV/003

Design and build the timetable and provide real-time in-year maintenance. Reports directly to Anne Crowley, Timetabling Manager (anne.crowley@york.ac.uk, ext 4627)

Miss Tracy Morris
Receptionist/Administrative Assistant

email: tracy.morris@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325220 rm: TFTV/003

Reception and general administration.

 

Research and related staff

Dr Mark France
Humanities Research Centre (HRC)
Post Doctoral Research Fellow

email: mark.france@york.ac.uk
rm: TFTV/106

 

Dr Huw Jones
Post Doctoral Research Associate - MeCETES (Jan 2014-Dec 2017)

email:  huw.jones@york.ac.uk
tel:  +44 (0)1904 325288 rm: TFTV/104

Researcher for the MeCETES Project.

Dr Laura Mayne
Post Doctoral Research Associate (Jan 2014-Dec 2017)

email:  laura.mayne@york.ac.uk  
tel: +44 (0)1904 325292 rm: TFTV/104  

Postdoctoral research associate on the AHRC-funded project Transformation and tradition in sixties British cinema: production cultures, cross media relations and national branding. Responsible for assisting the Principal Investigator Duncan Petrie in conducting research for the project.  

Dr Nathan Townsend
Humanities Research Centre (HRC)
Post Doctoral Research Fellow
 
rm: TFTV/108a
Postdoctoral research fellow working on the issue of transnationalism within the contemporary British  and Hollywood film industries. My research concentrates on the interaction between creative and industrial determinants and their impact on shaping the various versions of Britain and ‘Britishness’ presented in contemporary cinema.
 
 

Dr Florian Block
Research Fellow, Digital Creativity Labs

email: florian.block@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325458 rm: RCH/222

Enabling the general public to interact with real-world data through the use of novel interactive technology and visualization techniques. Utilizing interactive technology, data visualizations and games for scientific outreach, digital civics and citizen science. 

Mr Davy Smith
Research Associate in Digital Creativity Labs (Nov 2016 - Oct 2018)

email: davy.smith@york.ac.uk
rm: RCH/222

Non-linear and interactive narrative in broadcast media. Digital storytelling. Transmedia storytelling. Alternative, mixed and virtual realities. Interactive media and art. Interdisciplinary research into curiosity as a creative and exploratory process from both design centred and formal, algorithmic, viewpoints. Computational curiosity. Link to external research website.

Dr Sebastian Deterding
Reader/Senior Research Fellow, Digital Creativity Labs.

email: sebastian.deterding@york.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)1904 325259 rm: RCH/222

 Motivational and engagement design; persuasive design and games; gameful and playful design; creative AI; games and play in culture.