Department Advisory Board

The Advisory Board is as follows:

(H = also member of Heslington Foundation)

  • Rachael Clarke
    Head of Music at Joseph Rowntree School, York
  • Colin Davies
    Accountant, studied trumpet at RNCM (H)
  • Nancy Evans
    Alumna, Director of Learning and Participation for Birmingham Contemporary Music Group [BCMG] and a freelance musician and trainer working in early years education
  • Emerita Professor Nicola Lefanu (Chair)
    Composer, ex Head of Music at York (H)
  • Emeritus Professor Peter Hill
    Pianist, ex Head of Music at Sheffield, frequent External Examiner for York
  • Terry Holmes
    retired businessman, ex Rowntree/Nestle and helps to run University of York Music Press (H)
  • Francesca Horsfield
    former High Sheriff of North Yorkshire (H)
  • Sam Jackson
    Alumnus, Managing Editor Classic FM
  • Paul Miles Kingston
    Alumnus, Director of Music at St Peter’s School, York, Examiner for Associated Board
  • Richard Mantle
    General Director, Chief Exec for Opera North for 18 years
  • Gillian Moore
    Director of Music, Southbank Centre
  • Dr Richard Shephard
    composer, former Head Master of the Minster School, now Director of Development and Chamberlain of York Minster (H)
  • Dr Delma Tomlin
    Director of the National Centre for Early Music since 1982

Staff: Ambrose Field, Catherine Duncan, Roger Marsh, Jonathan Wainwright