Skip to content

Stained glass. Credit: John Houlihan

Manuscript. Credit: Ian Martindale

Faculty of Arts and Humanities

Welcome to the Faculty of Arts and Humanities. We are proud of our internationally recognised research excellence, our dynamic research culture and the stimulating and imaginative learning experiences we make possible for our students. We are fortunate to have a wonderful shared resource in the Humanities Research Centre housed in the award-winning Berrick Saul Building, and we value both the quest for excellence and our collegiate life in all we do.

In the last Research Assessment Exercise, 4 out of 8 of our departments were placed in the top 5 in the UK in their respective disciplines. In the 2017 Times Higher World University rankings, the Faculty was placed 7th in the UK, and 31st in the world. We hope you enjoy exploring our excellent individual departments and centres.

Professor Judith Buchanan, Interim Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Humanities

Departments and centres

Faculty boards

Key information

All information as at 1 December 2016 (unless otherwise stated)

Academic staff 189
Support staff 67
Research staff 10
Teaching staff 43
Research income £5.8m (2015/16)
PhD students 348 fte
Taught postgraduates 555 fte
Undergraduates 3,264 fte

 

Dean and faculty support group

Professor Judith Buchanan
Interim Dean
judith.buchanan@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 322005/ 328096


Dr Kate Giles
Associate Dean (Research)
kate.giles@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 323987


Janet Haffegee

Janet Haffegee
HR Contact
janet.haffegee@york.ac.uk 
+44 (0)1904 324834


Karen Jones
Faculty Finance Manager
karen.jones@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 324051


Jamie Holliday
Operations Manager
jamie.holliday@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 324989


Geoff Harrison

Dr. Geoff Harrison
Planning Officer
geoff.harrison@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 324053


Philip Morris

Philip Morris
Research Development Manager
philip.morris@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 328093


Caroline Kennan
PA to Dean
dean-artshum-pa@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 323481


Dr Helen M. Jones
Research Impact Manager (Arts & Humanities)
helen.jones@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 328122

Jeannette Bollen-Mccarthy 
Faculty Marketing Manager 
j.bollen-mccarthy@york.ac.uk 
+44 (0)1904 324197