Skip to content

Stained glass. Credit: John Houlihan

Manuscript. Credit: Ian Martindale

Faculty of Arts and Humanities

Welcome to the Faculty of Arts and Humanities. We are proud of our internationally recognised research excellence, our dynamic research culture and the stimulating and imaginative learning experiences we make possible for our students. We are fortunate to have a wonderful shared resource in the Humanities Research Centre housed in the award-winning Berrick Saul Building, and we value both the quest for excellence and our collegiate life in all we do.

In the last Research Excellence Framework, 4 out of 8 of our departments were placed in the top 5 in the UK in their respective disciplines. In the 2019 Times Higher World University rankings, the Faculty was placed 8th in the UK and 34th in the world. We hope you enjoy exploring our excellent individual departments and centres.

Professor Judith Buchanan, Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Humanities

Departments and centres

Faculty boards

Key information

All information as at 1 December 2017 (unless otherwise stated)

  Headcount FTE
Academic staff 221 207
Support staff 113 95
Research staff 56 50
Teaching staff 85 53
Research income £6.3m (2016/17 HESA data)  
PhD students 370 330
Taught postgraduates 655 585
Undergraduates 3270 3270

Dean and faculty support group

Professor Judith Buchanan
Dean
judith.buchanan@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 322005/ 328096

 

Dr Kate Giles
Associate Dean (Research)
kate.giles@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 323987

 

Janet Haffegee

Janet Haffegee
HR Contact
janet.haffegee@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 324834

 

Karen Jones
Faculty Finance Manager
karen.jones@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 324051

 

Jamie Holliday
Operations Manager
jamie.holliday@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 324989

 

Geoff Harrison

Dr. Geoff Harrison
Planning Officer
geoff.harrison@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 324053

 

Catherine Hardman
Research Development Manager
catherine.hardman@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 328093‌

 

Zoë Fraser
PA to Dean
dean-artshum-pa@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 323494

 

Dr Helen M. Jones
Research Impact Manager (Arts & Humanities)
helen.jones@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 328122

Jeannette Bollen-Mccarthy 
Faculty Marketing Manager 
j.bollen-mccarthy@york.ac.uk 
+44 (0)1904 324197