Skip to content

Education

Economics

Law

Sociology

Politics

SPSW

Faculty of Social Sciences

Departments

Faculty boards

Key information

All information as at 1 December 2017 (unless otherwise stated)

  Headcount FTE
Academic staff 255 242
Support staff 162 134
Research staff 138 118
Teaching staff 109 83
Research income £8.7m (2016/17 HESA data)  
PhD students 280 260
Taught postgraduates 1695 1540
Undergraduates 3885 3885

Dean and faculty support group

Stuart Bell

Professor Stuart Bell
Dean
dean-socsci-pa@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 325801


Professor Matthew Festenstein
Associate Dean (Research)
matthew.festenstein@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 323573


Colin Jobber

Colin Jobber
HR Contact
colin.jobber@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 324882


Fiona Dale

Fiona Dale
Management Accountant
fiona.dale@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 324340


Stuart Jolley

Stuart Jolley
Operations Manager
stuart.jolley@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 324050


Sarah Kirkup

Sarah Kirkup
Planning Officer (Social Sciences)
sarah.kirkup@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 322070


Duncan Lean

Duncan Lean
Planning Officer (Education and Health)
duncan.lean@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 322081

 

Social Sciences Research Impact Manager
Vacancy

Jo Spaven
PA to the Dean
dean-socsci-pa@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 322035

 

null

Samantha Martin-Smith
Faculty Marketing Manager
sam.martin-smith@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 324244

Total Faculty Income Forecast for 2017/18

  • £84million