Skip to content

Biology

Chemistry

Computer Science

Environment

Physics

Psychology

Faculty of Sciences

Departments

Faculty boards

Key information

All information as at 1 December 2017 (unless otherwise stated)

  Headcount FTE
Academic staff 416 402
Support staff 571 511
Research staff 482 453
Teaching staff 136 119
Research income £63m (2016/17 HESA data)  
PhD students 705 680
Taught postgraduates 950 765
Undergraduates 6025 5940

EPSRC Impact Acceleration Account

The University of York has been awarded three years of funding to support our ongoing programme of engagement with external partners on impact-generating projects within engineering and physical sciences. 

Find out more and apply for funding

BBSRC Impact Acceleration Account

The University of York has been awarded three years of funding to support our ongoing programme of engagement with external partners on impact-generating projects within biotechnology and biosciences.

Find out more and apply for funding 
(internal funding)

Dean and faculty support group

Brian Fulton Professor Brian Fulton
Dean
brian.fulton@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 322217
Professor Sarah Thompson
Associate Dean (Research)
sarah.thompson@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 322252

Dr Steve King
Associate Dean (Teaching, Learning and Students)

+44 (0)1904 325420

Helen Foster
HR Contact
helen.foster@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 324859

 Michelle Squires Michelle Squires
Faculty Finance Manager
michelle.squires@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 324520
Natalie Armstrong Natalie Armstrong
Operations Manager
natalie.armstrong@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 322458
Russell Grant Russell Grant
Planning Officer (Sciences)
russell.grant@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 324048
Mandy Kenyon
Faculty Research Manager
mandy.kenyon@york.ac.uk
01904 324604
Chris Charlton-Mathews
Faculty Impact Manager
chris.charlton-mathews@york.ac.uk
01904 324605
Rachel Curwen Rachel Curwen
Senior Research Development Manager
rachel.curwen@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)7919 293193

Dr David Diston
Research Development Manager (Environment)
david.diston@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 435288

Lauren McCarthy-PA to Dean Lauren McCarthy
PA to Dean
dean-sciences-pa@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 324241
Edith Caulfield
Faculty Marketing Manager
edith.caulfield@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 323172
Nicola Clemmit photo Nicola Clemmit
Faculty Employability Manager
nicola.clemmit@york.ac.uk 
+44 (0)1904 322923