Skip to content Accessibility statement

Biology

Chemistry

Computer Science

Environment

Physics

Psychology

Faculty of Sciences

Welcome to the Faculty of Sciences. We are proud of our internationally renowned research, our excellent teaching and our thriving interdisciplinary research culture. This is exemplified by our large range of research centres, many of which are cross-disciplinary and at the forefront of current research trends. We are looking forward to the opening for our new flagship research facility - The Institute for Safe Autonomy in 2022. Many of our departments are in the UK Top Ten as well as being dedicated to the Athena SWAN charter. We are also proud to be a signatory of the Technician Commitment initiative to ensure visibility, recognition, career development and sustainability for technicians working in higher education and research, across all disciplines.

Professor Andy Dougill, Dean of the Faculty of Sciences

Faculty of Sciences 

Professor Andy Dougill

Dean of the Sciences 

andy.dougill@york.ac.uk

Professor Sarah Thompson
Associate Dean (Research)
sarah.thompson@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 322252

Dr Steve King
Associate Dean (Teaching, Learning and Students)

+44 (0)1904 325420

Profile photo for natalie.armstrong 

Natalie Armstrong
Head of Faculty Operations (Sciences)
natalie.armstrong@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 324295

Nik Williams
HR Partner
nik.williams@york.ac.uk 

 Michelle Squires Michelle Squires
Faculty Finance Manager
michelle.squires@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 324520

Russell Grant

Planning Officer (Sciences) 

russell.grant@york.ac.uk

Simon Breeden
Head of Technical Services
simon.breeden@york.ac.uk

Becky Bleaden
Faculty Executive Officer 

becky.bleaden@york.ac.uk

dean-sciences-pa@york.ac.uk 

01904 324241

Faculty Support 

  Mandy Kenyon
Faculty Research Manager
mandy.kenyon@york.ac.uk
01904 324604
 


Faculty Impact Manager
Will be in post by September 2022

Nicola Clemmit photo Nicola Clemmit
Faculty Employability Manager
nicola.clemmit@york.ac.uk 
+44 (0)1904 322923