Skip to content Accessibility statement

Faculty Support Officers

As part of a wider change within the University, which includes the development of a new strategy, there has been agreement to have a strong, positive articulation around the role of faculties and to enhance this relationship by providing support for Academic Departments.

Strengthened Faculty teams will enable a more flexible and agile provision of professional support cover for Departments as their needs vary through time. This new project team for the three faculties will be coordinated by Becky Bleaden (Faculty Admin Manager).

The team consists of six Faculty Support Officers who can help Departments with a variety of projects. Recent and current projects include:

  • The Minutes Project - The team have analysed the current meeting arrangements across all departments and created bespoke recommendations, training and templates for all departments which have been rolled out in July 2023.
  • Green Impact - Reviewing existing energy and resource management within Heslington Hall, taking steps to improve sustainability within our workspace, and raise awareness of sustainable actions and initiatives across campus. So far we have organised plant potting and nature trail events, conducted an energy audit, and raised awareness about sustainability issues, tips, and tricks with a weekly bulletin. We are also committed to embedding sustainability with our wider work on process improvement. Here is our Sustainability Statement
  • Athena Swan Policy Audit and Data Collection - Collating and analysing gendered data relating to a number of university policies (e.g. annual leave, absence reporting, parental/carers leave, promotion etc.). This data will be used to support the department’s upcoming Athena Swan application.
  • Space Survey - Assist in collecting data on Departments' space needs and preferences and advising on space projects.
  • Student Lists and Database Systems Review - Reviewing student lists and databases, streamlining processes and reducing the number of sources.
  • Departmental Health and Safety Policy - Reviewing current Health and Safety policies and advising on improvements.

Please get in touch with your Deputy Head of Faculty Operations if you wish to apply for a Faculty Support Officer. They will be able to help you with your application. If you have any questions, please get in touch with Becky Bleaden (

Becky Bleaden

Faculty of Arts and Humanities
Annemarie McIntyre

Annemarie McIntyre

Faculty of Sciences

Phil Stokoe

Billy Brooke


Billy Brooke

Faculty of Social Sciences
Anna Ruitenbeek

Anna Ruitenbeek

Matthew Crossland