Skip to content
Home>Interdisciplinary Global Development Centre>People
People

‌Professor Henrice Altink Co-Director (Caribbean; History; Inequality; Environment)

henrice.altink@york.ac.uk 01904 32 2989 

 

Professor Jean Grugel Director (Governance; Human rights; Political Economy; Democracy; Citizenship) 

jean.grugel@york.ac.uk 01904 32 2061 

Professor Piran White Co-Director (Biodiversity; Ecosystem Services; Health and Wellbeing; Disease; Governance )

piran.white@york.ac.uk 01904 32 4062 

 Lauren Avery IGDC Research & External Partnerships Officer

 lauren.avery@york.ac.uk 01904 32 1043

‌‌

Matthew Barlow Research Assistant

mvb506@york.ac.uk 

 

Nicole Beardsworth Postdoctoral Research Associate

nicole.beardsworth@york.ac.uk

Maria-Eugenia Giraudo Postdoctoral Research Associate

maria-eugenia.giraudo@york.ac.uk 

 ‌‌

Laura McGill IGDC Administrator

laura.mcgill@york.ac.uk 01904 321042

Alice Megaw Research Assistant

alice.megaw@york.ac.uk

Alan Msosa Postdoctoral Research Associate

alan.msosa@york.ac.uk

John Atibila Research Development Manager (AgriFood) & N8 AgriFood Knowledge Exchange Fellow (AgriFood/Food Systems; Biodiversity; Ecosystem Services; Food Security; Partnerships & Resource Mobilisation; Social-Ecological Systems - Frameworks/Modelling)

john.atibila@york.ac.uk 01904 32 8163 

 

Snehasish Banerjee Lecturer (Digital Marketing; Online User Behaviour; Social Media; User-generated Content)

snehasish.banerjee@york.ac.uk 01904 32 5013

 

Anindya Bhattacharya Lecturer (Local institutions; Clientelism; India; Left-revolutionary)

anindya.bhattacharya@york.ac.uk 01904 32 2307

 

Sally Brooks Senior Research Fellow (Education); Honorary Fellow (Social Policy and Social Work) (International Development; Smallholder Agriculture; Biotechnology; Finance and 'Fintech'; Philanthropy)

sally.brooks@york.ac.uk 

‌‌‌

Katherine Brookfield Lecturer in Human Geography (Participation; Built Environment; Mobility; Health)

k.brookfield@york.ac.uk 01904 32 4060

 

Eleanor Brown Lecturer in Education and Social Justice (Development Education; Buen vivir and alternatives to Development; Non-Formal Education; Global Citizenship; Sustainable Development)

eleanor.brown@york.ac.uk 01904 32 3514

 

Nina Caspersen Professor of Politics

nina.caspersen@york.ac.uk 01904 32 3555

Adriana Castelli Senior Research Fellow (Health System Performance; Health Economics; Global Health; Health Policy Reforms)

adriana.castelli@york.ac.uk 01904 32 1462

Claire Chambers Senior Lecturer (Literature; Postcolonial Studies; Migration; South Asia; Arab World)

claire.chambers@york.ac.uk 01904 32 4216

Sangeeta Chattoo Associate Professor/Senior Research Fellow (Citizenship; Ethnicity; Ethnography; Genetics; India; Race; South Asia)

sangeeta.chattoo@york.ac.uk 01904 32 1347

 

Steve Cinderby Senior Researcher; Co-leader SEI Transforming Governance research theme (Participatory GIS; Urban Health; Creative Methods; Scenarios; Behaviour Change)

steve.cinderby@york.ac.uk 

Sabine Clarke Lecturer in Modern History (Science; Technology; Economic Diversification; Colonial Development)

sabine.clarke@york.ac.uk 01904 32 2974

 

Liam Clegg Lecturer (Global Economic Governance; Drivers of change in the World Bank and International Monetary Fund Operations; UK Housing Provision)

liam.clegg@york.ac.uk 01904 32 2646

 ‌

Bill Cooke Professor in Strategic Management (Director of Research) (Multi-National Institutions; Strategic Management; Development; Modernisation)

bill.cooke@york.ac.uk 01904 32 5050

Hanne Cottyn Research Associate (Social and Environmental History; Andean Highlands; Indigenous and Peasant Communities; Rural Transformations; Land and Resources; Socio-Environmental Conflicts)

hanne.cottyn@york.ac.uk

Joana Cruz Research Associate and Teaching Fellow (Ecosystem Services; Ecology; Conservation)

joana.cruz@york.ac.uk 01904 32 4786

 

Sara de Jong Lecturer (Postcolonial and decolonial approaches to development; NGOs; Gender; Migration)

sara.dejong@york.ac.uk

Giacomo Deluca Senior Lecturer (Conflict; Institutions; Political Economy; Social Capital; Crime,)

giacomo.deluca@york.ac.uk 01904 32 4674

 

Marco Sakai Diaz Lecturer 

marco.sakai@york.ac.uk 

 ‌

Omara Dogar Research Fellow (Tobacco Cessation; Implementation Science; Health Behaviour Change; Global Health; Tuberculosis)

omara.dogar@york.ac.uk 01904 32 1541

 

Jappe Eckhart Lecturer (Trade Policy; Health Policy; Global Value Chains; Global Governance; Regionalism)

jappe.eckhardt@york.ac.uk 

Helen Elsey Senior Lecturer in Global Health (Urban health, public health, gender and equity)

helen.elsey@york.ac.uk 01904 32 1341

Rebecca Engel Lecturer in Post War Reconstruction (Peacebuilding; Early Warning and Response; Political Settlements; International Development; Political Economy and Conflict-affected States)

rebecca.engel@york.ac.uk

 

Jon Ensor Senior Researcher (Equitable Development; Environmental Governance; Climate Change Adaptation)

Jon.Ensor@york.ac.uk 01904 32 4817

 

Richard Friend Lecturer in Human Geography (Governance dimensions of Social and Environmental Change; Climate Change; Mekhong Region)

richard.friend@york.ac.uk 01904 32 4375

 

Paul Gready Director of the Centre for Applied Human Rights (Transitional Justice; Human Rights; Development Alternatives; Informality)

paul.gready@york.ac.uk 01904 32 5831

Adrian Gonzalez Associate Lecturer (Political Geography; Political Ecology; Natural Resource Management; Natural Resource Conflict; Environmental Justice)

adrian.gonzalez@york.ac.uk 01904 32 5958

Manogna Goparaju PhD Researcher, Research Trainee (Corporate Social Responsibility; Sustainable Financing; Sustainable Development Goals; Private Sector; Financial Sector)

manogna.goparaju@york.ac.uk

 

Louise Haagh Reader (Human Development; Social Justice; Democratisation; Economic Governance; Future of Work)

louise.haagh@york.ac.uk 01904 32 3549

Adam P Hejnowicz Postdoctoral Research Associate (Social-ecological Systems; Environmental Governance; Public Policy; Water-energy-food Nexus; Sustainability; Agriculture; Complex Systems)

adam.hejnowicz@york.ac.uk

 

Sam Hellmuth Senior Lecturer (Language; Spoken Communication; Arabic; Middle East; South Asia)

sam.hellmuth@york.ac.uk 01904 32 2657

Paul Heron Research Fellow (Severe Mental Ill Health (SMI); Comorbid Physical and Mental Health; Research Ethics and Cohorts; Preventative Psychosocial Interventions in Refugees; Southeast Asia Populations)

paul.heron@york.ac.uk 01904 32 1746 

Eric Hoddy Associate Lecturer (Development and Human Rights; Transformative Justice and Agrarian Violence; Social Change and Transformation)

eric.hoddy@york.ac.uk

 

Bailey House Lecturer (Psychological Development; Human Evolution; Social Norms; Prosocial Behavior; Cross-Cultural Comparisons; Public Goods Dilemmas)

bailey.house@york.ac.uk 

 

Zoe Irving Senior Lecturer (Global Social Policy; Decent Work; Austerity; Small Island States)

zoe.irving@york.ac.uk 01904 32 1247

Eleanor Jew Lecturer in Environment and Development (Land Use Management; Biodiversity Conservation; Conservation Agriculture; Ecosystem Service Provision)

eleanor.jew@york.ac.uk

Jeff Jia Chair Professor of Supply Chain Management (Agricultural Co-operatives; Supply Chain Management; Sustainability; Resilience; Management Theory)

fu.jia@york.ac.uk 01904 32 5308

 

Edward Joyner Network Philanthropic Partnerships and Alumni Rep; Development Manager - Social Sciences, External Relations

edward.joyner@york.ac.uk 01904 32 4389

 

Ruth Kelly Research Fellow (Story-telling; Development Imaginations)

rek523@york.ac.uk 

 

Paul Kerswill Professor Department of Language and Linguistic Science (Sociolinguistics; Migration; Ethnicity; Language)

paul.kerswill@york.ac.uk 01904 32 2660

 

Talib Khan Trial Support Officer (Tobacco control in developing and developed countries; Cultural norms and sedentary life style; Co-morbidity of physical and mental health)

talib.khan@york.ac.uk 01904 32 1638

 

Joshua Kirshner Lecturer in Human Geography (Urban Energy Transitions; Development Planning; Political Geography; Migration and Social Exclusion)

joshua.kirshner@york.ac.uk 01904 32 4277

 

Gernot Klantschnig Senior Lecturer (Drugs; Crime; Politics; Nigeria; China)

gernot.klantschnig@york.ac.uk 01904 32 1252

Arun Kumar Lecturer in International Management (International Development; Philanthropy in Development; Philanthropic foundations in Management Education)

arun.kumar@york.ac.uk 01904 32 5306

 

Ingrid Harvold Kvangraven Lecturer in International Development (International Political Economy; International Finance; International Trade; Classical Political Economy)

ingrid.kvangraven@york.ac.uk 

 

Philip Linsley Professor of Accounting and Risk (Risk; Management; Culture; Financial Inclusion)

philip.linsley@york.ac.uk 01904 32 5018

 

Robert Marchant Professor (Environmental Change; Tropical Vegetation; Biogeography, Ecology; Palaeoecology; Ecosystem Modelling)

robert.marchant@york.ac.uk 01904 32 4061

 

Samantha Martin Deputy Head of Media Relations, Communications & Marketing

s.martin@york.ac.uk 01904 32 2029

 

Amanda Mason-Jones Senior Lecturer in Global Public Health (Injury Epidemiology; Child and Adolescent Health; Sexual and Reproductive Health; Injury and Violence Prevention)

amanda.mason-jones@york.ac.uk 01904 32 1290

Jean McKendree Research Fellow (Participatory Research; Cognitive Science; Health and Environment; Education)

jean.mckendree@york.ac.uk

 

Noreen Mdege Associate Professor in Global Public Health (Tobacco; Alcohol; Medication Adherence; Low- and Middle- Income Countries)

noreen.mdege@york.ac.uk 01904 32 1836

Andrew Mirelman Research Fellow (Public Health; Health Systems; Economic Evaluation; Policy Evaluation)

andrew.mirelman@york.ac.uk

Masuma Mishu Research Fellow (Health inequality; Oral Health; Mental Health; Tobacco Cessation; NCDs)

masuma.mishu@york.ac.uk 01904 32 1748

Jess Morgan NIHR Clinical Lecturer in Paediatrics (Systematic Reviews; Child Health; Paediatric Oncology; Supportive Care)

jess.morgan@york.ac.uk 01904 32 1082

Jeremy F. G Moulton Associate Lecturer (European Union; Climate action; Political myth; Renewable energy)

jeremy.moulton@york.ac.uk 

 

Peg Murray-Evans Associate Lecturer (Power; Economic Governance; South Africa as a rising power in Global Governance; Commonwealth; EU trade agreements with Africa; Caribbean and Pacific countries)

peg.murray-evans@york.ac.uk 01904 32 3518

 

Alice Nah Lecturer (Global civil society; human rights; risk and personal security; migration; asylum; Asia)

alice.nah@york.ac.uk 01904 32 5824

 

Joao Nunes Lecturer (Global Health; Community Health Workers; Brazil; Security)

joao.nunes@york.ac.uk 01904 32 2322

Tom O'Brien Lecturer in Political Sociology (Democratisation, Political Leadership, Environmental Sociology, Contentious Politics, and Human Security)

t.obrien@york.ac.uk

Jessica Ochalek Research Fellow (Priority Setting; Health Economics; Economic Evaluation; Global Health)

jessica.ochalek@york.ac.uk 01904 32 1442

 

Alejandro Pena Lecturer in International Relations (International Relations; Political Sociology; Latin American Politics)

alejandro.pena@york.ac.uk 01904 32 2321

 

Kate Pickett Professor of Epidemiology (Epidemiology; Health; Justice; Inequality)

kate.pickett@york.ac.uk 01904 32 1377

 

Kelly Redeker Lecturer (Soil-plant-atmosphere Systems; Climate Change Issues)

kelly.redeker@york.ac.uk 01904 32 8560

 

Paul Revill Senior Research Fellow (Health Economics; Economic Evaluation; Decision Making; Resources)

paul.revill@york.ac.uk 01904 32 1488

 

Phil Roberts Associate Lecturer (Political Economy of Development; Food Production; Economic thought of Development; Marxian analysis; Heterodox Economic Theories)

philip.roberts@york.ac.uk 01904 32 3989

Jo Rose Programme Leader and Lecturer (Disasters, humanitarian crises; resilience, vulnerability, communities, context)

jo.rose@york.ac.uk 01904 32 1658

 

Indrajit Roy Lecturer (Democracy; Emerging Markets; Social Protection; Dignity; Social Class)

indrajit.roy@york.ac.uk 01904 32 3566

 

Rodrigo Moreno-Serra Reader (Health System Performance; Health Economics; Global Health; Development Economics)

rodrigo.morenoserra@york.ac.uk 01904 32 1426

 ‌

Kamran Siddiqi Professor in Public Health (Epidemiology, Public Health, Tobacco, Tuberculosis)

kamran.siddiqi@york.ac.uk 01904 32 1335

 

Najma Siddiqi Clinical Senior Lecturer in Psychiatry (Comorbidity of Mental and Physical Health; Long-term Health Conditions; Care and Treatment)

najma.siddiqi@york.ac.uk 01904 32 1681

 

Claire Smith Lecturer (Ethnic conflict; Civil War; Mass Atrocities; Peacebuilding; Southeast Asia)

claire.smith@york.ac.uk 01904 32 2643

 ‌

Daryl Stump Lecturer (Applied Archaeology; Sustainable Agriculture; Indigenous Knowledge; Traditional Knowledge; IK; ITK)

daryl.stump@york.ac.uk 01904 32 4979

 

Marc Suhrcke Professor of Global Health Economics 

marc.suhrcke@york.ac.uk

Jessica Thorn Postdoctoral Research Associate (Social-Ecological Systems; Ecosystem Services; Urban Resilience; Sustainable Agriculture; Global Environmental Change; Participatory Modelling)

jessica.thorn@york.ac.uk 01904 32 4212

 

Corrado Topi Senior Researcher (Cities; Private Enterprises; SMEs; Ecological Economics; Eircular Economy; Bioeconomy; Transition Strategies; Sustainability and Resilience; Business Models; Financial Schemes; Economics of Climate Mitigation and Adaptation; Cultural Heritage; Asia; Mediterranean Basin; Small Islands Development States)

corrado.topi@york.ac.uk 01904 32 2893

Thierry Tonon Lecturer (Algal Biology; Metabolism; Enzymes; Biotechnology)

thierry.tonon@york.ac.uk 01904 32 8785

 

Julia Touza-Montero Senior Lecturer (Ecosystem Services; Environmental Hazards; Sustainable Use; Environmental Co-operation)

julia.touza@york.ac.uk 01904 32 4246

Noortje Uphoff Research Fellow (Health Inequalities; Mental Health; Maternal and Infant Health; Pregnancy; Systematic Reviews)

noortje.uphoff@york.ac.uk 01904 32 1056

  Adrian Villasenor-Lopez Research Fellow (International Development; Economic inequality with links to health, education & wellbeing; Impact evaluation of environmental policies)

adrian.villasenor-lopez@york.ac.uk 01904 32 1494

Helen Weatherly Senior Research Fellow (Economic Evaluation; Social Care/Long Term Care; Informal Unpaid Care)

helen.weatherly@york.ac.uk 01904 32 1447

 ‌‌

Helen Wells Research Development Manager - Social Science

helen.wells@york.ac.uk 

 

Sabrina Zissler Global Partnerships Manager

sabrina.zissler@york.ac.uk 01904 32 3198

  Chris Dye Visiting Professor of Zoology and Visiting Fellow, All Souls College, University of Oxford
  Ismail Einashe Feature and Investigative Journalist, Freelance
  Jayati Ghosh Professor of Development Economics, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi/ UCL Institute for Innovation and Public Purpose
  Fiona Lambe Research Fellow, Stockholm Environment Institute (SEI) 
Christine Wallace, Director, WallaceNedley Ltd

Contact us

Interdisciplinary Global Development Centre
igdc@york.ac.uk
01904 321042
Department of Politics, University of York, Heslington, York, YO10 5DD, UK
@York_IGDC