Accessibility statement

Our staff

General enquiries

Academic Staff

 

Prof. Michael Bate +44 1904 32 3026 michael.bate@york.ac.uk G/N/027C
Prof. Martin A. Bees +44 1904 32 2038 martin.bees@york.ac.uk G/N/109
Prof. Victor Beresnevich +44 1904 32 3072 victor.beresnevich@york.ac.uk G/N/103
Dr Richard Bingham +44 1904 32 5367 r.j.bingham@york.ac.uk RCH 321
Dr Henning Bostelmann +44 1904 32 3088 henning.bostelmann@york.ac.uk  
Dr Chris Bowman +44 1904 32 3717 chris.bowman-scargill@york.ac.uk G/N/124
Prof. Zdzislaw Brzezniak +44 1904 32 4154 zdzislaw.brzezniak@york.ac.uk G/N/012
Dr Zaq Coelho +44 1904 32 4161 zaq.coelho@york.ac.uk G/N/154
Prof. Roger Colbeck +44 1904 32 3093  roger.colbeck@york.ac.uk  G/N/039 
Dr Stephen Connor  +44 1904 32 3785 stephen.connor@york.ac.uk  G/N/164 
Dr George Constable  +44 1904 32 3085 george.constable@york.ac.uk  G/N/161
Prof. Ed Corrigan  FRS +44 1904 32 3074  edward.corrigan@york.ac.uk  G/N/027B 
Dr Francesco Cosentino +44 1904 32 4148  francesco.cosentino@york.ac.uk G/N/005
Dr Alexei Daletskii +44 1904 32 3086 alex.daletskii@york.ac.uk G/N/042
Dr Gustav W Delius  +44 1904 32 3077  gustav.delius@york.ac.uk  G/N/110 
Dr Emilie Dufresne  +44 1904 32 4158

emilie.dufresne@york.ac.uk

G/N/027E
Dr Eric Dykeman +44 1904 32 5366 eric.dykeman@york.ac.uk Ron Cooke Hub: 321
Dr Brent Everitt +44 1904 32 3083 brent.everitt@york.ac.uk G/N/027D 
Dr Simon Eveson  +44 1904 32 3095  simon.eveson@york.ac.uk  G/N/167 
Prof. Chris Fewster +44 1904 32 3091 chris.fewster@york.ac.uk G/N/107
Prof. Victoria Gould  +44 1904 32 3090  victoria.gould@york.ac.uk  G/N/040A 
Dr Haralampos Geranios  +44 1904 32 3096 haralampos.geranios@york.ac.uk G/N/027C
Alvaro Guinea   ag1280@york.ac.uk G/N/109a
Dr Jessica Hargreaves  +44 1904 32 3667 jessica.hargreaves@york.ac.uk G/N/132
Dr Eli Hawkins +44 1904 32 3069 eli.hawkins@york.ac.uk G/N/009 
Prof Atsushi Higuchi  +44 1904 32 3089  atsushi.higuchi@york.ac.uk  G/N/108 
Dr Christopher Hughes  +44 1904 32 3098  christopher.hughes@york.ac.uk  G/N/123 
Dr Konstantin Ilin +44 1904 32 4149 konstantin.ilin@york.ac.uk G/N/142 
Prof Marina Knight  +44 1904 32 4166  marina.knight@york.ac.uk  G/N/130 

Prof Richard Law

+44 1904 32 5372 

richard.law@york.ac.uk 

RCH/327 
Dr Jason Levesley  +44 1904 32 3087  jason.levesley@york.ac.uk  G/N/157 
Prof. Degui Li +44 1904 32 4160 degui.li@york.ac.uk G/N/165
Dr Christian Litterer +44 1904 32 3646 christian.Litterer@york.ac.uk G/N/111
Prof. Niall MacKay +44 1904 32 3493 niall.mackay@york.ac.uk G/N/125 
Dr Ian McIntosh  +44 1904 32 3094  ian.mcintosh@york.ac.uk  G/N/152 
 Dr Andrea Meireles Rodrigues +44 1904 32 4598 andrea.meirelesrodrigues@york.ac.uk  G/N/166
Prof. Maxim Nazarov +44 1904 32 3078 maxim.nazarov@york.ac.uk G/N/163A
Dr Agostino Nobile  +44 1904 32 4597  agostino.nobile@york.ac.uk  G/N/129 
Prof Jon Pitchford +44 1904 32 8602 jon.pitchford@york.ac.uk Biology D/001B
Dr Ben Powell +44 1904 32 4102 ben.powell@york.ac.uk G/N/163
Dr Matthew Pusey +44 1904 32 4305 matthew.pusey@york.ac.uk G/N/007
Dr Dmitri (Mitya) Pushkin +44 1904 32 3668 mitya.pushkin@york.ac.uk G/N/141
Dr Kasia Rejzner +44 1904 32 4153 kasia.rejzner@york.ac.uk G/N/041 
Dr Alet Roux  +44 1904 32 4596  alet.roux@york.ac.uk  G/N/131 
Dr David Simmons +44 1904 32 2058

david.simmons@york.ac.uk

 G/N/014
Prof. Evgeny Sklyanin FRS +44 1904 32 4162 evgeny.sklyanin@york.ac.uk G/N/040
Prof Jacco Thijssen +44 1904 32 4138 jacco.thijssen@york.ac.uk G/N/144
Prof. Reidun Twarock +44 1904 32 5368 reidun.twarock@york.ac.uk Ron Cooke Hub: 323 
Prof. Sanju Velani +44 1904 32 4599 sanju.velani@york.ac.uk G/N/101 
Dr Benoit Vicedo  +44 1904 32 3082 b.vicedo@york.ac.uk  G/N/141a
Dr Stefan Weigert +44 1904 32 4152 stefan.weigert@york.ac.uk G/N/137 
Dr Graeme Wilkin  +44 1904 32 3844 graeme.wilkin@york.ac.uk  G/N/011
Prof. Julie Wilson +44 1904 32 3092  julie.wilson@york.ac.uk  G/N/105
Dr Chris Wood  +44 1904 32 3073  chris.wood@york.ac.uk  G/N/128 
Prof Andrew (Jamie) Wood +44 1904 32 8572 jamie.wood@york.ac.uk Biology D/001A
Prof. Tomasz Zastawniak +44 1904 32 4138 tomasz.zastawniak@york.ac.uk G/N/144
Prof. Wenyang Zhang +44 1904 32 3774  wenyang.zhang@york.ac.uk  G/N/132A 
Dr Yue Zhao +44 1904 32 3669 yue.zhao@york.ac.uk G/N/043
Dr Evgeniy Zorin  +44 1904 32 3080  evgeniy.zorin@york.ac.uk  G/N/122 

Support Staff

All support staff are based in room G/N/127.

Heather Cork +44 1904 32 2708 heather.cork@york.ac.uk Student Administration Manager
Tegan Currie +44 1904 32 2709 tegan.currie@york.ac.uk Exams and Assessments Administrator
Julie-Ann Cotterrell +44 1904 32 3070 julie-ann.cotterrell@york.ac.uk Receptionist/Administrative Assistant
Emily Ellis +44 1904 32 2039

emily.ellis@york.ac.uk

Exams and Assessments Administrator
Linda Elvin +44 1904 32 2654 maths-admin@york.ac.uk PA and Administrator
Nicola Glenn +44 1904 32 3070 nicola.glenn@york.ac.uk Undergraduate Administrator
Cheryl Gooby +44 1904 32 4159 cheryl.gooby@york.ac.uk Student Services Assistant
Annabel Jenkins +44 1904 32 3895/2996 annabel.jenkins@york.ac.uk Research Facilitator
Cheri Mussell +44 1904 32 4165 cheri.mussell@york.ac.uk Department Manager
Andy Poyer 44 1904 32 3071

andy.poyer@york.ac.uk

 Research Administrator
Nicholas Page +44 1904 32 3097 nicholas.page@york.ac.uk Graduate Administrator

PhD Students

 

Asma Alalyani

aasa525@york.ac.uk

 Mathematical Finance and Stochastic Analysis
Dalal Alharbi da761@york.ac.uk Mathematical Finance and Stochastic Analysis
Nouf Alqahtani nama506@york.ac.uk  Algebra
Arnon Archankul

aa2363@york.ac.uk

Mathematical Finance and Stochastic Analysis
Chris Attenborough cea522@york.ac.uk Algebra
Adam Beales amb663@york.ac.uk Quantum Information
Guy Beavis gb789@york.ac.uk Mathematical Biology and Chemistry
Rutvij Bhavsar

rvrb500@york.ac.uk

Quantum Information
Joseph Butterick jwbb500@york.ac.uk Mathematical Biology and Chemistry
Dingjia Cao

dc1221@york.ac.uk

Statistics and Probability
Samuel Carmichael

swc508@york.ac.uk

Mathematical Biology and Chemistry
Scott Carson sc1485@york.ac.uk Algebra
Georgy Chargaziya gc778@york.ac.uk Mathematical Finance and Stochastic Analysis
Palvinder Chhokar

psc517@york.ac.uk

Mathematical Physics 
Sam Crawford sjc635@york.ac.uk Mathematical Physics
Bethany Dixon

bd723@york.ac.uk

Number Theory
Alexandre Hefren De Vasconcelos Junior advj500@york.ac.uk Mathematical Physics
Jonathan Embleton je687@york.ac.uk Statistics and Probability
Vincenzo Fiorentino

vf579@york.ac.uk

Quantum Information
Tyler Gaines

tg866@york.ac.uk

Mathematical Biology and Chemistry
Ambroise Grau

ag1367@york.ac.uk

Algebra
Simon Hart

sph522@york.ac.uk

Algebra
Adam Higgins ah1484@york.ac.uk Algebra
Sam Hill srh532@york.ac.uk Mathematical Biology and Chemistry
Peiyun Hu ph909@york.ac.uk Statistics and Probability
Mihail Hurmuzov mh1937@york.ac.uk Algebra
Junxuan Jiang jj1411@york.ac.uk Statistics and Probability
Shashaank Khanna sk1808@york.ac.uk Quantum Information
Harkan Kirk-Karakaya

hkk506@york.ac.uk

Mathematical Physics
Bradley Lang bl1053@york.ac.uk Mathematical Physics
Vasileios Letsios

vl624@york.ac.uk

Mathematical Physics
Xiaoyuan Liu

xl1725@york.ac.uk

Mathematical Biology and Chemistry
Alistair Mansfield

ajm695@york.ac.uk

Quantum Information
Roberta Merli rm1562@york.ac.uk Statistics and Probability
Jamie Milne jm2163@york.ac.uk Mathematical Biology and Chemistry
Christoph Minz cm1757@york.ac.uk Mathematical Physics
Andrew Pearce-Crump aepc501@york.ac.uk Number Theory
Lisa Readdy ljr563@york.ac.uk Mathematical Biology and Chemistry
Ross Ratcliffe rr609@york.ac.uk Algebra
Maximilian Heinz Ruep

mhr514@york.ac.uk

Mathematical Physics
Lasse Schmieding lcs549@york.ac.uk Mathematical Physics
Georgia Schneider gms540@york.ac.uk Algebra
Andrew Scoones

ajs698@york.ac.uk

Number Theory
Kuntal Sengupta ks1759@york.ac.uk Quantum Information
David Serrano Blanco dsb523@york.ac.uk Mathematical Physics
Matthew Sparkes mjs572@york.ac.uk Mathematical Biology and Chemistry
Maxwell Strachan mas521@york.ac.uk Geometry and Analysis
Youpeng Sun ys1604@york.ac.uk Mathematical Finance and Stochastic Analysis
Matthew Thompson mjt560@york.ac.uk Number Theory
Diego Vidal Cruz Prieto dvc501@york.ac.uk Mathematical Physics
Berend Visser bjv503@york.ac.uk Mathematical Physics
Ying Wai Lee

yl5724@york.ac.uk

Number Theory
Liqiong Wang lw540@york.ac.uk Mathematical Finance and Stochastic Analysis
Cordelia Webb

cw1953@york.ac.uk

Differential Geometry
Emily Williams

ejw563@york.ac.uk

Algebra 
Jennifer Winstone

jw1991@york.ac.uk

 Mathematical Physics
Haoxuan Zhang

hz885@york.ac.uk

Statistics and Probability
Art'om Zolotarjov

az697@york.ac.uk

Mathematical Biology and Chemistry

Departmental Officers

Department Management Team

Head of Department (HoD) - Prof Martin Bees

Deputy HoD for Teaching - Dr Alet Roux

Deputy HoD for Research  - Prof Michael Bate

Chair, Board of Studies - Dr Chris Hughes

Head of Section, Applied Mathematics - Prof Roger Colbeck

Head of Section, Pure Mathematics - Dr Victor Beresnevich

Head of Section, Statistics  - Prof Degui Li

Head of Section, Mathematical Finance - Prof Jacco Thijssen

Departmental Manager - Cheri Mussell

Director of Admissions - Dr Kasia Rejzner

Chair, Graduate Research School Committee -  Dr Jon Pitchford

Chair, Equality & Good Practice Committee  (EGPC) - Dr Emilie Dufresne

Other Committee and Administrative roles

Deputy Chair, Board of Studies - Dr Ian McIntosh

Chair, Board of Examiners - Dr Eli Hawkins

Chair, Assessment Committee and Exams Officer - Dr Ben Powell

Chair, Exceptional Circumstances Committee - Dr Agostino Nobile

Chair, Teaching Committee (ex officio as DHoD-T) - Dr Alet Roux

GTA Coordinator (ex officio as DHoD-T) – Dr Alet Roux

Staff-Student Liaison Officer - Dr Christian Litterer

Chair, Department Research Committee (ex officio as DHoD-R) – Prof Michael Bate

Impact Officer - Prof Julie Wilson

Chair, Graduate Research School Committee - Dr Jon Pitchford

Outreach & Public Engagement Officer - Dr Andrea Meireles Rodrigues

Careers & Employment Officer - Dr George Constable

UG Admissions officer - Dr Graeme Wilkin

Athena SWAN Bronze Award resubmission - Dr Stefan Weigert

 

Year Tutors

First Year -  Dr Jason Levesley

Second Year - Brent Everitt (Ian McIntosh for Autumn Term 2021) 

Third and Fourth year - Prof Ed Corrigan