Accessibility statement

Research staff

Staff MemberResearch Interests
Dr Miranda Armstrong
Research Associate
miranda.armstrong@york.ac.uk
  • Family and women’s relationships
  • Intersectional inequalities
  • The life course
Dr Vanessa Ashall
Senior Research Fellow
vanessa.ashall@york.ac.uk 
  • Sociology of Medicine
  • Interspecies entanglement
  • End of life
  • Donation
  • Health and wellbeing
Dr Sangeeta Chattoo
Senior Research Fellow 
+44 (0)1904 32 3577 
sangeeta.chattoo@york.ac.uk
  • Global health
  • Genetic disorders
  • Reproductive technologies
  • Race, ethnicity and citizenship
  • Ethnographic and biographical methods 

Dr Christine Jackson-Taylor
Research Associate
christine.Jackson-taylor@york.ac.uk

  • Gender and sexuality 
  • Faith and religion 
  • Narrative research
  • Identity and self
Dr Aurélien Mokoko Gampiot
Research Associate
aurelien.mokokogampiot@york.ac.uk
  • African religions and the African Diaspora
  • Religion, race and gender
  • Judaism and Black Jewish Studies
  • Christianity of the South and African Diaspora
  • French Studies and Francophone studies
Dr Franziska E. Kohlt
Research Associate
franziska.kohlt@york.ac.uk
  • Science Communication
  • Sociology of Communication
  • Narrative Studies
  • History of Science
  • Science and Religion
  • Fantasy, Literature and Science in Society
  • Childhood Studies
  • Death Studies

Dr Joanna Malone
Postdoctoral Research Associate
+44 (0)1904 32 5698
joanna.malone@york.ac.uk 

  • Religion and non-religion
  • Ageing and the life-course
  • Inter-generational research
  • End of Life
  • Citizenship and belonging
Dr Ayshka Sené
Research Associate
  • The history and memory of the Second World War in France and Britain
  • National identity and belonging in France
  • Oral history theory and practice
Dr Frances Thirlway
Research Fellow
+44 (0)1904 32 3064
frances.thirlway@york.ac.uk
  • Class, health and culture
  • Post-industrial and mining communities
  • Tobacco Smoking, cessation, e-cigarettes
  • Cannabis and cannabidiol
  • Tobacco use and global health
  • Popular street parade and performance