Accessibility statement

Department Management Team

The Departmental Management Team (DMT) supports the Head of Department (HoD) in the development and implementation of the overall strategic, academic and financial plans of the department. DMT maintains an overview of the department’s key areas of activity and makes decisions to ensure that the department operates effectively and succeeds in its strategic goals, securing the ongoing financial sustainability of the department.

DMT meets three times each semester and once during the summer vacation.

Staff member Job title 
Nik Brown Head of Department
Ruth Penfold-Mounce Deputy HoD for teaching, learning and assessment 
Haley McAvay Deputy HoD for staffing strategy and work loading
Rachel Alsop Director of Centre for Women's Studies
Karl Atkin Director of REF
Sian Beynon-Jones Chair of Board of Studies
Emma Casey Director of UG Teaching and Learning 
Sarah Couttie-Cunningham Administration Manager
Sheila Davitt Research Facilitator 
Nicola Lowe Deputy Head of Faculty Operations
Debs Stephens Student Services Manager
Merran Toerien Director of Research
Robin Wooffitt Recruitment and Admissions Tutor