Staff

Teaching staff

Staff Role Interests 

Dr Kate Brown

Chair of the Board of Studies (Criminology)

Lecturer
Department of Social Policy and Social Work 

kate.brown@york.ac.uk 

  • Vulnerable young people
  • The concept of 'vulnerability'
  • The sex industry

Sharon Grace

Lecturer
Department of Social Policy and Social Work

sharon.grace@york.ac.uk

  • Victimisation
  • Illicit drug use
  • Administration of justice

Professor Paul Johnson

Professor
Department of Sociology

  

  • Gender and sexuality
  • Human rights
  • Deviance and social control

Dr Gernot Klantschnig

Senior Lecturer
Department of Social Policy and Social Work


gernot.klantschnig@york.ac.uk

  •  

Dr Gareth Millington

Senior Lecturer
Department of Sociology 

 

  • Urban studies
  • Race and immigration, working class urban cultures
  • Film Noir and urban crime fiction

Rachel Morris

Lecturer
Department of Social Policy and Social Work

rachel.morris@york.ac.uk

  • Youth justice
  • Risk & professional decision making
  • Probation and youth
  • Offending team practices
  • Gender and crime (specifically girls and crime)
  • Qualitative research methods

Dr Lisa O'Malley

Lecturer
Department of Social Policy and Social Work

lisa.omalley@york.ac.uk

  • Urban renewal
  • Crime prevention and community safety
  • Voluntary sector

Professor Maggie O'Neill

Programme Director

Department of Sociology

maggie.oneill@york.ac.uk

  • Cultural Criminology
  • Critical Theory & Feminist Theory
  • Participatory Action Research
  • Mobile and Arts Based Methods
  • Sex Work & Sexual Exploitation
  • Migration/Forced migration
  • Asylum-Migration-Community nexus

Dr Ruth Penfold-Mounce

Programme Coordinator

Lecturer
Department of Sociology 

ruth.penfold-mounce@york.ac.uk

  • Sociology of celebrity
  • Sociology of crime and deviance
  • Seduction, fascination and spectacle

Dr Katy Sian

Lecturer

Department of Sociology

katy.sian@york.ac.uk

  • Critical race theory
  • Post/de-coloniality
  • Inter-ethnic relations
  • Islamophobia and the war on terror
  • Critical Sikh studies
  • Migration and Diaspora
  • Citizenship and Multiculturalism
  • Crime and racialization

Key contacts

Admissions Tutor

Administrative contact

for current students