Staff

BA Criminology Programme Team

Dr Ruth Penfold-Mounce
Director of Criminology
Senior Lecturer, Department of Sociology
ruth.penfold-mounce@york.ac.uk

  • Programme leader for BA Criminology and BA Sociology with Criminology       
  • Criminology Dissertation Coordinator
  • Sociology Dissertation Coordination

Dr Lisa O'Malley
Deputy Director of Criminology
Senior Lecturer, Department of Social Policy and Social Work
lisa.omalley@york.ac.uk

  • Social Policy and Social Work

Lauren Cumming
Administrative support
Lauren.cumming@york.ac.uk

  • Sociology

Johnathan Stokoe 
Administrative support
Johnathan.stokoe@york.ac.uk

  • Social Policy

Lecturing staff

Dr Kate Brown
Lecturer, Department of Social Policy and Social Work              
kate.brown@york.ac.uk

  • Module Convenor: Youth Justice AND Vulnerability, Deviance and Social Control

Dr Rachael Burns
Associate Lecturer, Department of Sociology
Rachael.burns@york.ac.uk

  • Module Convenor: The Racial State

Dr Silvia Falcetta
Research Associate, Department of Sociology
Silvia.facetta@york.ac.uk

  • Sociology

Sharon Grace
Senior Lecturer, Department of Social Policy and Social Work
sharon.grace@york.ac.uk

  • Module Convenor: Illicit Drug Use

Professor Paul Johnson
Professor, Department of Sociology
paul.johnson@york.ac.uk

  • Module Convenor: Crime, Gender and Sexuality

Dr Gernot Klantschnig
Senior Lecturer, Department of Social Policy and Social Work
gernot.klantschnig@york.ac.uk

  • Social Policy and Social Work

Charlie Lloyd
Reader, Social Policy and Social Work
Charlie.lloyd@york.ac.uk

  • Module Convenor: Criminal Justice and Policing

Professor Matt Matravers
Professor, Department of Law
Matthew.matravers@york.ac.uk

  • Module Convenor: Philosophy of Law

Dr Gareth Millington
Senior Lecturer, Department of Sociology
gareth.millington@york.ac.uk

  • Chair of Board of Studies
  • Module Convenor: Theoretical Criminology

Dr Katy Sian
Lecturer, Department of Sociology
katy.sian@york.ac.uk

  • Sociology Departmet Admissions Tutor
  • Module Convenor: Crime, Culture and Social Change

Dr Rachel Vipond
Lecturer, Department of Social Policy and Social Work
rachel.vipond@york.ac.uk

  • Module Convenor: Prisons and Penal Policy