Who to contact

University of York Research Staff Liaison Officers (RSLOs)

The Research Staff Liaison Officer role was created in 2017 to provide a link between research staff (postdocs, researchers, fellows) and the central support teams. In 2018-2019 the role is held by three members of staff as detailed below who will liaise with research staff, represent the research staff community and champion issues affecting research staff. 

Dr Namrata Ravichandra Ganneri - representative for the Arts & Humanities and Social Sciences

Namrata is a Commonwealth-Rutherford Fellow at the Centre for Global Health Histories (CGHH) and the Department of History for twenty-three months (22 March 2018 to 21 February 2020). Her project entitled ‘India’s Smallpox Eradication Programme as a Global Roadmap’ closely examines the pilot programmes in the Indian state of Goa to offer a fuller picture of the global history and narrative of smallpox eradication. Namrata is on study leave from her position as Assistant Professor in History at S.N.D.T. College of Arts & S.C.B. College of Commerce and Science for Women, Mumbai where she has been employed since 2007. Her profile page, https://www.york.ac.uk/history/staff/research-staff/ganneri/ gives details about her research and other engagements.

In her new role as the University Research Staff Liaison Officer for Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences, Namrata hopes to amplify the views and opinions of the research staff community. Namrata will pro-actively work to engage and involve fellow researchers from diverse disciplinary backgrounds through the next academic year. With a firm belief that effective and enhanced communication is key to career development of researchers, Namrata and her colleagues will work towards organising a series of programmes to publicise the review of the Concordat. 

Dr Francina Clayton - representative for the Sciences (shared role)

Francina is a Research Associate in the Department of Psychology exploring the development of spoken and written language, with a particular focus on the skills that underlie children’s reading and numeracy. Francina began her career in research at the University of York when she received a Wellcome Trust Biomedical Vacation Scholarship during her undergraduate degree in Psychology (2009-2012). This project used electroencephalography (EEG) to investigate potential neural markers of developmental dyslexia. While completing her PhD, Francina also received funding from the Experimental Psychology Society to spend a month as a Visiting Research Student in the Laboratory for Educational Neuroscience at the University of California San Francisco. During this visit Francina worked on a project identifying neurobiological patterns predicted by children’s reading behaviour. In addition to research, Francina is passionate about the provision of excellent teaching and supervision and in 2016 became an Associate Fellow of the Higher Education Academy.

As a Research Staff Liaison Officer, Francina is keen to represent the views of research staff in the Sciences faculty and work together with the RET team to create outstanding support and development opportunities for all researchers at the University of York.

The role's main responsibilities are to:

  • Facilitate communication and networking between research staff both within the Departments, across Faculties and the wider University community
  • Represent researchers from all Faculties and Departments on the Research Excellence training committee
  • Facilitate face to face shared practice opportunities for researchers to come together to discuss the issues facing them including the Research Staff conference
  • Contribute to the national review of the Concordat to Support the Career Development of Researchers
  • Provide input to the implementation of the University’s Concordat Action Plan

Departments with Research Staff Associations

DepartmentGroup nameContact
Archaeology

Postdoctoral Researchers and Research Fellows

Harry Robson, harry.robson@york.ac.uk
Biology

Post-doc Society

More information on Biology Post-Doc Society (PDF , 171kb)

Liz Rylott, liz.rylott@york.ac.uk
CRD Researchers' meeting

Sofia Diassofia.dias@york.ac.uk

Chemistry  

James Comerford, james.comerford@york.ac.uk

Computer Science   Simon Hickinbotham, simon.hickinbotham@york.ac.uk
Education  Early Career Researchers Forum Pep Mateos Gonzalez, pep.mateosgonzalez@york.ac.uk
Electronic Engineering Early Career Researchers Forum Richard Redpath, richard.redpath@york.ac.uk
Environment and Geography Early Career Researchers Forum Brett Sallach, brett.sallach@york.ac.uk
Health Sciences Contract Researchers' Forum Cynthia Iglesias, cynthia.iglesias@york.ac.uk
Physics

Early Career Forum

phys-ecf@york.ac.uk

Psychology

Early Career Researchers Forum

Good Practice Example from the Department of Psychology (PDF , 144kb)

Katya Krieger-Redwood, katya.krieger-redwood@york.ac.uk