Who are we and what do we do?

We’re here to offer advice to staff, students and visitors and to promote inclusivity across the University.

We can arrange academic support and adjustments if you have a disability or long-term health condition that has an impact on your ability to study. This may include:

  • an autistic spectrum condition
  • a visual impairment
  • a hearing impairment
  • a long standing illness or health condition such as diabetes or chronic fatigue
  • a mental health condition
  • a specific learning difficulty (SpLD) such as dyslexia, dyspraxia or attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD)
  • physical/mobility difficulties

Our staff

If you have a general query, or haven't been in touch with the team before, please contact us at disabilityservices@york.ac.uk.

Name

RoleEmailExtension
James Browne Disability Practitioner (Arts and Humanities) james.browne@york.ac.uk 4049
Liz Brogden SpLD Practitioner liz.brogden@york.ac.uk 4146 
Katie Emsley Disability Practitioner (Social Sciences) katie.emsley@york.ac.uk 4134 
Agnes Mcmonagle SpLD Practitioner agnes.mcmonagle@york.ac.uk 2150 
Claire Shanks Disability Practitioner (Sciences) claire.shanks@york.ac.uk 4101
Kim Stephen Administrator (Mon-Thurs) kim.stephen@york.ac.uk  4785
Laila Fish Operations Manager laila.fish@york.ac.uk  2637 / 6459 
Fi Rose  Administrator (excluding Wed)  fi.rose@york.ac.uk   4758
Jacqui Baker Receptionist (Evening team) jacqui.baker@york.ac.uk  2140