Accessibility statement

Honorary Positions held in Biology

Honorary Professors

Professor Sue Hartley

  • Former Professor of Ecology and Director of the York Environmental Sustainability, including the role of Research Champion for Environmental Sustainability and Resilience, now Vice-President for Research at the University of Sheffield

Professor Thorun Helgason

  • Former Deputy Head of Department (Teaching and Staff), now Head of School, School of Biological Sciences at the University of Edinburgh.

Professor Ottoline Leyser CBE, FRS

  • Former Chair of the Research Committee, now Director of the Sainsbury Laboratory and Professor of Plant Development at the University of Cambridge

Professor Jennifer Potts

  • Former Chair of Molecular Biophysics and Head of Department, now Head of School, Life and Environmental Sciences at The University of Sydney

Professor Antal Rot

  • Research interests are related to the molecular and cellular mechanisms of the involvement of chemokines, their classical and atypical receptors in innate and adaptive immunity and disease pathogenesis.

Professor Dale Sanders FRS

  • Former Head of Department, now Director of the John Innes Centre; membrane transport and signal transduction in plants, with emphasis on transport of heavy metals and calcium

Professor Matthew Thomas

  • Former Director of YESI, now Professor and Director at the Invasion Science Research Institute and Department of Entomology and Nematology, University of Florida

Honorary Fellows

Dr Sue Bougourd

  • B-chromosomes in Allium schoenoprasum; Arabidopsis developmental genetics and cell biology: (i) The coordination of cell division and cell expansion during embryogenesis and leaf organogenesis; (ii) Confocal imaging and three-dimensional reconstruction of plant meristems

Dr Jim Hoggett

  • Former Deputy Head of Department

Dr Geoff Oxford

  • Evolutionary genetics with an emphasis on (i) convergent evolution of colour polymorphisms in spiders, (ii) hybridisation and its consequences in large house spiders

Honorary Visiting Fellows/Professors

Dr Belinda Bullard   

  • Former Staff Scientist at EMBL, Heidelberg; regulation of contraction in insect flight muscle and the control of sarcomere assembly by large modular proteins

Dr C Adam Middleton

  • Former Head of Human Biology Department, University of Leeds; using genetic tools to investigate neuromuscular function and development

Dr Jens Stahlschmidt

  • Dept of Histopathology, St James's Institute of Oncology, Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust