(c) John Houlihan

Elective modules

Elective modules are those offered by departments to students from outside that department. 

Departments identify non-compulsory modules within each of their programmes that a student may replace with elective modules. The number of modules that may be replaced in this way cannot normally amount to more than 40 credits. 

Please note that it may not always be possible to grant your request to undertake an elective module because of timetabling or other constraints.

Applying to register

Please complete an elective module application form, choosing modules from the list below and forward this to the elective module contract within your department.

Elective module form (MS Word  , 46kb)

 

Departmental contacts

Each department has a member of staff who acts as a key point of contact for students wishing to take electives. They provide students with information about academic requirements and put them in touch with module tutors if necessary. Chairs of Boards of Studies will still be required to authorise all elective requests.

Please note: some departments do not update their lists until later on in the year. Please get in touch with them directly when this is the case.

Elective modules by departmentDepartmental contactEmail
Archaeology  Claire McNamara claire.mcnamara@york.ac.uk
Biology Ann Mathe  
CELT Vanessa Bell vanessa.bell@york.ac.uk
Chemistry Dr Nigel Lowe nigel.lowe@york.ac.uk
Economics and Related Studies Diane Atkinson  diane.atkinson@york.ac.uk
Education Kath Armstrong educ525@york.ac.uk
English and Related Literature
Undergraduate modules
Michelle Jepson michelle.jepson@york.ac.uk  
English and Related Literature
MA modules
Sarah Pickwell sarah.pickwell@york.ac.uk  
Environment  Katherine Selby
Health Sciences
Postgraduate modules
Di Stockdale diane.stockdale@york.ac.uk
History
UndergraduateMA modules

Bridget Hunt and Emlyn Roberts 

history-ug-administration@york.ac.uk
History of Art Andrew Wilkinson history-of-art@york.ac.uk
Language and Linguistic Science Rachel O'Brien rachel.obrien@york.ac.uk
Languages for All Rachel O'Brien rachel.obrien@york.ac.uk
Mathematics Nicola Glenn nicola.glenn@york.ac.uk
Music Dr Aine Sheil aine.sheil@york.ac.uk
Natural Sciences Ali Thompson alison.thompson@york.ac.uk
Philosophy Carol Dixon carol.dixon@york.ac.uk
Physics Tamara Grant tamara.grant@york.ac.uk
Social Policy and Social Work Angela Chapman angela.chapman@york.ac.uk
Sociology

John Forecast and Debs Stephens

sociology-ug@york.ac.uk