Academic staff

*** indicates staff who are looking to supervise PhD students

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Professor Ellen Annandale ***
Professor
01904 32 4561
ellen.annandale@york.ac.uk
  • Sociology of health and illness
  • Sociology of gender

Andrew Bartlett
Research Fellow
andrew.bartlett@york.ac.uk

  • Science and Technology Studies (STS)

Professor David Beer ***
Professor
Co-director SATSU
01904 32 3049

  • Culture
  • Media and New Media
  • Social and Cultural theory
  • Digital methods

Dr Siân Beynon-Jones ***
Lecturer
01904 32 3064

  • Politics of expertise concerning reproductive and other new life science technologies
  • The construction of human/non-human boundaries
  • The sociological study of the healthcare profession
  • Feminist theory

Dr Lyn Brierley-Jones
Research Associate
01904 32 3055
lyn.brierley-jones@york.ac.uk 

  • Sociology of Knowledge
  • History of homoeopathy
  • Culture, health and wellbeing
  • Language and communication
  • Stigma and stillbirth

Professor Nik Brown ***
Director of REF
Chair of Impact subcommittee
Professor, Co-director SATSU
01904 32 4741

  • Sociology of health
  • Regulation of bioscience
  • Classical/contemporary social theory

Dr Christina Buse
Lecturer
01904 32 3233
christina.buse@york.ac.uk

  • Embodiment
  • Ageing
  • Dementia
  • Material culture and technology

Dr Roxanne Connelly
Senior Lecturer
 

  • Social Stratification
  • Sociology of Education
  • Quantitative Research Methods

Dr Silvia Falcetta
Research Associate
01904 32 4737
silvia.falcetta@york.ac.uk

  • Human rights and sexual minorities
  • The role of Judicial Interpretation in human rights law
  • The ECHR system
  • Law and sexual orientation
  • Feminist jurisprudence

Harald Fredheim
Research Associate
harald.fredheim@york.ac.uk

  • Critical heritage studies
  • Participatory practice and non-participation

Dr Laurie Hanquinet ***
Deputy Head of Department
Senior Lecturer
01904 32 4743
laurie.hanquinet@york.ac.uk

  • Cultural sociology
  • Attitudes towards art
  • Sociology of immigration
  • Methodology, quantitative analysis and mixed methods

Dr Clare Jackson ***
Senior Lecturer
01904 32 3579

  • How gender and sexuality are produced and resisted in talk-in-interaction

Professor Stevi Jackson
Professor
01904 32 3672

  • Feminist theory
  • Theories of gender and sexuality
  • Women's and family relationships
  • Sociology of childhood

Professor Paul Johnson ***
Head of Department
Professor
01904 32 4742
paul.johnson@york.ac.uk
h.geddes@york.ac.uk (PA)

  • Gender and sexuality
  • Human rights
  • Deviance and social control

Dr Nisha Kapoor ***
Lecturer
01904 32 3059
nisha.kapoor@york.ac.uk

  • The War on Terror in Britain
  • The racial state and postcoloniality
  • Racial Segregation in Britain and the US
  • Racism in education
  • Critical race theory

Victoria Land
Research Associate
01904 323055
victoria.land@york.ac.uk

 

  • Conversation analysis 
  • Healthcare interactions, with a focus on decision-making 
  • Labour and childbirth 
  • Palliative care 
  • Gender and sexuality 
  • Feminism

Professor Joanna Latimer ***
Director of Teaching
Professor, Director of SATSU
joanna.latimer@york.ac.uk

  • New genetics
  • Reproduction
  • Development and ageing

Dr Steph Lawler ***
Reader
01904 32 4702
steph.lawler@york.ac.uk


  • Social equalities and social identities, particularly class, gender and generation
  • theoretical work of Bourdieu and Goffman

Dr Xiaodong Lin ***
Senior Lecturer
01904 32 2636
xiaodong.lin@york.ac.uk

  • Men and masculinities
  • Family, generations and kinship
  • Food, care and everyday life
  • Education and schooling in China

Mr Brian Loader ***
Senior lecturer
01904 32 2639

  • Social/community informatics
  • Information age politics
  • Political sociology

Professor Sharon Macdonald 
Anniversary Professor
01904 32 4738
sharon.macdonald@york.ac.uk

  • Cultural heritage and museums
  • Memory and identity
  • Anthropological theory and practice

Dr Daryl Martin ***
Senior Lecturer
01904 32 2633

  • Architectural theory
  • Cultural Geography
  • Social and cultural theory
  • Urban Studies

Dr Gareth Millington ***
Senior Lecturer
01904 32 3058
gareth.millington@york.ac.uk

  • Urban Studies
  • Urban Cultures
  • Race, Racism and Migration
  • Memory and the City

Professor Sarah Nettleton ***
Director of Research
Professor
01904 32 3062

  • Sociology of health and illness
  • Sociology of the body

Dr Tom O'Brien
Lecturer
t.obrien@york.ac.uk

  • Environmental Sociology
  • Democratisation
  • Social Movements
  • Political Leadership

Prof Maggie O'Neill ***
Professor
01904 32 3046
maggie.oneill@york.ac.uk

  • Cultural Criminology
  • Critical Theory & Feminist Theory
  • Participatory Action Research
  • Mobile and Arts Based Methods
  • Sex Work & Sexual Exploitation
  • Migration/Forced migration
  • Asylum-Migration-Community nexus 

Dr Rachel O'Neill
Research Fellow
01904 32 3060
rachel.oneill@york.ac.uk 

  • Gender and sexuality
  • Intimacy and subjectivity
  • Cultural politics
  • Feminist theory
  • Ethnographic research 

Dr Ruth Penfold-Mounce ***  
Senior Lecturer
01904 32 3045

  • Death and Corpses
  • Popular Culture
  • Fame and Celebrity
  • Crime and Criminal Justice
  • Cultural Criminology

Dr Darren Reed *** 
Senior Lecturer
01904 32 3047

  • Human-computer interaction
  • Health, urban transport and intelligent communication systems
  • Social informatics

Dr Amanda Rees ***
Chair of Board of Studies (Terms 1 and 3)
Senior Lecturer
01904 32 3054

  • Social theory
  • Sociology of science
  • Popular understanding of science
  • History of primatology

Daniel Robins
Associate Lecturer
01904 324863
daniel.robins@york.ac.uk

  • Death and the corpse
  • The operation of the UK Death Industry, particularly involving the use of funeral technologies
  • Mental health
  • The historical development of capitalism

Dr Sam Robinson 
Research Fellow
01904 32 3577

  • Cold War
  • Scientific/Technological Futures 

Professor Victoria Robinson ***
Director Centre for Women's Studies
Professor
01904 32 3672
vicki.robinson@york.ac.uk

  • Feminist theory
  • Fashion and footwear cultures
  • Men and masculinities
  • Heterosexualities
  • Risk sports
  • Feminist sociology of the everyday

Rachael Shillitoe
Research Associate
rachael.shillitoe@york.ac.uk

  • Sociology of religion
  • Childhood studies and education 
  • Anthropology of religion and ethics

Dr Katy Sian ***
Deputy Undergraduate Admissions Officer 
Lecturer
01904 32 4738
katy.sian@york.ac.uk

  • Racisim and ethnicity studies
  • de/post-coloniality
  • migration and disporia
  • inter-ethnic relations
  • Sikh studies
  • Islamophobia and the war on terror

Dr Eeva Sointu
Research Fellow
01904 32 3064
eeva.sointu@york.ac.uk

  • Sociology of health and healthcare
  • Sociology of medical education
  • Complementary and alternative health practices, healing
  • Therapeutic discourse
  • Emotion, the body

Dr Anna Strhan ***
Lecturer  
01904 32 3040 
anna.strhan@york.ac.uk

  • Morality, ethics and values
  • Urban religion
  • Contemporary Christianity/ies
  • Nonreligion and Secularity
  • Religion and Childhood
  • Education and Religion
  • Evangelicalism
  • Religion and Parenting

Dr Frances Thirlway 
Research Fellow
01904 32 3064
frances.thirlway@york.ac.uk

  • Class, health and culture
  • Post-industrial and mining communities
  • Smoking, cessation, e-cigarettes
  • Working-class cultural practices

Dr Merran Toerien ***
Senior Lecturer
01904 32 3061

  • Conversation analysis
  • Institutional discourse
  • Health professional-patient interaction
  • Feminism
  • Genders
  • Qualitative methodology

Dr Evangeline Tsao
Associate Lecturer
01904 32 3476
evangeline.tsao@york.ac.uk

  • Gender and sexuality
  • Visual methodologies
  • Feminist theory
  • Critical pedagogy

Dr Ben Vincent
Associate Lecturer
01904 322632
ben.vincent@york.ac.uk

  • Transgender Studies
  • Sexuality
  • Intersectional Feminism
  • Health and Illness
  • Qualitative Methodology

Professor Andrew Webster 
Science and Technology Studies Unit (SATSU)
01904 32 4740

  • Sociology of science and technology
  • Science policy studies
  • Sociology of health innovations
  • Social dynamics of intellectual property
Professor Robin Wooffitt ***
Chair of Board of Studies (Term 2)
Careers and Employability Coordinator
Professor 
01904 32 3063
  • Conversation analysis
  • Discourse
  • Anomalous/exceptional experiences
  • Parapsychology