Accessibility statement

Academic staff

Sociology

Staff memberResearch interests
Professor Ellen Annandale
Professor
+44 (0)1904 32 4561
ellen.annandale@york.ac.uk 
  • Sociology of health and illness
  • Sociology of gender
Professor David Beer 
Professor
Co-director SATSU
+44 (0)1904 32 3049
 
  • Culture
  • Media and New Media
  • Social and Cultural theory
  • Digital methods
Dr Siân Beynon-Jones 
Lecturer
Chair of the Board of Examiners
+44 (0)1904 32 3064
 
  • Politics of expertise concerning reproductive and other new life science technologies
  • The construction of human/non-human boundaries
  • The sociological study of the healthcare profession
  • Feminist theory
Professor Nik Brown 
Deputy Head of Department
Director of REF
Chair of Impact subcommittee
Professor
Co-director SATSU
+44 (0)1904 32 4741
 
  • Sociology of health
  • Regulation of bioscience
  • Classical/contemporary social theory
 

Dr Rachael Burns
Associate Lecturer
+44 (0)1904 32 2428
rachael.burns@york.ac.uk

  • Memory and memorialisation
  • Norbert Elias and Hannah Arendt
  • Holocaust denial
  • Violence
  • Architecture and prisons
  • The history of crime and punishment, death and sequestration

Dr Christina Buse
Lecturer
+44 (0)1904 32 3233
christina.buse@york.ac.uk

  • Embodiment
  • Ageing
  • Dementia
  • Material culture and technology

Dr Matthew Cooper
Teaching Associate
+44 (0)1904 32 4074
matthew.cooper@york.ac.uk

  • Social Security
  • Welfare reform
  • Historical sociology
  • Governmentality
  • Sociological theory

Matt Coward-Gibbs
Associate Lecturer
+44 (0)7800 502 500
matt.coward@york.ac.uk

  • Gamers and gaming
  • Leisure and recreation
  • Rituals interaction with popular culture
  • Death and the undead, particularly monstrosity
  • Contemporary religions (Theravāda Buddhism and Haitian Vodou)

Dr Vicki Dabrowski
Associate Lecturer
+44 (0)1904 32 3060
vicki.dabrowski@york.ac.uk

  • Gender and the role of the state
  • Austerity and crisis
  • Inequality, poverty and disadvantage
  • Feminism and feminist theory
  • Qualitative methodology

Dr Silvia Falcetta
Research Associate
+44 (0)1904 32 4737
silvia.falcetta@york.ac.uk

  • Human rights and sexual minorities
  • The role of Judicial Interpretation in human rights law
  • The ECHR system
  • Law and sexual orientation
  • Feminist jurisprudence

Dr Peter Gardner 
Lecturer in Sociology
peter.gardner@york.ac.uk

  • Ethnic and racial studies
  • Language and identity politics
  • War, conflict, violence and peace-building
  • Postconflict societies
  • Contentious politics
  • Race, racism and postcoloniality

Dr Clare Jackson
Senior Lecturer
+44 (0)1904 32 3579

  • How gender and sexuality are produced and resisted in talk-in-interaction

Christine Jackson-Taylor
Associate Lecturer
christine.Jackson-taylor@york.ac.uk 

  • Lived experiences of religious LGBTQ women across cultures and faiths in the UK and the comforts and conflicts these women experience in developing a sense of self and identity

Professor Paul Johnson
Head of Department
Professor
+44 (0)1904 32 4742
paul.johnson@york.ac.uk
h.geddes@york.ac.uk (PA)

  • Gender and sexuality
  • Human rights
  • Deviance and social control

Professor Joanna Latimer
Professor
Director of SATSU
+44 (0)1904 32 4735
joanna.latimer@york.ac.uk

  • New genetics
  • Reproduction
  • Development and ageing

Dr Steph Lawler
Reader
+44 (0)1904 32 4702
steph.lawler@york.ac.uk

  • Social equalities and social identities, particularly class, gender and generation
  • Theoretical work of Bourdieu and Goffman

Dr Xiaodong Lin
Senior Lecturer
+44 (0)1904 32 2636
xiaodong.lin@york.ac.uk

  • Men and masculinities
  • Family, generations and kinship
  • Food, care and everyday life
  • Education and schooling in China

Dr Haley McAvay
Lecturer
+44 (0)1904 322635
haley.mcavay@york.ac.uk 

  • Migration
  • Residential segregation
  • Race/ethnicity and discrimination using quantitative methods 

Professor Sharon Macdonald
Anniversary Professor
+44 (0)1904 32 4738
sharon.macdonald@york.ac.uk

  • Cultural heritage and museums
  • Memory and identity
  • Anthropological theory and practice

Dr Daryl Martin
Senior Lecturer
+44 (0)1904 32 2633

  • Architectural theory
  • Cultural Geography
  • Social and cultural theory
  • Urban Studies

Dr Cynthia Meersohn Schmidt
Associate Lecturer
+44 (0)1904 32 8671
cynthia.meersohn@york.ac.uk

  • Research Methods and Research Design
  • Modern and Contemporary Sociological Theory
  • Sociology of Health and Illness
  • Sociology of Gender and Sexuality
  • Ageing and the Lifecourse
  • Social Change
  • Social Anthropology

Dr Gareth Millington
Senior Lecturer
+44 (0)1904 32 3058
gareth.millington@york.ac.uk

  • Urban Studies
  • Urban Cultures
  • Race, Racism and Migration
  • Memory and the City

Professor Sarah Nettleton
Director of Research
Professor
+44 (0)1904 32 3062

  • Sociology of health and illness
  • Sociology of the body

Dr Tom O'Brien
Lecturer
Undergraduate Admissions Officer
+44 (0)1904 32 3048
t.obrien@york.ac.uk

  • Environmental Sociology
  • Democratisation
  • Social Movements
  • Political Leadership

Dr Ruth Penfold-Mounce
Chair of Board of Studies
Senior Lecturer
+44 (0)1904 32 3045

  • Death and Corpses
  • Popular Culture
  • Fame and Celebrity
  • Crime and Criminal Justice
  • Cultural Criminology

Dr Darren Reed
Senior Lecturer
+44 (0)1904 32 3047

  • Human-computer interaction
  • Health, urban transport and intelligent communication systems
  • Social informatics

Dr Amanda Rees
Reader
+44 (0)1904 32 3054

  • Social theory
  • Sociology of science
  • Popular understanding of science
  • History of primatology

Dr Carol Robinson
Lecturer
Exceptional Circumstances and Disabilities Chair
+44 (0)1904 323059
carol.robinson@york.ac.uk

  • Criminology
  • Prisons and Penology

Dr Katy Sian
Lecturer
+44 (0)1904 32 4738
katy.sian@york.ac.uk

  • Racisim and ethnicity studies
  • De/post-coloniality
  • Migration and disporia
  • Inter-ethnic relations
  • Sikh studies
  • Islamophobia and the war on terror

Jill Simpson
Associate Lecturer
j.simpson@york.ac.uk

  • Critical data studies
  • Digital Sociology
  • Data visualisation (graphs and charts)
  • Interdisciplinary social research
  • Public engagement through creative practice
  • Qualitative methods

Dr Anna Strhan
Senior Lecturer  
+44 (0)1904 32 3040 
anna.strhan@york.ac.uk

  • Morality, ethics and values
  • Urban religion
  • Contemporary Christianity/ies
  • Nonreligion and Secularity
  • Religion and Childhood
  • Education and Religion
  • Evangelicalism
  • Religion and Parenting

Dr Merran Toerien
Senior Lecturer
Director of Research
+44 (0)1904 32 3061

  • Conversation analysis
  • Institutional discourse
  • Health professional-patient interaction
  • Feminism
  • Genders
  • Qualitative methodology

Dr Richard Tutton
Senior Lecturer
Chair of Teaching and Learning Committee
+44 (0)1904 32 2639
richard.tutton@york.ac.uk

  • Science and Technology Studies
  • Sociology of the Future
  • Sociology of Health and Illness

Professor Andrew Webster
Science and Technology Studies Unit (SATSU)
+44 (0)1904 32 4740

  • Sociology of science and technology
  • Science policy studies
  • Sociology of health innovations
  • Social dynamics of intellectual property

Centre for Women's Studies

Staff memberResearch interests

Dr Boriana Alexandrova
Lecturer
+44 (0) 1904 323029
boriana.alexandrova@york.ac.uk 

  • Contemporary women’s writing and performance
  • 20th to 21st century literary multilingualism and translation, including Irish and European modernism
  • Global and postcolonial studies
  • Cross-disciplinary theories of embodiment

Dr Clare Bielby
Senior Lecturer
Chair Board of Studies
+44 (0)1904 323673

  • Terrorism and gender
  • Violence, representation and gender
  • Violence, subjectivity and affect/emotion
  • The field of perpetrator studies.
  • History of feminisms, particularly German feminisms
  • Queer studies and feminist queer theory
  • Subjectivity and narratives of the self
  • Gender, sexuality and representation
Professor Stevi Jackson
Professor
+44 (0)1904 32 3672
  • Feminist theory
  • Theories of gender and sexuality
  • Women's and family relationships
  • Sociology of childhood
Professor Victoria Robinson
Director Centre for Women's Studies
Professor
+44 (0)1904 32 3672
vicki.robinson@york.ac.uk
  • Feminist theory
  • Fashion and footwear cultures
  • Men and masculinities
  • Heterosexualities
  • Risk sports
  • Feminist sociology of the everyday

Research

Staff memberResearch interests
Dr Vanessa Ashall
Senior Research Fellow
vanessa.ashall@york.ac.uk 
  • Sociology of Medicine
  • Interspecies entaglement
  • End of life
  • Donation
  • Health and wellbeing
Andrew Bartlett
Research Fellow
andrew.bartlett@york.ac.uk
  • Science and Technology Studies (STS)
Dr Lyn Brierley-Jones
Research Associate
+44 (0)1904 32 3057
lyn.brierley-jones@york.ac.uk 
  • Sociology of Knowledge
  • History of homoeopathy
  • Culture, health and wellbeing
  • Language and communication
  • Stigma and stillbirth
Dr Sangeeta Chatoo
Associate Professor and Senior Research Fellow 
+44 (0)1904 32 3577 
sangeeta.chattoo@york.ac.uk
  • Global health
  • Genetic disorders
  • Reproductive technologies
  • Race, ethnicity and citizenship
  • Ethnographic and biographical methods 
Harald Fredheim
Research Associate
harald.fredheim@york.ac.uk
  • Critical heritage studies
  • Participatory practice and non-participation
Victoria Land 
Research Associate
+44 (0)1904 32 3055
victoria.land@york.ac.uk
  • Conversation analysis 
  • Healthcare interactions, with a focus on decision-making 
  • Labour and childbirth 
  • Palliative care 
  • Gender and sexuality 
  • Feminism
Dr Frances Thirlway
Research Fellow
+44 (0)1904 32 3064
frances.thirlway@york.ac.uk
  • Class, health and culture
  • Post-industrial and mining communities
  • Tobacco Smoking, cessation, e-cigarettes
  • Cannabis and cannabidiol
  • Tobacco use and global health
  • Popular street parade and performance