Accessibility statement

Academic staff

 Staff memberResearch interests
  Professor Ellen Annandale
Professor
+44 (0)1904 32 4561
ellen.annandale@york.ac.uk 
  • Sociology of health and illness
  • Sociology of gender
  Professor Karl Atkin
Professor
Director of REF
+44 (0)1904 32 1355
karl.atkin@york.ac.uk
  • Sociology of health and illness
  • Sociology of disability
  Dr Víctor Ávila Torres
Associate Lecturer
+44 (0)1904 32 2638
  • Digital media
  • Culture and technology
  • Music consumption
  • Media studies
  Dr Kath Bassett
Lecturer
+44 (0) 749 867 3281
kath.bassett@york.ac.uk 
  • Ethnographic, Qualitative & Digital Methods
  • ANT, Foucauldian & Posthuman Feminist Theories
  • Digital Technologies, Locative Media Platforms & Algorithmic Governmentality
  • Cities, Cultural-Economic Development & Tourism
  • Emotions, Affect & the Psy Disciplines
  • Masculinties & Transgender Issues/Politics
  Dr Eliran Bar-El
Lecturer
eliran.bar-el@york.ac.uk
  • Social Theory
  • Cultural Sociology
  • Sociology of Intellectual Interventions
  Professor David Beer 
Professor
+44 (0)1904 32 3049
 
  • Culture
  • Media and New Media
  • Social and Cultural theory
  • Digital methods
 

Dr Lloyd Belcher
Lecturer
+44 (0)1904 32 1089
lloyd.belcher@york.ac.uk

  • Cultural criminology
  • Visual research methods
  • Drug use
  • Race and crime
  • Ethnography
  Dr Siân Beynon-Jones 
Senior Lecturer
+44 (0)1904 32 3064
 
  • Politics of expertise concerning reproductive and other new life science technologies
  • The construction of human/non-human boundaries
  • The sociological study of the healthcare profession
  • Feminist theory
  Dr Baptiste Brossard
Lecturer
baptiste.brossard@york.ac.uk
  • Sociology of mental health
  • Qualitative methods
  • Microsociology
  • Historical sociology
  Professor Nik Brown 
Head of Department
Professor
+44 (0)1904 32 4741
 
  • Sociology of health
  • Regulation of bioscience
  • Classical/contemporary social theory
 
 

Dr Rachael Burns
Associate Lecturer
+44 (0)1904 32 2632
rachael.burns@york.ac.uk

  • Memory and memorialisation
  • Norbert Elias and Hannah Arendt
  • Holocaust denial
  • Violence
  • Architecture and prisons
  • The history of crime and punishment, death and sequestration
 

Dr Christina Buse
Lecturer
+44 (0)1904 32 3046
christina.buse@york.ac.uk

  • Embodiment
  • Ageing
  • Dementia
  • Material culture and technology
 

Dr Nicola Carroll
Lecturer
+44 (0)1904 32 2247
nicola.carroll@york.ac.uk 

  • Families and personal lives
  • Intersections of class and gender inequalities
  • Citizenship and welfare
  • Community development
  • Comparative qualitative methods
  • Collaborative approaches to research-policy interaction
 

Dr Emma Casey
Senior Lecturer
emma.casey@york.ac.uk 

  • Social and cultural history of consumption
  • Gambling
  • Sociological studies of domestic life and experiences
 

Dr Matthew Cooper
Associate Lecturer 
+44 (0)1904 32 4074
matthew.cooper@york.ac.uk

  • Social Security
  • Welfare reform
  • Historical sociology
  • Governmentality
  • Sociological theory
 

Dr James Cummings
Lecturer
james.cummings@york.ac.uk

  • Gender, sexuality and identity
 

Dr Silvia Falcetta
Associate Lecturer
+44 (0)1904 32 4737
silvia.falcetta@york.ac.uk

  • Human rights and sexual minorities
  • The role of Judicial Interpretation in human rights law
  • The ECHR system
  • Law and sexual orientation
  • Feminist jurisprudence
 

Dr Peter Gardner 
Lecturer in Sociology
+44 (0)1904 32 6876
peter.gardner@york.ac.uk

  • Ethnic and racial studies
  • Language and identity politics
  • War, conflict, violence and peace-building
  • Postconflict societies
  • Contentious politics
  • Race, racism and postcoloniality
 

Dr Patricia Hamilton
Lecturer
+44 (0)1904 32 2593
patricia.hamilton@york.ac.uk 

  • Black feminist theory
  • Parenting culture studies and reproduction
  • Intersectional politics of early parenting
  • Black feminist research methodologies
  • Assisted reproductive technologies and their intersection with race and parenting
 

Dr Clare Jackson
Senior Lecturer
+44 (0)1904 32 3579

  • Conversation analysis
  • Healthcare interactions
  • Pregnancy and birth
  • Gender
 

Dr Mary Laing
Lecturer
mary.laing@york.ac.uk

 

  • Non-heteronormative and queer sex work
  • Sex work and technologies
  • Academic experiences of researching the sex industry
  • Safety and violence
  • Participatory methods
  • Human rights
 

Dr Kun Li
Associate lecturer
kun.li@york.ac.uk

  • Ageing study
  • Intimate relationships
  • Family relationships
 

Dr Jiaxun Li
Associate lecturer
jiaxun.li@york.ac.uk

  • Science & Technology Studies
  • Social Media Studies
 

Dr Daryl Martin
Senior Lecturer
+44 (0)1904 32 2633

  • Architectural theory
  • Cultural Geography
  • Social and cultural theory
  • Urban Studies
 

Dr Haley McAvayDeputy Head of Department (Staffing and Workload)
Lecturer
+44 (0)1904 322635
haley.mcavay@york.ac.uk 

  • Migration
  • Residential segregation
  • Race/ethnicity and discrimination using quantitative methods 
 

Dr Cynthia Meersohn Schmidt
Associate Lecturer
+44 (0)1904 32 8671
cynthia.meersohn@york.ac.uk

  • Research Methods and Research Design
  • Modern and Contemporary Sociological Theory
  • Sociology of Health and Illness
  • Sociology of Gender and Sexuality
  • Ageing and the Lifecourse
  • Social Change
  • Social Anthropology
 

Dr Gareth Millington
Reader
+44 (0)1904 32 3058
gareth.millington@york.ac.uk

  • Urban Studies
  • Urban Cultures
  • Race, Racism and Migration
  • Memory and the City
 

Dr Emily Nicholls
Lecturer
emily.nicholls@york.ac.uk

  • Gender and identity
  • Femininities
  • Consumption and the Night Time Economy
  • Alcohol and sobriety
 

Dr Raphaël Nowak
Lecturer 
raphael.nowak@york.ac.uk

  • Culture
  • Music consumption
  • Digital technologies
  • Materiality
  • Popular culture heritage
 

Dr Tom O'Brien
Senior Lecturer
+44 (0)1904 32 3048
t.obrien@york.ac.uk

  • Environmental Sociology
  • Democratisation
  • Social Movements
  • Political Leadership
 

Dr Ruth Penfold-MounceDeputy Head of Department (Teaching, Learning and Assessment)
Chair of Board of Studies
Senior Lecturer
+44 (0)1904 32 3045

  • Death Studies
  • Popular Culture and Celebrity
  • Cultural Criminology
  • Pedagogy (the method and practice of teaching)
 

Dr Darren Reed
Senior Lecturer
+44 (0)1904 32 3047

  • Human-computer interaction
  • Health, urban transport and intelligent communication systems
  • Social informatics
 

Dr Amanda Rees
Reader
+44 (0)1904 32 3054

  • Social theory
  • Sociology of science
  • Popular understanding of science
  • History of primatology
 

Dr Daniel Robins
Associate Lecturer
+44 (0)1904 32 3805
daniel.robins@york.ac.uk

  • Environmental Sociology & Criminology
  • Science & Technology Studies
  • Death Studies
 
 

Dr Carol Robinson
Lecturer
Chair of Equalities, Diversity and Inclusion group
+44 (0)1904 323059
carol.robinson@york.ac.uk

  • Criminology
  • Prisons and penology
  • Scholarship of teaching and learning
 

Dr Katy Sian
Senior Lecturer
+44 (0)1904 32 4738
katy.sian@york.ac.uk

  • Racisim and ethnicity studies
  • De/post-coloniality
  • Migration and disporia
  • Inter-ethnic relations
  • Sikh studies
  • Islamophobia and the war on terror
 

Dr Jill Simpson
Associate Lecturer
j.simpson@york.ac.uk

  • Critical data studies
  • Digital Sociology
  • Data visualisation (graphs and charts)
  • Interdisciplinary social research
  • Public engagement through creative practice
  • Qualitative methods
 

Mr Steven Spencer
Associate Lecturer
DACS Academic Skills Adviser
for the Department of Sociology
+44 (0)1904 32 3121
steven.spencer@york.ac.uk

  • Supporting MSC/MA Social media taught postgraduates to develop academic and communication skills within their degree programmes.
 

Dr Sarah Stopforth
Lecturer
+44 (0)1904 32 2786
sarah.stopforth@york.ac.uk 

  • Quantitative research methods
  • Longitudinal data analysis
  • Social stratification
  • Sociology of education
 

Dr Anna Strhan
Senior Lecturer  
+44 (0)1904 32 3040 
anna.strhan@york.ac.uk

  • Morality, ethics and values
  • Urban religion
  • Contemporary Christianity/ies
  • Nonreligion and Secularity
  • Religion and Childhood
  • Education and Religion
  • Evangelicalism
  • Religion and Parenting
 

Dr Merran Toerien
Reader
Director of Research
+44 (0)1904 32 3061

  • Conversation analysis
  • Institutional discourse
  • Health professional-patient interaction
  • Feminism
  • Genders
  • Qualitative methodology
 

Dr Richard Tutton
Senior Lecturer
Chair of Teaching and Learning Committee
+44 (0)1904 32 2639
richard.tutton@york.ac.uk

  • Science and Technology Studies
  • Sociology of the Future
  • Sociology of Health and Illness
 

Dr Dilvin Usta
Associate Lecturer
dilvin.usta@york.ac.uk

  • Intimacy and personal lives
  • Sexuality and gender
  • Migration practices
  • Cultural change and conflict
 

Professor Robin Wooffitt
Professor
+44 (0)1904 32 3063
robin.wooffitt@york.ac.uk

  • Language and social interaction
  • The relationship between language and anomalous experience
  • Reports of mental states in social interaction