Sociology Staff

*** indicates staff who are looking to supervise PhD students

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Prof Ellen Annandale ***
Professor, Head of Department
01904 32 4561
ellen.annandale@york.ac.uk
  • Sociology of health and illness
  • Sociology of gender
Mr Sam Bayley 
01904 323041
sam.bayley@york.ac.uk
  • Department Administrator

Dr David Beer *** 
Reader
01904 32 3049

  • Culture
  • Media and New Media
  • Social and Cultural theory
  • Digital methods

Dr Siân Beynon-Jones ***
Lecturer
01904 32 3064

  • Politics of expertise concerning reproductive and other new life science technologies
  • The construction of human/non-human boundaries
  • The sociological study of the healthcare profession
  • Feminist theory

Prof Nik Brown ***
Professor
01904 32 4741

  • Sociology of health
  • Regulation of bioscience
  • Classical/contemporary social theory

Alison Burton
01904 323234
alison.burton@york.ac.uk

  • Administrative Assistant 

Dr Christina Buse
Research Fellow
01904 32 3060
christina.buse@york.ac.uk

  • Embodiment
  • Ageing
  • Dementia
  • Material culture and technology
Dr Paul Chappell  
Associate Lecturer
01904 434737
paul.chappell@york.ac.uk
  • Culture
  • Food and eating
  • Quantitative and innovative methods

Dr Silvia Falcetta
Research Associate
silvia.falcetta@york.ac.uk

  • Human rights and sexual minorities
  • The role of Judicial Interpretation in human rights law
  • The ECHR system
  • Law and sexual orientation
  • Feminist jurisprudence

Richard Firth
01904 32 3044
richard.firth@york.ac.uk

  • Undergraduate Administrator

Dr Laurie Hanquinet ***
Senior Lecturer
01904 32 4743
laurie.hanquinet@york.ac.uk

  • Cultural sociology
  • Attitudes towards art
  • Sociology of immigration
  • Methodology, quantitative analysis and mixed methods

David Honeywell
Associate Lecturer
david.honeywell@york.ac.uk

  • Process of education and its relationship to prisoners desisting from crime

Dr Tim Huijts ***
Senior Lecturer
01904 32 3040
tim.huijts@york.ac.uk

  • Sociology of health
  • Inequality and social stratification
  • Quantitative research methods
  • International comparisons

Dr Clare Jackson ***
Lecturer
01904 32 3579

  • How gender and sexuality are produced and resisted in talk-in-interaction

Prof Stevi Jackson
Professor
01904 32 3672

  • Feminist theory
  • Theories of gender and sexuality
  • Women's and family relationships
  • Sociology of childhood

Prof Paul Johnson ***
Professor
01904 32 2624
paul.johnson@york.ac.uk

  • Gender and sexuality
  • Human rights
  • Deviance and social control

Dr Nisha Kapoor ***
Lecturer
01904 32 3059
nisha.kapoor@york.ac.uk

  • The War on Terror in Britain
  • The racial state and postcoloniality
  • Racial Segregation in Britain and the US
  • Racism in education
  • Critical race theory

Mr Ed Kirby
Tel: 01904 32 4736
ed.kirby@york.ac.uk 

  • Research Administrator

Prof Celia Kitzinger ***
Professor
01904 32 2635

  • Genders, sexualities
  • Conversation analysis: childbirth
  • Ethical debates about emerging technologies especially end of life issues

Prof Joanna Latimer ***
Professor
joanna.latimer@york.ac.uk

  • New genetics
  • Reproduction
  • Development and ageing

Dr Steph Lawler ***
Reader
01904 32  4702
steph.lawler@york.ac.uk

 
  • social equalities and social identities, particularly class, gender and generation
  • theoretical work of Bourdieu and Goffman

Dr Xiaodong Lin ***
Lecturer
01904 32 2636
xiaodong.lin@york.ac.uk

  • Men and masculinities
  • Gender and migration
  • Ageing, later life and cultural gerontology
  • Cultural values, neoliberalism and China

Mr Brian Loader ***
Senior lecturer
01904 32 2639

  • Social/community informatics
  • Information age politics
  • Political sociology

Prof Sharon Macdonald 
Anniversary Professor
01904 32 4738
sharon.macdonald@york.ac.uk

  • Cultural heritage and museums
  • Memory and identity
  • Anthropological theory and practice

Dr Nathan Manning ***
Lecturer
01904 323048
nathan.manning@york.ac.uk

  • Political sociology (particularly young people’s relationship with politics and disengagement/dissatisfaction with electoral politics)
  • Politics and emotions
  • Conceptions of agency

Dr Daryl Martin ***
Lecturer
01904 32 2633

  • Architectural theory
  • Cultural Geography
  • Social and cultural theory
  • Urban Studies

Dr Gareth Millington ***
Senior Lecturer
01904 32 3058
gareth.millington@york.ac.uk

  • Urban Studies
  • Urban Cultures
  • Race, Racism and Migration
  • Memory and the City

Dr Jennie Morgan
Research Fellow
jennie.morgan@york.ac.uk

  • Ethnography
  • Politics of contemporary museums and heritage institutions

Prof Sarah Nettleton ***
Professor
01904 32 3062

  • Sociology of health and illness
  • Sociology of the body

Carole Nicolson 
Tel: 01904 32 2631
carole.nicolson@york.ac.uk

  • Graduate Administrator (currently on secondment with the Assessments team)

Prof Maggie O'Neill ***
Professor
01904 32 3046
maggie.oneill@york.ac.uk

  • Cultural Criminology
  • Critical Theory & Feminist Theory
  • Participatory Action Research
  • Mobile and Arts Based Methods
  • Sex Work & Sexual Exploitation
  • Migration/Forced migration
  • Asylum-Migration-Community nexus 

Dr Rachel O'Neill
Research Fellow
rachel.oneill@york.ac.uk 

  • Gender and sexuality
  • Intimacy and subjectivity
  • Cultural politics
  • Feminist theory
  • Ethnographic research 

Dr Will Paterson
Associate Lecturer
wp513@york.ac.uk

  • The classed dimensions of community (in)action, the politics of space in the rural-urban fringe of Leeds-Bradford

Dr Ruth Penfold-Mounce *** 
Lecturer
01904 32 3045

  • Celebrity
  • Crime and Deviance
  • Death and corpses

Dr Darren Reed *** 
Lecturer
01904 32 3047

  • Human-computer interaction
  • Health, urban transport and intelligent communication systems
  • Social informatics

Dr Amanda Rees ***
Senior Lecturer
01904 32 3054

  • Social theory
  • Sociology of science
  • Popular understanding of science
  • History of primatology

Dr Sam Robinson 
Research Fellow

  • Cold War
  • Scientific/Technological Futures 

Prof Victoria Robinson ***
Professor, Director Centre for Women's Studies
01904 32 3672
vicki.robinson@york.ac.uk

  • Feminist theory
  • Fashion and footwear cultures
  • Men and masculinities
  • Heterosexualities
  • risk sports
  • Feminist sociology of the everyday
Sarah Shrive-Morrison
01904 32 3050
sarah.shrive-morrison@york.ac.uk
  • SATSU Administrator/Research Project Administrator
  • Conference/Event Travel Organiser
  • iCS Journal Pre-Production Manager

Dr Katy Sian ***
Lecturer
01904 324738
katy.sian@york.ac.uk

  • Racisim and ethnicity studies
  • de/post-coloniality
  • migration and disporia
  • inter-ethnic relations
  • Sikh studies
  • Islamophobia and the war on terror

Dr Eeva Sointu
Research Fellow
eeva.sointu@york.ac.uk

  • Sociology of health and healthcare
  • Sociology of medical education
  • Complementary and alternative health practices, healing
  • Therapeutic discourse
  • Emotion, the body

Dr Pete Steggals
Research Associate
pete.steggals@york.ac.uk

  • Cultural Sociology
  • Sociology of Mental Disorder
  • Medical Sociology
  • Social Theory

Dr Frances Thirlway
Research Associate
frances.thirlway@york.ac.uk

  • Class, health and culture
  • Post-industrial and mining communities
  • Smoking, cessation, e-cigarettes
  • Working-class cultural practices

Dr Merran Toerien ***
Senior Lecturer
01904 32 3061

  • Conversation analysis
  • Institutional discourse
  • Health professional-patient interaction
  • Feminism
  • Genders
  • Qualitative methodology
Amanda Waggett 
01904 32 3042
amanda.waggett@york.ac.uk
  • Undergraduate Administrator

Prof Andrew Webster 
Professor, Director of SATSU
01904 32 4740

  • Sociology of science and technology
  • Science policy studies
  • Sociology of health innovations
  • Social dynamics of intellectual property

Prof Robin Wooffitt ***
Professor
01904 32 3063

  • Conversation analysis
  • Discourse
  • Anomalous/exceptional experiences
  • Parapsychology