The Department of Mathematics is housed within the world-class University of York, and combines leading mathematical and interdisciplinary research with high quality undergraduate and postgraduate teaching. In the 2021 Research Excellence Framework (REF), 100 percent of our research was rated as 4* or 3*.

The Department currently comprises approximately 60 academic and research staff and 130 graduate students (including PhD and MSc). Our principal areas of research are:

Early Career Forum

The Department of Mathematics' Early Career Forum is a supportive network of researchers in the early stages of their careers. The Forum provides support in a range of areas relevant to early career researchers, in line with the Concordat to Support the Career Development of Researchers, including Environment and Culture, Employment, and Professional and Career Development. The Forum also provides valuable networking opportunities.

If you'd like more information about the Forum, please contact

Fellowship holders at the Department of Mathematics

Dr Chris Bowman working on ‘Tensor and wreath products of symmetric groups’, 2021-2026, EPSRC Early Career Fellowship (EP/V00090X/1). 

Dr Haralampos Geranios working on ‘Problems in Modular Representation Theory of General Linear Groups’, 2017-2022, University Research Fellowship, The Royal Society.

Dr Matthew Pusey working on better understanding of the formalism of quantum theory, until 2021, Research Fellowship, Royal Commission for the Exhibition of 1851

Dr George Constable working on ‘Uncertainty in Evolutionary Dynamics’, 2017 to 2020, Early Career Fellowship, Leverhulme Trust

Dr Paul Razafimandimby, working with Prof. Zdzislaw Brzezniak on ‘Stochastic Ericksen-Leslie Equations’ (SELEs), 2019-2021, Marie Skłodowska-Curie Individual Fellowship.

Dr Fiona Bate working with Professor Martin Bees on 'Optimising Biofuel Production in Spatial Models of Wastewater Treatment' 2019-2021 Daphne Jackson Research Fellow.

Dr Eleni Kontou, working with Professor Chris Fewster on ‘Quantum Energy Conditions and Singularity Theorems’ (QuEST), 2017-2019, Marie Skłodowska-Curie Individual Fellowship.

Dr Rida-E Zenab, working with Professor Victoria Gould on ‘Factorisations of restriction semigroups’, 2017-2019, Faculty for the Future Fellowship program of Schlumberger Foundation.

Dr Munazza Naz, working with Professor Victoria Gould on the ‘Study of the Semigroup Type Properties of the Set of all n x n Matrices over Tropical Semiring’, 2016-2018, Faculty for the Future Fellowship program of Schlumberger Foundation.

Dr Markus Fröb, working with Professor Atsushi Higuchi on 'Quasi-local observables in quantum gravity' (QLO-QG), 2016-2018, Marie Skłodowska-Curie Individual Fellowship.

Next steps