Accessibility statement

The Research and Innovation Development Team

Supporting research and innovation activities across all three University faculties, the Research and Innovation Development Team (RIDT) are an integral part of the University’s research environment. Working in close collaboration with academic colleagues and other teams within Professional Services, the RIDT:

  • support strategically important research initiatives and developmental activities;
  • coordinate inter- and multidisciplinary research initiatives and applications;
  • focus on major funding opportunities and calls, offering support during all pre-award stages;
  • broker and manage research and innovation partnerships with both internal and external stakeholders;
  • lead the development of University level funding applications and manage internal funding allocations (eg Impact Accelerator Accounts and University Research Priming);
  • assists the Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research) and the Associate Deans (Research), among others, to conceive, develop and deliver University-level strategies including the Research Themes.

The team comprises eight Research and Innovation Development Managers (RIDMs), a dedicated Research Theme Team (including Theme Coordinator and Theme Administrator), an Involvement@York Network Manager, and a Research Development Project Administrator. Each RIDM has a clearly delineated responsibility for a discipline and funder, but work collaboratively on a range of research and innovation initiatives.

Open to all University colleagues, the RIDT are able to support large funding applications and a broad range of research and innovation development activities - please identify and contact the relevant team member using the information below (either via email or UoY Slack DM). If you are unsure of whom to contact, then you can email rdteam@york.ac.uk and your message will be forwarded to the appropriate person. 

The RIDT also coordinate university-level selection for most demand-managed calls - others may be managed by Faculties or the Fellowships Coordinator. You can find the list of current calls that require university-level selection here. Selection panels are formed following these guidelines, and detailed information on individual selection processes and timetables is circulated to departmental research facilitators via the YRAF mailing list.

 

 ContactResponsibilities (Primary Relationship Manager)Photo

David Diston

Head of the Research and Innovation Development Team/Research and Innovation Development Manager

david.diston@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)7552 285 997

Team leadership and supports the Bioscience (BBSRC) portfolio

David Diston

Fiona Frame

Research and Innovation Development Manager

fiona.frame@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)7784 794655

Biomedical Sciences (MRC, Wellcome)

 

Robyn Cooper Inglis

Acting Research and Innovation Development Manager (YESI)

robyn.inglis@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 328396

Environment (NERC)

Staff photo for Robyn Cooper Inglis 2022 

Iain Larmour

Research and Innovation Development Manager

iain.larmour@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 326498

Physical Sciences (STFC/EPSRC)

Staff photo for Iain Larmour 2022 

Craig Robertson

Research and Innovation Development Manager

craig.m.robertson@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 328093

Arts and Humanities (AHRC)

 

Josie Robinson-Parker

Research and Innovation Development Manager

josie.robinson-parker@york.ac.uk

Engineering and Computational Technologies (EPSRC)

 

Louisa Shilton

Research and Innovation Development Manager

louisa.shilton@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 328134 

Applied Health and Social Care (NIHR)

 

Helen Wells

Research and Innovation Development Manager

helen.wells@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 321263

Social Science (ESRC)

 Staff photo for Helen Wells 2022

Kate Thorley

Research Theme
Co-ordinator

Involvement@York Network Manager

kate.thorley@york.ac.uk

involvement@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 328164

Coordinates Theme-related activities and information across the University

Patient and Public Involvement (PPI) in research. Pre-award, post-award and support and advice for all research teams and academics working with patients, carers, service-users, families and members of the public.

 

Dan Norman

Research Theme Administrator

dan.norman@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 322703

Administers the Themes, supporting the Co-ordinator

Staff photo for Dan Norman 2022 

Lydia Harris

Research Development Project Administrator

lydia.k.harris@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 328717

Social Sciences support (currently on secondment to IGDC)   Lydia Harris