Accessibility statement

News in 2022

Bicycle donations for Ukrainian refugees

Thursday 23 June 2022

The University of York is delighted to be working in partnership with the City of York Council to provide unwanted bicycles to Ukrainian refugees.


Technician Commitment signatory event held at York

Tuesday 21 June 2022

The University hosted a Technician Commitment signatory event at the Guildhall last week.


Refugee Week 2022

Wednesday 15 June 2022

June 20-26 is Refugee Week. To celebrate this we will be holding a number of events while raising awareness of issues affecting refugees and asylum seekers and the support that’s available at the University and within the city.


Staff Summer Party 2022

Tuesday 14 June 2022

To thank you for your hard work, the Vice-Chancellor would like to invite you to a staff party.


CITY College leaders visit York to celebrate collaboration

Saturday 4 June 2022

Senior leaders from CITY College, University of York Europe Campus in Greece, will visit the University this week, from Monday 6 June to Thursday 9 June, to celebrate our joint collaborations over the past year.


Active Lives Survey - shape Sport at York

Friday 27 May 2022

Simply complete the short survey to be in with a chance of winning a £350 gift card.


Access to buildings over extended Bank Holiday

Thursday 26 May 2022

Over the extended Bank Holiday (Thursday 2 and Friday 3 June), most buildings will be closed.


Design for new Student Centre agreed

Tuesday 24 May 2022

Following a design competition, the university has selected a partnership between UK based architects ADP and O’Donnell + Tuomey as the designers for the new Student Centre.


Career development resources launch

Tuesday 24 May 2022

Do you want to develop yourself and grow your career at the University?


Be a Good Neighbour

Tuesday 24 May 2022

We’re asking you to think before you park.


An update to the TIER E-scooter and E-cycle ‘freezone trial’

Wednesday 18 May 2022

The TIER freezone trial currently operating on campus for E-scooter and E-cycle rentals is coming to an end on 1 July 2022.


Significant highway works on University Road

Thursday 12 May 2022

Some disruption is to be expected on University Road from 16 May to 20 May


Campus east car park closed

Wednesday 11 May 2022

Campus East car park will be fully closed on 17 May and partially closed on 16 May.


York Festival of Ideas 2022 - Programme and free tickets available

Friday 29 April 2022

York Festival of Ideas returns from 11 to 24 June with an eclectic programme featuring over 150 free online and in-person events.


Help shape our new Student Centre

Tuesday 19 April 2022

To keep staff and students up to date about the progress of the new Student Centre, we have launched a dedicated web portal.


David Kato College winning shield design

Tuesday 19 April 2022

It’s time to announce the winner of the David Kato College shield design competition!


Get involved in York Pride 2022!

Tuesday 12 April 2022

Run an activity, welcome festival-goers and be a part of this year’s York Pride.


Charity poll for our new Employee Engagement and Experience Survey

Monday 4 April 2022

Your chance to vote for your chosen charity


We’ve now recycled over 11,000 single-use coffee cups!

Friday 18 March 2022

Following the introduction of single-use coffee cup bins on campus in 2020 in an aim to further reduce our plastic waste, we have now recycled over 11,000 single-use coffee cups.


Our response to the situation in Ukraine

Thursday 17 March 2022

On Thursday 17 March, the University VC wrote to all staff and PG researchers to share information about the University's ongoing response to the situation in Ukraine.


Our statement on Ukraine

Monday 14 March 2022

On Wednesday 2 March, the University VC made a statement on Ukraine which was shared to all staff and students by email, and posted on social media.


Pay By Phone Parking changes

Tuesday 8 March 2022

As of Monday 14 March, Paysmarti will no longer be available to use in Pay & Display car parks.


TESOL training

Monday 7 March 2022

Qualify to teach English to speakers of other languages.


Tell us how you travel and win an iPad

Monday 7 March 2022

As more of us return to campus it is important to have an understanding of how you travel to and around the university, as well as what improvements you want to see made.


University Mental Health Day 2022

Sunday 27 February 2022

Thursday 3 March is University Mental Health Day, and the University has given over the whole week to activities promoting positive mental health and wellbeing.


Free wills offer for University of York staff

Wednesday 16 February 2022

University employees can benefit from a free will writing offer with Dunham McCarthy.


OPPA release edition five of the Legacy newsletter

Wednesday 16 February 2022

The latest edition of the Legacy newsletter is now available to view


Tribute to Ken Dixon

Tuesday 15 February 2022

With the passing of Ken Dixon, the University has lost one of its most remarkable, committed, enthusiastic and generous champions.


Sustainability Plan: Where are we now?

Monday 14 February 2022

Our February update includes progress reports, information about One Planet Week events, and suggestions that will enable you to become involved in promoting sustainability.


Bin the bin

Tuesday 8 February 2022

Our Bin the bin campaign aims to reduce waste and increase recycling, as part of our Sustainability Plan.


The University of York has an answer to single-use plastic cups, and it works!

Thursday 3 February 2022

The University of York Catering and Hospitality team have released the latest figures from their YORCUP initiative and they show that the scheme has stopped 1 MILLION single-use plastic cups from going in to landfill in just three years*.


Impact of traffic on the community

Tuesday 25 January 2022

We have recently received a number of complaints from the local community around the impact of University-related traffic.


Student Internship Bureau 2022

Tuesday 11 January 2022

Careers and Placements would like to invite Academic and Professional Service departments to submit an Expression of Interest form for student interns for the Easter and Summer vacation periods. 


Campus Intern of the Year 2021

Tuesday 11 January 2022

Careers and Placements are delighted to award Emer Bealin Kelly “Campus Intern of the Year”.