Accessibility statement

News in 2023

First Bus - Summer service changes

Tuesday 18 June 2024

University of York bus services will be moving to a summer timetable from Sunday 23 June until the start of the new academic year, September 2024.


Important update: Changes to Alcuin Reception

Tuesday 18 June 2024

Alcuin Reception will temporarily close for the summer period starting Monday 15 July.


Ron Cooke Hub reopening

Friday 14 June 2024

Following its temporary relocation in July 2023 to the Law and Sociology Building, Ron Cooke Hub reception will be reopening on Tuesday 25 June.


Essential closure of Library bridge lift

Tuesday 11 June 2024

From Monday 24 June for around six weeks, the lift from University Road to the library bridge (giving access to the library) will be closed for essential work.


Revoking third-party access into University Google accounts

Friday 24 May 2024

IT Services are taking measures to enhance our information security and data privacy by reviewing third-party access to University of York Google accounts.


Temporary Closure of EV Charging Bays - Friday 14 June

Tuesday 21 May 2024

All Electric Vehicle (EV) charging bays across campus will be temporarily closed on Friday 14 June for essential maintenance work. Bays must be vacated by 5pm on Thursday 13 June and will reopen on Saturday 15 June.


TIER - reminder to staff and students

Monday 20 May 2024

Please remember, from Friday 31 May 2024, TIER e-scooters and e-cycles will no longer be available for use across the city of York, including routes to, from and across campus.


Update on campus protest

Friday 17 May 2024

You may be aware that a small group of students have established a Palestine solidarity protest in the space between Heslington Hall and Derwent College. The surrounding buildings and spaces remain open.


York gets gold in City Nature Challenge

Thursday 16 May 2024

York has gained gold in the largest biodiversity competition in the world, the City Nature Challenge.


Tools to stay on track: New change and project management resources

Thursday 9 May 2024

Are you running a project or leading on change? Not sure where to start or looking to quickly access appropriate documentation?


Important information: Duo phishing scam

Thursday 2 May 2024

We have been made aware of a phishing scam which is being used to compromise institutions' two-factor authentication (2FA).


Our new responsible investment commitments

Monday 29 April 2024

The University has announced it no longer holds investments in companies that primarily make or sell weapons and defence-related products or services.


Viking 2 celebration event

Thursday 25 April 2024

IT Services are hosting an event to celebrate Viking 2, our high performance compute cluster and its new sustainable home at EcoDataCenter in Sweden.


Staff Race Equality Forum recruiting new members

Monday 22 April 2024

Staff Race Equality Forum is recruiting new members for its Steering Group: staff who want to make a positive impact on race equality should apply by 31 May.


Teaching training leadership judged ‘outstanding’ by Ofsted

Thursday 18 April 2024

Our programmes for teacher training have been awarded a ‘good’ rating for quality of education by Ofsted inspectors, with ‘outstanding’ for leadership and management.


Silver Athena Swan awards for Arts and Humanities

Tuesday 9 April 2024

Congratulations to the Departments of English and Related Literature and Archaeology on achieving their new Silver Athena Swan awards.


Church Lane Building - unavailable Saturday 6 April

Monday 25 March 2024

Due to ongoing works there will be no power in the Church Lane Building between 9am and 3pm on Saturday 6 April 2024.


C2 bus changes - from 7 April

Friday 22 March 2024

From Sunday 7 April, the C2 bus will no longer travel all of the way down Field Lane, passing the Lord Deramore Primary School and Heslington Church.


UoY Pension Fund Employer Nominated Director Vacancy

Thursday 21 March 2024

The University currently has a vacancy for an Employer Nominated Director for the University of York Pension Fund which we are looking to recruit to.


IT Services win sustainability award

Friday 15 March 2024

IT Services have won the award for the Sustainable Digital Project or Initiative at the prestigious UCISA awards.


An update to the TIER E-scooters and e-bikes

Thursday 7 March 2024

From 31 May 2024 TIER e-scooters and e-bikes will cease operating across the city of York, including University routes.


Small change, big impact - use energy wisely

Monday 4 March 2024

This week sees our tenth annual sustainability-themed week.


Tell us how you travel and win an iPad

Thursday 29 February 2024

Simply tell us how you travel to be in with a chance of winning an iPad.


Sustainability Week - activities now bookable

Wednesday 7 February 2024

Running from Monday 4 March to Friday 8 March, you're invited to join us for a dedicated week of activities, events and workshops to raise awareness about environmental and social issues - and you can now book your space.


National Apprenticeship Week: Health Sciences

Tuesday 6 February 2024

This week is National Apprenticeship Week.


National Apprenticeship Week: Team Leader/Supervisor Apprenticeship Programme

Tuesday 6 February 2024

This week is National Apprenticeship Week. Here we present two case studies of apprentices on the Team Leader/ Supervisor Apprenticeship Programme.


Get involved in National Apprenticeship Week

Sunday 4 February 2024

Are you thinking about further training or development? Do you want to take the next step in your career? Or does your department have the opportunity to provide apprenticeship programmes? 


Reintroduction of the free zone

Friday 26 January 2024

From Monday 5 February 2024, First York is reintroducing the free to travel zone on the bus routes 66 and 67.


University of York’s apprenticeship provision judged ‘good’

Wednesday 24 January 2024

The University’s programmes for apprentices have been awarded a ‘good’ rating by Ofsted inspectors.


Changes to the University wiki service

Tuesday 23 January 2024

This article is for anyone who uses the University’s wiki service to create and host documentation, develop content or share notes.


Car park closures: 2 February - 9 February 2024

Tuesday 23 January 2024

Campus Central and Campus South car parks will be affected by the forthcoming graduation ceremonies.


Footpath closures on Campus West

Tuesday 16 January 2024

Work to divert IT cables from the centre of Campus West will start on Monday 22 January. Both phase one and two will involve the closure of footpaths close to Library bridge.


Partial closure of Kimberlow Lane

Monday 15 January 2024

The section of Kimberlow Lane between York Sports Village and Hull Road will be closed from 22 January for around seven days for essential repairs.


New campus nursery opens

Monday 15 January 2024

With places for 94 children over different age groups, the brand new nursery on campus east has opened its doors.


Keep up to date with campus disruptions

Tuesday 9 January 2024

Lift broken? Footpath blocked? Sometimes there is development or maintenance work on campus that requires us to change some of the access routes in order to carry out work safely, and as quickly as possible.


Start cycling in 2024

Thursday 4 January 2024

Book a Bike Doctor session to have your bike serviced free of charge, or buy a recycled bike at a discounted price.