People

Based in the Department of Physics, the York Centre for Quantum Technologies draws on expertise from the department and across the University.

Use the searchable table below to explore the skills and expertise of our staff and researchers.

 Academic staff 
NameExpertiseContact Details

Dr Simon Bale 

Lecturer

  • Radio Frequency Engineering
  • Oscillators
  • Electromagnetics
  • Evolutionary Algorithms

 simon.bale@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 324221

Professor Sam Braunstein

Professor of Quantum Computing

  • absolute security in QKD
  • precision measurement and related quantum technologies
  • the interface between quantum information and gravitation

sam.braunstein@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 325447 

Professor Roger Colbeck

Professor of Mathematics

  • quantum information theory
  • foundations of quantum mechanics
  • device-independent quantum cryptography
  • quantum random number generation
  • non-locality and Bell inequalities
  • uncertainty relations
  • constructing circuits for quantum computation

roger.colbeck@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 323093

Professor Irene D’Amico

Professor of Physics

  • Spin-Transport and Dynamics
  • Quantum Information and Computation
  • Entanglement
  • Many-body Theory
  • Density Functional Theory
  • Quantum Thermodynamics

irene.damico@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 322215

Professor Jeremy Everard

Professor of Electronics

  • Compact atomic clocks using Rb and Cs vapour cells
  • Advanced Physics packages for atomic clocks including pulsed laser and microwave systems and Ramsey Fringes. Control loops for atomic clocks
  • Flywheel oscillators for atomic clocks, accelerator and radar systems
  • RF and microwave circuit design
  • Low noise oscillators
  • High efficiency amplifiers
  • Printed microwave filter design
  • Ultrafast optoelectronics
  • All optical switching
  • Distributed optical fibre temperature sensors

jeremy.everard@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 322410 

Dr Aires Ferreira

Royal Society University Research Fellow and Associate Professor of Physics

  • Many-Body Theory
  • Quantum Transport
  • Spintronics and Opto-Electronics
  • Quantum Optics

aires.ferreira@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 322224

Professor Rex Godby

Professor of Theoretical Physics (Emeritus)

  • Quantum Dynamics of Interacting Electrons in Matter
  • Ab-initio Many-Body Theory
  • Density-Functional Theory


rex.godby@york.ac.uk

Professor David Grace

Professor (Research)

  • Free space quantum key distribution
  • High Altitude Platform Communication Systems
  • Intelligent Networks
  • Radio Resource and Topology Management
  • Wireless System Architectures

david.grace@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 322396

Dr Rupesh Kumar 

Lecturer and Research Fellow

  • Experimental Quantum Key Distribution
  • DV-QKD
  • CV-QKD
  • QKD networks
  • Free-space Quantum Communications
  • Attacks and Countermeasures in QKD implementation 
rupesh.kumar@york.ac.uk

Professor Marco Lucamarini

Chair of Experimental Quantum Communications and Director of Research, York Centre for Quantum Technologies

  • Quantum Cryptography, Communications and Networks
  • Implementation Security of Quantum Systems
  • Standardisation of Quantum Technologies
  • Generation and Detection of Single and Entangled Photons
  • Quantum Repeaters and Memories
  • Quantum Optics
  • Quantum Information and Computation 

marco.lucamarini@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 322283 

Dr Carlo Ottaviani

Associate lecturer and Research Fellow

  • Quantum Mechanics
  • Quantum Information
  • Information and Coding theory
  • Atom-optics, Quantum Nonlinear Optics
  • Quantum Cryptography
  • Quantum Technologies
  • Quantum Networks 
carlo.ottaviani@york.ac.uk

Professor Stefano Pirandola

Professor of Quantum Computing

  • Information and Coding Theory
  • Quantum Information and Computation
  • Quantum Technologies
  • Quantum Cryptography
  • Quantum Communications
  • Quantum Optics
  • Entanglement
  • Teleportation
  • Bosonic Channels
  • Quantum Networks
  • Relativistic and Black-Hole Quantum Information

stefano.pirandola@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 325475

Dr Mark Post

Lecturer in Autonomous Systems and Robotics

  • Small satellites and modular reconfigurable satellites
  • Planetary rovers with bio-inspired mobility and adaptability
  • Underwater robots and underwater sensing and control
  • Adaptable machine vision and sensor fusion algorithms
  • Self-awareness and self-configurability by robust probabilistic reasoning on semantic information
  • Control of lightweight and reconfigurable mechatronic structures

mark.post@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 322393

Dr Matthew Pusey

Lecturer in Quantum Information

  • notions of non-classicality (e.g. contextuality and Bell inequality violations)
  • quantum information processing advantages
  • causality
  • quantum steering
  • interpretation of quantum states

matthew.pusey@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 324305

Professor Tim Spiller

Professor of Quantum Information Technologies and Director, York Centre for Quantum Technologies

  • Condensed matter and optical realisations of quantum information processing (QIP) systems
  • quantum information theory, discrete and continuous QIP
  • decoherence and the classical limit
  • few-qubit applications and communication
  • macroscopic quantum phenomena

timothy.spiller@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 322254

Professor Susan Stepney

Professor of Computer Science 

  • unconventional computing
  • nature-inspired algorithms
  • complex adaptive systems
  • complex systems simulation

susan.stepney@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 325377

 

Dr Yue (Christina) Wang

RAEng Research Fellow

  • 2D materials
  • Organic semiconductors
  • Lasers
  • Nanofabrication

yue.wang@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 322700

Professor Dan Watts

Professor of Hadron and Nuclear Physics

  • Hadron and nuclear physics: neutron skins, exotic hadrons, neutron stars
  • Medical physics: new techniques and devices for PET imaging and radiotherapy

daniel.watts@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 322228

Dr Stefan Weigert

Reader in Mathematical Physics

  • Quantum tomography
  • Mutually unbiased bases
  • Foundations of quantum theory
  • Quantum-like theories

stefan.weigert@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 324152

Professor Richard Wilson

Professor of Pattern Analysis

  • computer vision
  • pattern recognition
  • probabilistic and statistical methods for relational modelling of image structure

richard.wilson@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 325576

Dr Ignacio Wilson-Rae

Lecturer

  • Quantum Optics
  • Quantum Optomechanics and Nanomechanics
  • Mechanical dissipation of nanostructures
  • Non-Markovian decoherence of quantum transducers

ignacio.wilson-rae@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 322702

 

Postdoctoral research associates

 

Tom Hebdige

Dr Thomas Hebdige

  • Assurance/certification of QRNGs
tom.hebdige@york.ac.uk 
Dr David Perkins   david.t.s.perkins@york.ac.uk

Hamid Tebyanian

Dr Hamid Tebyanian

  • Quantum randomness
  • Security analysis of quantum system
  • Semi-device-independent and device-independent quantum cryptography
  • CV and DV QRNG
  • Semi-definite programming
hamid.tebyanian@york.ac.uk
 PhD students 

Abdulsalam Alsulami

Abdulsalam Alsulami

aha555@york.ac.uk  

Ben Amies-King

Ben Amies-King

ben.amies-king@york.ac.uk  

Abdulfateh Bezaz

Abdulfateh Bezaz

afb545@york.ac.uk  

Francisco Brito

fmob500@york.ac.uk  

Harvey Brown

harvey.brown@york.ac.uk  
Elliot Fox ef670@york.ac.uk  
Shashaank Khanna shashaank.khanna@york.ac.uk  
Areesh Ganan Muraliganan agm572@york.ac.uk  
George Mueller-Waite gwmw501@york.ac.uk  

Kimberly Owen

Kim Owen

kim.owen@york.ac.uk  
Jessica Park jlp567@york.ac.uk  

Ry Render

Ry Render

ry.render@york.ac.uk  

Karolina Schatz

Karolina Schatz

karolina.schatz@york.ac.uk  

Alessandro Veneri

av784@york.ac.uk  

Wang Wong

ww1333@york.ac.uk  

 

Contact us

ycqt@york.ac.uk