Accessibility statement

Academic and Research Staff

Find the right person for your query using our Find An Expert tool.

 

Dr Kathryn Arnold
Reader & Dean of Graduate School
Tel: 01904 322997

 

Elaine Azzopardi
Research Associate
elaine.azzopardi@york.ac.uk

 

Gideon Baffoe
Lecturer (Assistant Professor)
gideon.baffoe@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Sally Beckenham
Associate Lecturer
sally.beckenham@york.ac.uk

 

Professor Alistair Boxall
Professor
tel: 01904 324791
alistair.boxall@york.ac.uk

 

Professor Sarah Bridle
Professor
sarah.bridle@york.ac.uk 

 

Dr Katherine Brookfield
Lecturer
Tel: 01904 324060
 

Chair Board of Studies
Open Day Coordinator
Library Representative
White Rose DTP Contact
Research Group Convenor (PPP) 

Professor Colin Brown
Professor
Tel: 01904 324322

 

Programme Leader - Environmental Science & Management

 

Dr Steve Cinderby
Senior Research Fellow, SEI-Y
Tel:  07552 285 888
 steve.cinderby@york.ac.uk

Co-leader SEI Transforming Governance research theme

Dr Laura Chapman
Associate Lecturer
 

Feedback Champion
Chair of Exceptional Circumstances & Disability Officer

Professor Nicola Carslaw
Professor 
Tel: 01904 324777


Director of Research
Deputy Head of Department

Dr Michael Cooper
Research Associate

 

Research Group Convenor (Physical & Envrionmental Geography) 

Dr Simon Croft
Research Fellow, SEI-Y
Tel:  07552 285 896
Email: simon.croft@york.ac.uk
 


SEI-Y Staff Representative

Dr Joana Cruz
Research Associate & Associate Lecturer


 

Dr Louis D'Arcy-Reed
Associate Lecturer
louis.darcy-reed@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Thomas David
Research Associate
thomas.david@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Helen Davies
Research Associate
helen.davies@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Cecilia De Ita Velez
Research Associate
cecilia.deitavelez@york.ac.uk

 

Ms Fiona Dickson
Senior Lecturer (Associate Professor)

Programme Leader (Corporate Sustainability & Environmental Management)

Dr Alison Dyke
Research Associate, SEI-Y
Tel: 07552 285 898
alison.dyke@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Adrian Dye
Associate Lecturer
adrian.dye@york.ac.uk

 

Professor Lisa Emberson
Professor
Tel: 01904 322925


ACCE Director
SEI-Y Liaison

Dr Jon Ensor
Senior Research Fellow (Associate Professor)
Tel: 07552 285 906
jon.ensor@york.ac.uk

 

Professor Ioan Fazey
Professor
ioan.fazey@york.ac.uk 

Director of Strategy

Dr Bobby Farnan
Research Associate
bobby.farnan@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Richard Friend
Senior Lecturer and Associate Professor

 

Dr Ed Garrett
Research Associate
ed.garrett@york.ac.uk

 

Professor Roland Gehrels 
Professor & Head of Department
Tel: 01904 324376

Head of Department

Dr Adrian Gonzalez
Lecturer
adrian.gonzalez@york.ac.uk

Programme Leader (Sustainable Business: Leadership Innovation and Management) 

Dr Jonathan Green
Research Fellow, SEI-Y
Tel: 0755 228 5915
jonathan.green@york.ac.uk 

 

Dr Glenn Havelock
Associate Lecturer and Research Associate
glenn.havelock@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Gary Haq
Senior Researcher
gary.haq@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Andreas Heinemeyer
Senior Researcher & Research Group Leader, SEI-Y
Tel: 07552 285902
andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Rosa Hernandez Cruz
Associate Lecturer
rosa.hernandez@york.ac.uk  

 

Fiona Hibbert
Marie Sklodowska-Curie Fellow
fiona.hibbert@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Kevin Hicks
Senior Lecturer
Tel: 07552 285890
kevin.hicks@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Jon Hill
Senior Lecturer
Tel: 01904 324480
jon.hill@york.ac.uk


Chair Board of Examiners
Chair Equality, Diversity and Inclusivity

Professor Mark Hodson
Professor
Tel: 01904 324065


REF Lead

Ryan Holmes
Research Associate
ryan.holmes@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Claire Hughes
Deputy Head of Department & Senior Lecturer
Tel: 01904 324010
 

Deputy Head of Department
Director of Teaching & Learning 

Dr Eleanor Jew
Lecturer



Dissertation Coordinator

 

Tabitha K. Kabora
Postdoctoral Research Associate
tabitha.kabora@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Jasper Kenter
Reader in Deliberative Ecological Economics
Tel: +44 (0)1904 324058 / (0)781 2560194

Programme Leader (Environmental Economics & Environmental Management)
Impact Lead

Dr Joshua Kirshner
Senior Lecturer (Associate Professor)
Tel: 01904 324277

 

Dr Tamsyn Kiss
Associate Lecturer
tamsyn.kiss@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Sarah Knight
Researcher
sarah.knight@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Johan Kuylenstierna
Reader / Research Leader, SEI-Y
Tel: 07968 580 557
johan.kuylenstierna@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Jun Li
Postdoctoral Research Associate
jun.li@york.ac.uk
  

 

Dr Chris Malley
Research Fellow, SEI-Y
Tel: 07578 725 402
chris.malley@york.ac.uk

 

Professor Rob Marchant
Professor
Tel: 01904 324061
robert.marchant@york.ac.uk

Departmental Seminar Coordinator 

Dr Andrew R Marshall
Reader
Tel: 01904 323146

 

Simone Martino
Postdoc Research Associate & Associate Lecturer
simone.martino@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Colin McClean
Senior Lecturer
Tel: 01904 322995

Chair Ethics Committee
Academic Misconduct contact

Dr David Medio
Lecturer
Tel: 01904 322999
david.medio@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Eleni Michalopoulou
Research Associate
eleni.michalopoulou@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Robert Mills
Lecturer (Assistant Professor)
Tel: 01904 326508

Chair of PGR Studies

Dr Amy Molotoks
Research Associate
amy.molotoks@york.ac.uk

 

Joanne Morris
Research Associate
joanne.morris@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Karen Parkhill
Senior Lecturer
Tel: 01904 324694
karen.parkhill@york.ac.uk

Programme Leader (Human Geography & Environment)

Dr Rachel Pateman
Research Associate, SEI-Y
rachel.pateman@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Phil Platts
Research Fellow
philip.platts@york.ac.uk

Research Group Convenor (Ecology)
(Conservation in Action)

Dr David Rippin
Senior Lecturer
Tel: 01904 324703

Programme Leader (Environmental Geography)

Dr Jessica Roberts
Associate Lecturer
jessica.roberts@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Marco Sakai
Lecturer
marco.sakai@york.ac.uk

Programme Leader (Environment, Economics & Ecology)

Dr Daniela Salite
Postdoc Research Associate
daniela.salite@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Brett Sallach
Lecturer

 

Careers & Employability Coordinator
Programme Leader (Environmental Science)

Dr Katherine Selby
Senior Lecturer
Tel: 01904 324784

 

 

Dr David Shaw
Research Associate

Research Group Convenor (Environmental Science)

Jessica Slater
Research Associate
jessica.slater@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Bryce Stewart
Senior Lecturer
Tel: 01904 324789
 

Director of Engagement and Partnerships

Professor Lindsay Stringer
Professor
lindsay.stringer@york.ac.uk 

 

Dr Daryl Stump
Lecturer
daryl.stump@york.ac.uk

Sustainability Officer

Ash Taylor
Research Technician
ash.taylor@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Samarthia Thankappan
Senior Lecturer
Tel: 01904 324324

Director for Students

Dr Jessica Thorn
Research Associate
Tel: 01904 324212

 

Dr Sylvia Toet
Senior Lecturer
Tel: 01904 324018

 

Dr Julia Touza
Reader
Tel: 01904 324246


Overseas Study Coordinator 

Dr. Martha Lucia Villamizar Velez
Researcher
martha.villamizarvelez@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Adrian Villasenor-Lopez
Research Fellow
adrian.villasenor-lopez@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Dean Waters
Lecturer

Head of Admissions
Post-offer Visit Day

Dr Chris West
Senior Research Leader, SEI-Y
Tel: 07552 285913
 chris.west@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Sarah West
Centre Director & Senior Research Associate, SEI-Y
Tel: 07965 661181
sarah.west@york.ac.uk

Director of SEI York

Professor Piran White
Professor 
Tel: 01904 324062

 

Dr John Wilkinson
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Tel: 01904 324226

 

Anna Woodhead
Post-Doctoral Research Associate
anna.woodhead@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Zeyu Yao
Research Associate
zeyu.yao@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Xun Zhou
Lecturer (Assistant Professor)
xun.zhou@york.ac.uk