Accessibility statement

Academic and Research Staff

Find the right the person for your query using our Find An Expert tool.

 

Dr Kathryn Arnold
Senior Lecturer
Tel: 01904 322997

Chair of Ethics Committee

Elaine Azzopardi
Research Associate
elaine.azzopardi@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Andrew Bate
Research Associate

 

Dr Bryce Beukers-Stewart
Lecturer
Tel: 01904 324789
 

Communications (inc Open Days)

Dr Oli Boles
Postdoctoral research associate

 

Professor Alistair BoxallProfessor
Tel: 01904 324791

 

Dr Katherine Brookfield
Lecturer
Tel: 01904 324060
 

Open Days
Library Representative
White Rose DTP BoS
Research Group Convenor (Human Geography & Environment) 

Dr Steve Cinderby
Senior Researcher, SEI-Y
Tel:  07552 285 888
 steve.cinderby@york.ac.uk

 

Co-leader SEI Transforming Governance research theme

 

Professor Colin Brown
Professor
Tel: 01904 324322
 

Convenor (Environmental Science & Management)

Dr Laura Chapman
Associate Lecturer
 

Feedback Champion

Dr Nicola Carslaw
Reader
Tel: 01904 324777


Chair of Research Committee

Dr Matthew Cotton
Senior Lecturer (Associate Professor)
matthew.cotton@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Michael Cooper
Research Associate

 

 

Dr Simon Croft
Research Associate, SEI-Y
Tel:  07552 285 896
Email: simon.croft@york.ac.uk
 


SEI-Y Staff Representative

Dr Joana Cruz
Research Associate & Teaching Fellow


 

Dr Aida CunĂ­ Sanchez
Postdoctoral research associate

 

Annemarieke de Bruin
Research Associate
Tel: 07552 285 897
 annemarieke.debruin@york.ac.uk

 

Ms Fiona Dickson
Lecturer (Assistant Professor)

Convenor (Corporate Sustainability & Environmental Management)

Dr Alison Dyke
Community Scientist, SEI-Y
Tel: 07552 285 898
alison.dyke@york.ac.uk

 

Professor Lisa Emberson
Professor
Tel: 01904 322925


Promotions
ACCE Director
SEI-Y Liaison

Dr Jon Ensor
Senior Research Fellow (Associate Professor)
Tel: 07552 285 906
jon.ensor@york.ac.uk

 

Professor Ioan Fazey
Professor
ioan.fazey@york.ac.uk 

Deputy Head of Department (Strategy)

Dr Richard Friend
Senior Lecturer and Associate Professor

 

Dr Ed Garrett

Research Group Convenor (Phys & Env Geography)

Professor Roland Gehrels 
Professor & Head of Department
Tel: 01904 324376

Head of Department

Dr Adrian Gonzalez
Associate Lecturer
Tel: 01904 325958
adrian.gonzalez@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Jonathan Green
Senior Researcher, SEI-Y
Tel: 0755 228 5915
jonathan.green@york.ac.uk 

 

Dr Glenn Havelock
Associate Lecturer and Research Associate
glenn.havelock@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Andreas Heinemeyer
Senior Researcher & Research Group Leader, SEI-Y
Tel: 07552 285902
andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Kevin Hicks
Senior Lecturer
Tel: 07552 285890
kevin.hicks@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Jon Hill
Senior Lecturer
Tel: 01904 324480
jon.hill@york.ac.uk


Chair of BoE
Equality, Diversity and Inclusivity Chair

Professor Mark Hodson
Professor
Tel: 01904 324065


REF Lead

Dr Claire Hughes
Deputy Head of Department & Senior Lecturer
Tel: 01904 324010
 

Deputy Head of Department
Director of Teaching & Learning 

Dr Eleanor Jew
Lecturer



Organiser of Dissertation Projects

 

Dr Delphine Joly
Marie Curie Research Fellow
delphine.joly@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Jasper Kenter
Senior Lecturer
Tel: +44 (0)1904 324058 / (0)781 2560194

Convenor (Environmental Economics & Environmental Management)
Impact Lead

Dr Joshua Kirshner
Senior Lecturer
Tel: 01904 324277

 

Dr Johan Kuylenstierna
Reader / Research Leader, SEI-Y
Tel: 07968 580 557
johan.kuylenstierna@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Chris Malley
Research Associate, SEI-Y
Tel: 07578 725 402
chris.malley@york.ac.uk

 

Professor Rob Marchant
Professor
Tel: 01904 324061
robert.marchant@york.ac.uk

 

Simone Martino
Environmental Scientist & Resource Economist
simone.martino@york.ac.uk

 

 

Dr Colin McClean
Senior Lecturer
Tel: 01904 322995

Chair of Exceptional Circumstances
Academic Misconduct Committee

Dr Andrew R Marshall
Senior Lecturer
Tel: 01904 323146

 

Dr David Medio
Honorary Visiting Fellow
Tel: 01904 322999

 

Dr Robert Mills
Lecturer (Assistant Professor)
Tel: 01904 326508

Chair of Graduate Studies

Dr Freja Oesterstroem
Research Associate
freja.oesterstroem@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Bethan O'Leary
Research Associate


 

Dr Karen Parkhill
Senior Lecturer
Tel: 01904 324694
karen.parkhill@york.ac.uk

Convenor (Human Geography & Environment)

Dr Rachel Pateman
Researcher, SEI-Y
rachel.pateman@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Phil Platts
Research Fellow
philip.platts[at]york.ac.uk

Research Group Leader (Conservation in Action)

Dr Suzi Richer
Research Associate
 

 

Dr David Rippin
Senior Lecturer
Tel: 01904 324703

Convenor (Environmental Geography)

Graham Rush
Associate Lecturer & PhD Student
Tel: 01904 323701
 

 

Dr Marco Sakai
Lecturer
marco.sakai@york.ac.uk

Convenor (Environment, Economics & Ecology)
Seminars

Dr Brett Sallach
Lecturer

 

Careers & Employability Academic Lead
Convenor (Environmental Science)

Dr Katherine Selby
Senior Lecturer
Tel: 01904 324784

Academic Misconduct Committee

 

Dr David Shaw
Research Associate

Research Group Convenor (Environmental Science)

Dr James Stockdale

 

Dr Daryl Stump
Lecturer
daryl.stump@york.ac.uk

Sustainability Officer

Dr Samarthia Thankappan
Senior Lecturer
Tel: 01904 324324

Overseas Study

Dr Jessica Thorn
Research Associate
Tel: 01904 324212

 

Dr Sylvia Toet
Lecturer
Tel: 01904 324018

 

Dr Corrado Topi
Senior Research Fellow, SEI-Y
Tel: 07552 285909
corrado.topi@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Julia Touza
Senior Lecturer
Tel: 01904 324246


 

Dr. Martha Lucia Villamizar Velez
Researcher
martha.villamizarvelez@york.ac.uk

 

 

Dr Dean Waters
Lecturer

Head of Admissions
Post-offer Visit Day

Dr Chris West
Senior Research Leader, SEI-Y
Tel: 07552 285913
 chris.west@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Sarah West
Centre Director & Senior Research Associate, SEI-Y
Tel: 07965 661181
sarah.west@york.ac.uk

Director of SEI York

Professor Piran White
Professor 
Tel: 01904 324062

 

Dr John Wilkinson
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Tel: 01904 324226