Find an expert

Whether you are looking for an environmental expert to help your business, give a talk, or supervise a project, we will help put you in touch with the right person. Please refer to the list below for a sample of the research expertise within our department.

Please contact our researchers directly, or email our industry liaison officer, Nancy Baines on +44 (0) 1904 32 2996 or email nancy.baines@york.ac.uk.

For media enquiries please contact the University's Press Office on +44 (0) 1904 32 2029 or email pressoffice@york.ac.uk.

Find out more about individual pieces of research on the York Research Database.

Can't find the expertise you need?

We support multidisciplinary collaboration across the University and beyond. You can find more information about researchers beyond our department at:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Area of expertiseNameEmail
A [back to top
Aeropollen Katherine Selby katherine.selby@york.ac.uk

African cities

Joshua Kirshner joshua.kirshner@york.ac.uk
Agricultural systems Sylvia Toet sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
Agronomic Impact Studies Kadambari Lokesh kadambari.lokesh@york.ac.uk
Air pollution

Nic Carslaw
Richard Payne
Sylvia Toet
Sarah West

nicola.carslaw@york.ac.uk
richard.payne@york.ac.uk
sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
sarah.west@york.ac.uk

Air quality impacts Mike Ashmore
Lisa Emberson
mike.ashmore@york.ac.uk
l.emberson@york.ac.uk
Antibiotics Alistair Boxall alistair.boxall@york.ac.uk
Applied microeconometrics Peter Howley peter.howley@york.ac.uk
Aquatic invertebrates Roman Ashauer roman.ashauer@york.ac.uk
Archaeology Rob Marchant robert.marchant@york.ac.uk
Austerity politics Paul Tobin paul.tobin@york.ac.uk
Automated field approaches for greenhouse gas fluxes Sylvia Toet sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
B [back to top]
Bat ecology Dean Waters dean.waters@york.ac.uk
Bat monitoring Joana Cruz joana.cruz@york.ac.uk
Behavioural assays for birds and fish Kathryn Arnold kathryn.arnold@york.ac.uk
Bioaccoustics Dean Waters dean.waters@york.ac.uk
Bioaccumulation Roman Ashauer roman.ashauer@york.ac.uk
Biodiversity and Ecosystem Service Sustainability (BESS) research programme Laura Harrison laura.harrison@york.ac.uk
Biodiversity conservation

Joana Cruz
Andy Marshall
Jonathan Green
Rachel Pateman

joana.cruz@york.ac.uk
andy.marshall@york.ac.uk
jonathan.green@york.ac.uk
rachel.pateman@york.ac.uk
Biodiversity conservation and extinction risk in the sea Callum Roberts
Julie Hawkins
callum.roberts@york.ac.uk
julie.hawkins@york.ac.uk
Biogenic gas emissions Claire Hughes c.hughes@york.ac.uk
Biogeochemistry Mark Hodson mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
Bioinformatics Jon Hill jon.hill@york.ac.uk
Brownfields (understanding biodiversity and value) Rachel Pateman rachel.pateman@york.ac.uk
C [back to top
Camera-trapping Joana Cruz joana.cruz@york.ac.uk
Carbon and nutrient cycling in ecosystems Richard Payne
Sylvia Toet
Andreas Heinemeyer
richard.payne@york.ac.uk
sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
Carbon - water cycle Andreas Heinemeyer andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
Carnivore conservation Joana Cruz joana.cruz@york.ac.uk
Catchment science Colin Brown colin.brown@york.ac.uk
Chemical fate and behaviour Alistair Boxall
Colin Brown
alistair.boxall@york.ac.uk
colin.brown@york.ac.uk
Chemical risk management Alistair Boxall alistair.boxall@york.ac.uk
Citizen science

Mike Ashmore
Alison Dyke
Rachel Pateman
Sarah West

mike.ashmore@york.ac.uk
alison.dyke@york.ac.uk
rachel.pateman@york.ac.uk
sarah.west@york.ac.uk
Climate change Roland Gehrels
Rob Marchant
Karen Parkhill
Richard Payne
Sylvia Toet
roland.gehrels@york.ac.uk
robert.marchant@york.ac.uk
karen.parkhill@york.ac.uk
richard.payne@york.ac.uk
sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
Climate change policy Paul Tobin paul.tobin@york.ac.uk
Climate engineering Karen Parkhill karen.parkhill@york.ac.uk
Coastal environments/geomorphology Roland Gehrels
Katherine Selby
roland.gehrels@york.ac.uk
katherine.selby@york.ac.uk
Community engagement Steve Cinderby
Rachel Pateman
Sarah West

steve.cinderby@york.ac.uk
rachel.pateman@york.ac.uk
sarah.west@york.ac.uk

Community resilience building Steve Cinderby steve.cinderby@york.ac.uk
Conservation planning

Andy Marshall
Jonathan Green

andy.marshall@york.ac.uk
jonathan.green@york.ac.uk
Conservation science Rob Marchant robert.marchant@york.ac.uk
Contamination Mark Hodson mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
Coral Reefs Julie Hawkins
Callum Roberts
julie.hawkins@york.ac.uk
callum.roberts@york.ac.uk
Critical zone Mark Hodson mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
Crop growth modelling Lisa Emberson l.emberson@york.ac.uk
Crop physiology Lisa Emberson l.emberson@york.ac.uk
Cultural sustainability John Forrester john.forrester@york.ac.uk
D [back to top
Daphnia Annika Agatz annika.agatz@york.ac.uk
Development policies and practice Joshua Kirshner joshua.kirshner@york.ac.uk
Development through conservation Rob Marchant robert.marchant@york.ac.uk
Diatom analysis Katherine Selby katherine.selby@york.ac.uk
Dynamic modelling of toxic effects Roman Ashauer roman.ashauer@york.ac.uk
E [back to top
Earthworm ecology Mark Hodson mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
Ecological-economic modelling Julia Touza julia.touza@york.ac.uk
Ecological modelling Annika Agatz
Roman Ashauer
annika.agatz@york.ac.uk
roman.ashauer@york.ac.uk
Ecological restoration Andy Marshall
Richard Payne
andy.marshall@york.ac.uk
richard.payne@york.ac.uk
Ecological risk assessment Roman Ashauer roman.ashauer@york.ac.uk
Economics of invasive species Julia Touza julia.touza@york.ac.uk
Ecosystem conservation Rob Marchant robert.marchant@york.ac.uk
Ecosystem health Andy Marshall andy.marshall@york.ac.uk
Ecosystem services

Andreas Heinemeyer
Laura Harrison
Piran White
Andreas Heinemeyer

andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
laura.harrison@york.ac.uk
piran.white@york.ac.uk
andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
Ecotoxicity invertebrate testing (aquatic invertebrates) Roman Ashauer roman.ashauer@york.ac.uk
Ecotoxicity testing Annika Agatz annika.agatz@york.ac.uk
Ecotoxicological modelling Benoit Goussen benoit.goussen@york.ac.uk
Ecotoxicology Annika Agatz
Roman Ashauer
Alistair Boxall
Benoit Goussen
Mark Hodson

annika.agatz@york.ac.uk
roman.ashauer@york.ac.uk
alistair.boxall@york.ac.uk
benoit.goussen@york.ac.uk
mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
Energy (public/stakeholder perceptions, policy) Karen Parkhill karen.parkhill@york.ac.uk
Energy studies Joshua Kirshner joshua.kirshner@york.ac.uk
Environmental economics Rosa Mato Amboage
Julia Touza
rosa.mato@york.ac.uk
julia.touza@york.ac.uk
Environmental education Sarah West sarah.west@york.ac.uk
Environmental footprinting Chris West chris.west@york.ac.uk
Environmental risk (public/stakeholder perceptions, policy) Karen Parkhill karen.parkhill@york.ac.uk
Environmental risk assessment Benoit Goussen benoit.goussen@york.ac.uk
Environmental risk assessment of chemicals Roman Ashauer
Alistair Boxall
roman.ashauer@york.ac.uk
alistair.boxall@york.ac.uk
Environmental sensing Alistair Boxall alistair.boxall@york.ac.uk
EU environmental policy Charlotte Burns charlotte.burns@york.ac.uk
EU Institutions and decision-making Charlotte Burns charlotte.burns@york.ac.uk
EU politics Paul Tobin paul.tobin@york.ac.uk
Eucalypt plantations impact Joana Cruz joana.cruz@york.ac.uk
European environmental policy Paul Tobin paul.tobin@york.ac.uk
Evaluation Sarah West sarah.west@york.ac.uk
Exposure modelling Alistair Boxall alistair.boxall@york.ac.uk
Extractive industry Joshua Kirshner joshua.kirshner@york.ac.uk
F [back to top
Farmer behaviour Peter Howley peter.howley@york.ac.uk
Fish biology Bryce Beukers-Stewart bryce.beukers-stewart@york.ac.uk
Fisheries

Bryce Beukers-Stewart
Callum Roberts
Julie Hawkins

bryce.beukers-stewart@york.ac.uk
callum.roberts@york.ac.uk
julie.hawkins@york.ac.uk
Foraging behaviour Kathryn Arnold kathryn.arnold@york.ac.uk
Foraminiferal analysis Roland Gehrels roland.gehrels@york.ac.uk
Forests Sylvia Toet sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
G [back to top
Gas chromatography-mass spectrometry Matt Pickering matt.pickering@york.ac.uk
Geochemistry Mark Hodson mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
Geoengineering (public/stakeholder perceptions) Karen Parkhill karen.parkhill@york.ac.uk
Geographic Information Systems (GIS) and Spatial Analysis Steve Cinderby
Joana Cruz
Joshua Kirshner
Jonathan Green
steve.cinderby@york.ac.uk
joana.cruz@york.ac.uk
joshua.kirshner@york.ac.uk
jonathan.green@york.ac.uk
Geographical Information Systems Colin McClean colin.mcclean@york.ac.uk
Glaciology David Rippin david.rippin@york.ac.uk
Global Carbon Cyle (terrestrial systems) Andreas Heinemeyer andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
GPS tags Kathryn Arnold kathryn.arnold@york.ac.uk
Grasslands Sylvia Toet sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
Greenhouse gasses Andreas Heinemeyer
Sylvia Toet
andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
H [back to top
Health and well-being Joana Cruz
Peter Howley
joana.cruz@york.ac.uk
peter.howley@york.ac.uk
High performance computing Jon Hill jon.hill@york.ac.uk
High performance liquid chromatography-mass spectrometry Kirsty High
Matt Pickering
kirsty.high@york.ac.uk
matt.pickering@york.ac.uk
Historical ecology Callum Roberts callum.roberts@york.ac.uk
Holocene science Roland Gehrels roland.gehrels@york.ac.uk
I [back to top
In vitro to in vivo toxicity extrapolation Roman Ashauer roman.ashauer@york.ac.uk
Individual based modelling Benoit Goussen benoit.goussen@york.ac.uk
Individual based population modeling Annika Agatz annika.agatz@york.ac.uk
Individuals and social systems interface John Forrester john.forrester@york.ac.uk
Indoor air quality Mike Ashmore
Nic Carslaw
mike.ashmore@york.ac.uk
nicola.carslaw@york.ac.uk
Ion chromatography Matt Pickering matt.pickering@york.ac.uk
L [back to top
Land management Sylvia Toet
Andreas Heinemeyer
sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
Latin American cities Joshua Kirshner joshua.kirshner@york.ac.uk
Lipid analysis Matt Pickering matt.pickering@york.ac.uk
Life cycle assessment & costing Kadambari Lokesh kadambari.lokesh@york.ac.uk
Low carbon fuels for transport Kadambari Lokesh kadambari.lokesh@york.ac.uk
Low carbon transitions (public/stakeholder perceptions, policy) Karen Parkhill karen.parkhill@york.ac.uk
M [back to top
Marine biology

Bryce Beukers-Stewart
Julie Hawkins
Callum Roberts

bryce.beukers-stewart@york.ac.uk
julie.hawkins@york.ac.uk
callum.roberts@york.ac.uk
Marine conservation

Bryce Beukers-Stewart
Julie Hawkins
Callum Roberts

bryce.beukers-stewart@york.ac.uk
julie.hawkins@york.ac.uk
callum.roberts@york.ac.uk
Marine protected areas Bryce Beukers-Stewart
Julie Hawkins
Callum Roberts
bryce.beukers-stewart@york.ac.uk
julie.hawkins@york.ac.uk
callum.roberts@york.ac.uk
Mechanistic effect models (for toxic effects) Roman Ashauer roman.ashauer@york.ac.uk
Metals Mark Hodson mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
Methane Sylvia Toet sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
Microbial biogeochemistry Claire Hughes c.hughes@york.ac.uk
Migration studies Joshua Kirshner joshua.kirshner@york.ac.uk
Mineralogy Mark Hodson mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
Mycorrhizal Funghi (soil carbon) Andreas Heinemeyer andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
N [back to top
Nanomaterials Alistair Boxall alistair.boxall@york.ac.uk
Natural Capital Laura Harrison
Jonathan Green
laura.harrison@york.ac.uk
jonathan.green@york.ac.uk
Natural resource economics Rosa Mato Amboage rosa.mato@york.ac.uk
Nitrous oxide Sylvia Toet sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
Non-market valuation Peter Howley peter.howley@york.ac.uk
Numerical modelling Jon Hill jon.hill@york.ac.uk
O [back to top
Ocean acidification Bryce Beukers-Stewart bryce.beukers-stewart@york.ac.uk
Oceans and climate change Bryce Beukers-Stewart bryce.beukers-stewart@york.ac.uk
Optimization and optimal control Rosa Mato Amboage rosa.mato@york.ac.uk
Organic geochemistry Matt Pickering matt.pickering@york.ac.uk
Overseas development Rob Marchant robert.marchant@york.ac.uk
Ozone Sylvia Toet sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
P [back to top
Palaeoecology

Richard Payne
Katherine Selby
Andreas Henemeyer

richard.payne@york.ac.uk
katherine.selby@york.ac.uk
andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
Participatory Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Annemarieke de Bruin
Steve Cinderby
annemarieke.debruin@york.ac.uk
steve.cinderby@york.ac.uk
Participatory research methods

Annemarieke de Bruin
Karen Parkhill
Sarah West

annemarieke.debruin@york.ac.uk
karen.parkhill@york.ac.uk
sarah.west@york.ac.uk
Peatlands Andreas Heinemeyer
Richard Payne
Sylvia Toet

andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
richard.payne@york.ac.uk
sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
Pesticide fate and behaviour Colin Brown colin.brown@york.ac.uk
Pesticides Roman Ashauer roman.ashauer@york.ac.uk
Pharmaceuticals Roman Ashauer
Alistair Boxall
roman.ashauer@york.ac.uk
alistair.boxall@york.ac.uk
PIT tags Kathryn Arnold kathryn.arnold@york.ac.uk
Plant communities Andreas Heinemeyer
Richard Payne
Sylvia Toet
andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
richard.payne@york.ac.uk
sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
Plant health and biosecurity Alison Dyke alison.dyke@york.ac.uk
Political ecology Joshua Kirshner joshua.kirshner@york.ac.uk
Pollen analysis Katherine Selby katherine.selby@york.ac.uk
Pollution Mark Hodson mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
Population models Roman Ashauer roman.ashauer@york.ac.uk
Portuguese language Joshua Kirshner joshua.kirshner@york.ac.uk
Public engagement Karen Parkhill
Sarah West
karen.parkhill@york.ac.uk
sarah.west@york.ac.uk
Q [back to top
Qualitative methods Joshua Kirshner
Karen Parkhill
joshua.kirshner@york.ac.uk
karen.parkhill@york.ac.uk
Quantitative adverse outcome pathways Roman Ashauer roman.ashauer@york.ac.uk
Quantitative ecology Joana Cruz joana.cruz@york.ac.uk
Quaternary science Roland Gehrels roland.gehrels@york.ac.uk
R [back to top
Radio Echo Sounding (RES) / Ground Penetrating Radar (GPR) David Rippin david.rippin@york.ac.uk
Radio telemetry Dean Waters dean.waters@york.ac.uk
Reconstructing sea level Roland Gehrels
Katherine Selby
roland.gehrels@york.ac.uk
katherine.selby@york.ac.uk
Remediation Mark Hodson mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
Remote Sensing and Geographic Information Systems (GIS) David Rippin david.rippin@york.ac.uk
Remote Sensing/Earth Observation Lisa Emberson l.emberson@york.ac.uk
Risk technologies (public/stakeholder perceptions, policy) Karen Parkhill karen.parkhill@york.ac.uk
Risk assessment Colin Brown colin.brown@york.ac.uk
S [back to top
Salt marshes Roland Gehrels
Sylvia Toet
roland.gehrels@york.ac.uk
sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
Sea-level change

Roland Gehrels
Katherine Selby

roland.gehrels@york.ac.uk
katherine.selby@york.ac.uk

Sedimentary dynamics Jon Hill jon.hill@york.ac.uk
Shellfish biology Bryce Beukers-Stewart bryce.beukers-stewart@york.ac.uk
Social and cultural values of nature Alison Dyke alison.dyke@york.ac.uk
Social and cultural values of tree landscapes Annemarieke de Bruin annemarieke.debruin@york.ac.uk
Social systems John Forrester john.forrester@york.ac.uk
Socio-technical transitions - with particular focus on energy Karen Parkhill karen.parkhill@york.ac.uk
Software engineering Jon Hill jon.hill@york.ac.uk
Soil Carbon Dynamics Andreas Heinemeyer andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
Soil Moisture deficit modelling Lisa Emberson l.emberson@york.ac.uk
Soil Science Mark Hodson
Sylvia Toet
mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
Spanish language Joshua Kirshner joshua.kirshner@york.ac.uk
Stable isotope approaches in ecology Sylvia Toet sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
Stable Isotopes Andreas Heinemeyer andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
Statistical modelling Joana Cruz joana.cruz@york.ac.uk
Statistics - SPSS and SAS programmes Joshua Kirshner joshua.kirshner@york.ac.uk
Statistics and econometrics Rosa Mato Amboage rosa.mato@york.ac.uk
Structure from Motion David Rippin david.rippin@york.ac.uk
Sublethal effects of contaminants Kathryn Arnold kathryn.arnold@york.ac.uk
Supply chains Jonathan Green jonathan.green@york.ac.uk
Sustainability behaviours Alison Dyke alison.dyke@york.ac.uk
Sustainability in the agri-food sector Samarthia Thankappan samarthia.thankappan@york.ac.uk
Sustainability in the automotive sector Samarthia Thankappan samarthia.thankappan@york.ac.uk
Sustainable agriculture Andreas Heinemeyer andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
Sustainable consumption and production Jonathan Green jonathan.green@york.ac.uk
Sustainable development Rob Marchant robert.marchant@york.ac.uk
Sustainable development and SCP policy and metrics Chris West chris.west@york.ac.uk
Sustainable living (public/stakeholder perceptions, policy) Karen Parkhill karen.parkhill@york.ac.uk
Sustainable seafood Bryce Beukers-Stewart bryce.beukers-stewart@york.ac.uk
T [back to top
Terrestrial biogeochemistry Richard Payne
Sylvia Toet
richard.payne@york.ac.uk
sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
Terrestrial carbon fluxes Andreas Heinemeyer andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
Tidal models Jon Hill jon.hill@york.ac.uk
Town and Regional Planning Joshua Kirshner joshua.kirshner@york.ac.uk
Toxicodynamics Roman Ashauer roman.ashauer@york.ac.uk
Toxicokinetics Roman Ashauer roman.ashauer@york.ac.uk
Trace chemical analysis Matt Pickering matt.pickering@york.ac.uk
Trace chemical analysis in soils Kirsty High kirsty.high@york.ac.uk
Tracking wild birds Kathryn Arnold kathryn.arnold@york.ac.uk
Tracking wild vertebrates Joana Cruz joana.cruz@york.ac.uk
Trade and supply chain modelling Chris West chris.west@york.ac.uk
Tropical Ecosystems Rob Marchant robert.marchant@york.ac.uk
Tropical forest Andy Marshall andy.marshall@york.ac.uk
Tsunami Jon Hill jon.hill@york.ac.uk
U [back to top
UK/EU Referendum and Environmental Policy Charlotte Burns charlotte.burns@york.ac.uk
Unmanned aerial vehicle (UAVs) David Rippin david.rippin@york.ac.uk
Urban pollution Alistair Boxall alistair.boxall@york.ac.uk
V [back to top
Veterinary medicines Alistair Boxall alistair.boxall@york.ac.uk
Vertebrate monitoring Joana Cruz joana.cruz@york.ac.uk
Volcanoes Richard Payne richard.payne@york.ac.uk
W [back to top
Water governance Annemarieke de Bruin annemarieke.debruin@york.ac.uk
Water quality Andreas Heinemeyer
Sylvia Toet
andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
Weathering Mark Hodson mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
Well-being and Behavior Change Steve Cinderby steve.cinderby@york.ac.uk
Wetlands for wastewater treatment (constructed wetlands) Sylvia Toet sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
X [back to top
Xenophobia studies Joshua Kirshner joshua.kirshner@york.ac.uk
Z [back to top
Zoos Andy Marshall andy.marshall@york.ac.uk