Accessibility statement

Find an expert

Whether you are looking for an environmental expert to help your business, give a talk, or supervise a project, we will help put you in touch with the right person. Please refer to the list below for a sample of the research expertise within our department.

Please contact our researchers directly using the information below

For media enquiries please contact the University's Press Office on +44 (0) 1904 32 2029 or email pressoffice@york.ac.uk.

Find out more about individual pieces of research on the York Research Database.

Can't find the expertise you need?

We support multidisciplinary collaboration across the University and beyond. You can find more information about researchers beyond our department at:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Area of expertiseNameEmail
A [back to top
Aeropollen Katherine Selby katherine.selby@york.ac.uk
Ageing Katherine Brookfield katherine.brookfield@york.ac.uk 

African cities

Joshua Kirshner joshua.kirshner@york.ac.uk
Agricultural systems Sylvia Toet
Mark Hodson
sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
Air pollution

Nic Carslaw 
Sylvia Toet 
Sarah West 
David Shaw

nicola.carslaw@york.ac.uk
sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
sarah.west@york.ac.uk
david.shaw@york.ac.uk

Air quality impacts Lisa Emberson l.emberson@york.ac.uk
Antibiotics Alistair Boxall alistair.boxall@york.ac.uk
Archaeology Rob Marchant robert.marchant@york.ac.uk
Architecture / Architectural theory  Louis D'Arcy-Reed louis.darcy-reed@york.ac.uk
Automated field approaches for greenhouse gas fluxes Sylvia Toet sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
B [back to top]
Bat ecology Dean Waters dean.waters@york.ac.uk
Bat monitoring Joana Cruz joana.cruz@york.ac.uk
Behavioural assays for birds and fish Kathryn Arnold kathryn.arnold@york.ac.uk
Bioaccoustics Dean Waters dean.waters@york.ac.uk
Biodiversity and Ecosystem Service Sustainability (BESS) research programme Laura Harrison laura.harrison@york.ac.uk
Biodiversity conservation

Joana Cruz
Andy Marshall
Jonathan Green
Rachel Pateman
Eleanor Jew
Jessica Thorn

joana.cruz@york.ac.uk
andy.marshall@york.ac.uk
jonathan.green@york.ac.uk
rachel.pateman@york.ac.uk
eleanor.jew@york.ac.uk
jessica.thorn@york.ac.uk
Biogenic gas emissions Claire Hughes c.hughes@york.ac.uk
Biogeochemistry Mark Hodson mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
Bioinformatics Jon Hill jon.hill@york.ac.uk
Brownfields (understanding biodiversity and value) Rachel Pateman rachel.pateman@york.ac.uk
C [back to top
Camera-trapping Joana Cruz joana.cruz@york.ac.uk
Carbon and nutrient cycling in ecosystems Sylvia Toet
Andreas Heinemeyer
Mark Hodson
sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
Carbon Footprint Marco Sakai marco.sakai@york.ac.uk
Carbon - water cycle Andreas Heinemeyer andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
Carnivore conservation Joana Cruz joana.cruz@york.ac.uk
Catchment science Colin Brown colin.brown@york.ac.uk
Chemical fate and behaviour Alistair Boxall
Colin Brown
Mark Hodson
alistair.boxall@york.ac.uk
colin.brown@york.ac.uk
mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
Chemical risk management Alistair Boxall alistair.boxall@york.ac.uk
Cities and urbanisation  Louis D'Arcy-Reed
Katherine Brookfield
louis.darcy-reed@york.ac.uk
Katherine Brookfield 
Citizen science

Alison Dyke
Rachel Pateman
Sarah West

alison.dyke@york.ac.uk
rachel.pateman@york.ac.uk
sarah.west@york.ac.uk
Climate change Richard Friend
Roland Gehrels
Rob Marchant
Karen Parkhill
Sylvia Toet
Marco Sakai

richard.friend@york.ac.uk
roland.gehrels@york.ac.uk
robert.marchant@york.ac.uk
karen.parkhill@york.ac.uk
sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
marco.sakai@york.ac.uk
Climate change adaptation and resilience

Richard Friend
Karen Parkhill
Lindsay Stringer
Jessica Thorn

richard.friend@york.ac.uk
karen.parkhill@york.ac.uk
lindsay.stringer@york.ac.uk
jessica.thorn@york.ac.uk
 
Climate engineering Karen Parkhill karen.parkhill@york.ac.uk
Climate-smart agriculture Eleanor Jew  eleanor.jew@york.ac.uk 
Coastal environments/geomorphology Roland Gehrels
Katherine Selby
roland.gehrels@york.ac.uk
katherine.selby@york.ac.uk
Community engagement Steve Cinderby
Rachel Pateman
Sarah West
Katherine Brookfield

steve.cinderby@york.ac.uk
rachel.pateman@york.ac.uk
sarah.west@york.ac.uk
katherine.brookfield@york.ac.uk

Community resilience building Steve Cinderby steve.cinderby@york.ac.uk
Conservation planning

Andy Marshall
Jonathan Green

andy.marshall@york.ac.uk
jonathan.green@york.ac.uk
Conservation science Rob Marchant robert.marchant@york.ac.uk
Contamination Mark Hodson mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
Critical zone Mark Hodson mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
Crop growth modelling Lisa Emberson l.emberson@york.ac.uk
Crop physiology Lisa Emberson l.emberson@york.ac.uk
Cultural sustainability John Forrester john.forrester@york.ac.uk
D [back to top
Desertification Lindsay Stringer  lindsay.stringer@york.ac.uk 
Development Corridors Jessica Thorn jessica.thorn@york.ac.uk
Development policies and practice

Joshua Kirshner
Katherine Brookfield

joshua.kirshner@york.ac.uk
katherine.brookfield@york.ac.uk
Development through conservation Rob Marchant robert.marchant@york.ac.uk
Diatom analysis Katherine Selby katherine.selby@york.ac.uk
Dryland environments  Lindsay Stringer lindsay.stringer@york.ac.uk
E [back to top
Earthworm ecology Mark Hodson mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
Ecological economics  Marco Sakai marco.sakai@york.ac.uk
Ecological-economic modelling Julia Touza
Marco Sakai
julia.touza@york.ac.uk
marco.sakai@york.ac.uk
Ecological restoration Andy Marshall
andy.marshall@york.ac.uk
Economics of invasive species Julia Touza julia.touza@york.ac.uk
Ecosystem conservation Rob Marchant
Jessica Thorn
robert.marchant@york.ac.uk
jessica.thorn@york.ac.uk
Ecosystem health Andy Marshall andy.marshall@york.ac.uk
Ecosystem services

Andreas Heinemeyer
Laura Harrison
Piran White
Lindsay Stringer
Jessica Thorn

andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
laura.harrison@york.ac.uk
piran.white@york.ac.uk
lindsay.stringer@york.ac.uk
jessica.thorn@york.ac.uk
Ecotoxicology Alistair Boxall
Mark Hodson
alistair.boxall@york.ac.uk
mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
Ecotoxicity testing Mark Hodson mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
Empowering research processes Richard Friend
Karen Parkhill
richard.friend@york.ac.uk
karen.parkhill@york.ac.uk
Energy (public/stakeholder perceptions, policy) Karen Parkhill karen.parkhill@york.ac.uk
Energy studies Joshua Kirshner
Marco Sakai
joshua.kirshner@york.ac.uk
marco.sakai@york.ac.uk
Environmental economics Rosa Mato Amboage
Julia Touza
rosa.mato@york.ac.uk
julia.touza@york.ac.uk
Environmental education Sarah West sarah.west@york.ac.uk
Environmental footprinting Chris West chris.west@york.ac.uk
Environmental risk (public/stakeholder perceptions, policy) Karen Parkhill karen.parkhill@york.ac.uk
Environmental risk assessment of chemicals Alistair Boxall
alistair.boxall@york.ac.uk
Environmental sensing Alistair Boxall alistair.boxall@york.ac.uk
Eucalypt plantations impact Joana Cruz joana.cruz@york.ac.uk
Evaluation Sarah West sarah.west@york.ac.uk
Exposure modelling Alistair Boxall alistair.boxall@york.ac.uk
Extractive industry Joshua Kirshner joshua.kirshner@york.ac.uk
F [back to top
Fish biology Bryce Stewart bryce.stewart@york.ac.uk
Fisheries

Bryce Stewart

bryce.stewart@york.ac.uk
Flooding

Marco Sakai

marco.sakai@york.ac.uk
Foraging behaviour Kathryn Arnold kathryn.arnold@york.ac.uk
Foraminiferal analysis Roland Gehrels roland.gehrels@york.ac.uk
Forests Sylvia Toet sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
Futures Jessica Thorn jessica.thorn@york.ac.uk
G [back to top
Gas chromatography-mass spectrometry Matt Pickering matt.pickering@york.ac.uk
Gas kinetic modelling  David Shaw  david.shaw@york.ac.uk
Geochemistry Mark Hodson mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
Geoengineering (public/stakeholder perceptions) Karen Parkhill karen.parkhill@york.ac.uk
Geographic Information Systems (GIS) and Spatial Analysis Steve Cinderby
Joana Cruz
Joshua Kirshner
Jonathan Green
steve.cinderby@york.ac.uk
joana.cruz@york.ac.uk
joshua.kirshner@york.ac.uk
jonathan.green@york.ac.uk
Geographical Information Systems Colin McClean colin.mcclean@york.ac.uk
Glaciology David Rippin david.rippin@york.ac.uk
Global Carbon Cyle (terrestrial systems) Andreas Heinemeyer andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
Global development Eleanor Jew  eleanor.jew@york.ac.uk 
GPS tags Kathryn Arnold kathryn.arnold@york.ac.uk
Grasslands Sylvia Toet sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
Greenhouse gasses Andreas Heinemeyer
Sylvia Toet
andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
H [back to top
Health and wellbeing Joana Cruz
Katherine Brookfield

joana.cruz@york.ac.uk
katherine.brookfield@york.ac.uk

High performance computing Jon Hill jon.hill@york.ac.uk
High performance liquid chromatography-mass spectrometry Matt Pickering matt.pickering@york.ac.uk
Holocene science Roland Gehrels   roland.gehrels@york.ac.uk
I [back to top
Indoor air quality Nic Carslaw
nicola.carslaw@york.ac.uk
david.shaw@york.ac.uk
Infrastructure Jessica Thorn jessica.thorn@york.ac.uk
Informal settlements Jessica Thorn jessica.thorn@york.ac.uk
International development Richard Friend richard.friend@york.ac.uk
International trade Marco Sakai marco.sakai@york.ac.uk
Ion chromatography Matt Pickering matt.pickering@york.ac.uk
L [back to top
Land degregation Lindsay Stringer  lindsay.stringer@york.ac.uk 
Land management Sylvia Toet
Andreas Heinemeyer
sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
Land use change Eleanor Jew eleanor.jew@york.ac.uk 
Latin American cities Joshua Kirshner joshua.kirshner@york.ac.uk
Lipid analysis Matt Pickering matt.pickering@york.ac.uk
Livelihoods  Lindsay Stringer  lindsay.stringer@york.ac.uk 
Low carbon transitions (public/stakeholder perceptions, policy) Karen Parkhill karen.parkhill@york.ac.uk
M [back to top
Mangroves

Lindsay Stringer

lindsay.stringer@york.ac.uk
Marine biology

Bryce Stewart

bryce.stewart@york.ac.uk
Marine conservation

Bryce Stewart

bryce.stewart@york.ac.uk
Marine protected areas

Bryce Stewart

bryce.stewart@york.ac.uk
Metals Mark Hodson mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
Methane Sylvia Toet sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
Microbial biogeochemistry Claire Hughes c.hughes@york.ac.uk
Migration studies Joshua Kirshner joshua.kirshner@york.ac.uk
Mineralogy Mark Hodson mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
Mountains Jessica Thorn jessica.thorn@york.ac.uk
Mycorrhizal Funghi (soil carbon) Andreas Heinemeyer andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
N [back to top
Nanomaterials Alistair Boxall  alistair.boxall@york.ac.uk
Natural Capital Laura Harrison
Jonathan Green
laura.harrison@york.ac.uk
jonathan.green@york.ac.uk
Natural resource economics Rosa Mato Amboage rosa.mato@york.ac.uk
Nitrous oxide Sylvia Toet  sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
Numerical modelling Jon Hill jon.hill@york.ac.uk
O [back to top
Ocean acidification Bryce Stewart  bryce.beukers-stewart@york.ac.uk
Oceans and climate change Bryce Stewart  bryce.beukers-stewart@york.ac.uk
Organic geochemistry Matt Pickering matt.pickering@york.ac.uk
Overseas development Rob Marchant robert.marchant@york.ac.uk
Ozone Sylvia Toet  sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
P [back to top
Palaeoecology

Katherine Selby
Andreas Heinemeyer

katherine.selby@york.ac.uk
andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
Participatory Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Annemarieke de Bruin
Steve Cinderby
annemarieke.debruin@york.ac.uk
steve.cinderby@york.ac.uk
Participatory research methods

Annemarieke de Bruin
Richard Friend
Karen Parkhill
Sarah West
Jessica Thorn
Katherine Brookfield

annemarieke.debruin@york.ac.uk
richard.friend@york.ac.uk
karen.parkhill@york.ac.uk
sarah.west@york.ac.uk
jessica.thorn@york.ac.uk
katherine.brookfield@york.ac.uk
Peatlands Andreas Heinemeyer
Sylvia Toet
andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
Peri urban settlements  Jessica Thorn jessica.thorn@york.ac.uk
Pesticide fate and behaviour Colin Brown colin.brown@york.ac.uk
Pharmaceuticals Alistair Boxall alistair.boxall@york.ac.uk
PIT tags Kathryn Arnold kathryn.arnold@york.ac.uk
Planning Katherine Brookfield katherine.brookfield@york.ac.uk
Plant communities Andreas Heinemeyer
Sylvia Toet
andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
Plant health and biosecurity Alison Dyke alison.dyke@york.ac.uk
Policy tradeoffs Lindsay Stringer  lindsay.stringer@york.ac.uk 
Political ecology Joshua Kirshner joshua.kirshner@york.ac.uk
Pollen analysis Katherine Selby katherine.selby@york.ac.uk
Pollution Mark Hodson mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
Portuguese language Joshua Kirshner joshua.kirshner@york.ac.uk
Poverty, vulnerability and rights Richard Friend
Jessica Thorn
richard.friend@york.ac.uk
jessica.thorn@york.ac.uk
Public engagement Karen Parkhill
Sarah West
karen.parkhill@york.ac.uk
sarah.west@york.ac.uk
Q [back to top
Qualitative methods

Joshua Kirshner
Karen Parkhill
Katherine Brookfield

joshua.kirshner@york.ac.uk
karen.parkhill@york.ac.uk
katherine.brookfield@york.ac.uk
Quantitative ecology Joana Cruz joana.cruz@york.ac.uk
Quaternary science

Roland Gehrels
Katherine Selby

roland.gehrels@york.ac.uk
katherine.selby@york.ac.uk

R [back to top
Radio Echo Sounding (RES) / Ground Penetrating Radar (GPR) David Rippin david.rippin@york.ac.uk
Radio telemetry Dean Waters dean.waters@york.ac.uk
Reconstructing sea level
Katherine Selby
roland.gehrels@york.ac.uk
katherine.selby@york.ac.uk
Remediation Mark Hodson mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
Remote Sensing and Geographic Information Systems (GIS) David Rippin david.rippin@york.ac.uk
Remote Sensing/Earth Observation Lisa Emberson l.emberson@york.ac.uk
Restoration Lindsay Stringer  lindsay.stringer@york.ac.uk 
Risk technologies (public/stakeholder perceptions, policy) Karen Parkhill karen.parkhill@york.ac.uk
Risk assessment Colin Brown colin.brown@york.ac.uk
Rural livelihoods Richard Friend
Jessica Thorn
richard.friend@york.ac.uk
jessica.thorn@york.ac.uk
S [back to top
Salt marshes Roland Gehrels
Sylvia Toet
roland.gehrels@york.ac.uk
sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
Scenario planning Jessica Thorn jessica.thorn@york.ac.uk
Sea-level change

Roland Gehrels
Katherine Selby
Fiona Hibbert

roland.gehrels@york.ac.uk
katherine.selby@york.ac.uk
fiona.hibbert@york.ac.uk

Sedimentary dynamics Jon Hill jon.hill@york.ac.uk
Shellfish biology Bryce Stewart bryce.stewart@york.ac.uk
Small-scale fisheries Richard Friend richard.friend@york.ac.uk
Social and cultural values of nature Alison Dyke alison.dyke@york.ac.uk
Social and cultural values of tree landscapes Annemarieke de Bruin annemarieke.debruin@york.ac.uk
Social-ecological systems Jessica Thorn jessica.thorn@york.ac.uk
Socio-technical transitions - with particular focus on energy Karen Parkhill karen.parkhill@york.ac.uk
Software engineering Jon Hill jon.hill@york.ac.uk
Soil Carbon Dynamics Andreas Heinemeyer andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
Soil health Mark Hodson mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
Soil Moisture deficit modelling Lisa Emberson l.emberson@york.ac.uk
Soil quality Mark Hodson mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
Soil Science Mark Hodson
Sylvia Toet
mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
Spanish language Joshua Kirshner joshua.kirshner@york.ac.uk
Stable isotope approaches in ecology Sylvia Toet sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
Stable Isotopes Andreas Heinemeyer andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
Stakeholder engagement Lindsay Stringer lindsay.stringer@york.ac.uk
Statistical modelling Joana Cruz
David Shaw
joana.cruz@york.ac.uk
david.shaw@york.ac.uk
Statistics - SPSS and SAS programmes Joshua Kirshner joshua.kirshner@york.ac.uk
Statistics and econometrics Marco Sakai marco.sakai@york.ac.uk
Structure from Motion David Rippin david.rippin@york.ac.uk
Sublethal effects of contaminants Kathryn Arnold kathryn.arnold@york.ac.uk
Supply chains Jonathan Green jonathan.green@york.ac.uk
Sustainability behaviours Alison Dyke alison.dyke@york.ac.uk
Sustainability in the agri-food sector Samarthia Thankappan samarthia.thankappan@york.ac.uk
Sustainability in the automotive sector Samarthia Thankappan samarthia.thankappan@york.ac.uk
Sustainable agriculture Andreas Heinemeyer
Mark Hodson
andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
Sustainable consumption and production Jonathan Green jonathan.green@york.ac.uk
Sustainable development Rob Marchant robert.marchant@york.ac.uk
Sustainable development and SCP policy and metrics Chris West chris.west@york.ac.uk
Sustainable land management Lindsay Stringer  lindsay.stringer@york.ac.uk 
Sustainable living (public/stakeholder perceptions, policy) Karen Parkhill karen.parkhill@york.ac.uk
Sustainable seafood Bryce Stewart bryce.stewart@york.ac.uk
T [back to top
Terrestrial biogeochemistry Sylvia Toet sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
Terrestrial carbon fluxes Andreas Heinemeyer andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
Tidal models Jon Hill jon.hill@york.ac.uk
Town and Regional Planning Joshua Kirshner joshua.kirshner@york.ac.uk
Toxicodynamics Roman Ashauer roman.ashauer@york.ac.uk
Toxicokinetics Roman Ashauer roman.ashauer@york.ac.uk
Trace chemical analysis Matt Pickering matt.pickering@york.ac.uk
Tracking wild birds Kathryn Arnold kathryn.arnold@york.ac.uk
Tracking wild vertebrates Joana Cruz joana.cruz@york.ac.uk
Trade and supply chain modelling Chris West chris.west@york.ac.uk
Tropical Ecosystems Rob Marchant robert.marchant@york.ac.uk
Tropical forest Andy Marshall andy.marshall@york.ac.uk
Tsunami Jon Hill jon.hill@york.ac.uk
U [back to top
UK/EU Referendum and Environmental Policy Charlotte Burns charlotte.burns@york.ac.uk
Unmanned aerial vehicle (UAVs) David Rippin david.rippin@york.ac.uk
Urban pollution Alistair Boxall alistair.boxall@york.ac.uk
Urbanisation Richard Friend
Jessica Thorn
richard.friend@york.ac.uk
jessica.thorn@york.ac.uk
V [back to top
Veterinary medicines Alistair Boxall alistair.boxall@york.ac.uk
Vertebrate monitoring Joana Cruz joana.cruz@york.ac.uk
W [back to top
Water (resource) governance Annemarieke de Bruin
Richard Friend
annemarieke.debruin@york.ac.uk
richard.friend@york.ac.uk
Water quality Andreas Heinemeyer
Sylvia Toet
andreas.heinemeyer@york.ac.uk
sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
Weathering Mark Hodson mark.hodson@york.ac.uk
Wellbeing and Behaviour Change Steve Cinderby steve.cinderby@york.ac.uk
Wetlands for wastewater treatment (constructed wetlands) Sylvia Toet sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk
X [back to top
Xenophobia studies Joshua Kirshner joshua.kirshner@york.ac.uk
Z [back to top
Zoos Andy Marshall andy.marshall@york.ac.uk