Mirfield collection

The Mirfield collection contains over 2000 books, most printed before 1800, many on the continent.

Although the books are predominantly theological, there are many interesting works in other subjects. The library includes books from the Wilberforce family including the abolitionist William.

About the collection


  • The first collected edition of the works of Sir Philip Sidney (1598)
  • The second edition of Thomas Hobbes' Leviathan (1651)
  • The first edition of A journey to the western islands of Scotland, by Samuel Johnson(1775)
  • An edition of St. Augustine's De civitate Dei, printed by Nicolas Jenson in Venice (1475)

The collectors

The books form part of the library of the Community of the Resurrection at Mirfield, West Yorkshire. This Anglican religious community for men was founded in Oxford in 1892, and moved to Mirfield in 1898. The library was built up mainly by gifts from members and friends, and contains much valuable early material.


All the pre-1800 books, plus a few sets of the publications of historical record societies, such as the Royal Historical Society, and the Surtees Society, were deposited at the University in 1973 on permanent loan from the Community of the Resurrection, Mirfield.

Related collections