Accessibility statement

News and announcements

Here you will find the latest news about services, collections and facilities with the most recent news at the top.

Library news
Subscribe to RSS feed

Library closure: changes you need to know about

Wednesday 18 March 2020

In line with government advice, we will be closing all our library buildings by 5pm on Friday 20 March - some are already closed. We've made changes to arrangements for loans, recalls and fines so that we can best support your access to our services.


Library and Archives staff working from home - Tuesday 17 March

Tuesday 17 March 2020

Today, Tuesday 17 March, the majority of our Library and Archives staff are working from home for the day. This is an exercise to test our readiness in the event of a large number of staff having to work from home due to the coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak.


Digital Creativity Week 2020 (cancelled)

Thursday 27 February 2020

This event has been cancelled.


Library service over Easter

Friday 21 February 2020

This news article was updated on 23 March due to the coronavirus outbreak.


Write about your book collection for a chance to win £500!

Monday 3 February 2020

Do you have more than ten books? Then you’re a book collector! The University of York Book Collecting Prize is your chance to tell the world about your collection. The winner will receive £500 and entry to the National Book Collecting Prize.


Wonders on Wednesday

Thursday 16 January 2020

Wonders on Wednesday is back for the Spring Term! Join expert Library and Archives staff to learn more about the treasures in the University collection.


Using the Library over Christmas

Tuesday 26 November 2019

Over the Christmas vacation, borrowing times and recall periods will be longer. The Library will be closed on Christmas Day, Boxing Day, and New Year's Day. If you're away from the University, the SCONUL access scheme allows you to use resources at other universities.


Send us your ideas for a chance to win a £1,000 prize!

Wednesday 13 November 2019

Following the success of LibInspo 2019, the Library & Archives are hosting LibInspo 2020 | Your Library, Your Way, a student-led innovation competition.


Reading list tips

Tuesday 22 October 2019

Your lecturers work with the Library to ensure that you have access to reading lists for your course. Find your lists to access a host of useful features.


Key research collection reclassified at King's Manor Library

Monday 21 October 2019

The Institute of Advanced Architectural Studies collection has been re-shelved and reclassified at King's Manor Library.


Open Access Week 2019

Thursday 17 October 2019

Celebrate advances in open research across the globe during Open Access Week, 21 to 27 October.


Welcome to your Library

Tuesday 1 October 2019

Our Library offers everything you'd expect - books, desks, wifi, advice - and quite a lot you wouldn't expect. Our video tour is a great starting point for all students.


Treat your shelf

Wednesday 25 September 2019

Last year’s graduates generously donated lots of text books for their successors - now you can come and take them home.


Postgraduates leaving the University in September

Wednesday 18 September 2019

If you're a postgraduate leaving us this autumn, please remember to return all your Library items and pay any charges by Sunday 6 October 2019.


Find a new home for your unwanted course books

Friday 31 May 2019

Pass your books on and raise money for charity.


Graduating this summer?

Friday 17 May 2019

Please remember to return all your Library items and pay any charges by Friday 21 June 2019.


Out of charge?

Tuesday 14 May 2019

If your laptop is out of battery, or you just didn't have room for it in your bag, borrow one of ours.


Changing provision of high demand reading materials

Friday 3 May 2019

We’re changing how we make available items which are in high demand, which will include the removal of the Key Texts Collections.


The Library: here for you - 24/7

Friday 26 April 2019

It's the busiest term, so it's good to know that when you need the Library, we've got your back.


Helping you through your exams

Monday 8 April 2019

The Library's a great place to study, but it can be very busy in the run up to exams. Sharing the space with respect for other students, making use of pop up study spaces elsewhere on campus, and knowing how to get help and advice wherever you're working will make everything run more smoothly at what can be a tricky time.


News by year