News and announcements

Here you will find the latest news about services, collections and facilities with the most recent news at the top.

Library news
Subscribe to RSS feed

Find a new home for your unwanted course books

Friday 31 May 2019

Pass your books on and raise money for charity.


Graduating this summer?

Friday 17 May 2019

Please remember to return all your Library items and pay any charges by Friday 21 June 2019.


Out of charge?

Tuesday 14 May 2019

If your laptop is out of battery, or you just didn't have room for it in your bag, borrow one of ours.


Changing provision of high demand reading materials

Friday 3 May 2019

We’re changing how we make available items which are in high demand, which will include the removal of the Key Texts Collections.


The Library: here for you - 24/7

Friday 26 April 2019

It's the busiest term, so it's good to know that when you need the Library, we've got your back.


Helping you through your exams

Monday 8 April 2019

The Library's a great place to study, but it can be very busy in the run up to exams. Sharing the space with respect for other students, making use of pop up study spaces elsewhere on campus, and knowing how to get help and advice wherever you're working will make everything run more smoothly at what can be a tricky time.


Library survey results

Thursday 28 March 2019

Thank you to all of our users who took the time to fill out our library survey earlier this year - our results are now in!


LibInspo Final Event Success

Tuesday 19 March 2019

The LibInspo Final Event, held in The Lakehouse in Ron Cooke Hub on 28 February 2019 was a huge success!


A winner from head to toe!

Friday 8 March 2019

Elizabeth Dunnett is the recipient of this year's prize with an essay inspired by her collection of works relating to historical fashion.


Full Library service over Easter vacation

Thursday 28 February 2019

Over the Easter vacation, the Library will be offering a full service and you can continue to borrow items as usual.


Digital Creativity Week

Wednesday 20 February 2019

Develop skills, explore Yorkshire's past and create digital artefacts or installations for an exhibition.


LibInspo event

Thursday 14 February 2019

The shortlisted ideas will pitch to win the £1,000 prize and have their idea introduced.


Think outside the books

Friday 1 February 2019

Your reading lists are a great starting place, but when you're preparing your assignments or dissertation, you can add value by exploring our archives, rare books collection, e-resources, and the resources held at other academic libraries.


Enjoy learning creative coding

Monday 28 January 2019

Learn to code from the basics upwards at the Library and IT Services' Digital Wednesdays sessions.


Wonders on Wednesday

Friday 25 January 2019

Join our experts to learn more about the treasures in the university collections.


Find your space

Monday 21 January 2019

The Library and IT rooms get busy at this time of year. But help is available when you need to find a space.


LibInspo

Monday 14 January 2019

Send us your ideas for a chance to win a £1,000 prize.


Laptop loans for research students

Wednesday 5 December 2018

We've launched a new laptop loans service specifically for postgraduate researchers, letting you borrow a laptop for up to a month.


Christmas borrowing, opening hours, and SCONUL access

Monday 19 November 2018

Over the Christmas vacation, borrowing times and recall periods will be longer. The Library will be closed on Christmas Day, Boxing Day, and New Year's Day. If you're away from the University, the SCONUL access scheme allows you to use resources at other universities.


Event: Get digitally creative with The 12 Days of Christmas

Monday 19 November 2018

What does a partridge in a pear tree look like in the digital world? How do ten lords a’ leap to the music and where are the six geese a’ laying?


News by year