News and announcements

Here you will find the latest news about services, collections and facilities with the most recent news at the top.

Library news
Subscribe to RSS feed

“Art indeed is long, but life is short.” 300 years of Hull’s cultural history.

Wednesday 24 May 2017

The exhibition is located within four cases on the ground floor of the Fairhurst Building (University of York Library) and will be on display until the end June 2017.


Graduating this summer?

Sunday 21 May 2017

Please remember to return all your Library items and pay any charges by 23 June 2017.


Borrow a picnic blanket!

Tuesday 16 May 2017

When the sun comes out, grab the chance to study or relax outside


Ask us for MoreBooks

Monday 8 May 2017

Tell us which books you’d like us to buy for the Library, between 15 and 29 May this term.


Digital Library & IRIS downtime 10 May

Friday 5 May 2017

The Digital Library and IRIS will be unavailable on the morning of Wednesday 10 May.


Colouring and canines: de-stress in the Library

Thursday 27 April 2017

We know that this is a busy term - especially if you're in your final year - so we're giving you opportunities to make relaxation part of your timetable.


Roses 2017: pay your fines for Mind

Monday 24 April 2017

To mark this year's Roses tournament, we're donating all Library fines paid during Roses weekend to Mind.


New reading list system

Thursday 20 April 2017

We are excited to announce that we have selected a new reading list system to replace EARL.


Customer Service Excellence results now available

Thursday 13 April 2017

In March, we were assessed against the Customer Service Excellence (CSE) Standard and have successfully maintained the award.


THELMA Award shortlisting

Wednesday 12 April 2017

The Library and The Borthwick Institute for Archives have been shortlisted for Outstanding Library Team in the Times Higher Education Leadership & Management (THELMA) Awards.


Library Survey winners announced!

Wednesday 29 March 2017

Congratulations to our Library Survey winners. Alex Payne, Biology Undergraduate and our top prize winner in the Library Survey 2016, walked away with a Bose Bluetooth speaker.


Downtime for study room & minibus bookings

Wednesday 22 March 2017

We’re upgrading our LibCal booking system on Monday 27 and Tuesday 28 March.


Easter borrowing, opening, & SCONUL access

Wednesday 15 March 2017

Over the Easter vacation you can continue to borrow items for the normal length of time, but recall periods will be longer. If you're away from the University, the SCONUL access scheme allows you to use resources at other universities.


Celebrate World Book Day with a new read!

Thursday 23 February 2017

This World Book Day (Thursday 2 March) we're giving you the chance to indulge your inner bibliophile, and to support readers elsewhere.


YorSearch downtime: 25-26 February

Sunday 19 February 2017

YorSearch will be unavailable for around four hours overnight on Saturday 25 to Sunday 26 February.


Cosy up in the Library!

Tuesday 31 January 2017

Feeling the chill? We can help you out.


Your chance to ask us for more...

Tuesday 31 January 2017

Our MoreBooks scheme is back! This time we're running it for a fixed time, rather than on a first-come first-served basis, so everyone gets a chance to spend some of our money.


What do you think of the Minster Library?

Friday 27 January 2017

In 2015, we gathered your thoughts about using the Minster Library, and were able to make some changes in the light of the feedback we received. It's now time to run the Minster Library survey again, and your input still matters to us.


Book illustration at the Minster Library

Wednesday 25 January 2017

An exhibition of book illustration, with examples from the 18th to 20th centuries, is on display at the York Minster Library until 10 March.


Updating our loans service

Wednesday 18 January 2017

We've listened to feedback from staff and students, and are making some changes to our loans service to help meet your requirements.


News by year