News and announcements

Here you will find the latest news about services, collections and facilities with the most recent news at the top.

Library news
Subscribe to RSS feed

Extra study spaces in Morrell

Wednesday 13 September 2017

We know that it can be hard to find a Library seat when it's busy, so we've added 50 new study spaces.


Postgraduates leaving the University in September

Wednesday 13 September 2017

If you’re a postgraduate leaving us this Autumn, please remember to return all your Library items and pay any charges by 30 September 2017.


Photocopying data collection: 18 September - 27 October

Wednesday 13 September 2017

The Copyright Licensing Agency (CLA) is undertaking a six week Photocopying Data Collection survey on both the Heslington campuses, starting on Monday 18 September.


Your new reading lists

Monday 11 September 2017

Spotted that your reading lists look different? Here's why...


Researchers gain access to White Rose Libraries

Friday 8 September 2017

From Friday 1 September, researchers are able to join the other White Rose Libraries.


Update: lost items and summer recalls

Friday 8 September 2017

We regularly review our lending policy to check that it's working well for all Library users. Our aim is to meet the needs of our community, and to provide equal access to resources for each of our members. In response to feedback, we’ve made some changes to the way that we deal with lost items, and with summer recalls.


Network disruption in Burton: Sunday 3 September

Friday 1 September 2017

On Sunday 3 September, there'll be disruption to the IT network in the Raymond Burton Building.


Closure of King's Manor Journals Room

Wednesday 23 August 2017

The Journals Room in the King's Manor Library is currently closed for health and safety reasons.


No access to Special Collections 21-22 August

Thursday 10 August 2017

There will be no retrieval of books from our Special Collections on Monday 21 and Tuesday 22 August.


King’s Manor Library closure

Monday 7 August 2017

We will be closing King’s Manor Library for the day on Tuesday 15 August.


Minster Library and Archives closure

Monday 24 July 2017

We will be closing the Minster Library and Archives from Monday 31 July to Friday 4 August.


Summer borrowing, opening hours & SCONUL access

Friday 23 June 2017

Over the Summer vacation you can continue to borrow items for eight weeks, however, recall periods will be longer. If you're away from the University, the SCONUL access scheme allows you to use resources at other universities.


Academic staff: your introduction to the new Reading Lists

Monday 19 June 2017

Our new Reading Lists system goes live soon, so we're offering you the chance to learn how to use it.


Pay your fines to support YuCycle fundraising

Monday 5 June 2017

To mark this year's YuCycle events, we're donating all Library fines paid during week 8 to their fundraising.


Library book exchange

Friday 2 June 2017

Final year students, why not help next year’s new students get off to a good start by donating your old textbooks?


“Art indeed is long, but life is short.” 300 years of Hull’s cultural history.

Wednesday 24 May 2017

The exhibition is located within four cases on the ground floor of the Fairhurst Building (University of York Library) and will be on display until the end June 2017.


Graduating this summer?

Sunday 21 May 2017

Please remember to return all your Library items and pay any charges by 23 June 2017.


Borrow a picnic blanket!

Tuesday 16 May 2017

When the sun comes out, grab the chance to study or relax outside


Ask us for MoreBooks

Monday 8 May 2017

Tell us which books you’d like us to buy for the Library, between 15 and 29 May this term.


Digital Library & IRIS downtime 10 May

Friday 5 May 2017

The Digital Library and IRIS will be unavailable on the morning of Wednesday 10 May.


News by year