Accessibility statement

News and announcements

Here you will find the latest news about services, collections and facilities with the most recent news at the top.

Library news
Subscribe to RSS feed

Reopening our buildings from Monday 27 July

Monday 6 July 2020

We’ve been working hard behind the scenes to get the Library buildings ready for reopening, and we can now give you some more information about what is happening and when.


Your Library, Your Voice: LGBTQI+

Monday 29 June 2020

We are committed to ensuring that the Library and Archives are representative of the diversity of voices at the University of York and our wider community.


Your Library, Your Voice: Black Lives Matter

Tuesday 23 June 2020

We are committed to ensuring that the Library and Archives are representative of the diversity of voices at the University of York and our wider community.


Changes to our virtual opening hours

Monday 15 June 2020

Since the closure of the Library buildings we have been operating a fully online service. During the summer vacation we’ll be making some changes to our virtual opening hours in line with our usual schedule over the summer.


Reopening the Library and Archives buildings

Monday 8 June 2020

Since we closed the Library buildings in March, we've continued to provide online access to resources and support, but we know that access to onsite Library services is important to you. We're now planning how we will reopen our buildings.


Rachel Garner wins York Book Collecting Prize 2020

Tuesday 2 June 2020

Archaeology student Rachel Garner has been awarded this year's prize with an essay about her Robin Hood books


Returning your Library books

Friday 22 May 2020

We appreciate that many of you are anxious to know how you can return books to the Library, especially if you are soon leaving the University.


Library services in response to Coronavirus

Monday 11 May 2020

Since the closure of the Library buildings in March, we’ve been working on a number of ways to run the Library as a fully online service.


Library Easter closure

Friday 3 April 2020

We are closing the Library entirely from 5pm on Tuesday 7 April until 9am on Tuesday 14 April.


Library closure: changes you need to know about

Wednesday 18 March 2020

In line with government advice, we will be closing all our library buildings by 5pm on Friday 20 March - some are already closed. We've made changes to arrangements for loans, recalls and fines so that we can best support your access to our services.


Library and Archives staff working from home - Tuesday 17 March

Tuesday 17 March 2020

Today, Tuesday 17 March, the majority of our Library and Archives staff are working from home for the day. This is an exercise to test our readiness in the event of a large number of staff having to work from home due to the coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak.


Digital Creativity Week 2020 (cancelled)

Thursday 27 February 2020

This event has been cancelled.


Library service over Easter

Friday 21 February 2020

This news article was updated on 23 March due to the coronavirus outbreak.


Write about your book collection for a chance to win £500!

Monday 3 February 2020

Do you have more than ten books? Then you’re a book collector! The University of York Book Collecting Prize is your chance to tell the world about your collection. The winner will receive £500 and entry to the National Book Collecting Prize.


Wonders on Wednesday

Thursday 16 January 2020

Wonders on Wednesday is back for the Spring Term! Join expert Library and Archives staff to learn more about the treasures in the University collection.


Using the Library over Christmas

Tuesday 26 November 2019

Over the Christmas vacation, borrowing times and recall periods will be longer. The Library will be closed on Christmas Day, Boxing Day, and New Year's Day. If you're away from the University, the SCONUL access scheme allows you to use resources at other universities.


Send us your ideas for a chance to win a £1,000 prize!

Wednesday 13 November 2019

Following the success of LibInspo 2019, the Library & Archives are hosting LibInspo 2020 | Your Library, Your Way, a student-led innovation competition.


Reading list tips

Tuesday 22 October 2019

Your lecturers work with the Library to ensure that you have access to reading lists for your course. Find your lists to access a host of useful features.


Key research collection reclassified at King's Manor Library

Monday 21 October 2019

The Institute of Advanced Architectural Studies collection has been re-shelved and reclassified at King's Manor Library.


Open Access Week 2019

Thursday 17 October 2019

Celebrate advances in open research across the globe during Open Access Week, 21 to 27 October.


News by year