Accessibility statement

Teaching Colleges

What is a teaching college?

They are not the same as your accommodation college (e.g. Halifax, Vanbrugh, Derwent etc.).

They are used to group students together for teaching purposes. You will have workshops with your teaching college. Each will be split further into tutorial groups, of up to 5 students, for small group teaching.

The teaching colleges are not assigned on academic ability, or any other personal factors. They may be loosely based on your accommodation college.


Amedeo Avogadro (B. 9th August 1776/D. 9th July 1856)

The Italian Amedeo Avogadro’s most notable contribution was to molecular theory in distinguishing between atoms and molecules. In 1858, it was shown that distinguishing between the two could result in a standardised system of masses, which held that a molecule contained integral multiples of the single atomic mass. The value 6.022x10^23 was calculated and named the Avogadro constant in honour of his work.


Marie Curie (B. 7th November 1867/D. 4th July 1934)

The first woman to win a Nobel Prize, Polish Marie Curie was famous for her pioneering research, alongside her husband, in the field of radioactivity. She laid down the theory of radioactivity and discovered two new elements, polonium and radium. Through her service in World War I in setting up mobile X-ray units, and through carrying test tubes of radium during research, she died of radiation poisoning aged 66.


John Dalton (B. 6th September 1766/D. 27th July 1844)


A pioneer in gas laws and atomic theory, John Dalton was an English Chemist. He published several papers on partial pressure, containing Dalton’s Law. His atomic theory laid down the inability of atoms to be created or destroyed, and acknowledged compounds were integer ratios of elements. He produced a table of relative atomic weights, and also completed work on colour blindness inspired by his own visual impairment.


Michael Faraday (B. 22nd September 1791/D. 25th August 1867)

Most well known for his work in electromagnetism and electrolysis, the English scientist Michael Faraday also discovered new compounds of chlorine and carbon, and carried out experiments on the diffusion of gases, a phenomenon discovered by John Dalton. The SI unit of the ability of a body to store charge is named after him, the farad.


Dorothy Hodgkin (B. 12th May 1910/D. 29th July 1994)

Dorothy Hodgkin was an English chemist, born in Cairo as Dorothy Crowfoot. She began doing research on insulin, but this was put to one side during World War II, when she was asked to solve the structure of Penicillin; and in the 1950s, Vitamin B12. She received the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1964 for her work with these molecules.


Dmitri Mendeleev (B. 8th February 1834/ D. 2nd February 1907)

Dmitri Mendeleev was a Russian chemist who drafted the modern periodic table of the elements in 1871. He recognised that the elements showed patterns (periodicity) when placed in order of ascending atomic number. He left gaps in his table for elements that hadn’t yet been discovered, and predicted some of the properties of these elements.


Linus Pauling (B. 28th February 1901/D. 19th August 1994)

Linus Pauling was an American theoretical chemist who used X-ray crystallography and quantum mechanics to explore molecular structure. He is the only person to have won 2 unshared Nobel prizes. The first one was for his work with molecular structure and the second was for his opposition to nuclear weapons.


Robert Woodward (B. 10th April 1917/D. 8th July 1979)

Robert Woodward was an American chemist know for his work with synthetic organic chemistry, in synthesising cholesterol & cortisone in 1951 and vitamin B12 in 1971. This led to him developing the concept of conservation of orbital symmetry and the Woodward–Hoffman rules. These rules were one of the most significant advances of organic chemistry in the 1960s.