Athena SWAN Steering Group

The Athena SWAN central steering group provides overall direction and leads the development of institutional submissions.

Chair 

Kiran Trehan – Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Partnerships and Engagement

Members

  • Paul Walton – Chair of Athena SWAN Forum
  • Caroline Dessent – Chair of Faculty of Sciences Working Group
  • Kristyn Gorton - Chair of Faculty of Arts and Humanities Working Group
  • Vanita Sundaram - Chair of Faculty of Social Sciences Working Group
  • Maria Ayaz – Head of Equality and Diversity
  • Anna Reader – Equality and Diversity Manager
  • Lorna Warnock - Athena SWAN Coordinator
  • Helen Selvidge – Assistant HR Director
  • Clara Garcia - GSA Representative
  • Gabby Morgan - YUSU Representative
  • Emily Peckham - Early Career Researcher Representative
  • Nino Grillo - Language and Linguistic Science
  • Alison Sherratt - Internal Communications Manager
  • Russell Grant - Planning Officer
  • Evangeline Tsao, Gender Equality Fellow

Athena SWAN faculty working groups

Athena SWAN Faculty Working Groups are made up of a Chair (see above members of the AS Steering Group), Athena SWAN departmental representatives (see below), the Athena SWAN Coordinator and representatives from Human Resources and the Planning Department. The working groups support departments in preparing submissions and coordinate Athena SWAN work within each faculty.

Athena SWAN Forum 

A University-wide forum to share good practice across disciplines, host occasional external speakers and help raise awareness across the University. For information contact the Athena SWAN Coordinator.

Chair: Professor Paul Walton

Athena Swan Departmental Representatives

Contact nameDepartmentEmail address

Dr Stephanie Wynne-Jones

Archaeology stephanie.wynne-jones@york.ac.uk
Dr Elva Robinson Biology elva.robinson@york.ac.uk
Professor Rowena Jacobs Centre for Health Economics rowena.jacobs@york.ac.uk
Dr Leonie Jones & Dr Caroline Dessent Chemistry

leonie.jones@york.ac.uk

caroline.dessent@york.ac.uk

Professor Helen Petrie Computer Science helen.petrie@york.ac.uk
Professor Jo Swaffield Economics and related studies jo.swaffield@york.ac.uk
Dr Vanita Sundaram Education vanita.sundaram@york.ac.uk
Professor Tony Ward Electronic Engineering tony.ward@york.ac.uk
Dr Hannah Roche English & related studies
Dr Jon Hill Environment and Geography jon.hill@york.ac.uk
Dr Amanda Perry Health Sciences amanda.perry@york.ac.uk
Dr Shaul Mitelpunkt History

shaul.mitelpunkt@york.ac.uk

Dr Richard Johns History of Art richard.johns@york.ac.uk
Dr Victoria Allgar HYMS Victoria.Allgar@york.ac.uk
Professor Paul Kerswill Language and Linguistics paul.kerswill@york.ac.uk 
Dr Stefan Weigert Mathematics stefan.weigert@york.ac.uk
Professor Rachel Cowgill Music rachel.cowgill@york.ac.uk
Dr Keith Allen Philosophy keith.allen@york.ac.uk
Dr Marina Petri Physics marina.petri@york.ac.uk
Dr Alasia Nuti Politics alasia.nuti@york.ac.uk
Professor Beth Jefferies Psychology beth.jefferies@york.ac.uk
Dr Peter Coventry Reviews and Dissemination peter.coventry@york.ac.uk
Carol Robinson Sociology carol.robinson@york.ac.uk
Professor Ellen Roberts Social Policy and Social Work ellen.roberts@york.ac.uk

Dr Kristyn Gorton

TFTV Kristyn.gorton@york.ac.uk
Dr Kathryn Wright York Law School kathryn.wright@york.ac.uk
Vacant York Management School

 

Contacts for provision of central data

Contact us

Lorna Warnock
Athena SWAN Coordinator
lorna.warnock@york.ac.uk

Departmental Athena SWAN contacts

Contact us

Lorna Warnock
Athena SWAN Coordinator
lorna.warnock@york.ac.uk

Departmental Athena SWAN contacts