Athena SWAN Steering Group

The Athena SWAN central steering group provides overall direction and leads the development of institutional submissions.

Chair 

Deborah Smith – Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research

Members

  • Jane Hill – Chair of Faculty of Sciences Working Group
  • Paul Walton – Chair of Athena SWAN Forum
  • Henrice Altink - Chair of Faculty of Arts and Humanities Working Group
  • Rowena Jacobs - Chair of Faculty of Social Sciences Working Group
  • Anna Reader - Athena SWAN Coordinator
  • Helen Selvidge – Assistant HR Director
  • GSA Representative tbc
  • Ally Smith and Daisy Slate - YUSU Representative
  • Emily Peckham - Early Career Researcher Representative
  • Nino Grillo - Language and Linguistic Science
  • Alison Sherratt - Internal Communications Officer
  • Russell Grant - Planning Office

Athena SWAN faculty working groups

Athena SWAN Faculty Working Groups are made up of a Chair (see above members of the AS Steering Group), Athena SWAN departmental representatives (see below), the Athena SWAN Coordinator and representatives from Human Resources and the Planning Department. The working groups support departments in preparing submissions and coordinate Athena SWAN work within each faculty.

Athena SWAN Forum 

A University-wide forum to share good practice across disciplines, host occasional external speakers and help raise awareness across the University. For information contact the Athena SWAN Coordinator.

Chair: Professor Paul Walton

Athena Swan Departmental Representatives

Contact nameDepartmentE-mail address

Dr Stephanie Wynne-Jones

Archaeology stephanie.wynne-jones@york.ac.uk
Professor Nia Bryant Biology nia.bryant@york.ac.uk
Professor Rowena Jacobs Centre for Health Economics rowena.jacobs@york.ac.uk
Dr Leonie Jones & Dr Caroline Dessent Chemistry

leonie.jones@york.ac.uk

caroline.dessent@york.ac.uk

Professor Helen Petrie Computer Science helen.petrie@york.ac.uk
Professor Jo Swaffield Economics and related studies jo.swaffield@york.ac.uk
Dr Vanita Sundaram Education vanita.sundaram@york.ac.uk
Professor Tony Ward Electronic Engineering tony.ward@york.ac.uk
Hannah Roche English & related studies
Dr Jon Hill Environment and Geography jon.hill@york.ac.uk
Devi Nannen Health Sciences devi.nannen@york.ac.uk
Dr Natasha Glaisyer History

natasha.glaisyer@york.ac.uk

Professor Amanda Lillie History of Art amanda.lillie@york.ac.uk
Dr Victoria Allgar HYMS Victoria.Allgar@york.ac.uk
Dr Nino Grillo Language and Linguistics nino.grillo@york.ac.uk
Dr Stefan Weigert Mathematics stefan.weigert@york.ac.uk
Ms Catherine Duncan Music catherine.duncan@york.ac.uk
Dr Keith Allen Philosophy keith.allen@york.ac.uk
Dr Marina Petri Physics marina.petri@york.ac.uk
Alasia Nuti Politics alasia.nuti@york.ac.uk
Professor Beth Jefferies Psychology beth.jefferies@york.ac.uk
Dr Peter Coventry Reviews and Dissemination peter.coventry@york.ac.uk
Helen Geddes Sociology helen.geddes@york.ac.uk
Professor Ellen Roberts Social Policy and Social Work ellen.roberts@york.ac.uk

Dr Kristyn Gorton

TFTV Kristyn.gorton@york.ac.uk
Dr Kathryn Wright York Law School kathryn.wright@york.ac.uk
Dr Anna Einarsdottir York Management School

anna.einarsdottir@york.ac.uk

Contacts for provision of central data

Contact us

Anna Reader
Athena SWAN Coordinator
anna.reader@york.ac.uk

Departmental Athena SWAN contacts

Contact us

Anna Reader
Athena SWAN Coordinator
anna.reader@york.ac.uk

Departmental Athena SWAN contacts