Athena Swan Steering Group

The Athena Swan central steering group provides overall direction and leads the development of institutional submissions.


Kiran Trehan – Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Partnerships and Engagement


  • Paul Walton – Chair of Athena Swan Forum
  • Derek Wann – Chair of Faculty of Sciences Working Group
  • Vacant - Chair of Faculty of Arts and Humanities Working Group
  • Vanita Sundaram - Chair of Faculty of Social Sciences Working Group
  • Anna Reader  – Head of Equality and Diversity
  • Vacant – Equality and Diversity Manager
  • Lorna Warnock - Athena Swan Coordinator
  • Helen Selvidge – Assistant HR Director
  • Clara Garcia - GSA Representative
  • Gabby Morgan - YUSU Representative
  • Emily Peckham - Early Career Researcher Representative
  • Nino Grillo - Language and Linguistic Science
  • Alison Sherratt - Internal Communications Manager
  • Russell Grant - Planning Officer

Athena Swan faculty working groups

Athena Swan Faculty Working Groups are made up of a Chair (see above members of the AS Steering Group), Athena Swan departmental representatives (see below), the Athena Swan Coordinator and representatives from Human Resources and the Planning Department. The working groups support departments in preparing submissions and coordinate Athena Swan work within each faculty.

Athena Swan Forum 

A University-wide forum to share good practice across disciplines, host occasional external speakers and help raise awareness across the University. For information contact the Athena Swan Coordinator.

Chair: Professor Paul Walton

Athena Swan Departmental Representatives

Contact nameDepartmentEmail address

Dr Colleen Morgan

Dr Elva Robinson Biology
Dr Laura Bojke Centre for Health Economics

Dr Leonie Jones

Dr Kevin Cowtan


Dr Peter Nightingale Computer Science 

Dr Simon Weber Economics and related studies
Professor Vanita Sundaram Education
Professor Tony Ward Electronic Engineering
Professor Kevin Killeen English & related studies 
Dr Jon Hill Environment and Geography
Dr Amanda Perry Health Sciences

Dr Catriona Kennedy

Dr Shaul Mitelpunkt


Dr Richard Johns History of Art

Dr Claire de Oliveira

Dr Laura Sadofsky


Dr Heather Marsden Language and Linguistics
Dr Stefan Weigert Mathematics
Professor Rachel Cowgill Music
Dr Louise Richardson Philosophy
Dr Christina (Yue) Wang Physics
Professor Monica Brito-Vieira Politics 

Dr Rob Jenkins Psychology

Dr Bob Phillips

Sumayya Anwer

Reviews and Dissemination 

Carol Robinson Sociology

Sharon Grace

Social Policy and Social Work



Dr Emma Waring

Sarah Archer

York Law School

Dr Alexandra Dias

Dr Nadina Luca

York Management School

Contacts for provision of central data

Contact us

Lorna Warnock
Athena Swan Coordinator

Departmental Athena Swan contacts

Contact us

Lorna Warnock
Athena Swan Coordinator

Departmental Athena Swan contacts