Athena Swan Steering Group

The Athena Swan central steering group provides overall direction and leads the development of institutional submissions.

Chair 

Kiran Trehan – Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Partnerships and Engagement

Members

  • Paul Walton – Chair of Athena Swan Forum
  • Derek Wann – Chair of Faculty of Sciences Working Group
  • Heather Marsden - Chair of Faculty of Arts and Humanities Working Group
  • Vanita Sundaram - Chair of Faculty of Social Sciences Working Group
  • Anna Reader  – Head of Equality and Diversity
  • Lorna Warnock - Athena Swan Coordinator
  • Iona Rodger -  Head of Reward, HR Systems and HR Services
  • JiaYing Tan - GSA Representative
  • Laura Kennedy - YUSU Representative
  • Emily Peckham - Early Career Researcher Representative
  • Nino Grillo - Language and Linguistic Science
  • Alison Sherratt - Internal Communications Manager
  • Vacant - Planning Officer
  • Deb Ward - Internal Communications 
  • Laura Robinson - Internal Communications 

Athena Swan faculty working groups

Athena Swan Faculty Working Groups are made up of a Chair (see above members of the AS Steering Group), Athena Swan departmental representatives (see below), the Athena Swan Coordinator and representatives from Human Resources and the Planning Department. The working groups support departments in preparing submissions and coordinate Athena Swan work within each faculty.

Athena Swan Forum 

A University-wide forum to share good practice across disciplines, host occasional external speakers and help raise awareness across the University. For information contact the Athena Swan Coordinator.

Chair: Professor Paul Walton

Athena Swan Departmental Representatives

Contact name Department Email address

Dr Colleen Morgan

Archaeology colleen.morgan@york.ac.uk 
Dr Elva Robinson Biology elva.robinson@york.ac.uk
Dr Laura Bojke Centre for Health Economics laura.bojke@york.ac.uk

Dr Leonie Jones

Dr John Slattery

Chemistry

leonie.jones@york.ac.uk

john.slattery@york.ac.uk 

Dr Peter Nightingale Computer Science

peter.nightingale@york.ac.uk 

Dr Simon Weber Economics and related studies simon.weber@york.ac.uk
Professor Vanita Sundaram Education vanita.sundaram@york.ac.uk
Dr Jane Raisch English & related studies jane.raisch@york.ac.uk 
Dr Gideon Baffoe Environment and Geography gideon.baffoe@york.ac.uk 
Dr Amanda Perry Health Sciences amanda.perry@york.ac.uk

Dr Catriona Kennedy

Venus Bivar

History

catriona.kennedy@york.ac.uk

venus.bivar@york.ac.uk 

Dr Richard Johns History of Art richard.johns@york.ac.uk

Dr Laura Burgess

Dr Laura Sadofsky

HYMS

laura.burgess@york.ac.uk

laura.sadofsky@hyms.ac.uk

Dr Heather Marsden Language and Linguistics heather.marsden@york.ac.uk
Dr Stefan Weigert Mathematics stefan.weigert@york.ac.uk
Dr Louise Richardson Philosophy louise.richardson@york.ac.uk
Professor Monica Brito-Vieira Politics

monica.brito-vieira@york.ac.uk 

Dr Rob Jenkins Psychology rob.jenkins@york.ac.uk

Dr Bob Phillips

Sumayya Anwer

Reviews and Dissemination

bob.phillips@york.ac.uk

sumayya.anwer@york.ac.uk 

Dr Nick Jones

Dr Liz Haddon

School of Arts and Creative Technologies

n.jones@york.ac.uk

liz.haddon@york.ac.uk

Dr Nadina Luca

Dr Naomi Finch

School for Business and Society

nadina.luca@york.ac.uk

naomi.finch@york.ac.uk 

Simone Quinn

Dr Kate Lancaster

School of Physics, Engineering and Technology

simone.quinn@york.ac.uk

kate.lancaster@york.ac.uk 

Carol Robinson Sociology carol.robinson@york.ac.uk

Dr Sue Westwood

York Law School

sue.westwood@york.ac.uk

Contacts for provision of central data

Contact us

Lorna Warnock
Athena Swan Coordinator

lorna.warnock@york.ac.uk

Departmental Athena Swan contacts

Contact us

Lorna Warnock
Athena Swan Coordinator

lorna.warnock@york.ac.uk

Departmental Athena Swan contacts