Athena Swan Steering Group

The Athena Swan central steering group provides overall direction and leads the development of institutional submissions.

Chair 

Kiran Trehan – Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Partnerships and Engagement

Members

  • Paul Walton – Chair of Athena Swan Forum
  • Derek Wann – Chair of Faculty of Sciences Working Group
  • Vacant - Chair of Faculty of Arts and Humanities Working Group
  • Vanita Sundaram - Chair of Faculty of Social Sciences Working Group
  • Anna Reader  – Head of Equality and Diversity
  • Vacant – Equality and Diversity Manager
  • Lorna Warnock - Athena Swan Coordinator
  • Helen Selvidge – Assistant HR Director
  • Clara Garcia - GSA Representative
  • Gabby Morgan - YUSU Representative
  • Emily Peckham - Early Career Researcher Representative
  • Nino Grillo - Language and Linguistic Science
  • Alison Sherratt - Internal Communications Manager
  • Russell Grant - Planning Officer

Athena Swan faculty working groups

Athena Swan Faculty Working Groups are made up of a Chair (see above members of the AS Steering Group), Athena Swan departmental representatives (see below), the Athena Swan Coordinator and representatives from Human Resources and the Planning Department. The working groups support departments in preparing submissions and coordinate Athena Swan work within each faculty.

Athena Swan Forum 

A University-wide forum to share good practice across disciplines, host occasional external speakers and help raise awareness across the University. For information contact the Athena Swan Coordinator.

Chair: Professor Paul Walton

Athena Swan Departmental Representatives

Contact nameDepartmentEmail address

Dr Colleen Morgan

Archaeology colleen.morgan@york.ac.uk 
Dr Elva Robinson Biology elva.robinson@york.ac.uk
Dr. Laura Bojke Centre for Health Economics laura.bojke@york.ac.uk

Dr Leonie Jones

Dr Kevin Cowtan

Chemistry

leonie.jones@york.ac.uk

kevin.cowtan@york.ac.uk 

Dr Peter Nightingale Computer Science

peter.nightingale@york.ac.uk 

Dr Simon Weber Economics and related studies simon.weber@york.ac.uk
Dr Vanita Sundaram Education vanita.sundaram@york.ac.uk
Professor Tony Ward Electronic Engineering tony.ward@york.ac.uk
Professor Kevin Killeen English & related studies kevin.killeen@york.ac.uk 
Dr Jon Hill Environment and Geography jon.hill@york.ac.uk
Dr Amanda Perry Health Sciences amanda.perry@york.ac.uk
Dr Shaul Mitelpunkt History

shaul.mitelpunkt@york.ac.uk

Dr Richard Johns History of Art richard.johns@york.ac.uk

Dr Claire de Oliveira

Dr Laura Sadofsky

HYMS

claire.deoliveira@york.ac.uk

laura.sadofsky@hyms.ac.uk

Dr Heather Marsden Language and Linguistics heather.marsden@york.ac.uk
Dr Stefan Weigert Mathematics stefan.weigert@york.ac.uk
Professor Rachel Cowgill Music rachel.cowgill@york.ac.uk
Dr Louise Richardson Philosophy louise.richardson@york.ac.uk
Dr Marina Petri Physics marina.petri@york.ac.uk
Professor Monica Brito-Vieira Politics

monica.brito-vieira@york.ac.uk 

Dr Rob Jenkins Psychology rob.jenkins@york.ac.uk

Dr Bob Phillips

Sumayya Anwer

Reviews and Dissemination

bob.phillips@york.ac.uk

sumayya.anwer@york.ac.uk 

Carol Robinson Sociology carol.robinson@york.ac.uk

Professor Ellen Roberts

Sharon Grace

Social Policy and Social Work

ellen.roberts@york.ac.uk

sharon.grace@york.ac.uk

Vacant

TFTI  
Dr Kathryn Wright York Law School kathryn.wright@york.ac.uk

Dr Alexandra Dias

Dr Nadina Luca

York Management School

alexandra.dias@york.ac.uk

nadina.luca@york.ac.uk

Contacts for provision of central data

Contact us

Lorna Warnock
Athena Swan Coordinator
lorna.warnock@york.ac.uk

Departmental Athena Swan contacts

Contact us

Lorna Warnock
Athena Swan Coordinator
lorna.warnock@york.ac.uk

Departmental Athena Swan contacts