Skip to content Accessibility statement

York scientist wins prestigious Royal Society of Chemistry prize

Posted on 8 May 2017

A University of York scientist has been awarded the 2017 Royal Society of Chemistry Tilden Prize.

Lucy Carpenter, Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry at the University of York, receives the prestigious award for advances in chemistry.

Professor Carpenter’s work focuses on the emissions, chemistry, and impact of processes occurring in the atmosphere above the world’s oceans.

Global climate change

She uses a combination of field observations, laboratory studies, and theoretical modeling to help answer important questions about global climate change.

Professor Carpenter said: “I am absolutely delighted and honoured to receive a Royal Society of Chemistry Tilden Prize, and very pleased that advances in chemical research in the field of atmospheric science have been recognised.”

Receiving £5000, a medal and a certificate, Professor Carpenter was evaluated on the originality and impact of her research, the quality of results and the importance of teamwork across the chemical sciences.

Professor Duncan Bruce, Head of York’s Department of Chemistry, said: “I and my colleagues in the Department are thrilled at the award of the Tilden Prize to Lucy.

"Lucy is a first-rate scientist who has made fundamental and telling contributions in relation to global climate change, and it is wonderful to see her work recognised by this prestigious prize.”

Inspiring winners

Dr Robert Parker, Chief Executive of the Royal Society of Chemistry said: “It is an honour to celebrate the innovation and expertise of our community through our prizes and awards.

“We know that chemistry can be a powerful force for good, and quality research and communication of that research are more important than ever before.

“Our charitable mission is to advance excellence in the chemical sciences, and we are proud to celebrate our inspiring and influential winners who share that mission.”

An illustrious list of 50 previous winners of the Royal Society of Chemistry’s awards have gone on to win Nobel Prizes for their pioneering work, including all of the 2016 chemistry winners: Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Fraser Stoddart and Ben Feringa.


Further information:

Explore more news

Media enquiries

Saskia Angenent
Press Officer

Tel: 01904 323918