Leftwich collection

The collection

The Leftwich collection comprises 490 titles mainly focusing in the subjects of sociology, South African politics (including Apartheid), political development, African history and economic development.

The collector

Adrian Leftwich (1940-2013) was a senior lecturer in the Department of Politics, and later research director of the University's Development Leadership Programme. He is perhaps best known to students as the author of the classic undergraduate textbook What is Politics? (2004), although professionals worldwide in the field of development studies have read his influential books, including States of Development: On the Primacy of Politics in Development (2000), Democracy and Development (1995), and Redefining Politics: People's Nations and Power (1983).

  • Obituary of Adrian Leftwich


This collection was donated to the University Library by Dr Leftwich's family in 2013.

Collection access

Most items in the collection are held in the Morrell Library, and are available for loan.