Accessibility statement

Equality and Diversity

The Department of Language and Linguistic Science gained an Athena Swan Bronze Award in May 2021. The award demonstrates that the Department is strongly committed to recruit, retain and support the careers of women and all staff members according to gender equality principles.

Building on the award, the Department has newly established an Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Committee. The committee’s objectives include:

  • leading on the promotion, celebration and awareness raising of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion issues in the Department
  • evaluating and reporting on progress on our Athena Swan Bronze Award action plan

Current members of the Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Committee are:

Heather Marsden


Tamara Grant

Department Manager ex officio

Nadine Saupe  Disability Officer ex officio
Monika Schmid Head of Department ex officio
Carmen Alvarez-Mayo Academic Representative
Amelia Gully PDRA Representative
Thomas Jochum-Critchley Academic Representative
Tamar Keren-Portnoy Academic Representative
Ahmed Khaleel Academic Representative
Abi Harrison Undergraduate Representative
Miriam Huntley Undergraduate Representative
Ishah Taimini PGT Representative
Malkini Chandrasiri PGT Representative
Alice Richardson PGR Representative
Rosario Neyra PGR Representative