2018 IT Services news

It's a gift

Posted on Friday 4 January 2019

If you're coming back to Uni after Christmas with a lovely new laptop, tablet, mobile or games console, find out how to make the most of it.

Network outage

Posted on Wednesday 19 December 2018

Arthur Clune, Assistant Director (Infrastructure), IT Services would like to explain and apologise for the network outage that recently occurred across campus.

Laptop loans for research students

Posted on Wednesday 5 December 2018

We've launched a new laptop loans service specifically for postgraduate researchers, letting you borrow a laptop for up to a month.

Improving our network infrastructure

Posted on Tuesday 27 November 2018

As the University continues to grow, we need to increase the capacity of our network infrastructure to ensure continued security and stability.

If it's broke, fix it!

Posted on Sunday 11 November 2018

If something goes wrong with your laptop or PC, IT Services can help you to get it sorted. They work with Jennings, a local company, to provide a laptop and computer repair service.

Saving you money on software

Posted on Sunday 28 October 2018

As a student here, you can get lots of different software packages for your own computer either free or at a discount.

E(asy) printing

Posted on Sunday 21 October 2018

You don't need to be sat at a computer to print. EPrint lets you email or upload documents, giving you an easy way to print from tablets or mobile phones to the University printers.

Library & IT tips

Posted on Sunday 7 October 2018

Second and third year students share their top study tips so that you can get a head start!

Bit phishy?

Posted on Sunday 30 September 2018

At this time of year, we see a lot of email scams. Make sure that your information (and your money) is safe by learning to spot what's suspicious.

ICYMI - information for returners

Posted on Wednesday 19 September 2018

Been away for the summer? Here's what you may have missed from the Library and IT Services in recent months.

Need IT support?

Posted on Tuesday 18 September 2018

As the new term starts, the Library and IT Help Desk should be your first port of call for any IT questions or problems.

Google Sites conversion tool

Posted on Wednesday 5 September 2018

Google has recently introduced a tool that makes it easier to convert Classic (old) Google Sites into New Google Sites.

Assistance applying for accommodation 19 to 20 August

Posted on Friday 17 August 2018

If you are applying for accommodation and having password or username problems this weekend, please contact the Accommodation team as the IT Support Office will be closed.

Summer IT room maintenance

Posted on Monday 16 July 2018

Find out which IT rooms will be closed whilst we carry out routine maintenance.

Updating student printing

Posted on Tuesday 19 June 2018

From Tuesday 3 July, we're updating student printing with a new, simpler system, and new devices in most areas. You'll be able to print throughout, but some printers will be unavailable while we carry out the work.

Extra security features

Posted on Tuesday 19 June 2018

From Monday 2 July, we will be rolling out extra security features to managed Windows devices (laptops and office PCs).

ArcGIS presentation: 17 May

Posted on Thursday 10 May 2018

We're pleased to announce that we've arranged a presentation on Thursday 17 May to look at working with ArcGIS.

Digital Creativity Week: Culture, communication and creativity

Posted on Thursday 19 April 2018

This event will explore archival material and consider connections between dialect, objects, and places in a creative way, culminating in a new digital creation.

IT Services over the Easter vacation

Posted on Thursday 15 March 2018

IT Support will be available as normal during the Easter vacation with the exception of the Easter Bank Holiday weekend.

Retirement of mysql.york.ac.uk

Posted on Monday 5 March 2018

The mysql database service mysql.york.ac.uk (mysql0) will be shut down permanently on Tuesday 18 September. It is being replaced by a new upgraded service at mysqlshared.york.ac.uk.

Software Center upgrade

Posted on Tuesday 30 January 2018

We are upgrading the Software Center on Wednesday 7 February.

Research computing courses Spring 2018: open for booking!

Posted on Monday 29 January 2018

This term, we're offering courses on NVivo, Linux Shell and YARCC, all open to staff and PG researchers - we expect them to be popular, so book your place now.

Launch of Overleaf service

Posted on Friday 26 January 2018

We're pleased to announce that we are providing free Overleaf Pro accounts for staff and students who would like to use this collaborative, online LaTeX and Rich Text editing and publishing tool.

The IT Strategy for 2017/18 to 2019/20 has been published.

Posted on Wednesday 17 January 2018

The IT Strategy sets out a framework and the vision for information technology at the University until the 2019/20 academic year.

Action needed if you use Google Drive File Stream

Posted on Wednesday 17 January 2018

We have identified potential problems if you use Google Drive File Stream to sync your Google Drive to your PC. To protect your documents, you need to take action.

News by year