Faculty governance

The University has three faculties, one for each of the three main subject areas. 

The purpose of the faculties is to:

  • coordinate interdisciplinary activities
  • effectively implement University-wide strategies and initiatives
  • ensure clear communication
  • engender a common purpose across the discipline groups.

All three have the same governance structure: 

Faculty Executive Boards

Faculty Executive Boards (FEBs) are the senior leadership decision-making bodies, reporting as subcommittees to the University Executive Board (UEB).

The FEBs hold significant delegated authority to oversee faculty strategy and associated financial and academic resourcing. They steer and support academic departments and schools in their delivery of these strategic and major operational functions.

Faculty Operations Groups

Each faculty has its own Faculty Operations Group (FOG) which reports to their FEB.

A FOG has delegated authority from its FEB to oversee the delivery of operational matters underpinning the Faculty Strategy, associated plans and the Faculty’s overall academic excellence and financial sustainability.

The FOG also seeks and provides assurance that the Faculty is compliant with external legislation and internal policies, regulations and controls.