Your first point of contact at the University of York.

Reception Services assist students, staff and visitors by providing advice, directions and information on all University services as well as support with residential mail, keys and fault reporting. 

Locations, opening hours and contact details

If a reception point is closed, you can use the nearby phone to call the mobile number displayed next to it. This will put you through to the receptionist that is away from the desk.

All of our receptions are open 365 days of the year, unless stated otherwise

LocationOpening timesPhoneEmail
Alcuin College 24 hours +44 (0)1904 323300 alcuin-reception@york.ac.uk
Derwent College 24 hours +44 (0)1904 323500 derwent-reception@york.ac.uk
Halifax College 24 hours +44 (0)1904 324800 halifax-reception@york.ac.uk
James College 24 hours +44 (0)1904 323100 james-reception@york.ac.uk
Vanbrugh College 24 hours +44 (0)1904 323200 vanbrugh-reception@york.ac.uk
Wentworth College 7am to 11pm +44 (0)1904 323000 wentworth-reception@york.ac.uk
Heslington Hall 8.30am to
5.30pm
+44 (0)1904 324609 heslington-hall-reception@york.ac.uk

All of our receptions are open 365 days of the year, unless stated otherwise

LocationOpening timesPhoneEmail
The Ron Cooke Hub 24 hours +44 (0)1904 325100 hub-reception@york.ac.uk
Langwith College 11pm to 7am +44 (0)1904 323400

langwith-reception-@york.ac.uk

The Information Centre

The Information Centre is located at Market Square, University Road. In addition to being a reception point, it also offers the following services:

  • Unicard issuing for staff and students
  • Parking permit checks and applications
  • The University switchboard
  • Telephony support
  • Lost and found property
  • New key collection
  • Young person railcard authorisation
  • Staff bus ticket purchasing

The Information Centre is open 24hrs - 7 days a week. Parking, security, and Unicard help desks are open from 8.30am to 5pm Monday to Friday. 

Reception Services bookings

To book Reception Services, please contact the Reception Services Team by emailing admn700@york.ac.uk with the following information:

  • Your name and contact details
  • The number of the room you require reception services for
  • The date and times required
  • The reception service you require
  • The number of people that will be present

You will need to provide ten working days notice for any reception service requests.

There is a charge for the provision of Reception Services outside the normal opening hours of a building. Additional charges may also occur for Central Hall and staffing for events with over 100 people.