Credit transfer and recognition of prior learning

We accept a diverse range of qualifications, this includes considering prior learning as credit towards your York degree. This means you can apply to be exempt from taking certain modules on your York degree, if you have previous relevant qualifications or experience.

This policy applies to all undergraduate and postgraduate taught (MSc, MA, PG Dip, PG Cert and MRes) applicants, including those from outside the UK. It applies whether you're applying to study at York or one of our partners such as Hull York Medical School. It does not apply to research degrees.

There are two ways that you can use prior learning towards your York degree.

1. Credit transfer

This is where higher education credit gained from an alternative course at York, or from a course at another university, can be accepted as part of the course you're applying to at York.

2. Recognition of prior learning

We can assess whether you can demonstrate sufficient knowledge, understanding and skills in order to be exempt from studying some required modules. This can be used in two ways:

  • Prior certificated learning (formal qualifications) at a level equivalent to higher education credit
  • Experiential learning where your work experience and non-certificated learning can be recognised.

How to apply

  • If you'd like to make an application for credit transfer or recognition of prior learning you should contact the department you're applying to and then complete the relevant application form.
  • You will be responsible for providing sufficient evidence to support your application. This might include certificates of qualifications, an academic transcript or reference from an employer.
  • Your application will be assessed based on academic judgement by qualified members of academic staff.
  • All applications should be made prior to enrolment unless the department has agreed otherwise due to exceptional circumstances.
  • In most cases your prior learning should have been completed within five years of your expected start date at York.

For full details of the policy see: Policy on Credit Transfer and the Recognition of Prior Learning (PDF  , 867kb)

Application forms

Who to contact

DepartmentContact
Archaeology

Undergraduate
Penny Bickle
penny.bickle@york.ac.uk

Postgraduate Taught
Laura Fitton
laura.fitton@york.ac.uk

Biology

Biology Student Services
biol-admissions@york.ac.uk

Centre for Applied Human Rights Claire Fox
claire.fox@york.ac.uk
Centre for Lifelong Learning Hannah Lyus
hannah.lyus@york.ac.uk
Centre for Medieval Studies Brittany Scowcroft
cms-office@york.ac.uk
Centre for Renaissance and Early Modern Studies Jacky Pankhurst
jacky.pankhurst@york.ac.uk
Centre for Women's Studies Ann Kaloski-Naylor
ann.kaloski-naylor@york.ac.uk
Chemistry

Undergraduate
Andy Parsons/Katrina Sayer
chem-ugrad@york.ac.uk

Postgraduate
Chemistry Graduate Office
chemgrad@york.ac.uk

Computer Science Dawn Forrester
dawn.forrester@york.ac.uk
Economics and Related Studies

Undergraduate
Amy Atkinson
amy.atkinson@york.ac.uk

Postgraduate taught
Katie Walton
katie.walton@york.ac.uk

Distance Learning
Martin Forster
martin.forster@york.ac.uk
Education Vanita Sundaram
education-bos@york.ac.uk
Electronics

Undergraduate
Helen Lay
helen.lay@york.ac.uk

Postgraduate taught
Helen Smith
helen.m.smith@york.ac.uk

English and Related Literature Admissions
english-enquiries@york.ac.uk
Environment Undergraduate
Sylvia Toet
sylvia.toet@york.ac.uk

Postgraduate taught
Maroula Hill
maroula.hill@york.ac.uk
Health Sciences Alexandra Bostock
alexandra.bostock@york.ac.uk
History Dr Chris Renwick
chris.renwick@york.ac.uk
History of Art

Undergraduate
Professor Jason Edwards
histart-ug-admissions@york.ac.uk

Postgraduate taught
Dr Emanuele Lugli
emanuele.lugli@york.ac.uk

Hull York Medical School

Victoria Hill
victoria.hill@hyms.ac.uk

Language and Linguistic Science Undergraduate
Rachel O'Brien
rachel.obrien@york.ac.uk

Postgraduate taught
Geoff Krause
geoffrey.krause@york.ac.uk
Mathematics Chris Wood
chris.wood@york.ac.uk
Music Dr Jez Wells
jez.wells@york.ac.uk
Philosophy Undergraduate
Dr Chris Jay
christopher.jay@york.ac.uk

Postgraduate taught
Owen Hulatt
owen.hulatt@york.ac.uk
Physics Tamara Grant
tamara.grant@york.ac.uk
Politics Nicole Lindstrom
nicole.lindstrom@york.ac.uk
Politics, Economics and Philosophy

Undergraduate and postgraduate
pep@york.ac.uk

Psychology

Andrea Woodward
andrea.woodward@york.ac.uk

Social Policy and Social Work John Hudson
john.hudson@york.ac.uk
Sociology

Undergraduate
Nathan Manning
nathan.manning@york.ac.uk

Postgraduate taught
Gareth Millington
gareth.millington@york.ac.uk

The York Management School

Postgraduate Office
management-postgrad@york.ac.uk

Theatre, Film and Television Anna Jones
anna.jones@york.ac.uk
The York Law School

Undergraduate
Laurence Etherington
laurence.etherington@york.ac.uk

Postgraduate
Salwa Eweis
salwa.eweis@york.ac.uk

Centre for Eighteenth Century Studies

Brittany Scowcroft
brittany.scowcroft@york.ac.uk

Centre for Modern Studies

Helen Jacobs
cmods-enquiries@york.ac.uk

Contact us

Postgraduate Admissions
pg-admissions@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 322142

Contact us

Postgraduate Admissions
pg-admissions@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 322142