Accessibility statement

Faith contacts

Although the University of York is a secular institution we aim to ensure all of our community can participate in the wide variety of faith groups in and around York. Listed below are a number of faith contacts. The University expects all of the faith groups listed to work in partnership with the University (via Student Support and the Equality & Diversity Office) to meet our duties under the Equality Act (2010). To give feedback on any of the groups or contacts below see the foot of this table.

FaithContactTelephoneEmail
Baptist
  • Rev Gary Patchen
  • York Baptist Church office
  • +44 (0)1904 640124
office@ybc.org.uk
Buddhist (Chan Meditation Group)
  • Sian Thomas
  yorkchan@westernchanfellowship.org
Buddhist (Samatha Trust Theravada Group)
  •  Peter Harvey
  •  +44 (0) 1757 335021
 b.peter.harvey@gmail.com
Free Evangelical
  • Free Evangelical Church office
  • +44 (0)1904 551733
office@yorkcommunitychurch.co.uk
Greek Orthodox
  • Fr. David Carnelley
  • +44 (0) 7703 343856
fr.david@talk21.com
Hindu
  • Mr Mahendra Verma
  • +44 (0)7588 242419 (mobile)
  • +44 (0)1904 413138 (home)
mkv1@york.ac.uk
Islamic
  • Bull Lane Mosque
  • +44 (0)1904 413123
mmg@ohm.york.ac.uk
Jehovah's Witnesses
  • John Pickering
  • Paul Mendham
  • +44 (0)1904 848051
  • +44 (0)1904 607541
 johntrisha@hotmail.co.uk
Jewish
  • Rabbi Eli Magzimof
  • +44 (0)7815 108260
eli@mychaplaincy.co.uk 
Methodist
  • Revd. Dr. John Schofield
  • +44 (0) 1904 903450
  • +44 (0) 7923 043327
rev-john.schofield@york.ac.uk 
York Liberal Jewish Community
  • Shannon Kirshner
  • 0300 102 0062
info@jewsinyork.org.uk 
Quaker
  • Beverley Taylor
  • +44 (0) 7825 296333
b.taylor@virgin.net
Unitarian
  • Dr Janet Eldred
  • +44 (0) 01904 324323
janet.eldred@york.ac.uk
United Reformed Church
  • Rev Alison Micklem
  • +44 (0)1904 488291
micklem@clara.co.uk

The University aims to foster an academic community which balances freedom of worship, freedom of speech and our duties under the Equality Act 2010.  For information on religious groups that may be of concern visit www.inform.ac. If you have compliments, concerns or complaints about any of the Faith Contacts or Groups please contact the Academic Registrar or the Head of Equality & diversity in the first instance.