Accessibility statement

Vice-Chancellor's Teaching Awards 2020

Posted on 11 June 2020

Congratulations to colleagues who have been awarded Vice-Chancellor's Teaching Awards.

The scheme recognises and rewards colleagues (academics, learning support staff, teaching ‘teams’ and postgraduates/postdocs who teach) who demonstrate excellence in teaching and/or learning support at York. 

The panel, chaired by John Robinson, Pro-Vice Chancellor for Teaching, Learning and Students, was looking for three key qualities:

  • Sustained excellence across a range of teaching/support activities and over a reasonable period of time.
  • A creative approach to teaching and/or learning support, focused on student learning needs.  
  • Evidence that nominees make an impact on colleagues as well as students. 

Fourteen awards were made and will be formally conferred by the Chancellor or Vice-Chancellor at one of our postponed summer 2020 graduation ceremonies: 

  • Dr Aimee Little, Department of Archaeology
  • Dr Peter Mayhew, Department of Biology
  • Emma Rand, Department of Biology
  • Professor Paul Walton, Department of Chemistry
  • Dr Matthais Morys, Department of Economics and Related Studies
  • Dr Dominic Spengler, Department of Economics and Related Studies
  • Aidan Collins, Department of History
  • Dr Jon Howlett, Department of History
  • Dr Heidi Basler, Hull York Medical School
  • Dr Paul Pryor, Hull York Medical School
  • Dr Richard Powell, Department of Music
  • Dr Alex Reid, Department of Psychology
  • Dr Chris Corker, The York Management School
  • Dr Peter Harrison, The York Law School.

We are now inviting a second round of applications for the 2020 Vice-Chancellor's Teaching Awards. The closing date for nominations is midday Friday 25 September. 

Find more information about the second round of the Vice-Chancellor's Teaching Awards and the application form.