Skip to content Accessibility statement

York health economists receive international research award

Posted on 14 May 2015

Two academics from the University of York have been named co-recipients of the prestigious William B. Graham Prize for Health Services Research 2015.

Professors Tony Culyer (left) and Alan Maynard

Emeritus Professors Tony Culyer and Alan Maynard are recognised by the Baxter International Foundation and the Association of University Programs in Health Administration (AUPHA). The prize recognises researchers who have had a significant impact on the health of the public through either health services management, health policy development, or healthcare delivery.

Professor Tony Culyer is Chair of Economics at York, and a senior fellow at the Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation at the University of Toronto. A founding Vice Chair of the National Institute for Health & Clinical Excellence, a Founding Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences and a founding Editor of the Journal of Health Economics, Professor Culyer is an Honorary Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians, and Chair of the NICE International Advisory Group.

Professor Alan Maynard is Emeritus Professor of Health Economics in York’s Department of Health Sciences and until recently Chairman of the Vale of York NHS Commissioning Group. Beginning his career at the University of Exeter, he moved to the University of York in 1971 and was appointed founding Director of the Centre for Health Economics (CHE) in 1983. Managing the development of CHE into a leading international health economics and policy centre, Professor Maynard was also Chairman of York Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust from 1997 to 2010.

Professor Culyer said: "It is a great distinction to be awarded the Graham Prize. I am extremely proud to share this prize with my long-standing colleague and co-author Alan Maynard. I am especially pleased that this marks the success of so many past collaborations between can-do health economists, health service researchers, and healthcare managers."

Professor Maynard added: "It is a great honor to be awarded the William B. Graham Prize. I particularly appreciate receiving the award with my old friend and colleague Professor Tony Culyer."

Professor Kyle Grazier, Richard C. Jelinek Professor of Health Management and Policy at the University of Michigan and Graham Prize Selection Committee chair, said: "Tony Culyer and Alan Maynard epitomize the greatness of William B. Graham and the Graham Prize itself. Their collaborations have netted major contributions to public health, and individually each has brought forth innovative health services research. The Graham Prize Selection Committee is thrilled to select Professors Culyer and Maynard for this distinguished award."

The awards will be presented on 4 June 2015 during the AUPHA Annual Meeting in Miami.

Further information:

  • The William B. Graham Prize for Health Services Researchwas established in 1986. The Prize honors the late William B. Graham, longtime chairman and CEO of Baxter International Inc., and is internationally regarded as the premier recognition for individuals conducting health services research. The Prize includes an annual award of $25,000 to the individual and $25,000 to a non-profit institution that supports the winner's work.
  • The Baxter International Foundation, the philanthropic arm of Baxter International Inc. (NYSE:BAX), helps organizations expand access to healthcare in the United States and around the world. The foundation, established in 1981, focuses on improving access to healthcare, particularly for the disadvantaged and underserved in and near communities where Baxter employees live and work. For more information, visit:
  • AUPHA is a global network of colleges, universities, faculty, individuals and organizations dedicated to the improvement of healthcare delivery through excellence in healthcare management and policy education. Its faculty and individual members represent more than 400 colleges and universities. For more information, visit:
  • For further information about the University of York’s Centre for Health Economics, visit:

Explore more news

Media enquiries

Saskia Angenent
Press Officer

Tel: 01904 323918