Accessibility statement

Equality and Good Practice Committee 

The Department of Mathematics Equality and Good Practice Committee aims are:

  • to hold regular meetings as a full committee and working groups to promote equality, diversity and inclusion in the department
  • to encourage the development of new equality, diversity and inclusion practice and initiatives
  • to collate and analyse equality, diversity and inclusion data
  • to provide an effective forum for equality, diversity and inclusion discussions
  • through the chair, to inform directly departmental management practice on equality, diversity and inclusion issues
  • to oversee the Equality and Good Pratice Committee budget on a regular basis
  • to help promote good equality, diversity and inclusion practice outside the department
  • to advise the Board of Studies on how best to implement equality, diversity and inclusion practices in teaching
  • to take responsibility for and oversee Athena Swan award submissions.
  • to help the Head of Department and Departmental Management Team to implement the Athena Swan Action Plan

Terms of membership will be three years, renewable once. There is flexibility to adjust terms by up to twelve months to accommodate deadlines for Athena SWAN submissions.

Current members 
Prof Martin Bees

Professor Martin Bees became the Head of Department in October 2021. Martin is a passionate believer in widening participation, has worked as an academic mentor in Botswana and has research collaborations in India and Japan. He has three teenage children.

Dr Emilie Dufresne Dr Emilie Dufresne has been the Chair of the Equality and Good Practice Committee since October 2020. She is a Lecturer in Algebra. She is married to a mathematician at a nearby institution and has a young boy. She is very familiar with the challenges of solving a two body problem and navigating the associated complicated logistics of family life.
Linda Elvin Linda Elvin works around family commitments as P.A. to the Head of Department and Department Manager. Linda is the support staff representative members of the committee.
Dr Jess Hargreaves Dr Jess Hargreaves is a Lecturer in Statistics. Jess joined the committee in April 2021 as an academic representative. Jess is passionate about promoting diversity in mathematics and in February 2021, she spoke about her (statistical) research at the LMS Women and Non-Binary People in Mathematics conference.
Dr Annabel Jenkins Annabel joined the committee as the Departmental Research Committee (DRC) representative in September 2019.
Cheri Mussell Cheri Mussell joined Mathematics as Department Manager in September 2018. She currently works full time but took the opportunity to reduce her working week whilst her son was at school. Cheri is an ex officio member of the Equality and Good Practice Committee.
Prof Sanju Velani  Sanju  joined the committee in September 2021 as an academic representative. 
Cordelia Webb Cordelia Webb joined the committee as Post-Graduate representative in October 2020.
Dr Stefan Weigert Dr Stefan Weigert is a lecturer in Mathematical Physics. He has been a member of the Chair of the Equality and Good Practice Committee since September 2018 and served as the Chair between September 2018 and October 2020.