Accessibility statement

Our people

On this page you can find contact details of all York Law School's staff:

  • Academic Staff
  • PhD and MA students
  • Professional Support Staff
  • Departmental Officers

Click on the highlighted names to access detailed staff profiles including biographical background, research interests, publications and professional activities. 

Information about our new Research and Practice Fellows can also be found on this page.

Academic Staff

Academic Staff

Alphabetical list

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

 

Name

Contact Details
A
  Jackson Allen
Lecturer

LMB/114
Tel: 01904 32 5820
jackson.allen@york.ac.uk

  Sarah Archer
Lecturer

LMB/262
Tel: 01904 32 5802                   
sarah.archer@york.ac.uk

Professor TT Arvind
Head of York Law School
LMB/270
Tel: 01904 32 5811
t.t.arvind@york.ac.uk
B
Professor Stuart Bell
Professor
stuart.bell@york.ac.uk
Sara Boulton
Clinic Solicitor and Lecturer

LMB/116
Tel: 01904 32 5950
sara.boulton@york.ac.uk

C
  Gabrielle Carpenter
Associate Lecturer

LMB/262
Tel: 01904 32 5802
gabrielle.carpenter@york.ac.uk

Dr Ioana Cismas
Reader and Joint Programme Leader

CAHR, 6 Innovation Close
Tel: 01904 32 5833
ioana.cismas@york.ac.uk

  Dr Amy Codling
Associate Lecturer

LMB/262
Tel: 01904 32 5802
amy.codling@york.ac.uk

  Daniel Collins
Associate Lecturer

LMB/262
Tel: 01904 32 5802
daniel.collins@york.ac.uk

E
 

Cat Ellis
Associate Lecturer

LMB/262
Tel: 01904 32 5802
cat.ellis@york.ac.uk

Dr Laurence Etherington
Senior Lecturer and Undergraduate Admissions Tutor

LMB/256
Tel: 01904 32 5804
laurence.etherington@york.ac.uk
F
 

Janet Feather-Moore
Associate Lecturer

LMB/262
Tel: 01904 32 5802
janet.feather-moore@york.ac.uk
 

Dr Alvaro Fernandez-Mora
Lecturer 

LMB/251
Tel: 01904 32 5975
alvaro.fernandez@york.ac.uk
 

Magdalena Furgalska
Lecturer

LMB/282
Tel: 01904 32 5802
magdalena.furgalska@york.ac.uk 
G

Dr Patrick Gallimore
Senior Lecturer and 3 Year LLB Programme Leader

LMB/274
Tel: 01904 32 5829
patrick.gallimore@york.ac.uk

Dr Jenny Gibbons
Deputy Head of York Law School

LMB/278
Tel: 01904 32 5803
jenny.gibbons@york.ac.uk

Dr Joanna Gilmore
Senior Lecturer

LMB/273
Tel: 01904 32 5738
joanna.gilmore@york.ac.uk
 

Jess Gracie
Associate Lecturer

LMB/262
Tel: 01904 32 5802
jessica.gracie@york.ac.uk

Dr Alex Green
Lecturer

LMB/259
Tel: 01904 32 6474
alex.green@york.ac.uk
H
Professor Simon Halliday
Professor and Chair of Research

LMB/244

Tel: 01904 32 5826

simon.halliday@york.ac.uk

Dr Peter Harrison
Lecturer
LMB/244
Tel: 01904 32 5821
peter.harrison@york.ac.uk
  Mary-Jane Horgan
Associate Lecturer

LMB/262
Tel: 01904 32 5802
mary-jane.horgan@york.ac.uk

  Johanna Hull
Associate Lecturer

LMB/262
Tel: 01904 32 5802
johanna.hull@york.ac.uk

Professor Caroline Hunter
Professor
LMB/109
Tel: 01904 32 5806
caroline.hunter@york.ac.uk
I
  Claire Illingworth
Lecturer
LMB/261
Tel: 01904 32 5802
claire.illingworth@york.ac.uk
J
Lucy James
Associate Lecturer

LMB/262
Tel: 01904 32 5802
lucy.james@york.ac.uk

Martin Jones
Senior Lecturer in International Human Rights Law
CAHR, 6 Innovation Close
Tel: 01904 32 5834
martin.jones@york.ac.uk
K
Elliott Keech
Associate Lecturer

LMB/262
Tel: 01904 32 5802
elliott.keech@york.ac.uk

Dr Liam Kilvington
Lecturer

LMB/282
Tel: 01904 32 5802
liam.kilvington@york.ac.uk

L
Dr Wendy Laws
Associate Lecturer

LMB/262
Tel: 01904 32 5802
wendy.laws@york.ac.uk

  Dr Sue Lazer
Associate Lecturer

LMB/262
Tel: 01904 32 5802
sue.lazer@york.ac.uk

Dr Kate Leader
Lecturer
LMB/155
Tel: 01904 32 5748
kate.leader@york.ac.uk
Stephen Levett
Senior Lecturer
LMB/250
Tel: 01904 32 5835
stephen.levett@york.ac.uk
M
 

Tom Malyn
Associate Lecturer

LMB/262
Tel: 01904 32 5802
tom.malyn@york.ac.uk

Professor Matt Matravers
Professor

LB/111
Tel: 01904 32 5836
matt.matravers@york.ac.uk

  Cerys Mawson
Lecturer

LMB/262
Tel: 01904 32 5802
cerys.mawson@york.ac.uk

Dr Lawrence McNamara
Reader
LMB/252
Tel: 01904 32 5848
lawrence.mcnamara@york.ac.uk
Dr Jed Meers
Lecturer
LMB/253
Tel: 01904 32 5747
jed.meers@york.ac.uk
Dr Phillip Morgan
Reader
LMB/257
Tel: 01904 32 5822
phillip.morgan@york.ac.uk
  Mhairi Morter
Lecturer

LMB/261
Tel: 01904 32 5802
mhairi.morter@york.ac.uk

N
Professor Richard Nolan
Professor

LMB/110
Tel: 01904 32 5815
richard.nolan@york.ac.uk

O

Professor Charlotte O'Brien
Professor
LMB/116
Tel: 01904 32 5808
charlotte.obrien@york.ac.uk
Dr Ailbhe O'Loughlin
Lecturer
LMB/113    
Tel: 01904 32 5825
ailbhe.oloughlin@york.ac.uk
P

Piergiuseppe Parisi
Associate Lecturer

LMB/282
Tel: 01904 32 5802
piergiuseppe.parisi@york.ac.uk
R
 

Safeena Rafiq
Associate Lecturer

LMB/262
Tel: 01904 32 5802
safeena.rafiq@york.ac.uk

Dr Nicolas Rennuy
Lecturer and Year 3 Advisor

LMB/255
Tel: 01904 32 5817
nicolas.rennuy@york.ac.uk
S
 

Sarah Scott
Lecturer

LMB/262
Tel: 01904 32 5802
sarah.scott@york.ac.uk 

Professor Scott Slorach
Director of Learning and Teaching
LMB/276
Tel: 01904 32 5837
scott.slorach@york.ac.uk
 

Angela Smith
Associate Lecturer

LMB/262
Tel: 01904 32 5802
angela.smith@york.ac.uk 
Professor Jenny Steele
Professor
LMB/112
Tel: 01904 32 5814
jenny.steele@york.ac.uk
T
  Dr Sean Thomas
Reader
LMB/263
Tel: 01904 32 6473
sean.thomas@york.ac.uk
 

Karen Thompson
Associate Lecturer

LMB/262
Tel: 01904 32 5802
karen.thompson@york.ac.uk 
Dr Joe Tomlinson
Senior Lecturer
LMB/264
Tel: 01904 32 6472
joe.tomlinson@york.ac.uk
Dr Dimitrios Tsarapatsanis
Lecturer
LMB/275d
Tel: 01904 32 5875
dimitrios.tsarapatsanis@york.ac.uk
W
Dr Emma Waring
Senior Lecturer and Year 2 Advisor
LMB/272
Tel: 01904 32 5823
emma.waring@york.ac.uk
Dr Alice Welsh
Research Fellow 

LMB/282
Tel: 01904 32 5802
alice.welsh@york.ac.uk

Dr Sue Westwood
Senior Lecturer
LMB/258
Tel: 01904 32 5874
sue.westwood@york.ac.uk
Chris Wilkinson
Employability Teaching Fellow
LMB/249
Tel: 01904 32 5807
chris.wilkinson@york.ac.uk
Dr Sarah Wilson
Senior Lecturer
LMB/271
Tel: 01904 32 5809
s.wilson@york.ac.uk
Dr Kathryn Wright
Senior Lecturer
LMB/279
Tel: 01904 32 5816
kathryn.wright@york.ac.uk

 

PhD and MA Students

PhD and MA Students

 NameContact
 

Sherif Azer

 

 

Charlotte Ellis

 

  Jonathan Fisk
 

Fitria

 

 

Stefano Faraoni

 

Petronel Geyser
 

Jessica Gracie

 

LMB/282
 

Rhiannon Griffiths

 

 

Sam Guy

 

 

Claire Hall

 

  James Hart
 

Jane Hill

 

 

Nu Hud

 

 

Marcus Hulme

 

Zaki Kaf Al-Ghazal

 

Elliott Keech
 

Atoosa Khatiri

 

James Killen
 

Thomas Knight

 

Carl Makin
 

Andre Pringle

 

 

Michael Robinson

 

 

Alice Trotter

 

 

Chrlie Tye

 

 

Lucia Varela Vazquez

 

 

Le Nam Vo

 

 

Max Williams

 

Professional Support staff

Professional Support staff

NameRole
Francess Daly
francess.daly@york.ac.uk
York Law School Clinic, Market Square
Tel: 01904 32 5819
York Law School Clinic Administrator
Salwa Eweis
salwa.eweis@york.ac.uk
LMB/281
Tel: 01904 32 5818
Postgraduate Research Administrator
Sophie Gibson
sophie.gibson@york.ac.uk
LMB/269
Tel: 01904 32 5746
Research Facilitator
Melanie Race-Mellin
melanie.race@york.ac.uk
LMB/269
Tel: 01904 32 5737
Postgraduate Taught Administrator and PGT Disability & Welfare Officer
Jackie Richmond
jackie.richmond@york.ac.uk
LMB/Reception
Tel: 01904 32 5802
Receptionist and Admin Assistant
Dr Emma Simmons
emma.simmons@york.ac.uk
LMB/277
Tel: 01904 32 5812
Undergraduate School Coordinator
Louise Stokes
louise.stokes@york.ac.uk
LMB/281
Tel: 01904 32 5810
Law School Manager and UG Disability & Welfare Officer

Departmental Officers

Departmental Officers

Staff within York Law School who hold administrative roles. Click on the links below to view individual staff profiles:

RoleNameContact Details
Head of Department Professor TT Arvind LMB/270
Tel: 01904 32 5811
t.t.arvind@york.ac.uk
Deputy Head of Department Dr Jenny Gibbons LMB/278
Tel: 01904 32 5803
jenny.gibbons@york.ac.uk
Chair, Board of Studies Professor Scott Slorach LMB/276
Tel: 01904 32 5837
scott.slorach@york.ac.uk
Chair, Research Professor Simon Halliday  LMB/244
Tel: 01904 32 5826
simon.halliday@york.ac.uk 
Programme Leader - LLB (3 years) Dr Patrick Gallimore  LMB/274
Tel: 01904 32 5829
patrick.gallimore@york.ac.uk 
Programme Leader - LLB (Senior Status) Dr Sue Westwood LMB/258
Tel: 01904 32 5874
sue.westwood@york.ac.uk 
Chair, Graduate School Board Dr Kathryn Wright LMB/260
Tel: 01904 32 5816
kathryn.wright@york.ac.uk
PhD Programme Leader Dr Sarah Wilson LMB/271
Tel: 01904 32 5809
s.wilson@york.ac.uk
Undergraduate Admissions

Stephen Levett

LMB/256
Tel: 01904 32 5835
stephen.levett@york.ac.uk
Chair, Board of Examiners Phillip Morgan  LMB/257
Tel: 01904 32 5822
phillip.morgan@york.ac.uk 
Equality and Diversity Champion Professor Charlotte O'Brien LMB/116
Tel: 01904 32 5808
charlotte.obrien@york.ac.uk
Employability Tutor Chris Wilkinson LMB/249
Tel: 01904 32 5807
chris.wilkinson@york.ac.uk
Disability and Welfare Officer Louise Stokes LMB/281
Tel: 01904 32 5810
louise.stokes@york.ac.uk