Athena SWAN Steering Group

The Athena SWAN central steering group provides overall direction and leads the development of institutional submissions.

Chair 

Deborah Smith – Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research

Members

  • Jane Hill – Chair of Faculty of Sciences Working Group
  • Paul Walton – Chair of Athena SWAN Forum
  • Henrice Altink - Chair of Faculty of Arts and Humanities Working Group
  • Rowena Jacobs - Chair of Faculty of Social Sciences Working Group
  • Anna Reader - Athena SWAN Coordinator
  • Helen Selvidge – Assistant HR Director
  • Fatma Layas - GSA Representative
  • Julian Porch - YUSU Representative
  • Barbara Procacci - Early Career Researcher Representative
  • Alison Sherratt - Internal Communications Officer
  • Russell Grant - Planning Office

Faculty working groups 

To support departments in preparing submissions and coordinate Athena SWAN work within each faculty.

Athena SWAN Forum 

A University-wide forum to share good practice across disciplines, host occasional external speakers and help raise awareness across the University. 

Chair: Professor Paul Walton

Athena Swan Departmental Representatives

Contact nameDepartmentE-mail address

Dr Stephanie Wynne-Jones

Archaeology stephanie.wynne-jones@york.ac.uk
Professor Nia Bryant Biology nia.bryant@york.ac.uk
Professor Rowena Jacobs Centre for Health Economics rowena.jacobs@york.ac.uk
Dr Leonie Jones & Dr Caroline Dessent Chemistry

leonie.jones@york.ac.uk

caroline.dessent@york.ac.uk

Professor Helen Petrie Computer Science Helen.petrie@york.ac.uk
Professor Jo Swaffield Economics and related studies Jo.Swaffield@york.ac.uk
Dr Vanita Sundaram Education vanita.sundaram@york.ac.uk
Professor Tony Ward Electronic Engineering tony.ward@york.ac.uk
Dr Freya Sierhuis English & related studies
Dr Kate Arnold Environment kathryn.arnold@york.ac.uk
Dr Kate Flemming Health Sciences Kate.flemming@york.ac.uk
Dr. Shaul Mitelpunkt & Dr Sarah Rees-Jones History

shaul.mitelpunkt@york.ac.uk

sarah.reesjones@york.ac.uk

Professor Amanda Lillie History of Art amanda.lillie@york.ac.uk
Dr Victoria Allgar HYMS Victoria.Allgar@york.ac.uk
Dr Nino Grillo Language and Linguistics nino.grillo@york.ac.uk
Dr Julie Wilson Mathematics julie.wilson@york.ac.uk
Ms Catherine Duncan Music Catherine.duncan@york.ac.uk
TBC Philosophy
Ms Teresa Gibbs Physics teresa.gibbs@york.ac.uk
Dr Claire Smith Politics claire.smith@york.ac.uk
Professor Beth Jefferies Psychology beth.jefferies@york.ac.uk
Dr Peter Coventry Reviews and Dissemination peter.coventry@york.ac.uk
Dr Katy Sian Sociology katy.sian@york.ac.uk
TBC Social Policy and Social Work  
Dr Sandra Pauletto TFTV sandra.pauletto@york.ac.uk
Dr Katarzyna Gromek-Brok York Law School katarzyna.gromek-broc@york.ac.uk
Dr Anna Einarsdottir York Management School

anna.einarsdottir@york.ac.uk

Contacts for provision of central data

Dr Russ Grant
Planning Officer for Sciences (student data)

Mr Alex McFarlane
HR services (staff data)

Contact us

Or your departmental contact

Anna Reader
anna.reader@york.ac.uk

Contact us

Or your departmental contact

Anna Reader
anna.reader@york.ac.uk