Athena SWAN Steering Group

The Athena SWAN central steering group provides overall direction and leads the development of institutional submissions.


Deborah Smith – Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research


  • Jane Hill – Chair of Faculty of Sciences Working Group
  • Paul Walton – Chair of Athena SWAN Forum
  • Henrice Altink - Chair of Faculty of Arts and Humanities Working Group
  • Rowena Jacobs - Chair of Faculty of Social Sciences Working Group
  • Anna Reader - Athena SWAN Coordinator
  • Helen Selvidge – Assistant HR Director
  • Charlotte Chamberlain - GSA Representative
  • Zoe Disley - YUSU Representative
  • Emily Peckham - Early Career Researcher Representative
  • Nino Grillo - Language and Linguistic Science
  • Alison Sherratt - Internal Communications Officer
  • Russell Grant - Planning Office

Faculty working groups 

To support departments in preparing submissions and coordinate Athena SWAN work within each faculty.

Athena SWAN Forum 

A University-wide forum to share good practice across disciplines, host occasional external speakers and help raise awareness across the University. 

Chair: Professor Paul Walton

Athena Swan Departmental Representatives

Contact nameDepartmentE-mail address

Dr Stephanie Wynne-Jones

Professor Nia Bryant Biology
Professor Rowena Jacobs Centre for Health Economics
Dr Leonie Jones & Dr Caroline Dessent Chemistry

Professor Helen Petrie Computer Science
Professor Jo Swaffield Economics and related studies
Dr Vanita Sundaram Education
Professor Tony Ward Electronic Engineering
Dr Freya Sierhuis English & related studies
Dr Jon Hill Environment and Geography
Dr Kate Flemming Health Sciences
Dr Natasha Glaisyer History

Professor Amanda Lillie History of Art
Dr Victoria Allgar HYMS
Dr Nino Grillo Language and Linguistics
Dr Stefan Weigert Mathematics
Ms Catherine Duncan Music
Dr Keith Allen Philosophy
Dr Marina Petri Physics
Dr Claire Smith Politics
Professor Beth Jefferies Psychology
Dr Peter Coventry Reviews and Dissemination
Dr Steph Lawler Sociology
Professor Ellen Roberts Social Policy and Social Work

Dr Kristyn Gorton

Dr Kathryn Wright York Law School
Dr Anna Einarsdottir York Management School

Contacts for provision of central data

Dr Russ Grant
Planning Officer for Sciences (student data)

Mr Alex McFarlane
HR services (staff data)

Contact us

Or your departmental contact

Anna Reader

Contact us

Or your departmental contact

Anna Reader