Academic staff‌

Alphabetical list

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T U  V  W  X  Y  Z

A

Dr Rob Aitken

  • Ethnicity
  • Politicisation of culture
  • Forms of locality and belonging 

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323547

Email: rob.aitken@york.ac.uk

Dr Olayinka Ajala

  • Poverty, conflict and development
  • Human rights and security
  • Insurgency and terrorism

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 322715

Email: olayinka.ajala@york.ac.uk

B

Professor Werner Bonefeld

  • Critical theory
  • Critique of political economy
  • Political sociology

Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 323544

Email: werner.bonefeld@york.ac.uk

Dr Monica Brito-Vieira

  • History of political thought
  • Contemporary political theory
  • Intellectual history

Tel: +44 (0 ) 1904 324108

Email: monica.britovieira@york.ac.uk

Dr Jim Buller

  • British politics
  • Political Economy
  • Depoliticisation and public policy

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323570

Email: jim.buller@york.ac.uk

C

Professor Neil Carter

  • Environmental politics and policy
  • British party politics

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323558

Email: neil.carter@york.ac.uk

Professor Nina Caspersen

  • Dynamics of intra-state conflicts
  • Strategies for conflict resolution
  • Unrecognised states

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323555

Email: nina.caspersen@york.ac.uk

Dr Liam Clegg

  • International political economy
  • International organisations
  • Economic governance

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 322646

Email: liam.clegg@york.ac.uk

D

Dr Simona Davidescu

  • Sustainable development policies
  • Renewable energy

Tel:+44(0)1904 323564

Email: simona.davidescu@york.ac.uk

E

Dr Jappe Eckhardt

  • International political economy
  • International organisations
  • European and Asian regionalism

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323545

Email: jappe.eckhardt@york.ac.uk

Dr Rebecca Engel

  • Political economy
  • Conflict and development

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 322074

Email: rebecca.engel@york.ac.uk

Dr Jacob Eriksson

  • Israeli-Palestinian conflict
  • Conflict resolution

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 322644

Email: jacob.eriksson@york.ac.uk

F

Professor Matthew Festenstein

  • Political theory
  • History of political thought

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323573

Email: matthew.festenstein@york.ac.uk

Dr Susan Forde

  • Peace and conflict
  • Divided cities
  • Ethno-nationalist conflicts

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323543

Email: susan.forde@york.ac.uk

Dr Adam Fusco

  • Contemporary political theory
  • Political philosophy
  • History of political thought

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323562

Email: adam.fusco@york.ac.uk

G

Dr Harriet Gray

  • Feminist international relations
  • Critical military and critical war studies
  • Sexual and gender-based violence

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 322640

Email: harriet.gray@york.ac.uk

Professor Paul Gready

  • Transitional justice
  • Development and human rights
  • Culture and human rights practice

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323581

Email: paul.gready@york.ac.uk

Professor Jean Grugel

  • Political economy of development
  • Politics of citizenship
  • Human rights and democratization

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 322061

Email: jean.grugel@york.ac.uk

H

Dr Louise Haagh

  • Democratisation of human development
  • Economic justice
  • Modalities of institutional change
  • Comparative political economy of development and public policy
  • Basic income
  • Comparative capitalism and the welfare state

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323549

Email: louise.haagh@york.ac.uk

Dr Alex Hall

  • International securitisation of mobility
  • Contemporary border politics

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323559

Email: alexandra.hall@york.ac.uk

Dr Eva Heims

  • The politics of regulation
  • EU and transnational regulation
  • Banking, food safety and pharmaceuticals regulation
  • Comparative public policy and administration

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323502

Email: eva.heims@york.ac.uk

Professor Tony Heron

  • Theory and practice of international relations
  • International and comparative political economy

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323554

Email: tony.heron@york.ac.uk

J

Dr Ignacio Jurado

  • Comparative political economy
  • Electoral behavior

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 322323

Email: ignacio.jurado@york.ac.uk

K

Dr Daniel Keith

  • Party politics
  • Comparative politics
  • The radical left

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 322324

Email: dan.keith@york.ac.uk

Dr Ingrid Kvangraven

  • Classical Political Economy
  • Political Economy of Development
  • International Trade
  • International Finance

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323550

Email: ingrid.kvangraven@york.ac.uk

L

Dr Sandra Leon

  • Endogeneity of decentralized institutions
  • Individual electoral behaviour

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323195

Email: sandra.leon@york.ac.uk

Dr Nicole Lindstrom

  • Comparative and international political economy
  • Public policy

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 322647

Email: nicole.lindstrom@york.ac.uk

M

Dr Paul McFadden

  • Political economy
  • State economy and society

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323562

Email: paul.mcfadden@york.ac.uk

Dr Josh Milburn

  • Moral and political philosophy
  • History of political thought
  • Animal studies and animal ethics

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323989

Email: josh.milburn@york.ac.uk

Dr Alfred Moore

  • Politics of expertise
  • Contemporary democratic theory

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323988

Email: alfred.moore@york.ac.uk

Dr Peg Murray-Evans

  • Power, ideas and institutions in politics of international development

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323518

Email: peg.murray-evans@york.ac.uk

N

Dr Alice M Nah

  • Security and protection of human rights defenders
  • Asylum and migration in Asia
Tel: +44 (0) 1904 325824

Email: alice.nah@york.ac.uk

Dr João Nunes

  • Politics of health
  • Security studies
  • Brazilian foreign policy
  • Politics of food and food security

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 322322

Email: joao.nunes@york.ac.uk

Dr Alasia Nuti

  • Historical injustice
  • Gender and Sexuality
  • Race
  • Structural injustice
  • Memory
  • Immigration
  • Pluralism

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323439

Email: alasia.nuti@york.ac.uk

O
P

Dr Simon Parker

  • Urban studies and urban theory
  • Socio-spatial informatics
  • Politics of asylum and immigration
  • Comparative European politics

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323557

Email: simon.parker@york.ac.uk

Dr Alejandro Peña

  • International relations
  • Political sociology
  • Latin american politics

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 322321

Email: alejandro.pena@york.ac.uk

R

Dr Nick Ritchie

  • International relations and international security
  • Nuclear disarmament
  • Proliferation and arms control
  • US and UK national security

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 324104

Email: nick.ritchie@york.ac.uk

Dr Philip Roberts

  • Heterodox political economy
  • Development
  • Global Food Production
  • Social Movements

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323989

Email: philip.roberts@york.ac.uk

Dr Indrajit Roy

  • Rising powers
  • Political change and social transformation

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323566

Email: indrajit.roy@york.ac.uk

S

Dr Claire Smith

  • Democratisation
  • War to peace transitions
  • Humanitarian interventions
  • Ethno-religious violence
  • Development in contested states

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 322643

Email: claire.smith@york.ac.uk

Professor Martin Smith

  • British politics
  • Public policy
  • State transformation

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323552

Email: martin.smith@york.ac.uk

Professor Tim Stanton

  • Political theory
  • History of political thought
  • Historical formation of modern ideas

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323567

Email: tim.stanton@york.ac.uk

Dr Dimitrios Stroikos

  • International Relations of the Asia-Pacific
  • China, India and Global Order
  • Space Security and Space Policy
  • International Relations and International Security

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323989

Email: dimitrios.stroikos@york.ac.uk

Tim Stuart-Buttle

  • Historian of early modern Europe

Email: tim.stuart-buttle@york.ac.uk

T

Dr Liisa Talving

  • Comparative Politics
  • Political behavior and public opinion
  • European Union politics

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 322060

Email: liisa.talving@york.ac.uk

V

Dr Sara Van Goozen

  • Just war theory
  • Global ethics
  • Political theory

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 324642

Email: sara.vangoozen@york.ac.uk

Dr Sofia Vasilopoulou

  • European Union politics
  • Comparative European politics
  • Political behaviour
  • Party politics

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323569

Email: sofia.vasilopoulou@york.ac.uk

Y

Dr Barbara Yoxon

  • Comparative authoritarianism
  • War and peace studies
  • Democratisation

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 322645

Email: barbara.yoxon@york.ac.uk