Accessibility statement

Academic staff‌

Remi Adekoya leading a lecture

Alphabetical list

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U V  W  X  Y  Z

 

A  

Dr Remi Adekoya

  • The Politics of Identity
  • British colonialism in Africa
  • Post-colonial African Politics

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 328118

Email: remi.adekoya@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Rob Aitken

  • Ethnicity
  • Politicisation of culture
  • Forms of locality and belonging 

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323547

Email: rob.aitken@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Nuray Aridici

  • Nationalism
  • Gender
  • Foreign policy

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323779

Email: nuray.aridici@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Eli Auslender

  • Migration and asylum
  • Public policy and governance
  • Bordering practices
  • Urban integration

Tel: +44 (0)  1904 328557

Email: eli.auslender@york.ac.uk

 
B  

Dr Gabriele Badano

  • Political philosophy
  • Contemporary political theory

Tel: +44(0) 1904 323590

Email: gabriele.badano@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Udit Bhatia

  • Contemporary Democratic Theory
  • Political Epistemology
  • Comparative Political Theory
  • History of Political Thought

Email: udit.bhatia@york.ac.uk

 

Professor Werner Bonefeld

  • Critical theory
  • Critique of political economy
  • Political sociology

Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 323544

Email: werner.bonefeld@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Sebastian Booth

  • Security governance
  • Regulation
  • Bureaucratic Politics
  • Public Policy

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 322645

Email: sebastian.booth@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Nathaniel Boyd

  • Rethinking civil society

 

Tel: +32 49 3710367

Email: nathaniel.boyd@york.ac.uk

 

Professor Monica Brito-Vieira

  • History of political thought
  • Contemporary political theory
  • Intellectual history

Tel: +44 (0 ) 1904 324108

Email: monica.britovieira@york.ac.uk

 
C  

Professor Neil Carter

  • Environmental politics and policy
  • British party politics

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323558

Email: neil.carter@york.ac.uk

 

Professor Nina Caspersen

  • Dynamics of intra-state conflicts
  • Strategies for conflict resolution
  • Unrecognised states

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323555

Email: nina.caspersen@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Liam Clegg

  • International political economy
  • International organisations
  • Economic governance

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 322646

Email: liam.clegg@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Claire Crawford

  • Social movements
  • Indian politics
  • Digital politics
  • Feminism
  • Postcolonial theory

 Email: claire.crawford@york.ac.uk

 
D  

Dr Simona Davidescu

  • Sustainable development and environment politics
  • Energy Policy
  • East European Politics

Tel: +44(0)1904 323564

Email: simona.davidescu@york.ac.uk

 

Professor Graeme Davies

  • Conflict
  • China's global influence
  • Public opinion and International Security
  • Foreign Policy Processes

Tel +44(0) 1904 323546

Email: graeme.davies@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Sara de Jong

  • NGOs and (global) civil society
  • Migration  and Race
  • (Post-)Colonialism
  • Gender and Sexuality
  • International Development
  • Conflict
  • Brokerage

 

Tel: +44(0) 1904 323567

Email: sara.dejong@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Sagar Deva

  • International Relations
  • Global Governance
  • Political Theory

Email: sagar.deva@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Kieran Durkin

  • Social and Political Theory
  • Critical Theory
  • Humanist Marxism

Email: kieran.durkin@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Christoph Dworschak

  • Violent and nonviolent mobilisation
  • Civil-military relations
  • Peacekeeping and counterinsurgency
  • Conflict prediction
  • Quantitative methods and causal inference

Email: christoph.dworschak@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Barnaby Dye

  • The political economy of development
  • India and Brazil international relations
  • Infrastructure and electricity politics

Email: barnaby.dye@york.ac.uk

 
E  

Dr Jappe Eckhardt

  • International political economy
  • International organisations
  • European and Asian regionalism

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323545

Email: jappe.eckhardt@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Jacob Eriksson

  • Conflict resolution
  • Post-war recovery
  • Middle Eastern politics

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 322644

Email: jacob.eriksson@york.ac.uk

 

Dr John Evemy

  • British Politics
  • Political Economy
  • Labour markets and Immigration  
  • Monetary Policy

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 328118

Email: john.evemy@york.ac.uk

 
F  

Dr Christopher Featherstone

  • Foreign Policy Analysis
  • Policy-making
  • UK Foreign Policy
  • US Foreign Policy
  • Iraq War
 

email: christopher.featherstone@york.ac.uk

 

Professor Matthew Festenstein

  • Political theory
  • History of political thought

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323573

Email: matthew.festenstein@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Susan Forde

  • Peace and conflict
  • Divided cities
  • Ethno-nationalist conflicts

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323543

Email: susan.forde@york.ac.uk

 

Louise Frith

  • Departmental Academic and Communication Skills

Email: louise.frith@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Adam Fusco

  • Northern Ireland
  • Irish Political Thought
  • Republican Political Theory
  • Secession
  • Self-Determination

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323540

Email: adam.fusco@york.ac.uk

 
G  

Dr Ed Goldring

  • Comparative authoritarianism
  • Elite autocratic politics
  • International determinants of authoritarian breakdown
  • North Korea

Email: edward.goldring@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Harriet Gray

  • Feminist international relations
  • Critical military and critical war studies
  • Sexual and gender-based violence

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 322640

Email: harriet.gray@york.ac.uk

 

Professor Paul Gready

  • Transitional justice
  • Development and human rights
  • Culture and human rights practice

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323581

Email: paul.gready@york.ac.uk

 

Professor Jean Grugel

  • Political economy of development
  • Politics of citizenship
  • Human rights and democratization

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 322061

Email: jean.grugel@york.ac.uk

 
H  

Professor Louise Haagh

  • Democratisation of human development
  • Economic justice
  • Modalities of institutional change
  • Comparative political economy of development and public policy
  • Basic income
  • Comparative capitalism and the welfare state

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323549

Email: louise.haagh@york.ac.uk

 

Professor Daphne Halikiopoulou

  • Comparative European politics
  • Voting behaviour and party politics
  • Populism
  • Nationalism and extremism
  • Far right parties
  • Comparative methods

Email: daphne.halikiopoulou@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Alex Hall

  • International securitisation of mobility
  • Contemporary border politics

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323559

Email: alexandra.hall@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Eva Heims

  • The politics of regulation
  • EU and transnational regulation
  • Banking, food safety and pharmaceuticals regulation
  • Comparative public policy and administration

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323502

Email: eva.heims@york.ac.uk

 

Professor Tony Heron

  • Trade
  • Food systems
  • Global value chains
  • Environmental sustainability 

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323554

Email: tony.heron@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Eric Hoddy

  • Development and human rights
  • Climate and environmental change
  • Human rights and social movements
  • Transitional and transformative justice

Email: eric.hoddy@york.ac.uk

 
J  

Dr Saba Joshi

  • Feminist Political Economy
  • Land Dispossession
  • Agrarian Change
  • Gender and Global Governance

Email: saba.joshi@york.ac.uk

 
K  

Dr Daniel Keith

  • Party politics
  • Comparative politics
  • The radical left

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 322324

Email: dan.keith@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Ruth Kelly

  • Human rights and citizenship
  • Feminist political theory
  • Literature and storytelling
  • Ireland, Bangladesh and Uganda

Email: ruth.kelly@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Judith Krauss

  • sustainable cocoa value chains
  • decoloniality & justice in conservation
  • political ecology

Email: judith.krauss@york.ac.uk

 
L  

Dr Nicole Lindstrom

  • Comparative and international political economy
  • Public policy

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 322647

Email: nicole.lindstrom@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Emma Long

  • Military sociology and critical military studies
  • Gender and military families
  • Stigma and help-seeking
  • Qualitative research methods

Email: emma.long@york.ac.uk

 
M  

Dr José Ciro Martínez

  • Comparative Politics
  • Middle East and North Africa
  • Ethnography
  • State Theory

Email: jose.ciro.martinez@york.ac.uk

 

 

Dr Alfred Moore

  • Politics of expertise
  • Contemporary democratic theory

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323988

Email: alfred.moore@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Luke Moore

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 328950

Email: luke.moore@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Jeremy Moulton

  • Environmental politics
  • Climate action
  • European Union politics and policy
  • Political myth 

Tel +44(0) 1904 323779

Email: jeremy.moulton@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Sophie Moxon

  • Political finance
  • Political inequality
  • Comparative politics
  • Public policy

Email: sophie.moxon@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Peg Murray-Evans

  • Power, ideas and institutions in politics of international development

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323518

Email: peg.murray-evans@york.ac.uk

 
N  

Dr João Nunes

  • Global health and planetary health
  • Health governance and policy
  • International Relations theory
  • Critical Security Studies
  • Brazilian politics

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 322322

Email: joao.nunes@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Alasia Nuti

  • Political theory
  • Historical injustice & Memory
  • Gender and Sexuality
  • Race
  • Structural injustice
  • Immigration
  • Pluralism

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323439

Email: alasia.nuti@york.ac.uk

 
O  
P  

Prof Simon Parker

  • Urban studies and urban theory
  • Socio-spatial informatics
  • Politics of asylum and immigration
  • Comparative European politics

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323557

Email: simon.parker@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Andrea Peinhopf

Email: andrea.peinhopf@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Alejandro Peña

  • International relations
  • Political sociology
  • Latin American politics

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 322321

Email: alejandro.pena@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Maria Gloria Polimeno

  • Middle East Politics and Economy 
  • Comparative Politics
  • International Political Economy 
  • International Relations 
  • Political Economy of Development 
  • Euro-Mediterranean Relations 
  • Democracy/Democratisation 
  • Critical Security Studies 

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 328964

Email:mariagloria.polimeno@york.ac.uk

 
R  

Dr Bernardo Rangoni

  • Public policy 
  • Political economy
  • Regulatory governance

Email: bernardo.rangoni@york.ac.uk 

 

Dr Nick Ritchie

  • International relations and international security
  • Nuclear disarmament
  • Proliferation and arms control
  • US and UK national security

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 324104

Email: nick.ritchie@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Philip Roberts

  • Heterodox political economy
  • Development
  • Global Food Production
  • Social Movements

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323989

Email: philip.roberts@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Indrajit Roy

  • Rising powers
  • Political change and social transformation

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323566

Email: indrajit.roy@york.ac.uk

 
S  

Dr Anna Sanders

  • British politics
  • Gender
  • Elections
  • Public policy

Email: anna.sanders@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Elisabeth Schweiger

  • Counterterrorism
  • International law
  • Post-colonialism

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323306

Email: elisabeth.schweiger@york.ac.uk

 

Professor Anastasia Shesterinina

  • Civil war
  • Social mobilisation
  • Ex-combatant reintegration
  • Civilian protection norms and practices
  • Fieldwork methods and ethics

Email: anastasia.shesterinina@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Gyda Sindre

  • Non-state armed groups
  • Political parties
  • Secessionist conflict
  • Peacebuilding
  • Democratisation

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 322715

Email: gyda.sindre@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Claire Smith

  • Democratisation
  • War to peace transitions
  • Humanitarian interventions
  • Ethno-religious violence
  • Development in contested states

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 322643

Email: claire.smith@york.ac.uk

 

Professor Martin Smith

  • British politics
  • Public policy
  • State transformation

Email: martin.smith@york.ac.uk

 

Professor Tim Stanton

  • Political theory
  • History of political thought
  • Historical formation of modern ideas

Email: tim.stanton@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Tim Stuart-Buttle

  • Historian of early modern Europe

Email: tim.stuart-buttle@york.ac.uk

 
T  

Dr Joe Turner

  • Borders, mobility, control
  • Postcolonial theory, race, violence
  • The geopolitics of intimacy, gender and family

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 324642

Email: joe.turner@york.ac.uk

 
V  

Dr Sara Van Goozen

  • Just war theory
  • Global ethics
  • Political theory

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323779

Email: sara.vangoozen@york.ac.uk

 

Dr Pavlos Vasilopoulos

  • Political Psychology
  • Political Behaviour
  • Comparative Politics

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 323553

Email: pavlos.vasilopoulos@york.ac.uk

 
W  

Dr Matthew Whiting

  • Non-state armed groups
  • Moderation and Radicalism
  • Local politics and ethno-national conflict
  • Power-sharing

Email: matthew.whiting@york.ac.uk

 

 
Y