Accessibility statement

Staff v Student football

Posted on 13 April 2016

In a hard-fought Staff vs Student Match, youth triumphed over experience.

Under grey skies and steady drizzle on Heslington East, the game began with early student success. In the opening attack of the match, a speculative shot from Sullivan slid past Kirby and into the staff goal. The first half as a whole was controlled comfortably by the student team. However, while the solid defence was largely untroubled and the midfield found time and space on the ball, few clear-cut chances were created.

After a change of formation, the staff team started the second half well. The trio of Chris Clegg, Jurado, and Pena at the heart of midfield helped swing the balance, and a deserved equaliser came in this early period of pressure. A firm challenge from Carter saw the ball break free to Erol near the 18-yard line; Jurado latched on to the tidy through ball, and calmly slotted home to bring honours even.

As both teams tired in the final portion, the game began to open up. With ten minutes left, a powering run saw Weighall brake through the staff defence and, from a tight angle, steer the ball skilfully into the net. Soon after, the lead was extended to 3-1. Weighall reacted first to a partially-cleared corner, placing a towering header firmly into the staff goal. The staff were quick in responding. Erol bravely poked a low cross past the on-coming keeper, whose committed challenge saw the striker landing heavily as the ball rolled over the goal-line.

With the score at 3-2 and little left in the tank, the staff team were unable to mount a serious fightback. At the final whistle, the students were worthy victors in the 2016 contest. 


Student Team: Ashe, Mark; Bradley, Oliver; Chesher, Nicholas, Harry; Edwards, Matthew; Nicholas; Dutton, Toby; Galov, Georgi; Huber, Johannes;  Lee, Alex; Lewis, James; Rundle, Jack; Sullivan, Aaron; Tuton, Christos; Weighall, Sam.


Staff Team: Buller, Jim; Carter, Neil; Clegg, Chris; Clegg, Liam; Erol, Mehmet Erman; Jurado, Ignacio; Kirby, Ed; O’Connor, Matt; Pena, Alejandro; Richie, Nick; Terrenas, Joao; Vittery, Will; Wills, Mat.