Skip to content Accessibility statement

Greg Dyke to be Chancellor of the University of York

Posted on 28 November 2003

Greg Dyke, Director-General of the BBC, is to be the new Chancellor of the University of York. He will take over the position in August 2004 from Dame Janet Baker, who has been Chancellor since November 1991.

The Chancellor is the formal Head of the University, whose official duties are to confer degrees on behalf of the University, and to chair the University's Court. Beyond the formal and representational duties, the new Chancellor will play a key role in the University's life, particularly through his chairmanship of the University's Development Board.

"We are delighted that Greg Dyke has agreed to be York's Chancellor," said Gordon Horsfield, the Chair of the University's Council. "We will benefit greatly from his insight, enthusiasm and personal commitment to the University of York. Whilst the core of the role is ceremonial and ambassadorial, each Chancellor brings a variety of skills and experience and their own ideas and style to the job. I am confident that Greg will make a great impact on York."

"I am really pleased to have been offered the role of Chancellor of York University and I'm delighted to accept," said Greg Dyke. "Not only is York an outstanding university in terms of teaching and academic research, it's also a great place to be a student. As a graduate of York I know that as a fact.

"York University took a risk when they enrolled me as a mature student with my one grade E 'A' level. Going there changed my life, for which I've always been grateful. I hope by taking on this role I can help repay the debt I owe the University."

Greg Dyke graduated from the University of York with a degree in Politics in 1974. He has maintained a close relationship with the University and was awarded the honorary degree of Doctor of the University in 1999 for his contribution to industry and to public services.

Notes to editors:

  • Greg Dyke's appointment as Chancellor was formally approved by the Court of the University of York today (Friday 28 November 2003). His term of office will be for five years.
  • The University's Chancellor is the ceremonial head of the institution and chairs the University Court. The Vice-Chancellor, Professor Brian Cantor, is the University's chief executive officer, and the governing body of the University is the Council, which has staff, student and lay members and is chaired by Mr Gordon Horsfield.
  • The University's first Chancellor was Lord Harewood (from 1963 to 1967). He was followed by Lord Clark (Kenneth Clark, the art historian, from 1967 to 1978), Lord Swann (a former chairman of the BBC, from 1979 to 1990) and the current Chancellor, Dame Janet Baker (the world-renowned opera singer, from November 1991 until the summer of 2004).
  • Dame Janet Baker is one of the most famous musicians Britain has ever produced. She enjoyed a successful international career as an opera and lieder singer, retiring from the stage in 1984 and the concert platform in 1989. She was awarded an OBE in 1970 and a DBE in 1976. In 1994 she became a Member of the Order of the Companions of Honour, and is a Commander of the French Order of Arts and Letters. Dame Janet has been Chancellor of the University of York since November 1991.
  • About Greg Dyke:
    • Greg Dyke joined the BBC on 1 November 1999 as Director-General Designate and became Director-General on 29 January 2000.
    • Initially a newspaper journalist, he went on to study politics at the University of York from 1971 to 1974. In 1977 he joined London Weekend Television, becoming a producer on Weekend World in 1978 and Deputy Editor of The London Programme in 1979. In 1981 he created and then became editor of The Six O'Clock Show.
    • He was appointed Editor-in Chief at breakfast television station TV-am in 1983 and in 1984 joined TVS (Television South) as Director of Programmes. He rejoined LWT in 1987 as Director of Programmes and was a Director of Channel Four Television from 1988 to 1990. In March 1990 he became LWT's Managing Director and in 1991 Group Chief Executive. From 1990 to 1992 he was a non-executive Director of ITN (Independent Television News). In January 1992 Greg Dyke became Chairman of the ITVA Council, a post he held for two years. He was Chairman of the new breakfast television station, GMTV, 1993-1994.
    • He became Chairman and Chief Executive of Pearson Television in January 1995 and an Executive Director of Pearson Plc in March 1996. At the end of October 1995 a consortium guided by Greg Dyke was awarded the licence for Channel 5, Britain's last terrestrial commercial television licence. He was appointed Chairman of Channel 5 on 21 February 1997. Also in 1997 he was asked to review the Patients' Charter of the National Health Service.
    • Greg Dyke is a Trustee of the Science Museum and a Fellow of the Royal Television Society.

Contact details

David Garner
Senior Press Officer

Tel: +44 (0)1904 322153