Accessibility statement

2019 IT Services news

Making IT more secure

Wednesday 4 December 2019

We're investigating two-factor authentication, an added layer of security which will help us keep your information and our network more secure.


IT Services over Christmas

Tuesday 26 November 2019

IT Services won't be open between 25 December and 1 January inclusive, but other IT facilities will be available throughout the Christmas and New Year period.


Google in Practice event - Tuesday 10 December - Book your place!

Thursday 21 November 2019

On Tuesday 10 December we will be hosting a morning of workshops and discussion about using Google and other IT applications at York. The event is open to all staff.


IT Services Survey 2019

Friday 15 November 2019

We want to know what you think about IT Services; fill in our survey and you could win a £100 voucher.


If it's broke, fix it!

Friday 15 November 2019

If something goes wrong with your laptop or PC, IT Services can help you to get it sorted. We work with a local company to provide a laptop and computer repair service.


Saving you money on software

Monday 4 November 2019

As a student here, you can get lots of different software packages for your own computer either free or at a discount.


E(asy) printing

Friday 25 October 2019

You don't need to be at a computer to print. EPrint lets you email or upload documents, giving you an easy way to print from tablets or mobile phones to the University printers.


Can you spot a scam?

Saturday 5 October 2019

At this time of year, we see a lot of email scams. Make sure that your information (and your money) is safe by learning to spot what's suspicious.


Need IT support?

Thursday 19 September 2019

As the new term starts, the Library and IT Help Desk should be your first point of call for any questions or problems.


Room closures during Summer vacation

Wednesday 31 July 2019

We'll be updating software across campus


University of York shortlisted for Best Student Broadband

Friday 12 July 2019

Students nominate University of York for Best Student Broadband award.


Summer IT classroom and study area PC replacements

Wednesday 26 June 2019

Room closures whilst PCs are replaced in IT classrooms and study areas.


New Virtual Desktop Service

Thursday 9 May 2019

On Thursday 16 May we will launch a new Virtual Desktop Service (VDS) to replace the current VDS tool which has reached the end of its life. The existing VDS service will be withdrawn later this term.


IT Services over Easter Bank Holiday

Wednesday 10 April 2019

You can get IT support via email, appointments and telephone between 9am and 5pm on Good Friday (19 April) and Easter Monday (22 April) and walk in support on both days until 7pm. The Library is open as normal for walk in support over the weekend.


Enjoy learning creative coding

Monday 28 January 2019

Learn to code from the basics upwards at the Library and IT Services' Digital Wednesdays sessions.


Your work: safe and at your fingertips

Sunday 27 January 2019

As you prepare for exams and other assessments, it's important that you make sure that your work - whether it's revision notes, survey data, essays or lab notes - is safe and accessible.


Windows desktop changes

Wednesday 23 January 2019

On Tuesday 29 January we'll be making a number of changes to the Windows managed desktop, including enabling the lock feature on classroom PCs, updating logon screens, changing the way that Windows is installed, improving the process for encrypting new laptops, and changing the way that local administrator passwords are managed.


Find your space

Monday 21 January 2019

The Library and IT rooms get busy at this time of year. But help is available when you need to find a space.


News by year