Academic staff

Alphabetical list

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

A

Tara Alberts
Lecturer in Early Modern History

Vanbrugh College V/A/220
Tel: Internal 4890, External (01904) 324890
tara.alberts@york.ac.uk

Henrice Altink 
Reader in Modern History

Vanbrugh College V/218 
Tel: Internal 2989, External (01904) 322989
henrice.altink@york.ac.uk  
B
Stefan Bauer
Lecturer in Early Modern History

Vanbrugh College V/A/224A
Tel: Internal 3606, External (01904) 323606
stefan.bauer@york.ac.uk

Amanda Behm
Lecturer in Modern History

Vanbrugh College V/N/118
Tel: Internal 3617, External (01904) 323617
amanda.behm@york.ac.uk

Oleg Benesch
Anniversary Research Lecturer in Modern History

Vanbrugh College V/A/212
Tel: Internal 3602, External (01904) 323602
oleg.benesch@york.ac.uk 

Sanjoy Bhattacharya
Director of the Centre for Global Health Histories
Professor of the History of Medicine

Vanbrugh College V/136
Tel: Internal 2979, External (01904) 322979
sanjoy.bhattacharya@york.ac.uk

Pete Biller
Professor of Medieval History

Vanbrugh College V/138
Tel: Internal 2955, External (01904) 322955
pete.biller@york.ac.uk

Lawrence Black
Professor of Modern History & Head of Department

Vanbrugh College V/A/213
Tel: Internal 3609, External (01904) 323609
lawrence.black@york.ac.uk

C

Stuart Carroll
Professor of Early Modern History

Vanbrugh College V/137
Tel: Internal 2968, External (01904) 322968
stuart.carroll@york.ac.uk

Sabine Clarke
Lecturer in Modern History

Vanbrugh College V/204
Tel: Internal 2974, External (01904) 322974
sabine.clarke@york.ac.uk

David Clayton
Senior Lecturer in Modern History

Vanbrugh College V/210
Tel: Internal 2988, External (01904) 322988
david.clayton@york.ac.uk

John Cooper
Senior Lecturer in Early Modern History

Vanbrugh College V/211
Tel: Internal 2948, External (01904) 322948
j.p.d.cooper@york.ac.uk

Helen Cowie
Lecturer in Modern History

Vanbrugh College V/A/226
Tel: Internal 2970, External (01904) 322970
helen.cowie@york.ac.uk

Geoffrey Cubitt 
Reader in Modern History

Vanbrugh College V/220
Tel: Internal 4991, External (01904) 324991
geoff.cubitt@york.ac.uk

D

Simon Ditchfield 
Professor of Early Modern History

Vanbrugh College V/210
Tel: Internal 2958, External (01904) 322958
simon.ditchfield@york.ac.uk

Dee Dyas
Director of the Centre for the Study of Christianity and Culture

Berrick Saul Building BS/122
Tel: Internal 8094, External (01904) 328094
dee.dyas@york.ac.uk

G

Mary Garrison
Lecturer in Medieval History

Vanbrugh College V/215
Tel: Internal 2963, External (01904) 322963
mary.garrison@york.ac.uk

Natasha Glaisyer
Senior Lecturer in Early Modern History

King's Manor K/173C
Tel: Internal 3942, External (01904) 323942
natasha.glaisyer@york.ac.uk

Jeremy Goldberg
Reader in Medieval History

King's Manor K/185
Tel: Internal 3945, External (01904) 323945
jeremy.goldberg@york.ac.uk

Hannah Greig
Senior Lecturer in Early Modern History

Vanbrugh College V/A/203B
Tel: Internal 2959, External (01904) 322959
hannah.greig@york.ac.uk

Joanna de Groot
Senior Lecturer in History

Vanbrugh College V/216
Tel: Internal 2962, External (01904) 322962
joanna.degroot@york.ac.uk

H

Guy Halsall
Professor of Medieval History

Vanbrugh College V/212
Tel: Internal 2949, External (01904) 322949
guy.halsall@york.ac.uk

Huw Halstead
Associate Lecturer

Vanbrugh College V/117
Tel: Internal 3616, External (01904) 323616
huw.halstead@york.ac.uk

Jasper Heinzen
Lecturer in Modern History

Vanbrugh College V/A/206B
Tel: Internal 2936, External (01904) 322936
jasper.heinzen@york.ac.uk

Jonathan Howlett
Lecturer in Modern History

Vanbrugh College V/A/203A
Tel: Internal 2945, External (01904) 322945
jon.howlett@york.ac.uk 

David Huyssen
Lecturer in Modern History

Vanbrugh College V/A/210
Tel: Internal 4881, External (01904) 324881
david.huyssen@york.ac.uk
J

John Jenkins
Teaching Fellow and Research Assistant

Berrick Saul Building BS/122 
Tel: Internal 8092, External (01904) 328092
john.jenkins@york.ac.uk

Mark Jenner
Reader in Early Modern History

King's Manor K/G72
Tel: Internal 4985, External (01904) 324985
mark.jenner@york.ac.uk

Tom Johnson
Lecturer in Late Medieval History
King's Manor K/275B
Tel: Internal 3605, External (01904) 323605
tom.johnson@york.ac.uk
K

Catriona Kennedy
Senior Lecturer in Modern History

King's Manor K/376A
Tel: Internal 2977, External (01904) 322977
catriona.kennedy@york.ac.uk

M

Gerard McCann
Lecturer in Modern History

Vanbrugh College V/A/222
Tel: Internal 3593, External (01904) 323593
gerard.mccann@york.ac.uk

Alex Medcalf
Research and Teaching Fellow

Berrick Saul Building BS/120
Tel: Internal 8125, External (01904) 328125
alex.medcalf@york.ac.uk

Helen Metcalfe
Research and Teaching Fellow

Vanbrugh College

helen.metcalfe@york.ac.uk

Shaul Mitelpunkt
Lecturer in Modern History

Vanbrugh College V/A/225
Tel: Internal 4889, External (01904) 324889
shaul.mitelpunkt@york.ac.uk

David Moon
Anniversary Professor of History 

Vanbrugh College V/A/209
Tel: Internal 3603, External (01904) 323603
david.moon@york.ac.uk

Emilie Murphy
Lecturer in Early Modern History

Vanbrugh College V/N/114
Tel: Internal 3219, External (01904) 323219
emilie.murphy@york.ac.uk

Harry Munt
Lecturer in Medieval History

Vanbrugh College V/A/208A
Tel: Internal 3601, External (01904) 323601
harry.munt@york.ac.uk

P
Danielle Park
Lecturer in Medieval History
Vanbrugh College V/210
Tel: Internal 2988, External (01904) 322988
danielle.park@york.ac.uk
R

Sarah Rees Jones 
Professor of Medieval History

King's Manor K/183
Tel: Internal 3943, External (01904) 323943
sarah.reesjones@york.ac.uk

Chris Renwick
Senior Lecturer in Modern History

Vanbrugh College V/A/206A
Tel: Internal, 2985, External (01904) 322985
chris.renwick@york.ac.uk

Mark Roodhouse
Senior Lecturer in Modern History

Vanbrugh College V/217
Tel: Internal 2964, External (01904) 322964
mark.roodhouse@york.ac.uk

Shane O'Rourke
Senior Lecturer in Modern History & Chair of the Board of Studies

Vanbrugh College V/219
Tel: Internal 2971, External (01904) 322971
shane.orourke@york.ac.uk

S

Lucy Sackville 
Lecturer in Medieval History

Vanbrugh College V/A/211
Tel: Internal 4880, External (01904) 324880
lucy.sackville@york.ac.uk

Rebecca Scott
Lecturer in Modern Chinese History

Vanbrugh College V/A/206B
Tel: Internal 2936, External (01904) 322936
rebecca.scott@york.ac.uk

Hugo Service
Lecturer in Modern History

Vanbrugh College V/205
Tel: Internal 2967, External (01904) 322967 
hugo.service@york.ac.uk

Laura Stewart
Lecturer in Early Modern History

Vanbrugh College V/N/116
Tel: Internal 4139, External (01904) 324139
laura.stewart@york.ac.uk

T

Neil Tarrant
Lecturer in the History of Science, Ideas and Medicine

Vanbrugh College V/A/221 
Tel: Internal 3025, External (01904) 323025
neil.tarrant@york.ac.uk

Craig Taylor 
Reader in Medieval History

King’s Manor K/G82
Tel: Internal 4976, External (01904) 324976
craig.taylor@york.ac.uk

Miles Taylor
Professor of Modern History

Vanbrugh College V/N/218 
Tel: Internal 2957, External (01904) 322957
miles.taylor@york.ac.uk

Clare Tebbutt
Lecturer in Modern British Social History

Vanbrugh College V/109 
Tel: Internal 2976, External (01904) 322976
clare.tebbutt@york.ac.uk

Geraint Thomas
Lecturer in Modern History

Vanbrugh College V/A/224B
Tel: Internal 3607, External (01904) 323607
geraint.thomas@york.ac.uk

V
Pragya Vohra
Lecturer in Medieval History
King’s Manor K/275d
Tel: Internal 4981, External (01904) 324981
pragya.vohra@york.ac.uk
W

Sethina Watson
Senior Lecturer in Medieval History

King's Manor K/275a
Tel: Internal 3914, External (01904) 323914
sethina.watson@york.ac.uk

Sophie Weeks
Lecturer in Early Modern History

Vanbrugh College V/A/218
Tel: Internal 3608, External (01904) 323608
sophie.weeks@york.ac.uk

Sam Wetherell
Lecturer in the History of Britain and the World

Vanbrugh College V/A/219
Tel: Internal 3604, External (01904) 323604
sam.wetherell@york.ac.uk

David Wootton
Anniversary Professor of History

Vanbrugh College V/135
Tel: Internal 2973, External (01904) 322973
david.wootton@york.ac.uk