Skip to content

Planning your studies

Postgraduate research

Students registered for graduate courses at other universities may apply to spend a period (usually from one term up to one year) at York undertaking full-time supervised research as a visiting graduate student, before returning to their own university to complete their qualification there. Postgraduate students should contact the relevant department before completing an application.

Visiting students can normally take classes from one or two departments and in some cases may be able to take modules from a third department.

Full credit transfer to your home university is usually possible, and we offer language tuition for credit in a range of modern languages.

The Visiting Student Guide (PDF  , 6,248kb) ‌gives an overview of the visiting programme and provides information on the University.

The tables below provide contact details and links to individual departments which may have more up to date information.

Please note: Not all module information has been updated to 2014/15.

It is also possible to study courses from our Centre for English Language Teaching (CELT), Centre for Lifelong Learning (CLL) and Languages for All (LFA). These can be as part of your allowed credits at York or as an extra-curricular activity.

If these courses are taken as part of your credits at York, there is no fee, please see the Visiting Student Co-ordinator. Extra-curricular classes must be paid for by the student.

Arts and Humanities

Arts and Humanities

 

Department of Archaeology

Contact:

Dr Sara Perry    sara.perry@york.ac.uk

More information:

Archaeology modules for 2014/15 (PDF  , 219kb)

Departmental information and pre-requisites Archaeology (PDF  , 190kb)

******

 

Department of Education

Contact:

Erasmus
Dr Annie Hughes   annie.hughes@york.ac.uk

Non Erasmus
Dr Sarah Olive    sarah.olive@york.ac.uk

More information:
Education Modules for Visiting Students 2014/15 (PDF  , 180kb)

Departmental information and pre-requisites Educational Studies (PDF  , 174kb)

*******

 

Centre for English Language Teaching (CELT)

Contact:

Chris Copland   chris.copland@york.ac.uk

More information:

CELT Modules for Visiting Students 2014/15 (PDF  , 181kb)

********

 

 

Department of English and Related Literature

Contact:

Erasmus
Dr Michele Campopiano    michele.campopiano@york.ac.uk

non Erasmus
Dr Tania Demetriou    tania.demetriou@york.ac.uk

More information:

English and Related Literatures modules 2014/15 (PDF  , 346kb)

Departmental information and pre-requisites English (PDF  , 206kb)

******

 

History UG,    Department of History PG

Contact:

Dr Tara Alberts      history-international-officer@york.ac.uk

More information:
History Modules for Visiting Students 2014/15 (PDF  , 236kb)

Departmental information and pre-requisites History (PDF  , 182kb)

******

 

Department of History of Art

Contact:

Dr Emanuele Lugli    emanuele.lugli@york.ac.uk

More information:

History of Art Modules 2014/15 (PDF  , 184kb)

Departmental Information History of Art (PDF  , 184kb)

Course information

******

 

Department of Language and Linguistic Science

Contact:

Nadine Saupe   nadine.saupe@york.ac.uk

More information:

 Language and Linguistics Modules for Visiting Students 2014/15 (PDF  , 217kb)

Departmental Information Language and Linguistics (PDF  , 187kb)

******

 

Department of   Medieval Studies

Postgraduate only

Contact: Dr Mary Garrison  mary.garrison@york.ac.uk

******

 

Department of Music

Contact:

Dr Neil Sorrell  neil.sorrell@york.ac.uk

More information:

Music modules 2014/15 (PDF  , 203kb)

Departmental information and pre-requisites Music (PDF  , 200kb)

******

 

Department of Philosophy

Contact:

Undergraduate: Dr Dorothea Debus

Postgraduate taught: Dr Stephen Holland

Postgraduate Research: Dr Michael Beaney

More information:

Philosophy Modules 2014/15 (PDF  , 325kb)

Departmental Information Philosophy (PDF  , 325kb)

******

 

Department of Theatre Film and Television

Contact:

Dr Sandra Pauletto sandra.pauletto@york.ac.uk

More information:

Theatre, Film and Television Modules 2012-2013 (PDF  , 158kb)

Departmental information and pre-requisites Language and Linguistics (PDF  , 187kb)

TFTV BSc

TFTV BA

******

 

Social Sciences

Social Sciences

 
Department of Economics and Related Studies 

Contact:

Dr Anindya Bhattacharya    anindya.bhattacharya@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

Economics modules for UG visiting students 2014.15s (PDF  , 214kb)

Module specifications

Economics modules for PG visiting students 2014.15 (PDF  , 236kb)

PG modules specs

Departmental information and pre-requisites Economics 2014/15 (PDF  , 180kb)


York Law School

Law UG

Law PG


Contact:

Dr Laurence Etherington    laurence.etherington@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

Law School Modules for Visiting Students 2014/15 (PDF  , 191kb)

Departmental Information Law School (PDF  , 182kb)

******

 

York Management School

Contact:
Dr Patricia Murtagh    patricia.murtagh@york.ac.uk

For More Information:
Management Modules 2013-2014 (PDF  , 196kb)

Departmental information and pre-requisites Management (PDF  , 171kb)

******

 

Department of Politics

Contact:

Dr Sofia Vasilopoulou    sofia.vasilopoulou@york.ac.uk

For More Information/Module Listings:
Politics Modules 2012-2013 (PDF  , 171kb)

Departmental information and pre-requisites Politics (PDF  , 171kb)

******

 

Social Policy and Social Work

Contact:
Dr John Hudson    john.hudson@york.ac.uk

For More Information/Module Listings:
Social Policy modules 2014/15 (PDF  , 192kb)

Departmental information and pre-requisites Social Policy and Social Work (PDF  , 173kb)

******

 

Department of Sociology

Contact:
Dr Nisha Kapoor    nisha.kapoor@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

Sociology modules for UG visiting students 2013/14 (PDF  , 218kb)

Sociology modules for pg visiting students 2013/14 (PDF  , 183kb)

Departmental information and pre-requisites Sociology (PDF  , 171kb)

******

 

Centre for Women's Studies
Postgraduate only

Contact:
Professor Gabriele Griffin    gabriele.griffin@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

The department

******

 

Science and Technology

Science and Technology

 


Department of Biology

Contact:
Dr Setareh Chong
non Erasmus    setareh.chong@york.ac.uk

Dr Michael Schultze
Erasmus    michael.schultze@york.ac.uk

For More Information:
Biology Modules 2014-15 (PDF  , 219kb)

Biology Module Specifications

Departmental information and pre-requisites Biology (PDF  , 182kb)

Please note: The Department of Biology will not assess a Visiting Student application which does state the module code of the modules required.

******

 

Department of Chemistry

Contact:
Dr Angelika Sebald    chem-exchanges@york.ac.uk

For More Information:
Chemistry Modules 2014-15 (PDF  , 224kb)

Departmental information and pre-requisites Chemistry (PDF  , 186kb)

******

 

Department of Computer Science and Engineering

Contact:
Dr Suresh Manandhar    suresh.manandhar@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

Computer Science modules for UG visiting students 2013/14 (PDF  , 199kb)Computer Science modules for Visiting Students UG 2014/15 (PDF  , 254kb)

Computer Science modules for PG visiting students 2013/14 (PDF  , 198kb)Computer Science modules for Visiting Students PG 2014/15 (PDF  , 299kb)

Departmental information and pre-requisites Computer Science (PDF  , 188kb)

******

 

Department of Electronics

Contact:
Dr Gianluca Tempesti gianluca.tempesti@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

Electronics modules for Visiting Students UG 2013/14 (PDF  , 251kb)

Electronics modules for Visiting Students PG 2013/14 (PDF  , 235kb)

Departmental information and pre-requisites Electronics (PDF  , 172kb)

******

 

Environment Department

Contact:
Dr Colin McClean    colin.mcclean@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

Environment modules 2014/15 (PDF  , 212kb)

Departmental information and pre-requisites Environment (PDF  , 184kb)

******

 

Department of Mathematics

Contact:
Dr Bernard S Kay    bernard.kay@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

Mathematics Modules for Visiting Students UG 2014/15 (PDF  , 221kb)

Mathematics Modules for PG Visiting Students 2014/15 (PDF  , 205kb)

Departmental information and pre-requisites Mathematics (PDF  , 179kb)

******

 

Department of Physics

Contact:
Dr Roland Kröger    roland.kroger@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

Physics Modules 2012-2013 UG (PDF  , 205kb)

Physics Modules 2012-2013 PG (PDF  , 157kb)

Departmental information and pre-requisites Physics (PDF  , 175kb)

******

 

Psychology

Contact:
Dr Gavin Phillips
non Erasmus     gavin.phillips@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

Psychology modules for Visiting Students 2014/15 (PDF  , 179kb)

Departmental information Psychology (PDF  , 184kb)

******

Female student with a tutor

After travelling around England and Europe throughout the duration of my term, I realized what a wonderful place the University of York was for a visiting student to study. One truly gets a taste of England and the English people while living in York. It is a beautiful city with a fantastic mixture of timeless history and modern attitude. York has everything a student would need to experience real English culture and pursuits.

Jaclyn, USA

Centre for Global Programmes

Who to contact

Visiting Student Admissions,
Centre for Global Programmes,
Derwent College,
University of York,
Heslington,
York,
YO10 5DD

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 322082
vs-admissions@york.ac.uk

  University of York Global Programmes - Visiting Students

@GlobalYorkUK