Skip to content

Planning your studies

Postgraduate research

Students registered for graduate courses at other universities may apply to spend a period (usually from one term up to one year) at York undertaking full-time supervised research as a visiting graduate student, before returning to their own university to complete their qualification there. Postgraduate students should contact the relevant department before completing an application.

Visiting students can normally take classes from one or two departments and in some cases may be able to take modules from a third department.

Full credit transfer to your home university is usually possible, and we offer language tuition for credit in a range of modern languages.

The Visiting Student Guide (PDF  , 6,248kb) ‌gives an overview of the visiting programme and provides information on the University.

The tables below provide contact details and links to individual departments which may have more up to date information.

Please note: Not all module information has been updated to 2014/15.

It is also possible to study courses from our Centre for English Language Teaching (CELT), Centre for Lifelong Learning (CLL) and Languages for All (LFA). These can be as part of your allowed credits at York or as an extra-curricular activity.

If these courses are taken as part of your credits at York, there is no fee, please see the Visiting Student Co-ordinator. Extra-curricular classes must be paid for by the student.

Arts and Humanities

Arts and Humanities

 Departmental Information and pre-requisites -Arts and Humanities (PDF  , 277kb)

 

Department of Archaeology

Contact:

Dr Sam Cobb    sam.cobb@hyms.ac.uk

More information:

Archaeology modules for 2014/15 (PDF  , 219kb)

Please see Arts and Humanities pre-requisites.

*******

 

Centre for English Language Teaching (CELT)

Contact:

Chris Copland   chris.copland@york.ac.uk

More information:

CELT Modules for Visiting Students 2014/15 (PDF  , 181kb)

********

 

Department of English and Related Literature

Contact:

Erasmus+         Dr Emilie Morin    emilie.morin@york.ac.uk

non Erasmus     Dr Tania Demetriou    tania.demetriou@york.ac.uk

More information:

English and Related Literatures modules 2014/15 (PDF  , 346kb)

 Please see Arts and Humanities pre-requisites.

******

 

History UG,    Department of History PG

Contact:

Dr Tara Alberts      history-international-officer@york.ac.uk

More information:
History Modules for Visiting Students 2014/15 (PDF  , 236kb)

Please see Arts and Humanities pre-requisites.

******

 

Department of History of Art

Contact:

Dr Emanuele Lugli    emanuele.lugli@york.ac.uk

More information:

History of Art Modules 2014/15 (PDF  , 184kb)

Course information

Please see Arts and Humanities pre-requisites. Please note an essay is not required from Erasmus+ students.

******

 

Department of Language and Linguistic Science

Contact:

Nadine Saupe   nadine.saupe@york.ac.uk

More information:

Language and linguistics modules 2014/15 (PDF  , 212kb)

Please see Arts and Humanities pre-requisites.

Postgraduate study not available.

******

 

Department of   Medieval Studies

Postgraduate only

Contact: Dr Craig Taylor  craig.taylor@york.ac.uk

Please see Arts and Humanities pre-requisites.

******

 

Department of Music

Contact:

Dr Neil Sorrell  neil.sorrell@york.ac.uk

More information:

Music modules 2014/15 (PDF  , 203kb)

Please see Arts and Humanities pre-requisites.

******

 

Department of Philosophy

Contact:

Undergraduate: Dr Dorothea Debus

Postgraduate taught: Dr Stephen Holland

Postgraduate Research: Dr Michael Beaney

More information:

Philosophy Modules 2014/15 (PDF  , 325kb)

Departmental Information Philosophy (PDF  , 325kb)

Please see Arts and Humanities pre-requisites.

******

 

Department of Theatre Film and Television

Contact:

Dr Sandra Pauletto sandra.pauletto@york.ac.uk

More information:

Theatre, Film and Television Modules 2012-2013 (PDF  , 158kb)

TFTV BSc

TFTV BA

Please see Arts and Humanities pre-requisites.

******

 

Social Sciences

Social Sciences

Departmental Information and prerequisites - Social Sciences (PDF  , 215kb)

Department of Education

Contacts:

Erasmus
Dr Annie Hughes   annie.hughes@york.ac.uk

Non Erasmus
Dr Sarah Olive    sarah.olive@york.ac.uk

More information:
Education Modules for Visiting Students 2014/15 (PDF  , 180kb)

 Please see Social Sciences pre-requisites.

******


Department of Economics and Related Studies 

Contact:

Dr Anindya Bhattacharya    anindya.bhattacharya@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

Economics modules for UG visiting students 2014.15s (PDF  , 214kb)

Module specifications

Economics modules for PG visiting students 2014.15 (PDF  , 236kb)

PG modules specs

Please see Social Sciences pre-requisites.

******


York Law School

Law UG

Law PG

Contact:

Louise Prendergast    louise.predergast@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

Law School Modules for Visiting Students 2014/15 (PDF  , 191kb)

Departmental Information Law School (PDF  , 182kb)

Please see Social Sciences pre-requisites.

******

 

York Management School

Contact:
Dr Barbara Bechter    barbara.bechter@york.ac.uk

For More Information:
Management Modules 2013-2014 (PDF  , 196kb)

Please see Social Sciences pre-requisites.

******

 

Department of Politics

Contact:

Dr Alejandro Pena    alejandro.pena@york.ac.uk

For More Information/Module Listings:
Politics Modules 2014-2015 (PDF  , 186kb)

Please see Social Sciences pre-requisites.

******

 

Department of Social Policy and Social Work

Contact:
Dr Stefan Kuehner    stefan.kuehner@york.ac.uk

For More Information/Module Listings:
Social Policy modules 2014/15 (PDF  , 192kb)

Please see Social Sciences pre-requisites.

******

 

Department of Sociology

Contact:
Dr Nisha Kapoor    nisha.kapoor@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

Sociology modules for UG visiting students 2013/14 (PDF  , 218kb)

Sociology modules for pg visiting students 2013/14 (PDF  , 183kb)

Please see Social Sciences pre-requisites.

******

 

Centre for Women's Studies
Postgraduate only

Contact:
Professor Gabriele Griffin    gabriele.griffin@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

The department

Please see Social Sciences pre-requisites.

******

 

Science and Technology

Science and Technology

 Deapartmental Information and prerequisites - Sciences (PDF  , 254kb)


Department of Biology

Contact:
non Erasmus   Dr Katie Smith            katie.smith@york.ac.uk
 
Erasmus+       Dr Michael Schultze     michael.schultze@york.ac.uk

For More Information:
Biology Modules 2014-15 (PDF  , 219kb)

Biology Module Specifications

Please note: The Department of Biology will not assess a Visiting Student application which does state the module code of the modules required.

Please see Sciences pre-requisites.

******

 

Department of Chemistry

Contact:
Dr Angelika Sebald    chem-exchanges@york.ac.uk

For More Information:
Chemistry Modules 2014-15 (PDF  , 224kb)

Please see Sciences pre-requisites.

******

 

Department of Computer Science

 

Contact:
Dr Suresh Manandhar    suresh.manandhar@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

Computer Science modules for Visiting Students UG 2014/15 (PDF  , 254kb)

Computer Science modules for Visiting Students PG 2014/15 (PDF  , 299kb)

Please see Sciences pre-requisites.

******

 

Department of Electronics

Contact:
Dr Gianluca Tempesti gianluca.tempesti@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

Electronics modules for Visiting Students UG 2013/14 (PDF  , 251kb)

Electronics modules for Visiting Students PG 2013/14 (PDF  , 235kb)

Please see Sciences pre-requisites.

******

 

Department of Environment

Contact:
Dr Colin McClean    colin.mcclean@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

Environment modules 2014/15 (PDF  , 212kb)

Please see Sciences pre-requisites.

******

 

Department of Mathematics

Contact:
Dr Bernard S Kay    bernard.kay@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

Mathematics Modules for Visiting Students UG 2014/15 (PDF  , 221kb)

Mathematics Modules for PG Visiting Students 2014/15 (PDF  , 205kb)

Please see Sciences pre-requisites.

******

 

Department of Physics

Contact:
Dr Roland Kröger    roland.kroger@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

Physics modules for Visiting Students UG 2014/15 (PDF  , 209kb) 

 Physics modules for Visiting Students PG 2014/15 (PDF  , 181kb)

 Please see Sciences pre-requisites.

******

 

Department of Psychology

Contact:
Dr Jonny Smallwood  jonny.smallwood@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

Psychology modules for Visiting Students 2014/15 (PDF  , 179kb)

Departmental information Psychology (PDF  , 184kb)

Please see Sciences pre-requisites.

******

Female student with a tutor

After travelling around England and Europe throughout the duration of my term, I realized what a wonderful place the University of York was for a visiting student to study. One truly gets a taste of England and the English people while living in York. It is a beautiful city with a fantastic mixture of timeless history and modern attitude. York has everything a student would need to experience real English culture and pursuits.

Jaclyn, USA

Centre for Global Programmes

Who to contact

Visiting Student Admissions,
Centre for Global Programmes,
Derwent College,
University of York,
Heslington,
York,
YO10 5DD

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 322082
vs-admissions@york.ac.uk

  University of York Global Programmes - Visiting Students

@GlobalYorkUK