Skip to content

Planning your studies

Postgraduate research

Students registered for graduate courses at other universities may apply to spend a period (usually from one term up to one year) at York undertaking full-time supervised research as a visiting graduate student, before returning to their own university to complete their qualification there. Postgraduate students should contact the relevant department before completing an application.

Visiting students can normally take classes from one or two departments and in some cases may be able to take modules from a third department.

Full credit transfer to your home university is usually possible, and we offer language tuition for credit in a range of modern languages.

The  ‌gives an overview of the visiting programme and provides information on the University.

The tables below provide contact details and links to individual departments which may have more up to date information.

Please note: Not all module information has been updated to 2014/15.

It is also possible to study courses from our Centre for English Language Teaching (CELT), Centre for Lifelong Learning (CLL) and Languages for All (LFA). These can be as part of your allowed credits at York or as an extra-curricular activity.

If these courses are taken as part of your credits at York, there is no fee, please see the Visiting Student Co-ordinator. Extra-curricular classes must be paid for by the student.

Faculty of Arts and Humanities

Arts and Humanities

Faculty of Arts and Humanities - Departmental information and pre-requisites 201 (PDF  , 459kb)

Department of Archaeology

Contact:

Dr Sam Cobb   sam.cobb@hyms.ac.uk

More information:

 Archaeology modules for visiting students 2014/15 (PDF  , 213kb)

Please see Arts and Humanities pre-requisites.

*******

 

Centre for English Language Teaching (CELT)

Contact:

Chris Copland   chris.copland@york.ac.uk

More information:

CELT Modules for Visiting Students 2014/15 (PDF  , 181kb)

********

 

Department of English and Related Literature

Contact:

Erasmus+         Dr James Williams   james.williams@york.ac.uk

non Erasmus     Dr Tania Demetriou  tania.demetriou@york.ac.uk

More information:

English and related Literatures Modules for Visiting Students 2015/16 (PDF  , 309kb)

 Please see Arts and Humanities pre-requisites.

******

 

History UG,    Department of History PG

Contact:

Dr Tara Alberts      history-international-officer@york.ac.uk

More information:
History Modules for Visiting Students 2015/16 (PDF  , 225kb)

Please see Arts and Humanities pre-requisites.

******

 

Department of History of Art

Contact:

Dr Emanuele Lugli    emanuele.lugli@york.ac.uk

More information:

History of Art Modules for Visiting Students 2015/16 (PDF  , 187kb)

Course information

Please see Arts and Humanities pre-requisites. Please note an essay is not required from Erasmus+ students.

******

 

Department of Language and Linguistic Science

Contact:

Nadine Saupe   nadine.saupe@york.ac.uk

More information:

Language and Linguistics Modules for Visiting Students 2015/16 (PDF  , 215kb)

Please see Arts and Humanities pre-requisites.

Postgraduate study not available.

******

 

Department of   Medieval Studies

Postgraduate only

Contact: Dr Craig Taylor  craig.taylor@york.ac.uk

Please see Arts and Humanities pre-requisites.

******

 

Department of Music

Contact:

Dr Neil Sorrell  neil.sorrell@york.ac.uk

More information:

Music Modules for Visiting Students 2015/16 (PDF  , 291kb)

Please see Arts and Humanities pre-requisites.

******

 

Department of Philosophy

Contact:

Undergraduate: Dr Dorothea Debus  dorothea.debus@york.ac.uk
Postgraduate taught: Dr Stephen Holland stephen.holland@york.ac.uk

Postgraduate Research: Dr Michael Beaney michael.beaney@york.ac.uk

More information:

Philosophy Modules for Visiting Students 2015/16 (PDF  , 209kb)

Please see Arts and Humanities pre-requisites.

******

 

Department of Theatre Film and Television

Contact:

Dr Sandra Pauletto sandra.pauletto@york.ac.uk

More information:

TFTV Modules for Visitng Students 2015/16 (PDF  , 205kb)

TFTV BSc

TFTV BA

Please see Arts and Humanities pre-requisites.

******

 

Faculty of Social Sciences

Social Sciences

Faculty of Social Sciences - Departmental information and pre-requisites 2015/16 (PDF  , 222kb)

Department of Education

Contacts:

Erasmus
Dr Annie Hughes   annie.hughes@york.ac.uk

Non Erasmus
Dr Sarah Olive    sarah.olive@york.ac.uk

More information:
Education modules for visiting students 2015/16 (PDF  , 181kb)

 Please see Social Sciences pre-requisites.

******


Department of Economics and Related Studies 

Contact:

Dr Anindya Bhattacharya    anindya.bhattacharya@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

Economics modules for Visiting Students 2015/16 (PDF  , 231kb)

Module specifications

Economics Modules for Visiting Students 2015/16 PG (PDF  , 296kb)

PG modules specs

Please see Social Sciences pre-requisites.

******


York Law School

Law UG

Law PG

Contact:

Louise Prendergast    louise.predergast@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

York Law School Modules for Visiting Students (PDF  , 192kb)

Departmental Information Law School (PDF  , 182kb)

******

 

York Management School

Contact:
Dr Barbara Bechter    barbara.bechter@york.ac.uk

For More Information:
Management modules for Visiting Students 2015/16 (PDF  , 218kb)

Please see Social Sciences pre-requisites.

******

 

Department of Politics

Contact:

Dr Alejandro Pena    alejandro.pena@york.ac.uk

For More Information/Module Listings:
Politics modules for Visitng Students 2015/16 (PDF  , 211kb)

Visiting Student Modules Handbook -Politics (PDF  , 808kb)

Please see Social Sciences pre-requisites.

******

 

Department of Social Policy and Social Work

Contact:
Dr Stefan Kuehner    stefan.kuehner@york.ac.uk

For More Information/Module Listings:
Social Policy Modules for Visiting Students 2015/16 (PDF  , 191kb)

Please see Social Sciences pre-requisites.

******

 

Department of Sociology

Contact:
Dr Brian Loader   brian.loader@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

Sociology Modules for Visiting Students 2015/16 (PDF  , 217kb)

Please see Social Sciences pre-requisites.

******

 

Centre for Women's Studies
Postgraduate only

Contact:
Professor Gabriele Griffin    gabriele.griffin@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

The department

Please see Social Sciences pre-requisites.

******

 

Faculty of Sciences

Science and Technology

Faculty of Sciences - Departmental information and pre-requisites 2015/16 (PDF  , 261kb)


Department of Biology

Contact:
non Erasmus   Dr Katie Smith            katie.smith@york.ac.uk
 
Erasmus+       Dr Michael Schultze     michael.schultze@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

Biology Modules for Visiting Students 2015/16 (PDF  , 240kb)

Biology Module Specifications

Please note: The Department of Biology will not assess a Visiting Student application which does state the module code of the modules required.

Please see Sciences pre-requisites.

******

 

Department of Chemistry

Contact:
Dr Angelika Sebald    angelika.sebald@york.ac.uk

For More Information:
Chemistry Modules for Visiting Students 2015/16 (PDF  , 227kb)

Please see Sciences pre-requisites.

******

 

Department of Computer Science

 

Contact:
Erasmus        Dr Suresh Manandhar    suresh.manandhar@york.ac.uk

Non-Erasmus   Dr Leandro Soares Indrusiak leandro.indrusiak@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

Computer Science Modules for Visiting Students 2015/16 UG (PDF  , 258kb)

Computer Science Modules for Visiting Students 2015/16 PG (PDF  , 307kb)Electronics Modules for Visiting Students 2015/16 PG (PDF  , 249kb)

Please see Sciences pre-requisites.

******

 

Department of Electronics

Contact:
Dr Gianluca Tempesti gianluca.tempesti@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

Electronics Modules for Visiting Students 2015/16 UG (PDF  , 259kb)

Electronics Modules for Visiting Students 2015/16 PG (PDF  , 249kb)

Please see Sciences pre-requisites.

******

 

Department of Environment

Contact:
Dr Colin McClean    colin.mcclean@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

Environment Modules for Visiting Students 2015/16 (PDF  , 230kb)

Please see Sciences pre-requisites.

******

 

Department of Mathematics

Contact:
Dr Bernard S Kay    bernard.kay@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

Mathematics Modules for Visiting Student 2015/16 UG (PDF  , 226kb)

Mathematics Modules for Visiting Students 2015/16 PG (PDF  , 210kb)

Please see Sciences pre-requisites.

******

 

Department of Physics

Contact:
Dr Roland Kröger    roland.kroger@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

Physics modules for Visiting Students UG 2014/15 (PDF  , 209kb) 

 Physics modules for Visiting Students PG 2014/15 (PDF  , 181kb)

 Please see Sciences pre-requisites.

******

 

Department of Psychology

Contact:
Dr Jonny Smallwood jonny.smallwood@york.ac.uk

For More Information:

Psychology Modules for Visiting Students 2015/16 (PDF  , 179kb)

Departmental information Psychology (PDF  , 184kb)

******

Female student with a tutor

After travelling around England and Europe throughout the duration of my term, I realized what a wonderful place the University of York was for a visiting student to study. One truly gets a taste of England and the English people while living in York. It is a beautiful city with a fantastic mixture of timeless history and modern attitude. York has everything a student would need to experience real English culture and pursuits.

Jaclyn, USA

Centre for Global Programmes

Who to contact

Visiting Student Admissions,
Centre for Global Programmes,
Derwent College,
University of York,
Heslington,
York,
YO10 5DD

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 322082
visiting-students@york.ac.uk

  University of York Global Programmes - Visiting Students

@GlobalYorkUK