Accessibility statement

Our industry connections

Laurence Marks and Maurice Gran, Comedy Laboratory, (c) Tony Bartholomew, 9th March 2007

The Department of Theatre, Film, Television and Interactive Media has a strong external focus and our links with the companies, agencies and individual practitioners and professionals in the creative industries are extensive. These relationships link with and inform our teaching and research and are central to enhancing the skills development and employability of our students.

The department’s Advisory Board is chaired by Charles Cecil, games designer and co-founder of Revolution Software, and the membership includes: Don Boyd, film director, screenwriter and novelist; Sally Joynson, Chief Executive Screen Yorkshire; Kit Monkman, Visual Artist, Feature Film Director; Tom Bird, Executive Director, York Theatre Royal; Francesca Horsfield, Holbeck Charitable Trust; Liz McLeod, Executive Producer, Meridian Line Films; Lisa Holdsworth, TV and Theatre Writer; Sekeenat Karim, Graduate of Theatre: Writing, Directing & Performance.

We are delighted that Trafalgar Entertainment Group offer two fully-paid, six month internships in their London office for graduates of our BA in Theatre: Writing, Directing and Performance. For more on the company, see here.

We are a partner in DC Labs, a major collaborative initiative involving three UK research councils, four universities, and over 80 collaborative partner organisations to create a world centre of excellence for impact-driven research, focusing on digital games, interactive media and the rich space where they converge.

Visiting speakers and masterclasses

Recent visitors include:

  • Tony Cohen, CEO Fremantle TV
  • Archie Norman, Chairman of ITV
  • Helen Boaden, Director, BBC News
  • Simon Singh, author, TV producer and journalist
  • Sally Joynson, Chief Executive, Screen Yorkshire
  • Ben Grimes and Debbi Coleman, Double Negative
  • Heather Ayckbourn, actor
  • Rod Anderson, composer, including Official Music for the Sarajevo Winter Olympics
  • John Barton, theatre director (RSC)
  • Ray Beckett, feature film sound designer
  • Chris Burn, head of 2D, Double Negative
  • Ian Curteis, playwright and screenwriter
  • John Crumpton, Freelance Sound Designer
  • Oliver Ford Davies, actor and playwright
  • Pia Dueholm, producer, Partizan
  • Adam Dymond, editor, Aardman Animation
  • David Edgar, playwright
  • Peter Flannery, playwright and screenwriter
  • William Gaskill, director
  • Ben Giles, video editor, BBC
  • Zinnie Harris, playwright and director
  • Sara Hill, Commercial Director, Broadcast, Prime Focus, one of the world's foremost postproduction houses working on a wide range of television and film projects including the Oscar winning Avatar.
  • Sean Holmes, theatre director
  • Peter Bazalgette, inventor of Ready Steady Cook, and the man who brought Big Brother to the UK
  • Greg Dyke, Ex Director General of the BBC, Chair of the BFI and Chancellor of York University
  • Sian Phillips, actor
  • Ian Bloom, Head of Corporate and Media at Ross and Craig solicitors, and a libel lawyer who has sued all but one British national newspaper
  • Bill Clark, feature film and ad director, Origami Films
  • Chris Bouchard, VFX Engineer, Framestore
  • Cliff Jones, sound mixer, Fairlight Studios
  • Genista McIntosh, theatre director
  • Laurence Marks and Maurice Gran, television comedy writers
  • Robin O'Donoghue, former Head of Sound for Pinewood, Shepperton and Teddington Studios and Oscar nominated mixer of over 150 films
  • Barrie Rutter, actor and director
  • Patrick Spottiswoode, director of education, Globe Theatre.
  • David Thacker, theatre and TV director
  • Samuel West, actor and director
  • Penelope Wilton, actor
  • Ben Hooper, sound mixer, Blue Post Production
  • Phitz Hearne, sound mixer, Blue Post Production
  • Jerry Ibbotson, sound designer for games, Media Mill
  • Steve Haynes, re-recording mixer